We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville

Save
Share
334 Flinders St, Townsville, Queensland 4810 Australia
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$102
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/12/03
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.comUS$102
Priceline
eDreamsUS$102
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (170)
Room & Suite (105)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 21/01/18 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 21/01/18 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 42 hotels in Townsville
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville is located in the heart of the CBD and shopping district and just a short walk from Townsville's major tourist attractions, including Reef HQ Aquarium and The Strand. Enjoy panoramic views of Magnetic Island, Castle Hill and the city from a variety of contemporary room types. Facilities include restaurant, bar, rooftop pool, gym and meeting facilities.
Read more
Room & Suite (105)105
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Secured parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1018Reviews1Q+A71Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 502
  • 364
  • 94
  • 32
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
OB52 wrote a review 15 Jun
92 contributions33 helpful votes
We stayed three nights in a one-bedroom apartment which provided a self-contained kitchenette and separate sleeping area. The staff throughout the hotel were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Breakfast on Sunday was very busy but the staff managed with a cheerful efficiency not always witnessed in other hotels. The room was very clean and the mattress and pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom was a good size although the shower leaked under the shower door. Breakfast was included in the deal and gave us good value for money. The hotel is ideally located if you need to be in the CBD, close to restaurants and about a ten minute walk to the Strand. We would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Loretta T wrote a review 08 Jun
Sydney, Australia162 contributions65 helpful votes
So very happy we chose the grand chancellor hotel! Great , central location in Townsville. Very clean and wonderful friendly service! A special thanks to “ Chandra” ( ? Spelling) at the front desk! Awesome, young lady !! Professional & eager to assist us with tours!! Highly recommend this hotel!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
pal410 wrote a review 04 Jun
Sydney, Australia56 contributions27 helpful votes
The hotel was found to be clean and tidy. The room had a small balcony that overlooked the river and the main street. The breakfast was good considering the current health regulations and the service was efficient. The pool area on the 20th floor was clean and tidy. The food in the restaurant at night was of high quality. The staff were friendly and welcoming
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick Nguyen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear pal410, I appreciate you taking the time to share your complimentary feedback after your recent stay. It was pleasing to read you enjoyed your stay, particularly our food and beverage outlets, the views and the hotel's facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Townsville. Kind regards, Nick Nguyen, Assistant Front Office Manager
Read more
BNEJetsetter wrote a review 03 Jun
Brisbane, Australia21 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
It has been 43 days since I wrote to the Hotel Manager and Area General Manager regarding my stay at the Grand Chancellor.... surprisingly no response. We arrived to the hotel and was checked in by Natalia, 'Guest Services Manager' While she was checking me in her colleague had allocated the room that Natalia was giving me to another guest, her reply "use another room" - poor response really. I booked an Executive Suite with "Panoramic Views". I got green construction netting blocking my "panoramic view". False advertising really. The room was riddled with issues, repaired holes that weren't painted, bathroom air vent cakes with dust, water damage on the roof, AC air intake caked with dust, paint peeling off the wall, holes in the wall filled with toilet paper, hair on the bathroom floor. We moved to another room due to no availability, this is where it gets worse (or funnier)... Room was riddled with mould. Yes mould. You would think with COVID-19 that stringent measures are in place to eradicate bacteria. Clearly not here. Mould on the air vent, mould in the shower, mould on the refrigerator... the list goes on. When I mentioned to the alleged "Guest Services Manager" she just said "yes that's bad I will pass the feedback on" - no empathy or reaction, i literally had to sleep in a disgusting room riddled with mould. I raised the issues with the Hotel manager, Operations Manager and General Manager who have gone radio silence.. I'm guessing they can't just say sorry and acknowledge the errors. You'd expect more for paying $225 a night especially in townsville. The reviews could of been avoided, but 43 days was too long of a grace period. Definitely won't stay here, back to the Mercure we go.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Peter Yared, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
Responded 1 week ago
Dear James, I note the contents of your post above and your previous threats to do so if you were not replied too. As your are a Front Office Manager in a recently opened hotel in Cairns I would have thought that you would have shown a little more professionalism considering it was your actions that lead to this situation. However I should have known better considering you had been fraudulently using a promotion code that was set up for our internal hotel staff and their family. Your personal attack on a staff member at the hotel both in your previous emails and above are purely centered around the fact that you were caught doing the wrong thing and didn't like the repercussions of this. I just hope that you don't have to deal with such unscrupulous industry colleagues during what is already such a tough time for the industry.
Read more
DavidSeu wrote a review May 2021
Australia38 contributions9 helpful votes
I did not book but was allocated an interconnected room. The door is thin, noise travels so I asked for another room for a 6 night stay. Fully booked so told to wait 2 nights to be reallocated to a quiet room, I checked for a new room on the Saturday and was told to come back at 9am on the Sunday, I did so but was told to come back at 2pm as the room was almost ready, did so but was told to come back at 3pm as the room was nearly ready it was just being inspected by the supervisor, came back again at 3pm but after waiting 30 minutes went to my room. At 4pm I spoke with the cleaners supervisor who said she had not been told I was relocating. Cannot stand liars but someone was handling the truth carelessly. Whilst I was waiting the lady in reception was told that last nights food trays were still out on level 14, the lady on reception said I will get straight onto it, I stood there for 30 minutes whilst she did nothing about it. I now understand why people stop caring. Went to breakfast where I was questioned on the free breakfast, was I smuggling in for free food? I explained that my room included breakfast, after realising she had in fact mad a mistake I went to the table, I was told to line up and wait to be served, lots of attitude, whilst I was lined up the same waitress said for me to ‘get out of my way’. I must have been in the way but I was lined up behind others patrons waiting to be served. Room was pretty tired, the staff were not friendly and not cooperative and in some instances very rude, and the interconnected doors are cardboard thin. Specifically ask not for an interconnected room if you do not need one. I did wonder why all of the motels were booked out but this hotel had availability. There is a reason, be careful if you book this hotel. The staff all said we are fully booked Friday and Saturday and this the absence of any resemblance of customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick Nguyen, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
Responded 1 week ago
Dear DavidSeu, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. I am disappointed to hear that we were not able to exceed your expectations. The team had offered you another better room to move to but unfortunately you did not want to give us another chance to serve you. We are dedicated to continually improving our service, so your feedback is greatly appreciated and has been passed on to our Hotel Manager so that he can investigate this issue further. We hope that you do stay with us again in the future, so that we can demonstrate our true standards and our commitment to exceeding guest expectations. Kind regards, Nick Nguyen, Assistant Front Office Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$70 - US$131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn townsville hotel townsville, townsville holiday inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Holiday Inn Townsville
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandTownsville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
200
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville?
Nearby attractions include Perc Tucker Regional Gallery (0.2 km), Hooch and Fellow (0.4 km), and Street Art CBD Walking Trails (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wild Rice Laos & Thai Cuisine, Coffee Dominion, and A Touch of Salt.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Townsville.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.