We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Radfords on the Lake

Save
Share
Traveller (174)
Room & Suite (92)
Pool & Beach (5)
Overview
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good19%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“milford sound”(146 reviews)
“bedroom suite”(7 reviews)
“the ground floor”(28 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Kitchenette
Wheelchair Access
Housekeeping
5 Star accommodation
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (691)
Filter reviews
667 results
Traveller rating
503
128
27
9
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
503
128
27
9
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmilford soundbedroom suitethe ground floornew zealandspa bathexcellent locationfirst floorrestaurants and shopslittle touchescomfortable bedthree nightsa great place to stayfree wifisky tvsouth islandglow worm cavesyogurt
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 667 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

I stayed at Radfords a few nights ago and it was a fantastic experience. Kerri's passion for ensuring her guests have a memorable stay is clear from the moment you check in. She gave us wonderful recommendations on what to do for our only evening...More

Thank 926Turtle
Response from Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the LakeResponded 2 days ago

Hi 926Turtle, Wow your kind words are most appreciated! We are delighted that you enjoyed your Radfords Experience and we thank you for choosing to stay here whilst exploring the beautiful Fiordland. We hope we have the chance to host you again one day. Kind...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wow. What an incredible stay! On arrival the host was incredible. Check in was incredibly easy and we were given lots of information and advice about our upcoming trip without having to ask. We were very kindly lent a book about the walks in the...More

Thank ChanD92
Response from Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the LakeResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi ChanD92, Wow thank you for your glowing review! Always lovely to hear what guests have enjoyed during their stay and that the little touches have added to your Radfords experience. Great that you were able to stay for three nights to explore our beautiful...More

Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Our second stay did not disappoint. Exceptional communication from both Shelley and Kerri. Our favourite room was unavailable but another upstairs was still equally as good. Nice view out to the Lake. Refurbished and modern rooms. Gorgeous linen, warm, cosy and homely. Accessible laundry. Would...More

Thank Adelecharles
Response from Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the LakeResponded 11 July 2018

Dear Adelecharles, Thank you so much for choosing Radford's on your second visit to Te Anau and your kind words. We are delighted that we lived up to your expectations. It is always a highlight to welcome back repeat guests and we hope you have...More

Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

Thanks to Kerri for a memorable stay at Radfords on the Lake. The apartment was exceptionally clean, warm and cosy. The bed super comfy and a chocolate on the bedside table a nice touch. We were able to use the bikes and communication was excellent,...More

Thank sportyjo2016
Response from Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the LakeResponded 6 July 2018

Hi sportyjo2016, Thank you for reviewing your stay and for choosing Radfords. We are delighted that we have lived up to your expectations and you enjoyed our hospitality. Great photos and fantastic to see that you tried out the new trail on one of our...More

Reviewed 26 June 2018

Great location, pretty property with excellently maintained units that speak to the pride of the owners. Kerri could not have been more helpful when we arrived, assisting to provide all the guidance we needed for food, local information and our trip to Milford Sound. Wide...More

Thank CoJonesUK
Response from Radfords56, Owner at Radfords on the LakeResponded 27 June 2018

Hi CoJonesUK, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay, you were both such a delight to host and we are so happy that you enjoyed your time spent here and felt that it catered to your needs. We hope you...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Wheelchair Access
Self-Serve Laundry
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
US$145 - US$282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$145 - US$282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#1 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (174)
Room & Suite (92)
Pool & Beach (5)
Dining (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
limsimseng
19 September 2016|
Answer
Response from Josie1232003 | Reviewed this property |
Hi Limsimseng It takes about 2.5 hours to drive by car from Te Anau (where Radfords is located) to Milford sound. If you are looking to drive into Milford Sound and then back Te Anau later in the day it's a 5 hour round... More
4
Votes
Room Tips
"Upstairs avoids headlights and provides a slightly better lake view."
Read review
"The better views will be from the second level"
Read review
"we had a first floor exec room with a lake view: great view, quiet, and warm, with plenty of space and modern..."
Read review
"any room I assume would be good"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing