Hotel Golden Tulip Canaan Kampala

Hotel Golden Tulip Canaan Kampala

Traveller (175)
Room & Suite (57)
Mosaic Restaurant
Dining (42)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
R 3 716
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
R 3 716
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 154 hotels in Kampala
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Golden Tulip Canaan Kampala is located in the heart of Kampala CBD and is overlooking the glorious Kampala Golf Course. The hotel boasts of wonderful views of the city or the golf course from all rooms.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Happy hour
Special diet menus
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Couples massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi

Location

12B Kafu Road, Kampala 22104 Uganda
491Reviews7Q+A74Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 401
  • 66
  • 14
  • 2
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Josephine nassali wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I am so disappointed with the attitude of the lady at roomservice her name is Linda..... We called for a empty glass to use for drinking water but the lady with all the energy told me that she cannot give me another glass that what I have in the room is enough... This happened on my wedding morning as I was getting ready for church. Linda you made the worst morning in myy life...... I can pay a hotel room for three bites but I can't get an extra glazs.zo disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Denis Olweny, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Golden Tulip Canaan Kampala
Responded 11 May 2021
Dear joselynien, thank you very much for making the time to give us feedback, we are really sorry for the inconveniences you had. We have addressed this straight away to our staff and escalated it to the management for immediate action to ensure that this incident is not repeated again. At present management has put measures in place such as frequent training of staffs ,customer care. We would like to invite you again at our hotel. sincerely, Denis.O
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Olivia F wrote a review May 2022
Stockholm, Sweden1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed for three nights and really liked the hotel. It is at a good location nearby the embassies and next to a quiet street. It was clean and slept very well. There were no insects or mosquitoes in the rooms and all amenities needed was provided in the room. Large breakfast buffet and I can recommend the omelette. Tried the dinner and desserts which was perfect and seasoned as I wanted it (medium spicy masala).
All staff where friendly and helpful, I do recommend to use their airport transport, Fred was a good driver and made me feel safe!

I would definitely come back to the hotel next time and recommend it!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Denis Olweny, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Golden Tulip Canaan Kampala
Responded 22 May 2022
Dear Olivia F, Thank you for taking time to review our property. iam glad to hear that we will be your top choice when you visit Kampala again. I will inform chef how his breakfast buffet, omelette,dinner and desserts in particular made her stay memorable. I will also inform Fred about how his services exceeded your expectation and the rest of the team in general we look forward to your return stay Sincerely, Denis
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elizabeth A wrote a review Sept 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Here the most courteous people meet you at the front desk. Everyone is professionally dressed with a welcoming smile and a warm reception. You feel at home away from your own home. You are conducted right to your room, and on your way there, you notice the tight security, and relax some more.

The rooms are not so big, but big enough. The beds are cozy, but what hits you is the cleanliness and neatness of the quality beddings and furniture. You know you are seen as royalty. The washrooms are well equipped and take care of every toiletry need you can think of.

if you don't like heights, don't go to the balcony. But if you like the window seat on airplanes like me, so you can see the beautiful view below and let your heart fill up with the awesomeness of God, then the balcony was made for you. I will however like the rails to be raised a bit if children are in the room.

The food is what makes me go back again and again on top of all that I have written above. and the kitchen staff are so nice. The house keepers are professional.

In summary, Golden Tulip Hotel is for those who love excellence!

Many thanks to all of you who made my stay beautiful. I remember only some of your names, so I wont mention any.... i appreciate you all.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: 8th-10th floor. Lovely view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Denis Olweny, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Golden Tulip Canaan Kampala
Responded 20 Sept 2021
Dear ElizabethaW2888DG, Thank you for your kind review! We truly appreciate your kind words about our staffs. It's definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this. Am especially pleased you enjoyed our food. We will be sure to let our staffs know that they made an impact during your stay. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon Once again thank you for the amazing review sincerely, Denis.O
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
eddie m wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I rarely write reviews as they tend to be people whom have either had a good experience or bad experience however I do so for the Golden tulip Kampala as its constantly excellent. I have stayed here lots of times over the last two years – I used to stay at the serina however the rooms there are tired and difficult getting in and out. Please note the below

• The location is excellent for both the tourists and business traveller close to the CBD, bars restaurants and a couple of shopping malls
• Its spotless clean the team are always cleaning surface areas lifts etc -
• Security is taken very seriously however they are polite and courteous – if you forget a brief case etc. its quick to get back into the hotel –
• The entire staff work as one team (from the GM to the cleaners) going the extra mile they even remember how I like my coffee in the morning  (special thanks to Jackson) The staff don’t change they are kind, decent and polite without being over friendly they have the balance right. Clearly the hotel is well managed and the staff are happy which is rare (I travel a lot of business)
• Food and beverage are excellent and rival any London establishment
• Rooms are large bed super comfortable with all amenities
• I highly recommend this place a lot of guests are frequent so the above facts speak for themselves – in closing thanks to the team and looking forward to returning.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: just ask and am sure they will deal with any request
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Denis Olweny, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Golden Tulip Canaan Kampala
Responded 23 Mar 2022
Hi L1635NPeddiem, Thank you so much for taking the time to share this 5-star review with our team. We love hearing how much you enjoyed your stay, its wonder to know we did exceed your expectations and we went extra mile. We know you have choices when it comes to your travel adventures and it means the world to us that you have chosen to book an experience with our team. Thank you again for supporting our business and we hope you will visit us in future Sincerely, Denis
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael Mugumya wrote a review May 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Without doubt its my favorite hotel I stayed while in Kampala, the front desk staff (Yonas and Jackson) are all professional and lovely, I can say “ the mind blowing and exceptional service from all staff is second to none".

The facility is enclosed in a refreshingly good ambiance, the speciously wide rooms that have a state of the art furnishing give great comfort and a breath taking experience. The food in the mosaic restaurant was thrillingly excellent and yummy with all local and international dishes. Not forgetting the pool side that that facilitated all my swimming lessons.

I felt special that it really felt like home to me, It was a wonderful experience. Would definitely recommend this hotel to everybody because It's a true sample of outstanding hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: rooms south side have a good view of the city
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Explore62210882053, Front Office Manager at Hotel Golden Tulip Canaan Kampala
Responded 28 May 2020
Dear Mugumyam, Thank you for writting this amazing review of our property.The team here is very excited to recieve your glowing recomendation and we are glad agreat experience. Yonasan and Jackson also pass on their gratitude and look forward to yournext visit.once again thank you for the great review,we hope to see you soon With best regards, Denis.O
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James H K wrote a review Jan 2022
Oslo, Norway4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is probably my sixth visit to Golden Tulip Canaan Kampala Hotel and by far has been my absolute favourite. My stay here was initially based on location, now it is for the hotel. The amazing staff, everyone so courteous and the service is top notch. Front-desk staff were so attentive and helpful. The lounge & Bar area so spacious and impeccable, the Bar staff will make you feel like a regular customer. I highly recommend it if you want the quintessential Golden Tulip experience. Increased cleaning and disinfection of all public areas, paying special attention to high-touch items. Thank you Denis, Senaiti and Aisha for the wonderful hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Denis Olweny, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Golden Tulip Canaan Kampala
Responded 15 Jan 2022
Dear JamesZurich, It was a pleasure serving you again and i honestly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and being so open with us.Iam glad you felt our team members Denis, Senait , Aisha and the rest of the team were professional and friendly. They are part of our team and i will let them know how much they made your visit memorable. Rest assured that we will do everything it takes to make us deserving of your loyalty Sincerely, Denis
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gukiina raymond wrote a review Oct 2021
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My stay at Tulip always meets my expectations I mean it's always that moment when I need a break last time I was their in April I enjoyed my stay this time Round I loved the stay so me n my team we checked on a Sunday eveng for a 3 day workshop on reaching I was surprised that the Jackson still remembered my name n with a smile he welcomed n handed us a glass of juice I mean that was cool Damn he volunteered to help us to lead us to our rooms n this time round I requested him to get me a room with a Balcony n boom he got me the best I mean Golden Tulip you made the right choice to place Jackson at the Reception dude has cool customer care skills.Even when I had issues with my hotel key he was always glad to help out get me a new n he educated me as to why my key had issues n advised me not to place it next to gadgets.

The other one was Angella ,Paul and Vincent (Tall n dark skinned) yamwe thoz guys r patient and professional they always made sure our Meals were served on time and they attended to us with a smile they kindly reminded us to wear our masks properly for the Gents (Paul m Vincent) they helped us with the doors during teas breaks coz it was kinda tricky wen holding stuff

Not forgetting Judith so I had a zoom meeting in my room but it was time for room service n Judith had come to do the cleaning she waited for me I finished on my way out she got in to do her duties honestly room was a mess but she dis the magic n arrannged all my cloths back to the Wardrobe she is such a drlng

All in all I will be mo than glad to back nera nera I love the place and each time m told to choose venues for our workshops Golden Tulip is my first n last option n mid Nov I will be back😉...Y'all got to be their
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Denis Olweny, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Golden Tulip Canaan Kampala
Responded 28 Oct 2021
Dear Gukiina Raymond Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I’m sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Management will share this amazing review with the rest of the team. Jackson,Angella,Paul and Vincent also sends you their gratitude and can not wait to see you again once again thank you for the amazing review. We look forward to welcome you back soon sincerely, Denis.O
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nitzan A wrote a review Sept 2021
Tel Aviv, Israel7 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is very nice looking. Unfortunately we woke up to the sound of hammers knocking over our head. At first we thought it was just momentary but when we got back to the room at 4pm the construction work was still undergoing. We had to call reception 3 times until they told us that there is work undergoing in the upper floor. Their solution was to either move us to the other side of the hotel which is closer to the main street and the traffic can be heard, or downgrade us to a smaller room. Noise stopped at 19:30, we ended up moving to a different hotel the next night
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Denis Olweny, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Golden Tulip Canaan Kampala
Responded 20 Sept 2021
Dear 494nitzana, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback and I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your last stay with us. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as we strive to improve with each and every stay. As you mentioned above, i agree with you that indeed your experience is certainly not representative of the high quality standards and principles that Louvre Group of Hotels stands for; the frustration and inconveniences caused to you by the noise is highly regrettable. The Hotel was doing some maintenance work on our top floor and the noise was unfortunately high . We sincerely apologize for the oversight. While we may not be able to fully compensate you for the discomfort and inconveniences caused by the lapses in service, we hope that you can give us a second chance to be of better service to you in the future. we look forward to serve you again in the future sincerely, Denis.O
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alyenyo R wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the best hotel I have ever visited and it will be the best to the final. I use the WiFi every time I go there with my friend and we always recieve good hospitality starting from waiters. I always enjoy their supper fast internet connection. And the staff are always helpful in case of any technical challenge.

I highly recommend Golden Tulip
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Denisolweny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Golden Tulip Canaan Kampala
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Dear Alyenyor, Thank you for choosing the Golden Tulip Canaan Kampala during your recent visit to Uganda. What a wonder full review of our property and the exceptional comments on our internet. We always strive to meet all our guests needs. Management will be sure to share this review with the team I look forward to welcome you back With best Regards, Denis.O
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vaughan wrote a review May 2021
12 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have had a wonderful stay in Kampala at the Golden Tulip. Hotels are as much about the people working there as they are about the environment/food/value for money. I have made friends with pretty much all the staff from Judy and Clement making up the rooms, to Gilbert in the gym, Maureen, Margaret, Emelie, Barbara, in the lounge restaurant, Dennis and team in reception. I’ve loved the location opposite the golf course which I’ve frequented often and the Friday evening live music. I’d recommend the Golden Tulip to any traveller passing through Kampala.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Denis Olweny, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Golden Tulip Canaan Kampala
Responded 07 Jun 2021
Dear Vadnams, Thank you for taking the time to share with us the experience during your visit to Kampala and thank you for your kind words on our food,value Location,Friday music and environment Management will share this glowing review with the team.Judy,clement,Gilbert,Maureen,Denis,Margaret and the rest of the team sends you their gratitude and looking forward to your return stay once again thank you and we look forward to see you again sincerely, Denis.O
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Explore62210882053
Kampala, Uganda
Hello Ahimbisibwe Kindly note that Grilled fish is on our menu and it is served in our main Restaurant Mosaic and Canaan Lounge on the the ground floor
Answer from Explore62210882053
Kampala, Uganda
Our buffet Lunch is 70,000 shillings with a soft drink
Answer from Denis O
Kampala, Uganda
swimming goes for 35k on weekends and 30k on weekdays that's for Adults and Kids 20k through out the week
DarrenStar asked a question Dec 2019
Kampala, Uganda4 contributions
How much is swimming
Answer from DarrenStar
Kampala, Uganda4 contributions
And how much for non residents
Answer from Denis O
Kampala, Uganda
Yes we provide all the amenities.
Duncan M wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't forget to read and understand the hotel's policies regarding check-in, check-out, and any additional charges. "
Read full review
Peter T wrote a tip Mar 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beautiful and worth the money. "
Read full review
jim4244 wrote a tip Mar 2024
UK65 contributions180 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to get a room overlooking the golf course"
Read full review
Abdul M wrote a tip Feb 2024
Bangkok, Thailand2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Exceptional services from friendly staffs. Very accessible location without any known city congestions It’s a pure value for money "
Read full review
FarAway19442530193 wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nice place to stay when u vist Uganda dont Forget try Golden Tulip Hotel cancan Kampala it has a lovely service and profiossion staffs ´´´´´"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kampala area.
PRICE RANGE
R 3,299 - R 3,773 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
UgandaCentral RegionKampala
NUMBER OF ROOMS
122
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL GOLDEN TULIP CANAAN KAMPALA - Reviews & Price Comparison (Uganda)

Frequently Asked Questions about Golden Tulip Canaan Kampala Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Golden Tulip Canaan Kampala Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Uganda Museum (1.1 km), Independence Monument (1.1 km), and Maridadi Crafts (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Golden Tulip Canaan Kampala Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Golden Tulip Canaan Kampala Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Golden Tulip Canaan Kampala Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Golden Tulip Canaan Kampala Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Golden Tulip Canaan Kampala Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Asian Fusion, The Lawns, and Mediterraneo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Golden Tulip Canaan Kampala Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Golden Tulip Canaan Kampala Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Golden Tulip Canaan Kampala Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Golden Tulip Canaan Kampala Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Golden Tulip Canaan Kampala Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Kampala HotelsKampala Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KampalaHotels near Golden Tulip Canaan Kampala Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire