We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Tulip Dar City Center

Save
Share
Jamhuri Street, Dar es Salaam Tanzania
Lowest prices for your stay
US$70
View deal
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (85)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (16)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#23 of 163 hotels in Dar es Salaam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Golden Tulip Dar City Center Hotel is located in the heart of the bustling city of Dar es salaam. It is accommodated in a brand new 21 Storage Tower occupying the top floors of this modern building. With not less than 36 Superior rooms, 12 Deluxe rooms, 4 Junior suites, and 3 Family suites, The Hotel offers magnificent views of the sea, Harbor and city. The Hotel accommodates its guests in style within its various spacious areas, comfortable rooms& suites, and exciting restaurant and Lounge themes. The Grand Hotel is the perfect place for business people in Dar Es Salaam. It focuses on seamless service from the moment you enter the hotel. We proud ourselves in looking after our guests in the most attentive manner. The hotel has a dedicated panoramic lift for hotel guests only. The Reception is located on the 20th floor and afford tremendous views on the ocean & harbor. Furthermore , the Hotel offers long-term rental apartments for our clients and family that are settling in the city for a longer time.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
135Reviews6Q+A29Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 44
  • 48
  • 27
  • 10
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
msafrica wrote a review Jun 2021
Maryland112 contributions80 helpful votes
As a family, we booked a few rooms to be close to where an event was happening. The staff worked hard to accommodate us in getting the desired room location. The lobby and grounds are beautiful. It has a nice pool, beautiful views, and a place to grab casual food like pizza. However, the rooms left a lot to be desired. Outdated systems and rooms. Complaints included poorly working toilets, uncomfortable beds, television not working, no hot water in the showers, etc. In fact, some of our party felt so uncomfortable with the circumstances and the failure to have them resolved, that they just went back home to sleep and took a loss for the room.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Golden Tulip, Guest Services / Front Office at Golden Tulip Dar City Center
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Msafrica thank you for taking time and drop a review, sorry to say this review is not for our hotel because we do not have pool, and there is two golden tulip one is at the city center which is ours and the other one is at beach area. regards guest relations.
Read more
pascal wrote a review May 2021
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo1 contribution1 helpful vote
I feel choosing this Golden Tulip Dar was my worst mistakes in this holiday. [1]. The facility is not having all the amenities advertised, cleaning could be done better, old facility, not so good air in the rooms and above all, even watching TV was an issue. [2]. Poor breakfast: restricted to eating some cheap food that does not resonate with the price paid. [3]. No value for money: I feel the price they made pay was way beyond the confort, service, ambiance and amenities offered. Also poor communication. Days before my arrival I called several times in several times of the week and my calls were never answered. I had wanted to request for an early check in. I ended up sending them an email and still one one responded to it :) Basically, call it my worst financial decision and hotel choice of the season.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Golden Tulip Hotels - Louvre Hotels Group
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Wanj2021 wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
-Breakfast range and varieties were very minimal-could be made better -Bathroom was dirty, sewerage was an issue,too many leakages -No global sports channels, and we couldn't watch live football matches
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Golden Tulip Hotels - Louvre Hotels Group
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Ahmed Abu wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
I don’t write reviews so often however this was a lifetime experience for me as i got married in Tanzania 🇹🇿, been welcomed by Lucman very helpful and polite and the star Shahofa who went way above and exceeded all the expectations she is extremely helpful knowledgeable polite helpful she helped me during my stay in Tanzania i have no enough words to thank her. Then it come to Vanessa who had a great heart and very helpful and active she helped me to arrange a great surprise for my wife in a very easy way with the help of Souda very charming and polite. Breakfast and restaurant team are great smiling helpful Housekeeping team did a great decoration. Engineering and Mohamed from IT such a brother , Waleed as well Please forgive if i forgot any names but this team is a star 🌟 keep up the good work love ❤️ you all and we will meet again inshallah 🙏
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Other at Golden Tulip Dar City Center
Responded 31 Aug 2020
Dear Mr&Mrs Ahmed, Greetings from our team here at Golden Tulip Hotel -Dar City Center. We miss you guys already,Thank you so much for this amazing feedback about the services and our staff.We are super happy to hear from you and your wife. We enjoyed every minute,laughter and experience that we shared with you two,and we are more than happy that we were part of your new journey together. The team wishes you nothing but the best in your life. We cant wait to have you here with us again soon. Stay safe Regards, Vanessa Sway, Guest Relations Manager
Read more
jolachka wrote a review Jul 2020
Stockholm, Sweden28 contributions31 helpful votes
We are hoteliers ourselves and have chosen this hotel for the views, location and design. We were happy with the young lady at the reception that gave us upgrade to delux room whichfore we were able to enjoy marvelous view from the room. However there are some things to improve. We ordered from the menu room service in the room and were told that we can only order from restaurant menu even though it was same items, just at least 30% pricier, also we wanted a simple chicken soup as one of us had stomach issues after travelling on a ferry from Zanzibar... It was strange that they said they couldn't do it... as it seemed very difficult we finally decided not to have it after all. At night we finally gave another chance to try the restaurant menu in the room. After all the chicken soup was possible as we asked at reception, however Club Sandwich arrived, it wasn't what you expect it to be from a classical club sandwich. Also we asked camomile tea and they didn't have it but brought black tea without asking. I used to work professionally with golden tulip and therefore I knew the company and stayed here but quite a few mistakes make it lesser of an experience, I think receptionist has saved our stay as she arranged romantic setup with Rose petals in the room for an anniversary.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Golden Tulip Hotel Dar es salaam City Center, Guest Services / Front Office at Golden Tulip Dar City Center
Responded 17 Aug 2020
Dear Jolachka, Greetings from the entire team at Golden Tulip Hotel-Dar City Center. From our hearts we are deeply sorry for the bad experience that you had with our hotel services and thank you so much that you pointed them out and that has opened a room of improvement. i have gone through all the issues mentioned and this will never happen again we promise you. Our wish is that you give us another chance to host you and you will 100% be happy as we will also have a big discount for you just to make it up for all the mistakes that we made that caused your stay uncomfortable. Stay safe and hope to see you again. Vanessa Sway, Guest Relations Manager.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$68 - US$187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Grand Hotel Dar Es Salaam
LOCATION
TanzaniaDar Es Salaam RegionDar es Salaam
NUMBER OF ROOMS
55
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Golden Tulip Dar City Center
Which popular attractions are close to Golden Tulip Dar City Center?
Nearby attractions include St. Joseph's Cathedral of Archdiocese of Dar es Salaam (0.4 km), Azania Front Lutheran Chruch (0.4 km), and R & D Jewellers Ltd (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Golden Tulip Dar City Center?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Golden Tulip Dar City Center?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Golden Tulip Dar City Center?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Golden Tulip Dar City Center?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Golden Tulip Dar City Center?
Conveniently located restaurants include Akemi Revolving Restaurant, Chowpatty, and Sno-Cream.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Golden Tulip Dar City Center?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Golden Tulip Dar City Center have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Golden Tulip Dar City Center offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Golden Tulip Dar City Center?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Golden Tulip Dar City Center offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Is Golden Tulip Dar City Center accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.