The Emin Pasha Hotel & Spa

The Emin Pasha Hotel & Spa

Lounge Area upstairs in the main house
Traveller (164)
My favourite room
Room & Suite (90)
Food is great
Dining (20)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#26 of 153 hotels in Kampala
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Emin Pasha Hotel is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Kampala, offering a romantic environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay. Emin Pasha Hotel offers guests an array of room amenities including a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a minibar, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available. The hotel offers a concierge, room service, and executive lounge access, to make your visit even more pleasant. The property also features a modern pool and a set of exquisite lounges. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking. Whilst staying at Emin Pasha Hotel, visitors can check out: The Independence Monument (1.1 mi) and Namirembe Cathedral (1.3 mi), some of Kampala's top attractions. Kampala is also known for some great parks, including Gorilla Bookings and Forest Park Resort, which are not too far from Emin Pasha Hotel. Enjoy your stay in Kampala!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Spa
Concierge
Executive lounge access
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Washing machine
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Plot 27 Akii Bua Road, Kampala Uganda
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 55 out of 100
55
Entebbe Airport
35.6 km
See all flights
190Reviews2Q+A37Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 85
  • 63
  • 19
  • 17
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Roberto6171 wrote a review Feb 2024
Halifax, Canada3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Emin Pasha is one of the oldest hotels in Kampala, yet redone to today's standards. Located in central Kampala it's in a good location, but a titch to far for us to walk so we had to take taxi an cope with trafic to most spots. Returning in the evening was always a relief because of quiet, and calm setting with garden, swimming pool and restaurant at the highest standard. Restaurant was particularly good with an asortment of African and European dishes. We were never disappointed. Staff were incredibly kind and thoughtful, helping us out on several occasions.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: You'll need a driver for most excursions. Use Uber or a reliable driver.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bobby K wrote a review Feb 2020
Dubai, United Arab Emirates31 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Colonial was the decor, the evening was candle light and lovely. The food was large portions but the team work - amazing.
In between nature worked her charm,
It was lightning , thunder and it poured and poured and team there was ready .
someone wanted me to try the local gin again - yes she did get wet. Bar is open and away
Great night and team spirit of service which needs to be lauded.
Thank you for showing us the customer comes first and what hospitality is all about in Uganda.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wander08681897551 wrote a review Nov 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Emin Pasha ,a beautiful homely boutique hotel with lush gardens....the rooms are gorgeous and comfortable.

Loved the different small private lounges , private dining rooms.
Great conference facilities, an amazing spa.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John R wrote a review 27 May
Hereford, United Kingdom25 contributions35 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel has beautifull and peacefull surroundings, which why we chose it. The staff are kind and try to be helpful. They have an excellent bbq and band on Friday nights . Apart from these positives the hotel scores poorly. When we arrived we found a rat in our room (we were moved to another room). The beds are as hard as boards, so much so that i wake up in the early morning with pains in my legs and back. The restaurant is poor. The menu is limited and items on the breakfast menu are not available. Rooms have TV but dont have comprensive DStv access si access to ’western’ and english channels is very limited. Ok for a one night stay but not for a longer stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nomad11073 wrote a review Mar 2006
New York1 contribution9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have a stayed a number of times at the Emin Pasha Hotel in Kampala. Located in the Embassy district of Nakasero, the Hotel overlooks parts of the city of Kampala. All rooms have high speed internet connections (rare in Africa), and other regular amenities (cable TV, mini bar etc...) The cannopy beds are wide and comfortable. The rooms are quite spacious and overolook the garden and pool. The hotel staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The restaurant "Fez" is one of the best in Kampala and is booked solid almost every night. This is a gem of a hotel which needs to be discovered. With only 20 rooms, you have to book in advance.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from EminP27, General Manager at The Emin Pasha Hotel & Spa
Responded 16 Oct 2019
Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us and for the response. your feedback is valued to improve on our services and experience at the Hotel. regards Moses Odawa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WorldEuropeanTravel wrote a review Jan 2015
Rome, Italy72 contributions90 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
After reading the reviews on this Emin Pasha Hotel, I decided to stay here for recent 5 day stay. It was absolutely horrible. Avoid this hotel at all costs. It is way overpriced, offers terrible service, lousy mosquito infected rooms, disgusting food, outrageous prices for breakfast, and a swimming pool FULL OF CHILDREN AND TEENAGER VISITORS who are not even hotel guests !!!!! After staying a number of times at the Serena Hotel which was magnificent, I decided to give Emin Pasha a try. I even had friends who recommended I stay here. WHAT A HUGE - MAKE THAT MEGA HUGE - MISTAKE !!!!! Here is an entire list of what is wrong with this less than one star hotel. Upon arrival, I checked in and was charged the entire cost of my stay. Unlike all other hotels which merely use the credit card as a precaution, this hotel charged my entire hotel stay upfront !!!! No other hotel does this payment method. By charging my credit card at the check-in, it essentially deterred me from checking out after the 1st day when I really wanted to check out. Instead, I stayed an insufferable five days !!!! My room was hot and mosquito infested. I had to get a can of mosquito spray. The air conditioning never did work my entire stay. The cold water did not work in the sink. There is only one trash can in the room - in the bathroom. There was no table. The room was very, very small. For this small, dark room, I am paying $ 200 per night? Breakfast the next morning was a huge disappointment. A small glass of orange juice from a dispenser that did not work and two small rolls was the "breakfast included". EVERYTHING ELSE, INCLUDING WATER, was an extra a la carte charge. 25,000 Shillings (Ten dollars) for eggs, 5,000 shillings ($ 2) for a glass of water, another $ 10 for a piece of ham, $ 5 for a plate of beans, ad nauseum. For $ 50, I might have had an edible breakfast. After breakfast, I took a walk around the gardens which were nice enough, and planted a towel at a chair near the pool. I went back to my room and returned to the pool - around midday, and found four or five children splashing around in the pool. Not too bad but annoying. Within an hour, another 30 children ranging from 7-8 years old to teenagers, had congregated at the pool and were splashing and playing around in the pool. No supervision whatsoever. There were at most three or four hotel guests at the pool - but there were 30 obnoxious, rowdy kids. I complained to the front desk and was told it was a "PARTY". I said "A PARTY ON A SUNDAY WHEN HOTEL GUESTS WERE USING THE POOL???" They did nothing about it. Total disaster. I finally gave up after two hours of dodging these non-hotel guests and decided to have dinner at the hotel. Passable food but very slow service. Relatively expensive - $ 50 for tilapia fish and a small salad. There is NO gym, NO treadmills, NO step machines. There is only this one very small pool full of kids. There is NO lobby. The TV carries only six (6) channels - no sports channels, no news channels, no speciality channels. No one - and I mean no one - should be recommending this hotel for any reason. The other reviews about this hotel are simply not believable (they had to be written by people who have NEVER stayed at a four star hotel like the Serena, Hyatt, Hilton, or even a Sheraton). People had told me the Sheraton in Kampala was lousy, but I simply cannot believe it could be worse than this simply awful "hotel". This is a total flea bag hotel. The worst of the worst (and I have stayed at some really bad hotels in my life). AVOID THIS HOTEL AT ALL COSTS. DO NOT STAY AT THE EMIN PASHA HOTEL. IT SHOULD BE TORN DOWN AND EVERYONE WHO WORKS HERE SHOULD BE FIRED. ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE !!!!!!!!!!!!!! YOU HAVE BEEN FAIRLY WARNED !!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Do not stay here. This is a flea bag hotel. Terrible hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MediaManager, Public Relations Manager at The Emin Pasha Hotel & Spa
