We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ubumwe Grande Hotel

Traveller (209)
Room & Suite (41)
Dining (35)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Ubumwe Grande Hotel, a superior four-star Hotel to exacting international standards is located in the business hub of Kigali. Enjoy true Rwandan hospitality and the most stunning views of this vibrant African city. A beautiful infinity roof top pool as well our executive gym allow you to stay fit, whilst the roof top terrace, overlooking Kigali, invites you enjoy a meal or one of our refreshing cocktails. Our lounge area offers delectable pastries and snacks throughout the day and our Restaurant Fiesta delights with culinary creations from Africa and beyond. Conferencing and meeting at Ubumwe Grande are a real pleasure. Our experienced team gladly assist in arranging functions from small intimate meetings to cocktails of up to 500 guests. These are accommodated in our three meeting rooms or our sub-divisible Rooms Kivu 1 & 2. We pride ourselves in accommodating any reasonable request to make our guest's stay a memorable one. Make Ubumwe Grande Hotel your preferred "home" in Kigali.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Room service
Free parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Airport transportation
Babysitting
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Shuttle Bus Service
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Minibar
Refrigerator in room
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Suites
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
118Reviews
223Photos
0Q+A
20Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 70
  • 36
  • 7
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Entire Hotel Staff was very friendly. Rooftop with good food, local beer choices and night life. There were live bands throughout the week. Sweeping views of the city. My room was clean and in good order the entire time. Breakfast and lunch buffets offers wide selections of
Read more
Response from KennM61, General Manager at Ubumwe Grande Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Akili, Greetings from Ubumwe Grande Hotel. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking your time to review us and for the wonderful feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again the next time our in Kigali. Thank you and see you soon.
Read more
My review relates to visiting the rooftop bar for drinks and not to a hotel stay or restaurant use. Firstly if you don't have a head for heights don't go - the canvas drapes are pulled back and you're open on the 12th floor with only just over waist level glass keeping you in,
Read more
Response from KennM61, General Manager at Ubumwe Grande Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Richard, Greetings from Ubumwe Grande Hotel. Thank so very much for choosing to stay with us and for finding time to review us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we are sorry that you are not a fun of heights. We look forward to hosting you again the next time your in Kigali. Thank you and see you soon.
Read more
At the recommendation of our trip planner, We arranged to stay at Ubumwe Grande for two nights at the start of our visit to Rwanda and again the night before we were to fly to Tanzania. During our first stay, we found our room to be very attractive and comfortable (especially
Read more
Response from Kennmunyeki, General Manager at Ubumwe Grande Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear beloved guest, Greetings from Ubumwe Grande Hotel ! We appreciate you time for reviewing us and for the feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We are rather very sorry that all that smile was wiped away by a small mis-followup that our staff failed to follow up with what you had asked them to follow up on to the extent of missing breakfast. We apologize and promise that the next time we host you, you will not go though the same and any thing close to that experience because the issue has been amended and solved. Thank you and see you soon.
Read more
+5
I was working in Rwanda for about 6 months. from August 2018 till Feb 2019 During that time had the chance to stay in several hotels and visits many more in Kigali. Since I discovered Ubumwe hotel which does not have western brand name, however in my opinion is one of the
Read more
Response from Kennmunyeki, General Manager at Ubumwe Grande Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Al-Daly2, greetings from Ubumwe Grande Hotel ! Thank you so much for your wonderful review and thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so happy that you enjoyed each and everything that we had to offer to you during your stay. We appreciate that you stay with us always and that your not willing to change that. Thank you very much! We look forward to always hosting you and to having you all to our selves. Thank you and see you soon.
Read more
+1
What we loved: the view, the breeze--a very special setting. Will go again next time I visit Kigali. What we didn't like: the chef and the manager (in a suit) were solely focused on two tables. One was two women, the other was three men. Every time we would ask our server for
Read more
Response from KennM61, General Manager at Ubumwe Grande Hotel
Responded 06 Feb 2019
Dear Nathaniel, Thank you for visiting our Rooftop Rendezvous Bar and Grill and letting us know of your experience. We are concerned that you did not get the attention required as a Patron of the Hotel. We have taken up this matter to correct and I am sure when you come next time you will notice a change. Thank you and welcome back! Kenn Munyeki General Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
PreviousNext
1234569
"All rooms are great but especially rooms with view to the city"
"Higher floors are the best."
"City view rooms have great views and are recommended"
"City View Rooms......... Your Welcome"
"source for your own transport to- fro the hotel order room service early to get what on the menu"
PreviousNext
1234
PRICE RANGE
US$121 - US$194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
RwandaKigali ProvinceKigali
NUMBER OF ROOMS
153
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing