We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Courtyard

Save
Share
Seaview Ocean Road, Dar es Salaam 1000 Tanzania
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
CheapTickets
US$118
US$115
View deal
Booking.comUS$118
eDreamsUS$118
Orbitz.comUS$115
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (218)
Room & Suite (65)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 20/06/29 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Updated 20/06/29 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 163 hotels in Dar es Salaam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Protea Hotel Courtyard offers affordable accommodation in Dar es Salaam, the financial hub of Tanzania. Apart from the friendly and efficient service, along with the high quality facilities, Protea Hotel Courtyard’s location makes it one of the most preferred hotels by both corporate and leisure travellers. This is because the hotel is only 12 kms from the airport, 3 kms from the city centre and 500 metres away from a tranquil, beautiful beach. The hotel offers attractive rates for overnight accommodation to leisure travellers before or after safaris to the famous Serengeti National Park, Ngorongoro Crater, Lake Manyara, Sealous Game Reserve and Zanzibar. All 52 en-suite rooms are built around a beautiful, lush, green courtyard with the view of the pool. They are tastefully decorated and are equipped with all modern amenities including 32 inch LCD TV offering satellite TV channels (DSTV), personal electronic (laptop friendly) safe, mini bar and direct dialling enabled telephones. Free high speed internet is available via WIFI for our hotel residents. Protea Hotel Courtyard offers a wide array of wining and dining facilities, which comprise of Langi Langi – our multi-cuisine restaurant, Open House – 24 hr coffee shop, Jahazi Bar and 24 hour room service. With so many activities in the area, like a swimming pool, golf courses, yachting and a gym; get ready for an action packed holiday. Not to mention the shopping facilities nearby for all those last minute gifts and memorabilia.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Car hire
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
496Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 251
  • 199
  • 33
  • 6
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ian K wrote a review Jul 2021
Alnwick, United Kingdom651 contributions214 helpful votes
This is a very up market hotel. Good shuttle service from the airport and a pleasant room with air con. Breakfast is good and the room has a good en suite. The staff are friendly and helpful. A good place to stay after a long flight.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: All seem quiet
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
MGStickler wrote a review Jun 2021
Lehigh Valley, PA228 contributions75 helpful votes
Spent the last night of my two week trip to Zanzibar and The Northern Tanzanian Safari Circuit at this excellent hotel. Great, relaxing way to end the trip. All the employees were exceptionally kind and courteous. My room was possibly the best in the hotel. I can’t be certain, but I am certain I was upgraded. Breakfast was great and I had an amazing grilled lobster dinner in the restaurant after the late checkout they granted me and before my flight home late that night. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Masaomi Eric wrote a review Aug 2020
Bangkok, Thailand17 contributions8 helpful votes
The vilest and viciousness of intentions with the hotel guests coming right from the management to the staffs! Deliberately got the staffs to slam and bang the doors around my room the entire day! During the night, it would be the security guy pacing up and down my room unrelentlessly every 10 to 15 minutes! The echoing of his footsteps splitting the silence of the night and permeating into my room. All my pleas for a quiet stay fell on deaf ears! The General Manager even has the audacity to threaten me that there’s a huge group of boisterous guests checking in and that I should leave. His persistence for me to leave was appalling and obnoxious. He made it very personal with me and it sure feels very personal. The deliberate and continuous banging and stomping from the staffs was to frustrate and aggravate me to leave! The General Manager refused to turn on the Television Channel despite repeated requests from the maintenance staff and the water heater was turned on partially to conserve energy and I am left with only 5 minutes of lukewarm water everytime! All these he claims to be economically viable for Marriott!!! How Ludicrous and Preposterous can they get?!? As a Marriott Bonvoy Member, I am totally disgusted and repulsed by such unprofessional inconsideration for the Hotel guests! When did Marriott start compromising the creature comforts of their guests in order to be economically viable??? I implore all travellers to reconsider and avoid staying in this atrocious and obnoxious Marriott Courtyard Dar Es Salaam; whose inertia service reeks of vileness and personal vendettas! It’s imperative that you heed my advice or stay at your own peril or suffer the consequences like I did! Eric Room 903
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Service, Guest Services / Front Office at Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Responded 10 Aug 2020
Thank you for staying with us recently and taking time to share your experience. You checked in with a single night’s reservation but continued to extend the stay daily and ended up staying for 5 nights in total. We would like to believe that you extended your stay because you were enjoying your time with us. Every single associate at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Courtyard sincerely tries, at all times, to ensure each and every guest leaves with nothing but fond memories of a satisfactory stay. Our efforts were the same with you as well and you acknowledged this several times by praising the service and experience – verbally and in writing. But after the first three nights and two days of our stay, your started feeling that pretty much all staff were conspiring to trouble you on a 24 hour basis by systematically banging doors, windows and stomping in all rooms around you as well as corridors. Your concerns required constant personal attention of several Heads of Departments and the entire Front Office TEAM. We all did what we could do and more to ensure your comfort. After your first complaint about Housekeeping staff making noise while cleaning rooms they were specifically asked not to enter the floor unnecessarily and do it only with caution, which was followed religiously. Despite being extremely patient, courteous, understanding and hospitable, you continued to feel that the staff are making noise and disturbing you. You wanted to sleep in the gym, which for safety reasons we couldn’t allow. We arranged dedicated security guards outside your room for your peace of mind and to block anyone entering the floor. But that also didn’t solve the problem and you wanted to sleep in the lobby, restaurant or coffee shop, which again, we couldn’t allow due to obvious reasons. There were no other guests staying on your floor apart from one night where one room was occupied and we offered to show you the CCTV footages to prove that no one is disturbing you but you did not want to do this. As you can see we went above and beyond to accommodate you. It would be an impossible feat for us to organize all staff to pull off the kind of stunts you mentioned, all for the sole purpose of making you leave. It is also unnecessary, as we could have simply asked you to leave since the management reserves the right of admission. We conveyed that there is no such effort from the staff to you several times and assured you verbally and in writing that we would continue to host you. But you felt otherwise. We never told you that a ‘’huge group of boisterous guests is checking in and that you should leave’’. You preferred to be the only person staying on your floor or keep other GUESTS away and we informed you that we have a group checking in and we may have to assign some rooms on your floor. We also specifically informed you that we will try to allocate rooms away from your room and that you may stay with us for 1 year if required. We agree that on the third day morning you had an interruption of hot water supply in your room. This was rectified within 15 minutes of receiving your written message, which is on record along with the resolution confirmation. This was not repeated after this, had nothing to do with viability or cost saving and reference was never made to any savings. FYI, we use solar water heaters and hence the water heating doesn’t cost us. Satellite TV connection has been down and you asked about this once only. We informed you that efforts are being made to reconnect the service and may take a couple of days. You did not bring this up during the rest of your stay. As you can see from the response, we pay close attention to what guests feel and say about our services and respond to every one of them. It was unfortunate that you felt the way you did despite our best efforts. It was clearly not the intention and hope you understand the same.
Read more
Safua A wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions
I stayed at the Protea Hotel in Dar es Salaam as part of a conference. The service was very friendly & I felt well taken care of. The food menu was diverse and the reception staff of Jane & Brenda were very helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Vikram Singh wrote a review Feb 2020
Dubai, United Arab Emirates57 contributions15 helpful votes
Well it is sort of a second home away from home to me. Whenever I travel to Dar es Salaam, this is the one and only choice.. the atmosphere is relaxed and soothing.. the rooms feel as if you are at home.. food is nice and service is excellent... African Hospitality at its Best!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$119 - US$181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
courtyard dar es salaam, dar es salaam courtyard
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
LOCATION
TanzaniaDar Es Salaam RegionDar es Salaam
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Courtyard
Which popular attractions are close to Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Courtyard?
Nearby attractions include Las Vegas Casino (0.8 km), VIVA Towers (1.0 km), and Uhuru Heights (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Courtyard?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Courtyard?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Courtyard?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Courtyard?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Courtyard?
Conveniently located restaurants include Central Park Cafe, Mamboz Sizgrill, and Cafe Aroma.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Courtyard?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Courtyard have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Courtyard offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Courtyard?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Courtyard offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Courtyard?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.