Responded 03 Mar 2015
Dear Traveler,first we would like to apologise for any inconveniences during your stay with us. Your friends recommended you stay with us because of the great service we offer.This was further cemented by the recent World Luxury Hotel award we won as the best 2014 Luxury Boutique Hotel in Uganda. We would kindly like to clarify on some issues you raised in your review. 1) All our guests are given the opportunity to pay upon check-in or check-out according to what is convenient. 2) All our rooms are sprayed regularly and fitted with mosquito nets. 3) All our rooms have air conditioning. 4) Our room rates are inclusive of breakfast which is a full continental breakfast. 5) Swimming Pool: We are really sorry about the crowd that day.It was a child's birthday but we are an exclusive hotel and give our in house guest first priority. 6) We provide 4 complimentary bottles of water a day in each of our rooms. We are a boutique hotel with a whole different setting from Serena or Sheraton.We value our guests and their feedback is of great importance to us. Kind regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
2mzungus wrote a review Sept 2012
Victoria, Canada78 contributions66 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
After loving the Spa & in particular the Massage Rooms and facilities, during long stays in Kampala in 2009, 2010, 2011, things went downhill in early 2012 after the HOTEL HAD SOLD, previously owned by Canadian/Ugandan People whose attention to cleanliness and details like filling up soap bottles, shampoo bottles and ensuring hot water in showers in Spa. Our visits in 2012 were disappointing and will surely affect the incomes of the massage therapists and spa attendants who will not be receiving our buisness due to not being able to have a hot shower or access the above ammenities due to the decline in attention to those details. In addition to the Spa the main lobby used to offer current reading material such as, The Eye, a tourist infomation publication so important to visitors. These are free to hotels and there was only one which they kept behind the counter, and all the mags. and books were at least 2 yrs. old and not of value. The attitude of the lobby staff had changed...they did not understand the need to have these reading materials available to guests. I cannot comment on the rooms as have not stayed as a guest but do know that the prices are extremely high and without hot water and previous services in place, that this wonderful old colonial hotel will go down in popularity. The washrooms available to dining guests were unclean and lacking in proper materials. The nightly live entertainment offered previously had been reduced to a couple of nights per week and the usual presence of the previous owners at meal times was noteably not there. One can only hope that reviews like this will be noted and a quality control person will be put into place before more customers like our group of 6 stop dining, swimming and partaking of spa services on a weekly basis.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2012
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from EminP27, Owner at The Emin Pasha Hotel & Spa
Responded 16 Oct 2019
Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us and for the response. your feedback is valued to improve on our services and experience at the Hotel. regards Moses
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Venture4168 wrote a review Jun 2006
5 contributions27 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed there expecting very good things. I found that the hotel is to small and is out in the middle of no where. It is a little hard to find and is to far to walk from. The staff were pretty good but i dont recomend bringing a family to this place. I found that the people who stayed there were generaly not very friendly and the hotel hasn't been around for very long. The reception was very slow aswell and i found that uyou didnt really get the ugandan feel from the place. You come to Kampala to experience Uganda and i didnt get that from my stay.
Overall it was okay for the basic needs but for that prica it wasn't really worth it. Next time i will stay closer to town.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2006
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from EminP27, General Manager at The Emin Pasha Hotel & Spa
Responded 16 Oct 2019
Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us and for the response. your feedback is valued to improve on our services and experience at the Hotel. regards Moses Odawa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brad_Lizzie wrote a review May 2014
London, United Kingdom281 contributions195 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We were both sad and angry by the time we left this hotel. As other reviewers state, it is indeed an oasis of calm in a frenetic city, and it could be a great boutique hotel, but is marred by poor housekeeping and poor service. The junior suite that we had was fine but bulbs were blown or missing, one bedside lamp missing entirely, the mosquito netting torn, the toilet seat broken, and the lovely large bath would only fill with dark brown water, despite running for ten minutes. The staff at breakfast were downright hostile, and in general the male staff just seemed angry at having to wear silly red fez's and with one or two exceptions the female staff seemed as if they just wanted to be at home looking after the kids.

We complained to the manageress, who listened sympathetically and offered us a free couples massage. The spa was tatty and one of the two masseuses turned up 20 minutes late because it rained, but the massage was good and the gesture appreciated.

Some things improved after that, so the bath water ran clear, but stone cold. Getting a menu and some food ordered by the pool was a 90 minute ordeal, and when it arrived the drink was not as ordered and the club sandwich did not belong to any club that I recognised. We were charged $19 for those two items plus iced water, which was also charged as an extra.

What made us more angry than anything was that the checkout time was apparently 10am, a ridiculously early time, and when we asked to checkout at midday were informed we would be charged an extra half day. We refused and they reluctantly accepted. On checkout we had been charged for a dinner that we did not have, which was grudgingly removed without apology, and told that our extras bill would be charged at a poorer conversion rate to the USD than our room charge. The $18.25 for our extras was then rounded up to $19. The net effect of being fleeced by both the dollar exchange rate and the conversion may have been relatively small financially, but as I explained to the receptionist left me feeling that the hotel was simply stealing from its customers. He was unable to explain a reason for the policy and simply did not seem to care.

We generally much prefer to stay at small individual hotels than large chains, but would never wish to return to this place again, nor would recommend that anyone else does.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Try a different hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MediaManager, Public Relations Manager at The Emin Pasha Hotel & Spa
Responded 24 Jun 2014
Thank you for staying with us while in Kampala and for taking time to write a review for us.Your feedback is important in helping us serve your better.We look forward to making your stay much more memorable next time.Take Care.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James S wrote a review Dec 2012
County Durham, United Kingdom37 contributions19 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Didn't stay here but made use of the spa day package they offer.

For 65,000 UGX you get:

- 25min back, arm and head massage
- 25k of food/drink from the restaurant (I.e a sandwich and a drink)
- use of the hotel pool all day

A great deal!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from EminP27, General Manager at The Emin Pasha Hotel & Spa
Responded 16 Oct 2019
Dear Guest Thank you for staying with us and for the response. your feedback is valued to improve on our services and experience at the Hotel. regards Moses Odawa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NNM556 asked a question Oct 2018
Greater London, United Kingdom27 contributions14 helpful votes
How much does breakfast cost? Can the hotel help with arrange special hires?
Answer from Emin P
Kampala, Uganda13 contributions
Dear Guest, Thank you for the inqury, our rates are inclusive of breakfast if you stay with us. walk in guest charges range with what you have ordered. it may cost 15-25US$ regards Moses
BlueinCT asked a question Aug 2018
St. Augustine, Florida19 contributions19 helpful votes
Does the hotel take credit cards?
Answer from Emin P
Kampala, Uganda13 contributions
Yes we do take credit cards
Martin K wrote a tip Yesterday
Nairobi, Kenya3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Pool does not get crowded!"
Read full review
Roberto6171 wrote a tip Feb 2024
Halifax, Canada3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You'll need a driver for most excursions. Use Uber or a reliable driver."
Read full review
Jaine L wrote a tip Jul 2019
Salem, Oregon80 contributions10 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Corner Suites are excellent"
Read full review
Patrick D wrote a tip May 2019
39 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"we had colleagues in different parts of the hotel and all were happy"
Read full review
muzungu57 wrote a tip Sept 2018
Kampala, Uganda276 contributions161 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"only Superior Room!!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kampala area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,587 - R 3,303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
emin pasha kampala
LOCATION
UgandaCentral RegionKampala
NUMBER OF ROOMS
46
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE EMIN PASHA HOTEL & SPA - Reviews & Price Comparison (Kampala, Uganda)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Emin Pasha Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to The Emin Pasha Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Uganda Museum (0.9 km), Summit Fever Expeditions (0.2 km), and Mayfair Casino & Club (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Emin Pasha Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Emin Pasha Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Emin Pasha Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Emin Pasha Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Emin Pasha Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Asian Fusion, Mediterraneo, and Khana Khazana restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Emin Pasha Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Emin Pasha Hotel & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, The Emin Pasha Hotel & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Emin Pasha Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Emin Pasha Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
All Kampala HotelsKampala Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KampalaHotels near The Emin Pasha Hotel & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire