We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Serengeti National Park Tanzania
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (1193)
Room & Suite (379)
Dining (65)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 183 Specialty lodging in Serengeti National Park
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Named after the distinctive Tortilis tree of the Serengeti, our tented camp combines comfort with the sense of wilderness, the sense of freedom, the sense of being 'right there', as you relax after the excitement of the day. We make your safari-camp experience truly unforgettable. Set in the heart of nature, our camp is designed to look after you while you tune in to the very heartbeat of Africa.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Internet
Free breakfast
Mosquito net
Outdoor fireplace
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Family

Location

Full view
Contact
Serengeti National Park Tanzania
Getting there
Seronera Airport11 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
1122Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1 072
  • 41
  • 7
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
jspaloalto wrote a review 07 Aug
Palo Alto, California10 contributions1 helpful vote
July (cold season) visit. Tent rooms include veranda, bedroom with large bed, a small second bedroom (perhaps not all tents), a separate dressing area, and attached toilet and shower areas, all enclosed in heavy rubberized canvas and mosquito netting. Thus, a tent is not roughing it, but several attached rooms that provide comfortable accommodation, at least during the cold season. Rooms (tents), aligned along a common paved walk. Central tents include sitting room/bar and dining area. Animals wander through the camp—close-by hippos during our first night, a lion the next night. Staff accompany visitors to tents after dark. Staff reminded us to close the zippers to the floor to keep out snakes, reported to be numerous. We encountered none. Though the camp seems to be on slightly higher ground, access road passes through heavy tsetse and mosquito area. Food ample, with set meals and modest buffet at breakfast. Sufficient soaps and shampoos, but apparently reloaded into older containers whose plastic/rubber has deteriorated and become sticky. Since the visit was part of a travel package, we cannot assess value for costs. We found this a reasonably comfortable mid-level tented camp, with adequate but not outstanding food, and an attentive and upbeat staff.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Rooms are tents aligned along a common path.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Team at Tortilis Camps, Sales at Serengeti Tortilis Camp
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve our service. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards The Team at Tortilis Camps
Read more
Liz B wrote a review 03 Aug
Baltimore, Maryland5 contributions4 helpful votes
My husband and I spent 2 nights here on our honeymoon, and we absolutely loved it. The accommodations are so comfortable and well-cared for. Despite being out in the middle of the Serengeti, our tent was nicer than many hotels I have stayed in around the world. The food was delicious, and the staff is so kind and helpful. You'll be amazed that they've created this camp out in the middle of the bush, while simultaneously marveling at the wildlife you hear overnight and see in the distance. Everyone working there was amazing, but Mr. Sam gave us such a warm welcome, and Lucy was especially sweet and helpful. I can't recommend staying here enough!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Team at Tortilis Camps, Sales at Serengeti Tortilis Camp
Responded 6 days ago
Ah, very nice! A honeymoon is a very special holiday, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us out in the true wilderness. Thanks for choosing us and for taking tim eto give your opinion! Kind regards The Team at Tortilis Camps
Read more
K C wrote a review 02 Aug
3 contributions
Luxury en-suite tent, much appreciated hot water, comfortable bed with high thread count sheets, much needed after all day safari. Staff friendly and helpful, everything was "hamna shida" or "hakuna matata" :)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Team at Tortilis Camps, Sales at Serengeti Tortilis Camp
Responded 6 days ago
Well, five-stars says that you enjoyed your stay with us, we are very grateful for your kind comments. Thank you very much, Kind regards The Team at Tortilis Camps
Read more
Roberto wrote a review Jul 2022
Erechim, RS559 contributions427 helpful votes
Amazing! Very pleasant, comfortable and especially with wonderful people who made these fantastic and unforgettable days. Mr Samuel (manager) is a gentleman and the staff made us feel like friends, Congratulations to the entire team, you are fantastic!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Team at Tortilis Camps, Sales at Serengeti Tortilis Camp
Responded 1 week ago
Well, you are also fantastic! We enjoyed having you here with us, it was a pleasure. Thanks for choosing our camp. And thanks for the positive feedback, it makes us want to be even better! Kind regards The Team at Tortilis Camps
Read more
Annemarie H wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
The camp was wonderful, very warm and friendly staff, and nice food. Fantastic tents, well equipped, everything you need. Our family of 5 really liked it, the surroundings, and everything. We enjoyed having drinks next to the campfire and watching the beautiful sunset. Highly recommended when you want to stay in Serengeti!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Team at Tortilis Camps, Sales at Serengeti Tortilis Camp
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your recommendation to other, future visitors. We appreciate your stay and the feedback. Glad that you enjoyed yourselves here. Kind regards The Team at Tortilis Camps
Read more
Veronica G wrote a review Jul 2022
21 contributions2 helpful votes
staff was amazing, food very good (including the box lunch) and tent was fantastic for three people. Downside yo need to ask for your shower to get ready, but hey! You are in the middle of Serengeti so you can not complain for that. We highly recommend the camp for your stay in Serengeti
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Team at Tortilis Camps, Sales at Serengeti Tortilis Camp
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you, yes we do not have running water here in the wilderness, but our showers are hot and only a little notice is required! We were glad to be your hosts at the camp, do come again. Kind regards The Team at Tortilis Camps
Read more
Maria S wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
We had an amazing time. It was a trip of a lifetime. We traveled with our 4 and 8 year old. The staff was amazing, the best customer service we have ever experienced. Highly recommend. You will not be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Team at Tortilis Camps, Sales at Serengeti Tortilis Camp
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you, we are delighted that you found our camp to your satisfaction, we certainly enjoyed having you to stay here. Do come again! Kind regards The Team at Tortilis Camps
Read more
Paul wrote a review Jul 2022
8 contributions
+1
I can say that it was the greatest experience so far! Out of all the fancy hotels and resorts, I liked this camp the most. The camp is located in the middle of the national park and once you get to the accommodation everything is on another level. The people welcome you with cheers specific to the place, they are very eager to help you and provide you with all the necessary information throughout your stay. The tent you will be staying in is wonderful! Spacious, well equipped, private bathroom (with normal working toilet), hot shower, what else can you ask for?! During the nights you can even hear the wild animals roaming near the tent. The food served is fresh, good and varied but the bar doesn't disappoint either. The staff is very kind and at your disposal 24/7. They must be the most friendly and joyful people in Africa. They really helped made this vacation and unforgettable experience!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Team at Tortilis Camps, Sales at Serengeti Tortilis Camp
Responded 2 weeks ago
Well, we are certainly joyful when we read a review such as this one! Wonderful comments, we are very grateful - thank you! It was our pleasure to welcome you to our camp here. You are correct to mention the animal noises, the wildlife love visiting, too - not just humans! Kind regards The Team at Tortilis Camps
Read more
Arthur D wrote a review Jul 2022
4 contributions
The 2 days we spent at Tortillis Serengeti camp made us feel at home! The crew and staff made every effort to make this an unforgettable stay. The attention to detail as well as the enthusiasm and care for our 2 boys of 10 and 12 were heartwarming. If we ever go back to Serengeti, we know where we will stay!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: N/A... All tents have the same view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Team at Tortilis Camps, Sales at Serengeti Tortilis Camp
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you, we love looking after children and showing them the camp. We were delighted to be your hosts, and it would be a joy if you ever came back to see us again. Kind regards, The Team at Tortilis Camps
Read more
Simon S wrote a review Jul 2022
2 contributions
My stay at The Serengeti Tortilis camp near Seronera in the heart of Serengeti NP was nothing short of a dream. First and foremost the lodge staff were not only incredibly warm and welcoming, but they had a desire to become your friend, to teach you about their life and their culture and to learn about you and yours. This alone made the camp my favorite of those I stayed in during my time in Tanzania. The location of the camp is ideal, just a short en route game drive away from the center of all the action and most notably the big cats. The camp is clean and beautiful both during the day and at night and the accommodations are perfect. Serengeti Tortilis camp is and has everything you need and more for a perfect safari vacation. 10/10
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Team at Tortilis Camps, Sales at Serengeti Tortilis Camp
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you, we are all humbled by your comments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our camp so much and we are grateful for you taking the time to give us a review such as this. Do come back one day (soon)! Kind regards The Team at Tortilis Camps
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
TanzaniaSerengeti National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Serengeti Tortilis Camp
What are some of the property amenities at Serengeti Tortilis Camp?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Serengeti Tortilis Camp?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Serengeti Tortilis Camp?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Does Serengeti Tortilis Camp have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Serengeti Tortilis Camp accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.