We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Sporting Drive, 1-15, Townsville, Queensland 4817 Australia
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 10 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (44)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (11)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 20/10/05 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Itara Apartments
Updated 20/10/05 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 55 Speciality lodging in Townsville
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Itara Apartments consist of 52 fully self-contained 1, 2 and 3 Bedroom Apartments all with stunning views of the majestic Ross River. Located in the heart of Townsville's Ross River precinct, Itara Apartments is perfect for any traveller. Whether you're a corporate executive looking for long term accommodation or if you are after a fun family holiday in the QLD sun or you have a sporting team, we offer fully self-contained apartments and units that suit any style and budget. Itara Apartments is the perfect holiday accommodation for any length of stay, and a convenient location near a large Restaurant and Entertainment Quarter, Willows Shopping Centre, 1300Smiles Stadium (formerly Dairy Farmers Stadium - home of the North Queensland Cowboys), James Cook University, Townsville Hospital and Lavarack Army Barracks.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Car park
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Golf course
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Dishwasher
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
River View
276Reviews0Q+A71Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 189
  • 68
  • 11
  • 5
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Townsville F wrote a review May 2021
What a great place to stay! I had a lengthy stay at Itara from Oct - Dec 2020. The staff are lovely and extremely accommodating. Perfect location as everything you need is literally walking distance from the front door. Thank you for Having me and i cant wait to come back :)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: River views are beautiful, especially at sunrise
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Llewellyn53 wrote a review Feb 2021
Melbourne, Australia
I had to cancel the first 2 bookings but that is how things operate these days when borders can be shut down for a single case local or interstate - we managed 3 days before the Melbourne case would have put me in isolation but fortunately I isolated at the airport and flew out that day. Is it any wonder tourism operators in Qld and those that book holidays are suffering? Our 2 bedroom 2 bathroom ground floor location was excellent. The apartment had everything you need including wifi, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer, Foxtel and an excellent view across the river from the full width balcony. A quiet location, airconditioning and overhead fans made sleep easy. Staff were friendly and helpful and the Cannon Hill restaurant precinct is a short walk away. We couldn't fault it and will certainly be back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Shaun Steele, Owner at Itara Apartments
Responded 21 Feb 2021
Thank you. We greatly appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to hosting your stay in the future. Warm Regards
Read more
338lilgl wrote a review Jan 2021
Newcastle, Australia
We booked 7 nights at Jacana from interstate for a family event and had to cancel our stay due to the COVID outbreak in Greater Brisbane as our family were travelling up from there. We monitored the health advice from our state and saw that we faced a 2-week quarantine if we came into contact with the Greater Brisbane family, so we decided to return home. Greater Brisbane went into lockdown from 6pm Friday 8 January to 6pm Monday 11 January. Our family who arrived in Townsville from Brisbane immediately went into isolation for this period. We notified Jacana verbally and by email that we had to leave and requested a refund or credit. I emailed Jacana the health warning from our state and a copy of my Border Entry form as proof that we had cancelled for genuine reasons. Management refunded 2 nights out of the remaining 5 that they were able to re-sell, then refused to refund or credit the remaining 3. I've now lodged a complaint with the Qld Office of Fair Trading for their predatory behaviour against consumers.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Don't stay here until they comply with the government's COVID and health warnings for...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Shaun Steele, Owner at Itara Apartments
Responded 19 Jan 2021
Alisa, Everyone has been effected by this Pandemic including every small Business across Australia. You are unhappy that you are out of pocket 3 nights Accommodation …… however you are happy for me and my business to be out of pocket the same 3 nights. We can't be held responsible for what happened in Brisbane over 2000km away ……..and for you to go on line and call this Predatory behaviour is simply ridiculous. I have read the documents you provided ……if your family had gone into Isolation and got tested as you have stated ….. then this would have had absolutely no impact on your ability to return home. You also need to take some of the responsibility for your decision to cut your stay short ……instead of putting all the blame onto our Business and expecting us to absorb the full costs. We explained our cancellation policy to you prior to your departure ….. We refunded the 2 nights we were able to re-sell ….. as agreed. But because we didn’t accept 100% of the responsibility ……….. you have chosen to go online and trash me and my entire business. We look forward to discussing this with the Office of Fair Trading …… as there are also laws protecting Small Businesses from situations like this.
Read more
rcordukes wrote a review Nov 2020
Townsville, Australia
Im a wheelchair user and have stayed in hundreds of hotels in my life. It is so comforting to have places like Itara in Townsville. The staff couldn't do enough for me, they removed does, fitted shower hoses, the room was cleaned immaculately. But most of al therel was a warm and friendly atmosphere they created. i would thoroughly recommend the Itara for wheelchair users. As well as anyone else staying in Townsville
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Shaun Steele, Owner at Itara Apartments
Responded 19 Jan 2021
Thank you for your positive comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We do take pride in catering to our guests needs the best way we can and we are very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant. We are looking forward to having you again soon.
Read more
Londa wrote a review Sep 2020
I was a needy tenant for 9 days and the staff were very helpful and obliging. It is beautiful beside the river. Handy to everything. Would absolutely recommend staying here. Lovely walking track as well.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Shaun Steele, Owner at Itara Apartments
Responded 11 Sep 2020
Dear Londa, Thank you for your positive comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can, and we are very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant. We are looking forward to having you again soon.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$81 - US$119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaQueenslandTownsville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Itara Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to Itara Apartments?
Nearby attractions include Pinnacles Gallery (0.2 km), Willows Rotary Markets (0.8 km), and Kingpin Bowling (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Itara Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Itara Apartments?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Itara Apartments?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Itara Apartments?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Itara Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mocha Mecca, Cactus Jack's Cannon Park Townsville, and Hog's Breath Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Itara Apartments?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Itara Apartments?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kissing Point Fort (11.9 km) and National Trust Heritage Centre (9.4 km).
Does Itara Apartments have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is Itara Apartments accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.