We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandbar Beachfront Hostel & Restaurant

Save
Traveller (108)
Room & Suite (61)
Dining (18)
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Watch prices for this hotel.
We’ll alert you of any changes.
Sign up
Overview
  • Excellent79%
  • Very good16%
  • Average4%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“dorm room”(7 reviews)
“bunk beds”(6 reviews)
Free Wifi
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Laundry Service
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
137
28
8
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
137
28
8
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdorm roombunk bedsprivacy curtainsshared balconybuffalo chickenlockable storagerestaurant and bar downstairssleeping maskexceptional locationthin crustprivate rooms aregreat pizzabring earplugspizza specialwifi signalfridge and microwaveair conditioning
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 174 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We only stayed here a night but it was lovely! The staff was very friendly and the facilities were just as expected. The beds are comfy and I like that there is a little curtain around each one for privacy. The rooms also have AC....More

Thank kaylindann
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Sandbar was a great location, and for the price it was very nice. The rooms were recently renovated and it was very comfortable, great AC. We were central to many things and could walk. I did wish there were more pillows, we had one...More

Thank Mariah H
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There food and drinks were very good. They have the best pizza on the island The wait staff is very friendly.there drinks were great . They have a hotel also but i didnt stay there so i dont know anything about it.

Thank norm r
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location!! Around the corner from supermarket. The staff is extremely courteous and always working to maintain service and cleanliness. The onsite diving company was outstanding. The food, especially the pizza, is over the top good!! I will definitely come back to Belize and stay...More

Thank Glenn G
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Great pizza and the staff is very nice. It is right on the water and they have a nice dock to set out on. The drinks are a good price and the beer is cold. They have a lot of seating and you can play...More

1  Thank Joe C
View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Beachfront
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$18 - US$94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$18 - US$94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (108)
Room & Suite (61)
Dining (18)
Pool & Beach (11)
Amenities (17)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Caitlin W
24 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from atshore14 | Reviewed this property |
Belize City is undoubtedly a dangerous place. That being said, it's not so dangerous that you can't use it as a transit point to go on to other places in the country; I just wouldn't stay there. Not that it is the most... More
0
Votes
Tracey P
18 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Captain_Random | Reviewed this property |
It isn't that noisy IMO. as long as you have a private room it will be fine.
1
Vote
awick989
4 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Captain_Random | Reviewed this property |
No. But they did have an awesome private room with balcony for about $80/nt.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"be prepared for a hike from the water taxi stop"
Read review
"We did not stay her, we ate at the restaurant."
Read review
"Seaview Rooms are the best!"
Read review
"book in advise is highly acclaimed"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing