We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mazeppa Bay Hotel

Save
Share
Main Road, Mazeppa Bay, Mazeppa Bay 4213 South Africa
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (65)
Pool & Beach (20)
Room & Suite (4)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Car hire
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms

Location

Full view
Contact
Main Road, Mazeppa Bay, Mazeppa Bay 4213 South Africa
Getting there
East London Airport99 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
74Reviews1Q+A24Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 30
  • 29
  • 5
  • 9
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Spookington wrote a review May 2018
5 contributions
The roads to get to this hotel are a little tricky but it is so worth it at the end that you won’t care! Absolutely stunning location in the middle of nowhere. Comfortable rooms, two fabulous bars and lovely, friendly staff. Gerald, the manager, made this oak and his friends feel very welcome. Can’t recommend highly enough.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Helpful
Share
Lesley1222 wrote a review May 2018
Durban, South Africa77 contributions40 helpful votes
We spent a week at Mazeppa with friends who had never been before but had heard so much about it that they wanted to experience what it was like. None of us were at all disappointed. We had sea facing rooms which were very clean and serviced on a daily basis. It has a relaxed, casual feel about it, you wouldn’t have to dress up to go to the dining room. The meals are excellent and quantities more than adequate. If one is so inclined, there are some lovely walks along the beach or inland. There are two bars, the one upstairs is lovely to go to for a bit of peace and quiet, they are both well stocked. The bar ladies are all friendly and helpful.Unfortunately the road is horrendous and not sign posted at all so do your homework before embarking on the trip. However once you
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from Vanessafisher, Manager at Mazeppa Bay Hotel
Responded 27 May 2018
Thank you for the lovely review Lesley
Read more
Glynnis142 wrote a review Apr 2018
9 contributions2 helpful votes
Appearance not good😑lunch to bad to mention. Waiting to see what get served for dinner. Staff great😊location must be one of the best in the world. Unspoilt, beautiful, restful pity about accomodation.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from Vanessafisher, Manager at Mazeppa Bay Hotel
Responded 15 Apr 2018
Thank you for your review, sorry you didn't enjoy your meal
Read more
709danier wrote a review Mar 2018
East London, South Africa93 contributions15 helpful votes
On our way to Mazeppa it was raining - really raining. We were thinking that we made a huge mistake choosing that particular weekend. Then we arrived at the hotel....wow. The staff and management, the food, the entertainment area and the room was great and that made the whole weekend well worth it. Mazeppa is the perfect place to lose yourself in the beauty of nature.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
Helpful
Share
Cliffy455 wrote a review Mar 2018
Port Elizabeth29 contributions8 helpful votes
My wife and i and some old friends had the pleasure of travelling to the former Transkei to spend three nights at the Mazeppa Bay Hotel. Having worked in the Transkei in the early 1980's, the Mazeppa Bay Hotel was always one of our favourite destinations for a weekend break. It was so cool to go back after so many years, and to see that the same old school hospitality was still very much part of the lifestyle at this wonderful hotel. The food was excellent, staff super friendly, and the setting absolutely amazing. Unfortunately the fishing was not that great, but an awesome time was had by all. This hotel comes highly recommended, and should be on your bucket list as a must.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from Vanessafisher, Manager at Mazeppa Bay Hotel
Responded 13 Mar 2018
Thank you for the lovely review, look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
LOCATION
South AfricaEastern CapeMazeppa Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
56
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing