We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

McHardy Lodge

Traveller (31)
Pool & Beach (4)
Room & Suite (4)
Certificate of Excellence


Certificate of Excellence
5* McHardy Lodge is a beautifully restored 1896 residence situated in a quiet cul de sac on exclusive Napier Hill, close to all the attractions of Art Deco Napier and the wineries, golf and gannet colony of Cape Kidnappers and the award winning dining experiences of Hawkes Bay. The Lodge has a wealth of rich native Kauri timber and antique furnishings. The suites are dressed with fine furnishings and linens, with luxurious beds to sink into and relax. Spacious bathrooms feature claw foot or deep tub baths and large showers, making them the ideal place to relax and unwind. Relaxation is not confined to your suite. After a gourmet breakfast overlooking the Ocean you can lounge around the pool or on one of the extensive verandahs - the views of the blue Pacific Ocean and mountain ranges in the distance will beguile you. Enjoy a game on our full size billiards table in the billiard room, or snuggle up in the library in front of the fire. Whether it is merely a break from life’s pressures, a special holiday, a celebration you want to make so much more special, or you are planning the ideal start to married life together – we will ensure you have an experience you will treasure.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Room features
Refrigerator in room
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Historic Hotel
40Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 160
  • 11
  • 5
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We stayed here for 2 nights and it has been wonderful! Yvonne is a great host - there when you need her with plenty of hints and tips and not at all obtrusive. We stayed in the lovely Chianti room which was very comfortable and we slept really well. Breakfast was excellent. If
Read more
Response from McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for such a positive review - if you do get to Napier again you would be more than welcome. It was a pleasure to host you at the Lodge and to help you get the most out of your stay. I hope the rest of your stay in New Zealand is equally enjoyable.
Read more
We had a wonderful 3-day stay and Yvonne was most helpful with abundant restaurant and excursion advice. The cooked to order breakfast was delicious and we were satisfied with everything the lodge offered. We had come to play golf and see the city and all were very good
Read more
We do not recommend this establishment- Yvonne was sanctimonious and rude - she was interfering, controlling and in fact lied to us and charged us for 3 nights but could only accommodate us for 2 nights, the room she had allocated was small and exposed to a pool and verandah
Read more
Response from McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge
Responded 21 Jan 2019
I am so sorry that you are unhappy after my staff and I did everything we could to accommodate your wishes and offer you a warm welcome, as we do for all guests. You asked for a midday check in which we happily agreed to - you arrived at 6pm. You personally had specifically booked our most popular Chianti superking deluxe suite through Booking.com - we had no input to your decision and it was not "allocated". Your wife stated that she would not sleep in the suite so, as a gesture of goodwill, we offered you our Venice superking deluxe suite - your wife again refused the accommodation despite it being our largest room at 45.5 sq. metres in size. Our only other deluxe suite, the Versaille, had been booked by another guest, yet to arrive - you insisted I contact them to get their agreement to move their suite - I did so and luckily they agreed. Prior to payment, you were clearly told this Versaille suite was only available for two nights and that as you had booked for 3 nights in our Chianti suite and this was still available to you, if you chose the Versaille you would be charged for the 3 nights you had booked . You again refused the Chianti suite. When asked to settle your bill you claimed that you had already paid via Booking.com. You refused to pay till Booking.com were contacted and they confirmed they had not taken payment. As for overcharging - on the day you checked out your original choice, the Chianti suite, which your wife had repeatedly refused, was still available. You were welcomed to breakfast by myself and my staff and you completely ignored our welcome. During you stay we asked, as we normally do, if we could offer assistance in the booking of restaurants, taxis and other activities - you ignored our approach - I am sorry if you viewed this as interference. After you left I received a very abusive and threatening phone call from you which has been reported. In summary, I am not a liar nor do I interfere – I only offer advice to enhance a guest’s stay and where requested. My staff and I did everything we possibly could to make you welcome and deliver our normal high standard of service which our other guests have commented on and we very much regret that you feel as you do.
Read more
Yvonne the owner is a great host with a great deal of local knowledge to make your stay enjoyable. Nicely appointed rooms with free wifi and parking. Breakfast was excellent. The recommendation that Yvonne gave us for the wine tasting was superb.
Read more
Response from McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge
Responded 03 Dec 2018
Thank you for such a positive review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the suggestions I made for things to see and do in the area. We have over 70 wineries in the region with many award winning ones so you are spoiled for choice. I do hope to see you again some time in the future.
Read more
We spent 4 weeks in total in New Zealand arriving just before new year. Having spent some time in Auckland we travelled to Napier in early January 2018 this coincided with my birthday and my husband certainly picked the ideal place to stay. He had booked the Venice Suite and
Read more
Response from McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge
Responded 17 Jun 2018
Thank you for your wonderful review - it was a pleasure having you to stay at the Lodge and it was great to add to your enjoyment of your birthday. Napier has so much to offer and McHardy Lodge is just that little bit different with its very special place in Napier history - we are pleased that it made your celebrations just that little bit more special .
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerPool & BeachRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play Areas
Versaille Room (sofa, closet & bathroom not shown)
a view from the verandah
View from the street
Venice suite
What is the walking distance to down town Napier?
"The Venice Suite is stunning, it is one of the largest and probably the best in the building, but really lovely."
"Superior Rooms are superb"
"Quiet location so aspects of room are immaterial"
"The pictures don't lie - all rooms seem excellent."
"every room is unique"
US$355 - US$392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
New ZealandNorth IslandHawke's Bay RegionNapier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing