Lancaster Accra

Lancaster Accra

Liberation Road Airport Accra 233, Accra 16033 Ghana
Traveller (337)
Dining (47)
26/11/17
Pool & Beach (39)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#26 of 118 hotels in Accra
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located in a safe and quiet suburb of Accra, the hotel is only 5 minutes (2km) drive from the airport and 10 minutes drive to the city centre and business district. A free airport shuttle bus is available for the convenience of guests. The hotel with its African style has a lovely ambience and is delightfully landscaped over spacious grounds. Special culinary themed cuisine and events provide guests with variety and lively entertainment. Whether for business or leisure, Lancaster Accra is the place to be.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Casino and Gambling
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Free airport transportation
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Salon
Concierge
Currency exchange
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quiet

Location

Liberation Road Airport Accra 233, Accra 16033 Ghana
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 39 out of 100
39
Kotoka Airport
669Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 105
  • 248
  • 189
  • 62
  • 65
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Martin B wrote a review May 2021
Accra, Ghana
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely reception, dining and pool area. some rooms could use a refurbishment, bulbs not working and bath plugs missing etc etc!
Guys be careful if you go outside to the pool bar area at night.... a swarm of ladies of horizontal refreshment will pester you to allow them to take VERY good care of you in your bedroom!! :(
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nana Esi, Sales at Lancaster Accra
Responded 17 May 2021
Dear Martin, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely, Golden Tulip Accra Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ifeanyi Udu wrote a review Oct 2021
Lagos, Nigeria
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I spent the night in the hotel with my wife on our stopover to Dubai, the room was lovely and the breakfast next day was fabulous. Proximity to Kotoka Airport was less than 7 minutes drive which was very convenient. The hotel also has a shuttle service
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nana Esi, Sales at Lancaster Accra
Responded 08 Oct 2021
Dear Ifeanyiudu, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Golden Tulip Accra Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Afia O wrote a review Jun 2021
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I visited Golden Tulip with my family before our flight out of Accra. We had been here several times years ago and the service was tip top, only to be disappointed this time… from the porter service at the door to the rude unprofessional clueless Francisca at the restaurant who ended up giving us a wrong bill, David, the night cashier was however very nice and went out of his way to resolve issues.
The Golden tulip we knew had completed lost its touch
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Golden Tulip Accra sales, Sales at Lancaster Accra
Responded 09 Jun 2021
Dear Valued Client, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve on our guest service experiences. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience. However, it is apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, we can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Warm regards, Golden Tulip Accra.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Simone R wrote a review Jul 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Location was perfect, seemed to be close to everything. I felt very safe here. They had staff at the main door also you needed to have your room key to access the passageway to the elevators and rooms. During my stay most of the time the card key access wouldn't work and I had to return to the front lobby or wait for someone to come and open the doors. I walked the stairs most of the time because the elevators were too small for multiple people. The biggest con was the service. It was either slow or non-existent. Everyone had slight attitudes no one looked or acted happy to work. Housekeeping service would clean the room after 4pm and if you ask them to come back they won't. It was hard to get fresh new towels. They don't change the bed linen. They just make up the bed with old sheets. The air conditioner stopped working. The service at the bar and pool area bar was very terrible. Once it took 50 minutes to get an order of stale fries. I had to fight with the bar maid to fulfill the order he first told me they don't have any food left, then he told me it would be better if I ordered it from my room, then he took an extra 20 minutes to bring back change when I paid for the food with cash. The food buffet was lack luster; it left a lot to desire. Money breakfast was filled with a lot of people returning from the club. It was the breakfast spot. In total it was a weird experience. I would not stay here again. The staff is not inviting and service sucks.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hamid Abubakar, Sales at Lancaster Accra
Responded 19 Oct 2022
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Warm regards, Lancaster Accra
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dayana wrote a review Jan 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Currently staying at this hotel and the night manager, Ahmed, yells at me for following up on my initial request for rollaway bed, after making the assumption that i had no idea if it was in my room or not (It wasn’t). It was at that time I asked him to calm down and inquire about staffing (house man on duty) to deliver the bed. He said he didn’t want to ask housekeeping to make the delivery. Imagine my surprise as a person whose worked in hotels for years, when I had to engage the other agent for assistance who chose to meet my needs. His name was
Andrew or Anthony, who provided respectable service and genuine hospitality unlike Ahmed. After revealing to the team that I worked in hotels for almost a decade, they chose to listen and honor my request. My hope is that the standard of service is not to yell at your guests but to listen and provide genuine service. I see that was lost in Ahmed, and that type of verbal attack is traumatic and I am concerned as a traveler and colleague to recommend this hotel on the future. I’ve emailed the general
Manager in hopes I can have a response by morning time. In the mean time, let this serve as a lesson to the hotel’s staff that service of your guest is first and to yell at them while making incorrect assumptions about their knowledge base will get you nowhere.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from nanaesi, Sales and Marketing Executive at Lancaster Accra
Responded 16 Jan 2020
Dear Valued Client, Thank you for making time to rate and review our Hotel. We are sorry we could not meet all of your expectations. We apologize for the misappropriate handling of your complaint. The necessary action is being taken to avoid future recurrences. We assure you, your concern has been noted and it is being resolved. Your feedback enables us to improve on our guest service experiences. We look forward to providing a more satisfactory experience in your next visit. Warm regards, Golden Tulip Accra
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
abe 1002016 wrote a review Feb 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After many years of living abroad, l stayed in this hotel with a friend who was coming to Ghana for the first time. She was excited about the decor and the facilities on the property. The night was quiet No noise on the floor. The following day breakfast was excellent as we both enjoyed the buffet especially my friend who enjoyed the Ghanaian cuisines on the buffet for breakfast like KOKO,jollof rice , waakye, etc. I must write that we really enjoyed the buffet and breakfast and will be back next year God willing. Thank you to Madam lucy and her staff at the front desk.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: choose rooms on higher floors and away from the lift.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nana Esi, Sales at Lancaster Accra
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Dear Abraham Thank you for making time to rate and review us. We are happy you had a wonderful time in our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you soon. Best Regards Golden Tulip Accra
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mastermind wrote a review Oct 2020
Worldwide
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We decided to book our stay here and it was definitely a lesson learned (never again). We were made to wait hours after our arrival before they would check us in (even after knowing that we traveled 23hrs to arrive and were tired with small children). We were told that the room wasn't ready. In reality, the room was never ready (not cleaned, air conditioner was not working, etc.). We checked out the next day as there was zero customer service at this hotel. It even took a week to receive our refund back, and that was after several calls, emails, and in-person trips to ask for a status where we were told that no one knows the manager's phone number. Yes, three employees told us that no one knows the manager's phone number to address our request for escalation of our concerns. Bad service is one thing, but consistent lying to paid customers was a red flag. We also kept being told that we would get a call back from a manager. A week later, we still have not. We will not recommend this place to all the diasporans who are en route to Ghana.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Do not stay here - the Accra Marriott is superb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nana Esi, Sales at Lancaster Accra
Responded 18 Oct 2020
Dear Shelly, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Golden Tulip Accra Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
adam c wrote a review Oct 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place has turned into a shambles since new management has taken over, this hotel has had a 30 year heritage as one of the best venues in accra. we were subject to a dismal hosting event. the level of service is not good enough although friendly they did not have adequate training. we had booked a special service for a birthday event, members of our party were not served food for over an hour even though the venue was very quiet. We had to constantly tell the team and management how to do their job.
you could not tell it was a birthday event. this is after the venue persistently tried to over charge us. The management needs to be held responsible for the decline in service and cleanliness of the venue. think twice before booking here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hamid Abubakar, Sales at Lancaster Accra
Responded 19 Oct 2022
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Warm regards, Lancaster Accra
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GrandTour52426354844 wrote a review May 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Appalling Custom Service. I booked four rooms for my wedding. The lady(Esther she was called) we met at the counter when checking out was outrageous. We complained bitterly about them not notifying us that the rooms booked came with complimentary breakfast and also their printed receipt was misleading. Her only response was that she will speak to her manager and get back to us. She never did. On checking out we had and outstanding amount to pay which we did, as it was a cash payment we were due a balance payment of 28 Cedis, she shamefully printed us a receipt put it in an envelope without our change. we had to go back to demand our change. The rooms assigned to us were all smoke-free however there was a heavy stench of cigarette smell in the hallway leading to the rooms.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Golden Tulip Hotels - Louvre Hotels Group
Date of stay: May 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Golden Tulip Accra sales, Sales at Lancaster Accra
Responded 28 May 2021
Dear Valued Client, Thank you for taking some time to share your feedback. We are sorry we could not meet your expectations during your time with us; particularly regarding your checkout experience. It is important to us to provide our guests with excellent service. However, in this case, we seem to have failed. If you would give us another opportunity, we would be happy to provide a more satisfactory experience in your next visit. Please be rest assured that your complaints concerning Esther have been very well noted and will be addressed accordingly. Warm regards, Golden Tulip Accra
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rob Nesbit wrote a review Dec 2021
Warsaw, Poland
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Was here twice during my stay in Accra, once for an all you can eat Sunday buffet and the other time was for spending my last night in Ghana in the hotel proper.

The food on offer on both occasions was excellent, well presented, delicious and filling. Hats off to the Chefs.
I had the some traditional Ghanaian dishes for the buffet, and tried an all day British style breakfast which went down very well with a nice cup of tea.

I enjoyed my last night in The Golden Tulip, with live music, over a few beers and cocktails, in good company it was great.

The hotel has a nice pool, with bar, and also a well served and equipped restaurant. The room I stayed in was nice and clean, spacious enough, and the bed was very comfy for the nights sleep.
I also managed to get my hair cut in the hotel as well as they also offer that service, which is exactly what I was looking for.....

Staff friendly, hotel has everything you would expect a top class hotel to have, food and drinks served quickly, efficiently and all tasting good. I must also say I found the price very affordable considering the range of services available within the hotel and for what you pay for, a good price.

Overall, I enjoyed my times in the Golden Tulip.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nana Esi, Sales at Lancaster Accra
Responded 19 Dec 2021
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for rating our Hotel high. We are glad you had a good experience with us. Please do visit us again soon. Warm regards, Golden Tulip Accra.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ray S asked a question Feb 2024
Scarborough, United Kingdom10 contributions3 helpful votes
hi,,,how much is the day pass for the pool during the week..feb 2024
Answer from rashuben
Cos Cob, Connecticut50 contributions37 helpful votes
I don't know but I would assume there would be.
Answer from George A
Accra, Ghana3 contributions
The pool is complimentary for resident guests but non resident guests do pay a fee. It's about $10 for adults. Thanks
Julia0987 asked a question Aug 2016
Stuttgart, Germany6 contributions1 helpful vote
Is Breakfast included in the room rates? If not- how much is it? Is the pool operational at the moment?
Answer from rashuben
Cos Cob, Connecticut50 contributions37 helpful votes
Yes there is buffet breakfast which is included. It was in my rate.
Answer from Francis D
Accra, Ghana
Week day rate (Sunday - Thursday) is US$298; and weekend (Friday & Saturday) is US$199
Zebra X wrote a tip May 2023
Dubai, United Arab Emirates103 contributions47 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Request for a room with a pool view if available. Rooms on the lower level gives instant access to pool & dining areas."
Read full review
Wanderer03757046499 wrote a tip Nov 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hotel has free wifi Bring converters for electrical outlets (Type D & G)"
Read full review
Francis O wrote a tip Feb 2022
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Food, rooms, service are very good.👍"
Read full review
Milton P wrote a tip Nov 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are very clean and well service"
Read full review
Barbara T wrote a tip Nov 2021
11 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go to any other place"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Accra area.
PRICE RANGE
R 4,183 - R 4,758 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
golden tulip accra hotel accra, accra golden tulip
LOCATION
GhanaGreater AccraAccra
NUMBER OF ROOMS
238
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LANCASTER ACCRA - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Ghana)

Frequently Asked Questions about Lancaster Accra
Which popular attractions are close to Lancaster Accra?
Nearby attractions include Marina Mall (1.2 km), Bliss Family Entertainment (0.5 km), and Ash korleshionz (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lancaster Accra?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Lancaster Accra?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Lancaster Accra?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lancaster Accra?
Conveniently located restaurants include Vine, Mama Cuisine, and El Padrino Lounge.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lancaster Accra?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Lancaster Accra have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Lancaster Accra offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Lancaster Accra have airport transportation?
Yes, Lancaster Accra offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Lancaster Accra?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Lancaster Accra offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Lancaster Accra?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Black Star Gate (5.2 km), W.E.B. DuBois Center (1.7 km), and James Fort (7.4 km).
All Accra HotelsAccra Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AccraHotels near Lancaster Accra
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire