Hotel Terminus

Hotel Terminus

Av. Francisco Orlando Magubwe 587, Maputo 1100 Mozambique
Traveller (55)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (30)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 18 small hotels in Maputo
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value

Looking for a place to stay in Maputo? Then look no further than Hotel Terminus, a family-friendly small hotel that brings the best of Maputo to your doorstep.

Rooms at Hotel Terminus offer air conditioning providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi.

Room service is one of the conveniences offered at this small hotel. A pool and free breakfast will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to Hotel Terminus, free parking is available.

Close to some of Maputo's most popular landmarks, such as Casa de Ferro (The Iron House) (1.3 mi) and Independence Square (1.3 mi), Hotel Terminus is a great destination for tourists.

When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out Mundos, Campo di Mare, and Bel Piatto, which are some Italian restaurants that are popular with locals and out-of-towners alike.

If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out Paroquia Santo Antonio (0.7 mi), Cathedral of Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception (1.0 mi), or Museu De História Natural de Maputo (0.4 mi), which are popular attractions amongst tourists, and they are all within walking distance.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Hotel Terminus as you experience everything Maputo has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children's television networks
Kids pool
Airport transportation
Wifi
Adult pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Highchairs available
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Electric kettle
Radio
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Portuguese

Location

Av. Francisco Orlando Magubwe 587, Maputo 1100 Mozambique
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 83 out of 100
83
Maputo Intl Airport
118Reviews2Q+A23Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 25
  • 67
  • 21
  • 5
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
temituoyo wrote a review Feb 2020
Lagos, Nigeria97 contributions39 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel Terminus prides itself as offering five star quality at three star prices and they are truly not far from the mark. The location is great, not far from city center and close to many government offices. It is just five minutes walk from the jogging and walking route next to the ocean front with great views. The hotel rooms are well furnished with firm comfortable beds with fresh linen every day. The buffet breakfast is lovely. The staff are warm, friendly and willing to engage in English. A great place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Terminus, Proprietário at Hotel Terminus
Responded 26 Nov 2020
A equipe do Hotel Terminus agradece pela preferencia esperamos ve-lo novamente
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CarmaTravel wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I did not stay at Hotel Terminus.

Went there in my search for vegan friendly restaurants where we can sit down, work on our laptops and hoping they'd have vegan options on their food menu.

They have karaoke nights when the weather is warmer. (Unfortunately, not while we're in Maputo on this trip)

I'd love to find out if the restaurant offers vegan good options, since we are vegan travellers.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dan d wrote a review Sept 2016
18 contributions45 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the Terminus at three different points during my month-long trip to Mozambique and Ethiopia. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. For those familiar with the Kimpton and other boutique lines in the US, that would be my point of comparison. Rooms are very modern and clean and well-appointed in minimalist boutique style. There is a pool and a pub in the back. One of the best features is the large area of tables out front on the patio/veranda – it has to be one of the most peaceful spots in Maputo, if not beyond. Nice greenery and nice breeze.

You are within a 1-2 block walking distance to bars, restaurants, banks, etc yet those two blocks make all the difference in the world in terms of peace and quiet. Three restaurants to note as accessible within a block, even at night: Pekai Thai, Mundo’s and Txhapo. Don’t miss any of them. Also within walking distance, including at night is Nucleo d’Arte, which in addition to being a gallery has great live music performances on the weekend. Another place you can easily walk to is the Feira Park where the arts and crafts market is.

One thing to note: For some reason which I never figured out, the room numbers at this hotel do not correspond to the floor which they are on. I was in room 608 but it was on the 3rd floor. There are rooms on the Reception level that start with a 2. Best thing to do it to verify what floor you on and to get as high a floor as is available.

I will always be staying here when in Maputo
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rudi Franck wrote a review Apr 2020
Mtunzini, South Africa8 contributions9 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I used to visit this hotel frequently on my travels in Mozambque in the years 1997 to 2008, I recently had to stop over in MAPUTO in late March and decided to stay for one night, what a disappointment. Although the hotel room was clean it was dated and and felt as if it had stood still for the last 10 year. I. Arrived at 21.30 in the evening and everything was closed down, I could not even sit down and have a cup of coffee on the terrace, managed to order a steak roll with fries from the kitchen but they ran out of potatoes to make the fries. Was still charged the full price 700 mzn (US $ 13.00 ) The price of the room was also high considering what you get in return ( 6800.00 mzn night ) all in all very disappointing
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Terminus, Proprietário at Hotel Terminus
Responded 21 Jan 2021
We are sorry for a reply after almost a year , but unfortunately this message only popped in our inbox now, Glad to hear that you have visited our Hotel frequently, however when you mentioned being outdated please note that, in Year 2012/13 We went through a overall renovation. As far as the Restaurant is concern please note that we are a 3 Star Hotel and do not have 24 Hour service , and specifically during Your arrival we were going through this Covid 19, and due to restrictions in place our operating time table was altered. We apologize for any inconvenience caused ,and suggest you lodge your complaints with management immediately so they can take necessary action. Thank You for Your preference
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SarahJ wrote a review Sept 2011
SW London5 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff at Hotel Terminus are lovley, and the rooms are great - roomy, clean and well decorated. It is situated on a peaceful street just off the main road. Breakfast was very tasty and the waiters were attentive and friendly. We were able to park our car in the locked parking area and turned up with a suspected flat tyre. The tyre was completely flat by the morning. We spoke to the manager (who speaks very good English) and before we could ask if there was any chance someone could help us changing it, we had a team of 4 men fixing it for us - and were ready to go by the time we had finished breakfast! Such a relief! We would definitely stay here again, and would highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2011
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carmel M wrote a review Jul 2019
Johannesburg, South Africa182 contributions120 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel turned out to be lovely - i usually stay elsewhere but my client asked me to stay there this time because of costs and i agreed. My room was lovely and the breakfast excellent. I would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
streetMartin wrote a review Jul 2019
220 contributions98 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel Terminus is fairly centrally located, recently renovated business style hotel with pleasantly appointed/ no thrills rooms, nice dining room with good menu options and decent breakfast, friendly, generally helpful staff BUT AVOID on party nights, like I happened to encounter where the pool area is rented out for parties with life band playing loudly right under your room until midnight - and multiple pleading calls to give tired hotel guests some rest did nog seem to have much effect, beyond empty apologies.Not sure this is a habit, but I won't take that risk again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: AWAY from the POOL / party space !!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zorana A wrote a review Mar 2017
Johannesburg, South Africa16 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
When researching for places to stay in Maputo I struggled to find a reasonably priced place to stay in the heart of the city. Hotel Terminus surpassed all of our expectations.

I traveled with a good friend of mine from Johannesburg for the weekend (but we are originally Canadian).

The rooms are nothing to rave about but they offer absolutely everything that you need: hot and reliable showers, great air conditioning, comfortable beds and they are very clean.

The front desk team was very helpful.

The location is amazing, we managed to visit all of the main attractions by foot - the iconic train station, the boardwalk, the Polana, the market etc. Even their hotel bar was cool, a lot of locals use it as a hang out spot so we had an opportunity to have some interesting chats and they even had live music featuring a really talented Brazilian artist.

The pool was sensational. It was 37 degrees in Maputo when we visited (not taking into account the heavy humidity) so we spent a lot of time trying to cool down in the warm, but temperate pool.

The only drawback was that the breakfast was very average (maybe even below). Strange given the otherwise large array of amazing food in the surrounding area.

If you love Portuguese style chicken (and prawns) please make sure to check out Piri Piri around the corner, it is amazing! Other restaurants and bars worth visiting are: Nossa Tasca, the Tree House and Dhow Bar.

Also please visit the artists co-op at Nucleo de Arte, on Sundays the adjacent bar turns into a scene!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rainer F wrote a review Oct 2015
Pretoria, South Africa42 contributions23 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The publicity is right, this is a 3 star hotel that offers great value for money. Rooms and food are good and working on the terrace is appreciated by many business travellers. The only negative point is that the smells and the noise of the kitchen were strong in my room at certain times of the day. I will return!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bongani N wrote a review Aug 2015
Pretoria, South Africa18 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Maputo is a city with amazing potential. Accommodation in this City is expensive and good ones are rare. I visit Maputo atleast 4 days a month and I choose to stay here due to the much better than presented 3 star comfort at this hotel.

The food is great anytime of the day.
The staff highly professional and their English language is acceptable.
The bar area is the most amazing experience.
The rooms are big and very clean.

Ask for the new rooms as some of the older rooms don't have enough water pressure for a good shower and may also struggle with hot water in these rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Maputo area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,794 - R 2,016 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MozambiqueMaputo ProvinceMaputo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
81
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL TERMINUS | UPDATED 2023 Reviews & Price Comparison (Maputo, Mozambique) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Terminus
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Terminus?
Nearby attractions include FEIMA - Feira de Artesanato, Flores e Gastronomica (0.3 km), Daqui! Produtos Regionais (0.07 km), and Museum of Geology (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Terminus?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Terminus?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Terminus?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Terminus?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Terminus?
Conveniently located restaurants include txhapo txhapo, A Nossa Tasca, and JN 281 by Brasa Rio.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Terminus?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Hotel Terminus have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Terminus offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Terminus?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Terminus offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
All Maputo HotelsMaputo Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MaputoHotels near Hotel Terminus
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire