We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Speke Resort Munyonyo

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (420)
Pool & Beach (41)
Room & Suite (35)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 5 resorts in Kampala
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Speke Resort & Conference Centre, conveniently located only 12 km from the centre of Kampala, offers you the ultimate in luxury accommodation and leisure facilities together with the finest conference and business meeting location in East Africa; all situated in an idyllic setting in Munyonyo on the shores of Lake Victoria. It's no wonder Speke Resort Munyonyo was built in this location to accommodate the visiting Presidents and Prime Ministers at the 2007 Commonwealth Conference (CHOGM). We offer the best conferencing facilities for national and international clientele, providing a professional but friendly ambiance that spells "Pleasure and Comfort" while still at work.We offer you a choice of luxury accommodation to suit individuals, couples, families or groups on long or short stays. The Resort has 59 Presidential suites with a unique blend of traditional Ugandan décor and ultramodern furnishings, in addition to cottages, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments or studio rooms.Speke Resort & Conference Centre Munyonyo offers 10 state-of-the-art conference rooms including a 1,000-seat ballroom and 9 multi-functional meeting rooms that accommodate groups of 10-300 people.Leisure facilities include, Uganda's only Olympic size swimming pool, an equestrian centre and a choice of fine bars and restaurants, all with different international menus.Our Business Centre offers internet surfing, faxing, photocopying and electronic mail services.Speke Resort's spectacular setting and unparalleled service and cuisine are the ideal ingredients for a magical storybook wedding or special event. We offer a choice of elegant rooms and beautiful outdoor locations that will provide the perfect setting for your function or vacation getaway.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
Salon
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
VIP room facilities
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Lake View
796Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 551
  • 159
  • 48
  • 25
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
DayTrip24619272853 wrote a review 15 Apr
1 contribution
The service from the Waiters and Waitresses as well as receptionist made the business trip feel like a honeymoon. The accomodations as well make the stress disappear like a fart in the wind. Speke Resort Munyonyo is indeed a world class hotel
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Katumbi N wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
The hotel is very beautiful. Nice rooms and very kind staff. The food was also nice. The internet however, was very slow and sometimes completely unavailable in the rooms near the lake making it very hard to get any work done while at the rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Akhilesh Malik, General Manager at Speke Resort Munyonyo
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest Greetings from resort ! On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback. We pride ourselves in getting things right the first time and exceeding our valued guests expectations. Thank you for visiting us. We glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort in the not too distant future. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
muhereza d wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
i loved the way beds are designed and overall cleanliness. The lightings are also good. The systems to privacy are also working perfectly well. I interacted with various employees, security guards, employees in the dining and they were all helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Akhilesh Malik, General Manager at Speke Resort Munyonyo
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest Greetings from resort ! On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback. We pride ourselves in getting things right the first time and exceeding our valued guests expectations. Thank you for visiting us. We glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort in the not too distant future. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alex Agaba wrote a review Mar 2024
Kampala, Uganda5 contributions1 helpful vote
The rooms are clean spacious and quiet with enough secure parking. The hotel is big with so many places and activities so that it's never a dull moment. I was a regular at the gym. They also have the marina bar which is a nice spot for parties. Wish there was enough time in the day for me to also experience the Olympic size swimming pool
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Check in early and make the most of your stay at this great hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Akhilesh Malik, General Manager at Speke Resort Munyonyo
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest Greetings from resort ! On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback. We pride ourselves in getting things right the first time and exceeding our valued guests expectations. Thank you for visiting us. We glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort in the not too distant future. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ERIC T wrote a review Mar 2024
3 contributions
The hotel has rigid check in procedures. Although paid earlier and the banking reference sent to them they insisted that they cannot check in unless i paid the internet connectivity is very weak and the staff unfriendly and unhelpful. The hotel is otherwise very beautiful rooms are good but they have to work on improving staff attitude. The supervisors who are not local appear to have a very poor relationship with the local staff
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Ensure you pay well in advance and have your payment confirmed with the hotel otherwise you will...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Akhilesh Malik, General Manager at Speke Resort Munyonyo
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest I would like to thank you for taking time to express the unpleasant experience you had during your recent visit with us. It is only through feedback, that we are able to improve on our services making your next visit with us a lot more comfortable. I really empathize regarding the points you mentioned and I have brought this up to the rest of the management team. Please be rest assured that corrective measures are being taken to address all your concerns. I must say your experience is certainly not the practice we envision as Speke Resort that is known for offering excellent services that add value and exceeds your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies for the frustration and inconvenience caused. Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you better whenever you decide to visit us again. Best Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Curious00633595402 wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
They have good conference halls. They have a favourable environment However big the resort is, they endeavored to get us golf carts that could drop us to our respective areas. I liked how the front office staff handled our issues with care and calmness. Looking forward to coming back.!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Akhilesh Malik, General Manager at Speke Resort Munyonyo
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest Greetings from resort ! On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback. We pride ourselves in getting things right the first time and exceeding our valued guests expectations. Thank you for visiting us. We glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort in the not too distant future. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Morris T wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Munyonyo is constantly changing. Trust they listen to feedback and keep adjusting. The hotel has truly reached the 5-Star hospitality. I most liked how staff are very responsive. Kudos to the managers especially one called Kamal and Fred, the driver.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Just always call ...someone will respond
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Akhilesh Malik, General Manager at Speke Resort Munyonyo
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest Greetings from resort ! On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback. We pride ourselves in getting things right the first time and exceeding our valued guests expectations. Thank you for visiting us. We glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort in the not too distant future. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
A. Fricke wrote a review Mar 2024
7 contributions1 helpful vote
The room was very comfortable and the staff was pleasant. They provide bottled water every day which was great. Strong air conditioning. The conference space was nice and the Indian food was lovely. The staff was accommodating and gave me a late check out in addition to facilitating meal vouchers.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Bring a bathing suit! The pools are gorgeous
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Akhilesh Malik, General Manager at Speke Resort Munyonyo
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest Greetings from resort ! On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback. We pride ourselves in getting things right the first time and exceeding our valued guests expectations. Thank you for visiting us. We glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort in the not too distant future. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nuno D wrote a review Mar 2024
5 contributions2 helpful votes
resort with excellent amenities in a being setting. Extremely helpful staff. We had an issue with lost luggage and Vivek Negi went the extra mile to sort things out. I’m really thankful for all the help and support and definitely recommend this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Akhilesh Malik, General Manager at Speke Resort Munyonyo
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest Greetings from resort ! On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback. We pride ourselves in getting things right the first time and exceeding our valued guests expectations. Thank you for visiting us. We glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort in the not too distant future. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Neddy M wrote a review Feb 2024
Geneva, Switzerland5 contributions7 helpful votes
Speke Resort Munyonyo is the perfect place for hosting your meetings if you are looking for a venue around Entebbe and Kampala. The hotel has all the amenities for family fun or business needs. The newly constructed Convention center will welcome over 2000 delegates, and they have enough capacity to host meals and accommodation of over 400 rooms. Upon my arrival at Entebbe airport I was met by their staff who quickly organized my drop off at the hotel. I had a conference of around 200 participants and thanks to Mr Kamal and his team there was smooth transport to and from the hotel to the airport on the arrival and departure days. Big thanks also to Mr Binder, Ms Kettie Namara and their teams for being flexible with our demanding requests. I highly recommend Speke Resort Munyonyo for your business needs.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Akhilesh Malik, General Manager at Speke Resort Munyonyo
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest Greetings from resort ! On behalf of our entire team, I would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback. We pride ourselves in getting things right the first time and exceeding our valued guests expectations. Thank you for visiting us. We glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort in the not too distant future. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kampala area.
PRICE RANGE
R 3,701 - R 4,598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Speke Resort & Conference Centre
LOCATION
UgandaCentral RegionKampala
NUMBER OF ROOMS
449
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SPEKE RESORT MUNYONYO - Reviews & Price Comparison (Kampala, Uganda) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Speke Resort Munyonyo
Which popular attractions are close to Speke Resort Munyonyo?
Nearby attractions include Munyonyo Beach (0.4 km), Munyonyo Martyrs' Shrine (0.9 km), and L'AMOUR BAR AND LOUNGE KANSANGA (5.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Speke Resort Munyonyo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Speke Resort Munyonyo?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Speke Resort Munyonyo?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Speke Resort Munyonyo?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Speke Resort Munyonyo?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Chateau Brasserie Belge, YAMASEN Japanese Restaurant, and Coffee At Last.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Speke Resort Munyonyo?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Speke Resort Munyonyo have airport transportation?
Yes, Speke Resort Munyonyo offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Speke Resort Munyonyo?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Speke Resort Munyonyo offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Speke Resort Munyonyo?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Buganda Heritage And Tourism Board (10.6 km), Kasubi Tombs (12.7 km), and Jiram Global Tours Limited (9.2 km).