SkyCity Hotel

SkyCity Hotel

Corner Victoria and Federal Streets, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010 New Zealand
Traveller (821)
Twin Suite
Room & Suite (352)
Dining (26)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#20 of 73 hotels in Auckland Central
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Centrally located, SkyCity Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic SkyTower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Casino and Gambling
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Qualmark.
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Green
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Arabic and 3 more

Location

Corner Victoria and Federal Streets, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010 New Zealand
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Auckland Intl Airport
18.4 km
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles2,622 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

SkyCity Hotel's central location is a hit with guests, putting them within arm's reach of must-see destinations like the Sky Tower and Viaduct Harbour, not to mention ample dining and shopping options. While the hotel's atmosphere draws guests in with its inviting design and thoughtful touches, opinions on the rooms and service vary; some guests report large and tidy spaces, while others have encountered cleanliness issues and less-than-stellar service. Despite the praise for its amenities and location, the consensus on value is less favorable, with numerous travelers questioning the hotel's price-to-service ratio.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Mixed
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
2,622Reviews36Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,246
  • 941
  • 302
  • 70
  • 63
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Geoff W wrote a review Apr 2021
Wellington, New Zealand
3.0 of 5 bubbles
SkyCity Hotel is convenient in location and have some great restaurants surrounding it as you would expect for a Casino. The concierge / valet service is on point and the rooms are comfortable.
But imagine this… it’s 11pm, you pull back your sheets after a long day and find stains on them. Understanding that missing detail happens you call the duty manager, who advises he will send someone to fix the issue.
30 mins later, you are still waiting, so call again. The usual apology occurs and he advises some will be up. 10 mins pass and there is a know at the door, a staff member offers 2 sheets. You stand there confused.. “do you think I am changing sheets in a hotel I paid $260 a night for” you think.
After explaining he reluctantly enters the room to change the sheets and leaves the pillows in a state of what can only be described as “couldn’t give a…”
On checking out at 11am, expect long queues of 20mins, because apparently management don’t understand their peak times and think one person on a desk is fine.
There is a lot of opportunity for improvement in management and service. If you can see past this, you might enjoy your stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from William Surya, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel
Responded 03 May 2021
Kia ora G_Wintle Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay with us. Feedback is of upmost importance to us and it is only through such feedback that we are able to improve our service, our products and the attention to detail. Thank you for your feedback on our location, the concierge/ valet team and the room. However, I was most disappointed to read about your rest of your experiences and we are taking this feedback seriously. We would like to extend our apologies to the condition in which you received your sheets, the service from staff member attended your room, few follow up calls that should not happen and one receptionist during peak hours was unacceptable. Rest assured this has been addressed with the teams and my sincere apologies to you. Having investigated each area, we have had conversation with the staff member who delivered the sheet, is currently under training and certainly one to improve. We are at a loss to understand the issue with the sheets and our Executive Housekeeper wishes to convey her apologies to you for the issues you encountered. We certainly look into a way to avoid a queue waiting. I have every confidence in our team here at The SkyCity Hotel. We take great pride in delivering excellent customer service and I know that the team have handled the situation to their best of abilities and by way of apology offered you a special rate on your future stay. Please do not hesitate to contact myself directly at William.surya@skycity.co.nz Best regards, William Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Henrik R wrote a review Mar 2020
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived at the hotel at 06.00 after travelling for circa 30 hours from the UK. The staff could not have been more helpful and were happy to check us in early. We were absolutely delighted that we would manage to get our heads down but imagine our surprise when we discovered we had been upgraded to a suite. The rooms were huge and very comfortable with a 65" Samsung TV in each room, delighted doesn't really cover our reaction.

We were here for 4 days in total prior to joining a cruise to Sydney and thoroughly enjoyed exploring downtown Auckland from such a central, location. The hotel has numerous restaurants and bars and we visited a couple of them and weren't disappointed with our choices.

The hotel has all the facilities you could wish for as well as a casino downstairs, which we visited but didnt use, and the staff were unfailingly cheery and friendly.

A great hotel with lovely staff in a super location.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Schreivogel, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel
Responded 25 Mar 2020
Dear HenrikR777, Thank you for such a fabulous rating! :-)) I am delighted to read that you had such a wonderful time in our hotel, and that you were able to visit some of our restaurants and bars nearby, and some of what our city has to offer. I particularly like to hear that our staff were so helpful, cheery and friendly. Your feedback will be passed onto our Management Team. I hope that we can welcome you back to our hotel soon again. Take care, especially under these trying events. Warm regards, Lisa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
tom h wrote a review Jun 2020
New Plymouth, New Zealand
4.0 of 5 bubbles
As a family of 5 we booked a King suite and inter connecting twin room. The parking valet came with the package and was great when we pulled up to the main entrance and bags were taken to our rooms. With bot the rooms we had more than enough space for 2 adults and 3 young children. We only had a couple of minor issues with the room but when we came back in the afternoon to find that all the key cards were not working on both the doors, that was the last thing. I laid all the issues out to the person at the front desk, she was very understanding and got the manager. they offered to change rooms but as it was our last night we declined. they offered a discount on the rooms and a nice box of chocolates. All in all the stay we had was very good, breakfast at the Grand was great, the location was good and professional service of all of their staff from the valets, porters and front desk made a stay in the big city very nice.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Schreivogel, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel
Responded 29 Jun 2020
Dear tom h, I am pleased that overall you and the family had a good stay, that you enjoyed the breakfast at Gusto at the Grand, that our location met your needs and the staff were on top form. Thank you for that feedback. Very much appreciated. I apologise, again, for the discomfort you experienced during your stay with us. I am pleased that the issues were dealt with at the time. I have forwarded your feedback to the Housekeeping Executive to follow up. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Take care. Warm regards Lisa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
84Dingus48 wrote a review Nov 2020
Auckland, New Zealand
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Went to see am excellent show at Sky City Theatre, and decided to spend the night. Bad idea rooms are looking tired.
Water pressure could not rinse soap from body or shampoo from hair.
Booked a room with a King Double bed and got a twin bed room.
Also booked breakfast, surprised to find breakfast only being served at hotel across the road, expensive low quality buffet meal. If you have to go outside to eat go somewhere else.
Oh and car parking is not included with your stay so prepare to get robbed on the exit from carpak.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Find a different hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Schreivogel, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel
Responded 16 Nov 2020
Dear 84Dingus48, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the show at the SkyCity Theatre. I hear it was fantastic! I am of course disappointed that we did not meet your expectation in some other areas. Please accept my sincere apologies for any discomfort you experienced during your stay. Clearly there are a few issues we need to address and please be assured that we are and will be. I do appreciate feedback like yours as it gives us the opportunity to share upcoming projects which I am excited about. Thank you for letting me know about the water pressure in your room. I have forwarded your feedback to our Housekeeping Executive to look into with Property Services. I am not sure why you were allocated a Twin Room opposed to a King Room. I would need to investigate further. I understand that it is not quite ideal for our guests to be breakfasting at Gusto over the road at our sister hotel, The Grand. This was implemented after the first lockdown, however, I am delighted to share that Fortuna Restaurant will be reopening soon with their breakfast buffet. FYI - other alternatives for breakfast is Fed Deli and The Depot on Federal Street and for something lighter on the tummy and the wallet, there is also Good Times on Federal Street. With regards to the parking - the parking is owned and managed by Care Park and they usually charge approximately $48-$52 per day, however, they have discounted the rate to $35 per day for our guests, which we validate at check-out for you. I appreciate that it is quite dear, however, it is offering customers secure, undercover Auckland CBD parking. You mentioned the room looking tired, thank you for bringing this up. We are currently working on a project to refurb our rooms which is planned for late 2021, coinciding with the opening of our 5 star boutique hotel , Horizon. I really do hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Do take care. Warm regards Lisa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bevanatthebeach wrote a review Feb 2021
Auckland, New Zealand
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I've never met before, a concierge in a hotel who was so wonderful as Geena is at Skycity. She is the complete package, and she absolutely helps SkyCity Hotel look great. Two others, they were on the front desk; Brooklyn & Megana were helpful too. Room comfort was very good and the cleanliness was up to scratch. I really enjoyed the bath, which was long enough (thanks Megana for helping me get such a room at the start). And the suit I had pressed overnight was done beautifully.

If the story ended there, we'd all be happy!

However there were some letdowns, one of them big and the other two big enough. None of these should be happening in any hotel, but surely at least in a five star hotel which this is, one should expect THE BEST.

1. I sent a very beautiful silk tie for a stain to promptly be removed. I'd given it to the front desk and asked it be sorted out and delivered in the morning. It was delivered alright but the service who did this completely RUINED IT. The tie had very obvious, special embossing all over it, which looked really cool and you'd have to be totally blind to miss it. But some absolute dummy pressed it and that flattened all of the embossing. The tie appears to be irreplaceable (and it was extremely expensive). I'm dealing with a housekeeping manager to get compensation (She's waiting for me to find a price). It's very disappointing to me that the person who pressed this tie lacked even the most basic intelligence to be able to see that pressing it should not at all be done. This is an outside service apparently but that's not my problem, I gave the job to the hotel and I see it as their issue. Note the suit done by the same service was done perfectly, though late.

2. My urgently needed suit pressing while done to the highest standard was delivered half an hour later than promised. Fortunately, this didn't create a drama for me but it was for an important event as stated. Need to tighten up there. This was the smallest of the three issues but it does fold into the next and last.

3. We ordered room service breakfast, and my girlfriend had enough time to eat before going to work, in theory but the hotel took 35 minutes to deliver a breakfast that required no cooking and minimal putting-together (muesli, yogurt and fruit, with coffee/juice). By the time the breakfast arrived, she was in a flap and had to start leaving. She didn't get a chance to eat until much later in the day. She rejected her breakfast when it arrived, saying it was delivered with such a delay she couldn't use it. It was agreed at the door, then, that her breakfast wouldn't be charged, yet later when I went to check out, it was charged so in effect we had to ask twice that it not be even when it was promised the first time that it wouldn't be.

For #1 and #3 I won't stay again. Even though three staff were from good to wonderful.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Schreivogel, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel
Responded 16 Feb 2021
Dear bevanatthebeach, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. I am really pleased to read the lovely comments of my colleagues, Geena, Brooklyn and Meghana. They are all a real asset to us. Thank you for mentioning them by name and the great service they provided to you during your stay. Of course, I am disappointed that you did have some issues during your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the discomfort and inconveniences caused to you and your girlfriend. The team and I have worked through the comments you have detailed and we will be making contact with you privately to resolve the issues highlighted. Take care. Warm regards, Lisa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
laeikissel wrote a review May 2021
Auckland, New Zealand
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Received a voucher to stay at Skycity tonight, and unfortunately do not see us back here anytime soon. From the outside, Skycity looks to be the heart of the city where everyone wants to be, however the Skycity Hotel is anything but.

In a single night we have encountered an incorrect bedding situation (booked for twin room and received a single king), a faulty AC/heater that stays at a balmy 22 degrees, dirty carpet and a TV that malfunctions every 10 mins and needs turning off to reboot.

Luckily we've only needed to stay the night, however I imagine customers paying an arm and a leg for what should be wonderful accommodation won't be receiving their money's worth.

With it being my second time staying here and not much improvement to the experience, my advice to Skycity is this: Quality customer service is EVERYTHING.

The devil is in the details, and if you can't show care to your customers over the little things, then the big posturing gestures won't matter either. A friendly inviting welcome, access to extra bedding in the room, adequate elevators, a thorough system for cleaning, willing helpers at the other end of the phone -- these are the things that take what is status quo in accommodation to the next the level.

This is no way a dig to the staff who have to do an often thankless jobs, but the powers at be who run this show really need to self-reflect in what it takes to run a great hotel, as they are currently aligned with the trope that NZ customer service is not up to par with the rest of the world.

My plans to come back here over the next several months are now detered, as I will seek out alternate hotel accommodation when coming to the CBD moving forward. A real shame.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Schreivogel, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel
Responded 07 Jun 2021
Dear lalakiss, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us. Whilst it was disappointing to read it is important for us to receive feedback so we can continue to improve. I wish to apologise on behalf of the team at SkyCity Hotel. We have a strong team that takes pride in its work and we truly value everybody who chooses to stay with us. We would love to be able to reach out to you directly in order for us to investigate and ensure these things do not happen in the future. Please feel free to email our Rooms Division Manager, Willie on email - William.Surya@skycity.co.nz We look forward to hearing from you. Warm regards, Lisa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DeAnn F wrote a review Jan 2020
Los Angeles, California
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Checked in after a Viking cruise. Made the reservations in March 2019. asked for a room with a view, not near elevators or ice machines, and as high as possible. Ended up with a room on 2bd floor that overlooks a rooftop as opposed to what I requested. Depressing. Not near any ice machines or elevators which is nice however. Shower has absolutely nowhere to put anything. Straight walls down the entire enclosure. No place to hang a washcloth, place a razor, any shampoo, conditioner, or body wash bottles anywhere - Except on the floor at your feet. Very outdated architecture. It would not take a lot to drill holes in the tiles and place some shelving at waist to shoulder height. This is ridiculous for the price per night. Very disappointed. Did a lot of research but it obviously did not pan out.

No additional shelving or counters around sink area either. Lots of wall space to accommodate.

One tiny nightstand between beds. With a medical CPAP machine, one person has no space all. Need 3 nightstands.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AmyW3922, Guest Relations Manager at SkyCity Hotel
Responded 04 Feb 2020
Good Afternoon 479deannf, Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at SkyCity Hotel via TripAdvisor, the team and I appreciate you taking the time and I hope that you had a safe trip home following your lovely cruise. I was disappointed to learn that you were not completely satisfied with your experience with us and apologise for any inconvenience or discomfort caused. I can see that you booked your stay via Expedia, where all our room photos are up to date including photos of the bedroom and bathroom layout so I apologise for any confusion in terms and space and furnishings. I can also see that all of your preferences including high floor, nice view, away from the elevators and ice machines were noted on your booking however we unfortunately did not have rooms fitting these requirements when you arrived at 11:15am to check in, as this is almost 4 hours before our standard check in time we only had limited rooms available to offer you. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with a more positive experience overall, should you find yourself staying with us again please do feel free to reach out directly and I will ensure you are looked after. Warm Regards, Amy
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Colin B wrote a review Mar 2020
Worcestershire
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We only stayed 1 night in this hotel transiting from the Pacific Islands and prior to our flight home to the UK but would most certainly stay there again. Somewhat travel weary we used the large, extremely comfortable room to rest well and sort out our luggage. We were more than grateful for being allowed a 12 noon checkout the following day and nothing was too much trouble for the staff who helped us with and looked after our luggage. A gem of a hotel, well positioned for exploring the city centre.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Schreivogel, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel
Responded 09 Apr 2020
Dear colinbC2261TU, Thank you for such a lovely review. :-) I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had some time to explore our city. I hope we can welcome you back in the future. Stay safe in your bubble. Warm regards, Lisa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ray wrote a review May 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Bit of a story coming - I had organised to surprise my mother for her birthday, this consisted of balloons, cheesecakes, cakes, a whole table of some of her fave snack foods and her closest friends all without her knowing a thing. This was a wee bit stressful to carry as I have no siblings to help me out however, I had my dearest family all helping me too. It went successfully and I couldn’t have thanked Skycity enough for accomodating our needs to the above our expectations! Lisa! Lisa from Skycity helped me throughout the 2 weeks I had to organise this! She gave me reassurance that everything would be fine and whatever I came up with, she got done without any hesitation!! She was able to give us an early check in to set up, 3 rooms under the reopening rate, a gift card and some treats for my mum, an activity bag for my young children, organised a rollaway bed (at the very last minute) allowed us to have an extra hour for check out! Made sure wine glasses were in my mums room for her and her friend!! Even better she communicated with me through it ALL and I really couldn’t have been more grateful and thankful for her AMAZING service & kindness! Checking in & checking out was a breeze, the ladies at the reception always have a smile when they speak to you, so kind and full of joy! Room service was quick better than I expected! My grandparents loved their meal. EVERYTHING! Everything was amazing!!! Thank you thank you thank you SKYCITY!! Highly recommend to anyone and everyone!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lisa Schreivogel, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel
Responded 01 Jun 2020
Dearest Rayapelu & whanau, Wow! What a marvelous review! I am so very happy that you had such an amazing time with your mum, family and friends in celebrating your mum's birthday. I enjoyed every minute assisting you in putting this surprise event together. When's the next birthday? Haha Thank you for such lovely kind words. I love what I do and I love working for SKYCITY. We hope to welcome you back soon. Perhaps a quiet night this time for you and your partner? ;-) Warm Regards Lisa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RetiredFolk wrote a review Mar 2020
Gloucestershire, UK
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for a couple of nights at the start of our NZ tour. The hotel is very centrally located and within easy walking distance for shopping, dining, the harbour area and sights. The Sky City Tower is accessed thru the hotel foyer and gives a great view over Auckland.

Our room was large with comfortable beds and had a good clean modern bathroom. The breakfast buffet selection was average with a good dinner included in the tour package. Our first night was before the tour so we ate out in one of the many restaurants close by.

As we were only in the hotel for 2 nights and required some clothes to be laundered, we followed the instructions in the room but the bag was not collected. On chasing up, we were told that he hotel did not have a laundry and only did dry cleaning. As the collection time had passed, we would now have to pay the doubled up express charge. Er, no - not our fault. At checkout, a character building discussion took place to sort out the correct reduced charge. Maybe this hotel is not the one to use for laundering clothes.

The downside at the moment in Auckland and around the hotel is the significant amount of building and engineering work which is being performed although it did not disturb us while in the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ehe asked a question Sept 2022
1 contribution
is there a shuttle going from and to the airport?
Answer from Tony P
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Yes. And other public transport options too.
Amy B asked a question Aug 2021
Are you allowed to party here
Answer from LisaS
Auckland, New Zealand
Hi there, No, sorry, we are not a party hotel. SkyCity Hotel
Answer from LisaS
Auckland, New Zealand
Hi Georgie A, The pre authorization bond is $NZ200 and is released at check-out. It takes 3-5 working days for your bank to release it. Kind regards, Lisa
Jenna P asked a question Jan 2020
Holloways Beach, Australia1 contribution2 helpful votes
Is smoking permitted on balcony
Answer from Kathy2429
Perth, Australia19 contributions1 helpful vote
So sorry I’m a bit late in answering. Don’t go online much. We were very surprised that there was an outdoor courtyard on either 3or 4 floors.
NorthStar51866820784 wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pre booking really helps "
Read full review
MagsX2 wrote a tip May 2024
Auckland Central, New Zealand26 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Buffet is worth it, we also really enjoyed Andy’s burgers with the robot servers."
Read full review
Wei Bing L wrote a tip Mar 2024
Ipoh, Malaysia450 contributions495 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are flying into Auckland, take the SkyDrive bus from both domestic & international terminals. The bus stops right next to this hotel."
Read full review
John wrote a tip Dec 2023
5 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose a different hotel for several months"
Read full review
Harry M wrote a tip Dec 2023
Brisbane, Australia3 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Utilize the express checkout"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Auckland Central area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,985 - R 2,816 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
skycity hotel auckland
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandAuckland Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
323
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SKYCITY HOTEL - Now R 1 614 (Was R̶ ̶2̶ ̶3̶1̶0̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Auckland Central, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about SkyCity Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to SkyCity Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escapade NZ (0.4 km), Great Escape (0.4 km), and Rangitoto Island (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at SkyCity Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at SkyCity Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at SkyCity Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at SkyCity Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to SkyCity Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Grove, Culprit., and Remedy Coffee.
Are there opportunities to exercise at SkyCity Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does SkyCity Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, SkyCity Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is SkyCity Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Auckland Central.
Are any cleaning services offered at SkyCity Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does SkyCity Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Auckland Central HotelsAuckland Central Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Auckland CentralHotels near SkyCity Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire