Holiday Inn Washington Capitol - Natl Mall, an IHG Hotel

Holiday Inn Washington Capitol - Natl Mall, an IHG Hotel

Room #409
Traveller (653)
Room & Suite (354)
Holiday Inn Washington Capitol - Natl Mall, an IHG Hotel
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#115 of 152 hotels in Washington DC
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Modern hotel near the National Mall, The Wharf DC and United States Capitol BuildingThe Holiday Inn® Washington Capitol-National Mall's location places you within walking distance of the National Air and Space Museum, National Museum of Natural History, Museum of the Bible, International Spy Museum, Museum of African American History and Culture, and of course the gorgeous National Mall. In addition to DC's most popular attractions, numerous government agencies and offices such as DOE, DHHS, FAA, FEMA, HUD, NASA, USDA, and American Farm Bureau Federation, are within walking distance. Book your stay just minutes from Washington's most storied historical sites, including the Washington Monument, Jefferson Memorial, World War II Memorial, and MLK Jr. Memorial. Amenities include free high-speed Internet access, mini refrigerator, Keurig coffeemakers, and in-room safes.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Car park
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Vending machine
Rooftop bar
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards

Location

550 C St SW, Washington DC, DC 20024
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 95 out of 100
95
Ronald Reagan National Airport
Dulles Intl Airport
38.6 km
See all flights
L'Enfant Plaza
3 minWashington DC Metro
3,252Reviews124Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 969
  • 1,470
  • 543
  • 166
  • 105
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Stephanie T wrote a review Jun 2023
20 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Clean, comfortable hotel with friendly, helpful staff. This is a great location for museums and monuments. We walked from this location, but taxis were readily available and it is close to public transportation. If you are driving in, reserve your parking when you make your reservation for a better rate. We had in/out access for the duration of our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christina wrote a review Apr 2021
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The location is good for museum and sites about ten minute walk to the start of the national mall. They had food truck around 11am on Sunday so that was a fun option where everyone could get something they like. Otherwise food is hard to find in general. During covid make sure you pick a place and reserve a table the day before or you will be suck getting take out or delivery. And make sure you tell them you need utensils some places don't include them as default.

About 5 minutes from the bible museum and about 10 from the spy museum both must see.

parking is 50 + dollars a day through the hotel. I parked at the parking lot behind the bible museum and it was $80 for Thursday at 2pm to Monday at 2pm but you have to leave it and not go in and out. So 200+ vs 80.

The hotel is clean and the people are nice even though you could tell when they were having a long bad day. Helpful tip might be to tell people that they will deactivate their card key if they put it by a credit card. I think most people put it exactly by their credit cards so guest get locked out their rooms and no one wants that. Elevator was a pain and while everyone and their grandma told the front desk no urgency was seen. There was being polite but no above and beyond. A typed sign would of been good, information would have been good to those who checked in after the issue was known.

I forgot to tell them but the cooler in 512 freezes everything even on the lowest setting. Brought drinks to save money but couldn't drink them until they defrosted. LOL

I had a king bed it was a little hard but I was able to crash every night from all the walking, I would suggest bringing your own pillow in one of those protective covers. You will thank me later. Notice there are soft and firm pillows on the bed. The soap and sample stuff was amazing. I wish they would have something between decaf and dark roast. They did provide wipes and hand sanitizer which was amazing remember to wipe down the tv remote light switches and knobs.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: If you are a super light sleeper to bring ear plugs. I had them but never use them & was...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Laura Studebaker, Sales at Holiday Inn Washington Capitol - Natl Mall, an IHG Hotel
Responded 12 May 2021
Hi csmm85, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! Your feedback is important to us, and we use it to provide a better experience for future guests. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and time in DC. We hope to see you back at Holiday Inn Washington Capitol again soon. Sincerely, Laura Sales Coordinator
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TNbeachbum75 wrote a review Jan 2020
Clarksville, Tennessee252 contributions125 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel is very convenient to the DC Metro and to many DC attractions. Hotel staff was very courteous and helpful. Room was comfortable and clean (refrigerator was a great convenience). Adequate internet connectivity, work area, and comfortable work chair (could benefit from an update to device charging options). Room rates were reasonable and I’d stay here again for business or family travel (outdoor pool on the roof).

On the first night (only), I could hear people in a nearby room talking. Downloaded a noise-blocker app on my phone, which masked the sound and also helped soften the city sounds.

Food options in the immediate area are somewhat limited on weekends and in the evening, but there are many options a short distance from the hotel. On weekdays into early evening, numerous options available near the Metro stop, down the street from the hotel and one street over where 20 or so food trucks park at lunchtime. Ate in the hotel Sunday evening and one morning for breakfast - it was convenient. The dinner menu was limited on Sunday evening and the breakfast buffet was acceptable, but not stellar. There are a couple of other breakfast options (diners/coffee shops, etc) that are better values within a quick walk of the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ebonie W, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Washington Capitol - Natl Mall, an IHG Hotel
Responded 23 Jan 2020
Hello TNbeachbum75, Thank you so much for the informative review! We greatly appreciate you telling others about our hotel and convenient location. We hope to see you next time at the Holiday Inn Capitol!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lee B wrote a review Apr 2022
Hurricane, West Virginia29 contributions17 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I was there April 1 - 5, 2022 for a conference. Any urban area is always going to be more expensive, and when it comes to urban areas DC is one of the most expensive. I chose this hotel specifically because it was pet friendly and relatively close to my conference. The lobby was great, and the check in and check out process was very efficient and easy. The staff was great.

The room was in dire need of an update. The bathroom was excellent and updated, but the carpet was old and quite dirty. I noticed that my dogs paws were almost black and initially chalked it up to walking them on city sidewalks, but then I noticed that the soles of my socks were also filthy after walking around the hotel room in socked feet.

Daily room service was not standard, which in and of itself is not a problem per se, until you look at the price per night to stay. While I did not spend a lot of time in my room, when I tried to watch TV, the satellite signal was phenomenally spotty and not many channels to select from. Again, for the nightly price for a room, I expect decent TV reception and channel selection.

I patronized both restaurants in the hotel. I will give very high marks to both, as compared to similar establishments in DC, the service and quality were in line with the prices.

My pups were crated anytime I was not in the room, walked frequently, and there were no accidents on the carpet. I did pay the agreed upon nonrefundable pet fee. I sincerely hope that after I checked out, that they applied that fee to steam clean the carpets well. Not because of my pets, but because the old worn out carpets that need to be replaced, most definitely need a deep cleaning as evidenced by my pets dirty feet and my filthy socks. Future guests truly deserve clean carpets, most especially because of the room price charged.

The beds were comfortable. The towels and linens were very clean with a great aroma. The carpets were filthy. If the carpets had been updated or clean, I could possibly give a rating of four, but in this case, especially considering the price, I am being very generous by giving a rating of three. I would actually give a 2.5 if I could.

I spend a lot of time on the road for work. I stay in a lot of hotels. So far this year, I have spent more than six weeks in hotels in different settings. This is my lowest rating so far this year based on overall value versus accommodation versus market. In short, it really comes down to filthy carpets.

I will be back in DC for a week or so in about a year. It is highly unlikely that I will return to this hotel, even if I must pay a little more, for other accommodations.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Weigh your choices with other accommodations. Not a horrible hotel, but you may find a better...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Corrine de la Torre, Sales at Holiday Inn Washington Capitol - Natl Mall, an IHG Hotel
Responded 19 Apr 2022
998leeb, thank you for choosing our hotel for your Washington, DC Conference. While you had a lot of hotels to choose from, you chose us and we want to thank you for that. What you described is definitely not the kind of experience we want any of our guests to have. I've shared your feedback with our management team, and I trust that they will use this as a reference to help us further improve the quality of our guests' experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sloomis31 wrote a review Aug 2021
Bristol, WI1,031 contribution299 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel's proximity to the mall is ideal for tourists and the folks at Holiday Inn know it. We stayed for one night and instead of paying $53 a day for parking I paid half at the garage across the street via Spot Hero. The lobby was very clean and the staff was polite, but there was only 1 luggage cart. We had a room with two queen beds which faced the street. Not much noise, but the lamp was broken and there was a stain on the wall from where someone spilled a drink. Then there was the bathroom tub which was all brown (see photo). I would have asked for a different room, but we were tired and opted just to lay a towel down rather than step on whatever had stained the tub. When staying in a city I am not surprised to get ripped off on things like soda and chips, but when a hotel doesn't have the decency to at least put prices on the items they sell in their little store I mark them down. Warning - Cheap generic bottles of water are more expensive than brand soda. It was hot outside so a swim in the rooftop pool would have been great, but it was apparently closed all summer. Then there was the a/c in the room which jarred us awake every time it went off. If you are coming to D.C. and it is location you want try a few other hotels before checking into this Holiday Inn. Even location can't make up for how down right average your stay will be.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Laura Studebaker, Sales at Holiday Inn Washington Capitol - Natl Mall, an IHG Hotel
Responded 27 Aug 2021
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet your expectations. We want to assure you that we take all complaints from our guests seriously and we hope you will give the Holiday Inn Washington Capitol another chance in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katherine B wrote a review Oct 2021
2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived around 4 pm on a Saturday and our 2 queen room was ready. Many thanks to a previous reviewer for tipping me off about the parking garage across the street. I was able to book a parking spot through the SpotHero app for Saturday afternoon through Tuesday afternoon for a total of $80. That was a huge savings compared to $53 a night for the hotel. We didn't have in and out privileges, but the car was super close to the hotel and I found it very easy to use the app to park. The hotel is located near the metro station, but we ended up either walking, using the cabibike app to rent bikes (there is a station 1 block away) or the electric scooters. The hotel location is central to everything, so we found it easy to get to all the usual tourist locations. Our favorite was riding scooters down to the waterfront and eating there. It was a lovely spot to visit and the food options were varied. Our room overlooked the courtyard and was not near the train tracks. The room was clean and large enough for us to spread out. We had a fridge and keurig and we both found the bed very comfortable. There was an ac unit inside the room and I found the sound to be the perfect white noise. Some might find it loud so just be aware. We plan on staying here again when we visit DC.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the train tracks.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Corrine de la Torre, Sales at Holiday Inn Washington Capitol - Natl Mall, an IHG Hotel
Responded 27 Oct 2021
Hello KatherinebP2449KE, Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Washington Capitol-National Mall during your recent visit to Washington, DC. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the close proximity to the waterfront, National Mall, and L'Enfant Plaza Metro station. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a five star review and we hope that you stay with us again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cookingmonster wrote a review Feb 2020
Ewing, New Jersey64 contributions24 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We are currently staying here. The hotel is well located, has a Starbucks and a restaurant. We used both. They let kids eat free off the kids menu which saved us a few bucks. Our tv wouldn’t turn on the first night. Called down and a friendly tech was up and had it fixed in minutes (tripped gfci). Parking is pricey and we just found out this morning that street parking is free this weekend. Shame on us. Wish I researched. Overall room is fine. Staff are friendly. Train noise wakes me up...but it’s not too bad. Would stay here again. Easy location to all the sites and about an 8$ Uber ride to the convention center.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KiwiViajero wrote a review Dec 2022
Wellington, New Zealand176 contributions124 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here for two nights in December 2022. It took about half an hour by taxi from Dulles airport (early morning when there was no traffic). It's also a 20-minute walk to Union Station, although probably longer as I tend to walk quickly and it would take much longer with luggage.

The hotel is located in the middle of an area with government buildings, so there are very few shops and restaurants in the surrounding streets. There are not a lot of people in the streets, although the area did feel safe. Thankfully in the block where the hotel is located there is a Starbucks, deli, pizzeria, and McDonalds. Otherwise, you'll have to walk about 5-10 minutes to L'Enfant Plaza where there's a food court. There are restaurants in the hotel that I did not try, and also a little shop with snacks and drinks. The National Aeronautics and Space Museum is only five minutes away. I stayed here as it was close to a conference that I was attending. Otherwise, if I return to Washington DC, I won't stay in this part of the city.

The lobby is wonderful and flash. However, the room itself was a bit dated. I knew this immediately when I entered as the light switch was of an old style. I had a problem with the air conditioning (to heat the room). It was very noisy and came on suddenly at about 3am one morning and woke me up. There were also random plumbing noises at night. Don't stay here if you want a quiet night. The TV signal and wifi were ok but there were occasional hiccups. The bed was comfortable with both soft and hard pillows, and there was plenty of space in the room. The coffee machine was rather old. Haven't you heard of modern Nespresso machines?

The service at the front desk was ok, but a bit robotic. There were no smiles or warm welcomes when I arrived and checked out. You should work on that! On my first morning they started vacuuming outside my door at 8:30am and, on my second morning, they knocked on my door at 8:30am to leave me my bill. As I was asleep because of jet lag, that was not good timing. I recommend that hotel staff members try to keep the morning noise down out of consideration for hotel guests. Definitely get the old-fashioned air conditioning fixed as it was very loud!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Corrine de la Torre, Sales at Holiday Inn Washington Capitol - Natl Mall, an IHG Hotel
Responded 20 Dec 2022
KiwiViajero, Thank you for choosing to be our guest for your trip to Washington, DC. Your feedback was very detailed and will help us continue to grow our services. It sounds like you hit traffic just in the Knick of time for a 30 minute trip from Dulles. Great job! The traffic on some days can be quite a doozy. We are very fortunate to have the museums very close to us. While a lot do offer cafes, we are limited to dinner options. The area has improved tremendously with the addition of the Southwest Waterfront but I agree, some guest choose not to walk any more after a long day of exploring. We are very fortunate to offer uber pick-up and public transit very close by. KiwiViajero, thank you for taking the time to detail your experience. Not only does your feedback help us grow and improve, it is valuable feedback for future guest. We hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fsu23phd wrote a review Apr 2021
Greenville, North Carolina312 contributions144 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here with a family of 3 in April 2021 (3 nights) to see the cherry blossoms. It's very close to the south side of the national mall, which is great. It's about a 20 minute walk to the tidal basin, which is ok. Not many open restaurants were in the waling area, just a few cafes and fast food places.

The room was generally good. The beds were comfortable and the sheets/furniture seemed new enough. There was alot of surface area, which is great we were able to spread out. The bathtub did drain slowly and had some rust stains around the drain, but no big deal. I didn't sleep well the first night because of noise. The heater is quite noisy (there are individual units in each room, not central) and our neighbors were awfully noisy all night. There were other minor annoyances like power outlets that didn't hold a plug and charged very slowly, but nothing substantial.

So given the location, room quality, noise, etc, I'd give it 4 starts.

I'm giving it 3 stars because when we got the folio under the door it was was $150 more than the price I reserved for. I had booked a parking package, which I calculated was 53/night (about 150 total) more than the comparable rate without parking. The rate notes indicates that the rate includes parking. Still, they charged me this rate and then tried to include an additional charge for parking after the fact.

I had to call to protest and they did remove the extra charge and acknowledge the mistake. For this annoyance I am giving it 3 stars. Also, I imagine that they do this frequently, so be careful.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Check your bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Washington Capitol - Natl Mall, an IHG Hotel
Responded 19 Apr 2021
Hello fsu23phd, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us candid feedback. While I am glad to know that you found the location convenient and that you liked the comfort of the bedding, I am sorry your stay didn't cut it due to the issues encountered with the bathroom, noise disturbances and the billing mixed up. I understand this is not the seamless experience you're accustomed to. I have shared your comments with the hotel management and I'm certain that appropriate steps will be taken so this doesn't happen again. I also sent you private message to further reach out to you and get more details. We hope that you will not allow this isolated event to prevent you from choosing us again! Best, Jonathan A Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
IndianaJonesA wrote a review Nov 2022
Reading, United Kingdom40 contributions82 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel can be reached in approximately 40 min by taxi from Dulles Airport however, on being told the cost was ~$70, I opted for a local bus service (Metrobus, service number 5A) for $7.50. You can get on this bus right outside the terminal but note, that the journey time to L’Enfant Plaza (in central DC) is approximately 1 hour, as it stops at a number of towns on route including Rosslyn (Arlington, Virginia).

The hotel is ideally located if you wish to visit the National Mall, with the National Air and Space Museum being only a 5 minute walk away. Other points of interest such as the US Capitol and Washington Monument are within easy reach as is the L’Enfant Plaza Metro Station, which provides a convenient and affordable way of getting around the city. The hotel has 2 restaurants, one of which is used for breakfast and the other (a sports bar type establishment) is used for lunch and dinner. Both venues had a good menu and for the few nights I was there, I was never bored with the selection or quality of the offerings. There is also a Starbucks just off the main lobby on the ground floor and a Macdonald’s and Deli on the same block as the hotel. The hotel also has a “Market” by reception, which was a lifesaver for me as I didn’t have time to go down for breakfast and attend early morning meetings in the city. As such, I purchased cereal, milk, yogurt and muffins etc., which enabled me to have breakfast in my room prior to heading out for work.

My room was on the 9th floor and furnished to a good standard including fridge, coffee machine and room safe. The bathroom was also clean and overall the accommodation was well maintained. The only point of concern is that I was woken in the small hours (sometimes more than once) by the railroad which runs quite close to the hotel. In particular, Amtrak services have a practise of sounding their horns multiple times while passing through urban areas and while not the hotels fault, prospective guests may wish to consider this prior to making a booking.

In summary, a well-run hotel in a good central DC location, which I would recommend to business and leisure travellers.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the railway.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Corrine de la Torre, Sales at Holiday Inn Washington Capitol - Natl Mall, an IHG Hotel
Responded 14 Nov 2022
IndianaJonesA, thank you for choosing to be our guest. We truly appreciate your review and we are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your visit here with us at Holiday Inn Capitol- National Mall. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the Washington, DC area.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rake04 asked a question Jul 2022
Roanoke, Virginia57 contributions5 helpful votes
Can you walk to The Wharf from this hotel?
Answer from Steven C
18 contributions24 helpful votes
yes takes 10-15 minutes. Well-travelled seems very safe.
Jane1108 asked a question Jan 2022
Wakefield, Rhode Island37 contributions25 helpful votes
Are there breakfast options available at the hotel?
Answer from Kinda Invisible
Seattle, Washington298 contributions87 helpful votes
When we were there in September, the breakfast options were Starbucks that is attached to the hotel and then McDonald's at the end of the block. The on-property restaurants were not open for breakfast, so check with them directly to see what the updated options are.
Leslielbk asked a question Dec 2021
Longboat Key, Florida8 contributions
Can I cast to the tv so I can watch Netflix and YouTube?
samuel b asked a question Oct 2021
Do they have a hot tub/Jacuzzi
Answer from Laura S
Hello, The hotel does not have a jacuzzi.
Answer from Laura S
The 21st Amendment is currently open on the weekends for breakfast and dinner with a limited menu. Starbucks, McDonalds and Quiznos are open as well.
aces11 wrote a tip May 2024
Nanaimo, Canada237 contributions35 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Mid to end of May when school trips are happening"
Read full review
Colleen S wrote a tip May 2024
2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are a light sleeper, make sure your room isn't on the side of the railroad tracks. Our room was, but it didn't bother us at all. "
Read full review
Steve R wrote a tip May 2024
Norwich, United Kingdom79 contributions49 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stay here if you are a light sleeper"
Read full review
jadamom wrote a tip May 2024
Planet Earth58 contributions21 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The bed was comfortable for me as I read that it was hard. It was firm but good for me."
Read full review
Nicki O wrote a tip Apr 2024
Hamilton, Bermuda122 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Early afternoon and Sunday’s are less crowded to visit all the monuments, memorials and museums."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Washington DC area.
PRICE RANGE
R 3,604 - R 5,068 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn washington - capitol hotel washington dc, holiday inn washington dc, washington dc holiday inn, holiday inn capitol
LOCATION
United StatesDistrict of ColumbiaWashington DC
NUMBER OF ROOMS
536
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN WASHINGTON CAPITOL - NATL MALL, AN IHG HOTEL - Reviews & Price Comparison (Washington DC)

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Washington Capitol - Natl Mall, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Washington Capitol - Natl Mall, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include National Air and Space Museum (0.3 km), Museum of the Bible (0.2 km), and Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Washington Capitol - Natl Mall, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Washington Capitol - Natl Mall, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Washington Capitol - Natl Mall, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Washington Capitol - Natl Mall, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Washington Capitol - Natl Mall, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mitsitam Native Foods Cafe, Capitol Bistro, and 2 Sisters Deli.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Washington Capitol - Natl Mall, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Holiday Inn Washington Capitol - Natl Mall, an IHG Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Washington DC.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Washington Capitol - Natl Mall, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Washington Capitol - Natl Mall, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Washington Capitol - Natl Mall, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All Washington DC HotelsWashington DC Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Washington DCHotels near Holiday Inn Washington Capitol - Natl Mall, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire