We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Speke Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (143)
Room & Suite (55)
Dining (19)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#22 of 154 hotels in Kampala
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Speke Hotel is the part of The Speke Group of Hotels, Proudly owned by The Ruparelia Group of Companies. One of Kampala's oldest hotels, Speke Hotel was taken over by The Ruparelia Group in the year 1996. It was then, given a major face-lift to add comforts to age and grace. All rooms are air conditioned have wooden floors, satellite television, Free Wi-Fi and a minibar. Speke Hotel is located in the heart of Kampala, close to banks and business centers and offers all the charms of bygone days complimented by efficient, modern services and facilities. It offers various dishes, daily entertainment, well stocked bar and business meeting venues.Speke Hotel has three Restaurants and a Bar: Pizzeria – The Italian Cuisine, Khyber Pass – The Indian Cuisine, Rock Café – The Continental Cuisine and Rock Bar – The Cocktail Bar.Speke Hotel holds a special place in the history of Uganda. Come and experience the courteous hospitality so natural to the people of Uganda.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Concierge
Doorperson
Dry cleaning
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
422Reviews2Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 149
  • 152
  • 63
  • 32
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Suheyl H wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
As I see the are very good and the nice places I wish I would come back again because the place I like it how people are treating me and others and they are so nice as I see i would like to be the members of that place I know how to welcome people in a good
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
farooq a wrote a review Nov 2023
Karachi, Pakistan8 contributions
Speke hotel location is good but, this is an old hotel required renovations, building is very old, breakfast is reasonable with fruits, sausages, eggs of your choice, juices, coffee and tea. Indoor food is not good. They have open air sitting arrangements for lunch and dinner. Room service is average, no toiletries given in the wash room, always ask to provide soap and shampoo.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Duraisamy K wrote a review Sept 2023
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India393 contributions147 helpful votes
I would like to give average for the quality of bedsheet quality and towel. but i changed my mind for the staff professional service, shower quality and location. Breakfast amazing and room quality could be better with clean floors. Overall Good experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Ask for Room facing road side for better view.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Vacation4Patel wrote a review Jun 2023
Scottsdale, Arizona2 contributions4 helpful votes
We came with high hopes after looking at photos. But it was a nightmare from the start. We had booked our room 2 months ahead. At the reception desk we were told no room had been booked, after lot of talks to different people came to know the manager had paperwork but forgot log into the system. We allocated our rooms to find out sink water would not drain, no flow in the shower, cold water in the shower in second room. Dead insects in the bed. Smell in the room was horrible. Over all it’s a rundown hotel, poorly maintained. I was totally disappointed with the place.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Please check up reviews and don’t believe what the brochure shows
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ashok Kumar Gupta wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
If you want to stay with nature then must stay in Speke hotel. You will not miss home food because here all available staff behave like family member. Mr Dhawal is excellent and appropriate person in this group hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Dôrëëñ K wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
It was a very comfortable and conducive environment I liked the hospitality from the security reception and restaurant the services are really fantastic The hygiene is 100 percent and the food was really delicious plus the breakfast 🥰🥰Speke hotel is really a very nice hotel I really felt at home
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dhaval Machhar, General Manager at Speke Hotel
Responded 16 Jan 2023
Dear Doreen Greetings of the Day .. It was our Great pleasure to have you stay with us, and we thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your Stay as well as the restaurants and the service of the hotel. We have tried our level best to maintain the Classic ambiance with modern amenities. Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration. We value your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Regards, Dhaval M General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
GASTON N wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
I liké to return back but keep to put some think to avoid going out like a nightclub. I fond room is good in spite of water is leaking in bathroom. Restaurant is good with good reception. Booking online is a beautiful thing I found because there are many hotel do not provide it. The room service is good.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dhaval Machhar, General Manager at Speke Hotel
Responded 14 Jan 2023
Dear Mr. Gastonn, Greetings of the Day .. It was our Great pleasure to have you stay with us, during your stay in kampala and we thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the rooms as well as the restaurants and the service of the hotel. We have tried our level best to maintain the colonial look with modern amenities. Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration. We value your patronage and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon. Regards, Dhaval M General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Müge Akçay wrote a review Dec 2022
Istanbul, Türkiye4 contributions
What a hotel, wow! Reception staff very discipled, food was nice, rooms perfect, swimming area absolutly wow!! Great place to be; good activities, nice people. What else can a person wish for. The area has a wide area to walkaround for fresh air. Thank you Entebbe and Speke Resort!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dhaval Machhar, General Manager at Speke Hotel
Responded 05 Jan 2023
Dear Guest, Greetings of the Day .. It was our Great pleasure to have you stay with us, during your stay in kampala and we thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the rooms as well as the restaurants and the service of the hotel. We have tried our level best to maintain the colonial look with modern amenities. Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration. We value your patronage and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon. Regards, Dhaval M General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Khaled I wrote a review Dec 2022
Kuwait City, Kuwait257 contributions68 helpful votes
The hotel is very convenient and clean , stuff are nice , the breakfast is tasty and few collections of food , the location is perfect , I liked the hotel , just I recommend to develop the facilities , there is no lift for the first floor ,the room are wide . Thank you for the nice stay .
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dhaval Machhar, General Manager at Speke Hotel
Responded 05 Jan 2023
Dear Guest, Greetings of the Day .. It was our Great pleasure to have you stay with us, during your stay in kampala and we thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the rooms as well as the restaurants and the Breakfast service of the hotel. We are in a process to add on some more options in Breakfast we have tried our level best to maintain the Classic & Colonial look with modern amenities to add on your comfort. Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration. We value your patronage and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon. Regards, Dhaval M General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ignacio R wrote a review Jul 2022
mbale4 contributions
+1
They charged more than agreed as we paid in Ugandan Schillings and they made the change rate from Dollars 200 UGX more per Dollar. They said it is "their change rate" as if the Currency exchange rate is something to be chosen. The apartment was clean but quite low level and you have to cross a washing bay that does not belong to the hotel to reach it. No too glamorous and noisy. The breakfast poor.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Do not chose apartment
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dhaval M, General Manager at Speke Hotel
Responded 02 Oct 2022
Dear Guest Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. It is disheartening to know that we did not meet your expectations in regard of facilities and amenities. We apologies for the inconvenience. On your next visit we will make sure allocate your accommodation in our Deluxe Rooms at Main Building. Currency Exchange rate is fluctuating every day but we have to keep standard, not always more even some time its less.. however, I have shared your feedback with my entire team at the hotel. Your comments are taken into serious notes. We wish to assure you that your stay was not up to the quality experience that our hotel endeavors to deliver. We look forward for you to give us a second chance and experience the difference in facilities and services in near future. Best Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kampala area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,458 - R 1,760 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
speke hotel kampala
LOCATION
UgandaCentral RegionKampala
NUMBER OF ROOMS
57
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SPEKE HOTEL - Now R 1 041 (Was R̶ ̶1̶ ̶4̶2̶0̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Kampala, Uganda) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Speke Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Speke Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Budongo Forest (0.1 km), Independence Monument (0.3 km), and African Crafts (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Speke Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Speke Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Speke Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Seven Seas at Sheraton Kampala, Khyber Pass, and Cafe Javas.
Does Speke Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Speke Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Speke Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Kampala.
Are any cleaning services offered at Speke Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Speke Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Speke Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Buganda Heritage And Tourism Board (2.8 km), Kasubi Tombs (3.7 km), and Jiram Global Tours Limited (0.8 km).