3 Palms Cape B&B

3 Palms Cape B&B

3 Gannabos Avenue Amandelrug, Kuils River 7580 South Africa
My teenage absolutely loved his room!
Traveller (5)
My husband found our room very relaxing :-)
Room & Suite (24)
The last room we stayed i before going back to Holland , very spacious!
Family and Play Areas (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#3 of 3 B&Bs in Kuils River
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Shuttle bus service
First aid kit
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Washing machine
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Electric kettle
Radio
Electric blanket
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
28Reviews0Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 12
  • 0
  • 6
  • 4
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Sisonke M wrote a review Sept 2018
Grahamstown, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The owners and staff are quite friendly people. They have dogs that go everywhere. There’s WiFi which doesn’t work upstairs. The room are average, old furniture but they work. One dining table which you share with everyone. The breakfast is below average. The hosts are nice 😅
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
K D wrote a review Mar 2017
EL
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed their may 2016 with a few colleagues
Arrived and they have a geyser burst which make rooms moldy and smelly, some colleagues left.
Stayed in the top room which was only slightly affected
No fridge in rooms, wifi was poor(its a need to me to have both)
Else it seemed ok
I did not have breakfast only slept there
Average place prob try another place next time 5/10
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roy d wrote a review Feb 2017
Cape Town Central, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
3 Palms is situated close to the R300, the M23 to Stellenbosch and the Ipic Centre with lots of shops, supermarkets and restaurant/fast food outlets. The establishment has four rooms upstairs and some more downstairs. It has most of what one needs for an overnight or two. There were a few niggles however: the roof fan was not working, the bedside table lamp was not working; the shower door kept falling off when I tried to shower. I did report the faults and was advised that a maintenance person had just been there the day before, but appeared to have overlooked those problems. The breakfast was not great and I skipped it the second day. Issues aside, it is a comfortable place, good location, with lovely staff and a warm welcome.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marcel V wrote a review Jul 2015
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This was one of the worst places I have ever been in.
1. The showers don't work properly, open the hot water and it's boiling, than after 2 min the shower goes ice cold.
2. The rooms are ice cold and the curtains don't close properly.
3. And if you are sharing a room there is no bathroom door.
4. The breakfast is boiled.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mara K, Owner at 3 Palms Cape B&B
Responded 24 Jul 2015
1.The beds are cheap and horrible see the pictures, the beds are antiques with slatted basis and cloud nine mattresses they are hard not horrible the bedding gets inspected by the grading council and comply for 4 Star grading 2. there is dog poo everywhere we are animal friendly, the dogs use a particular area which is cleaned when the workers come in at 08h00 in the morning 3. they hung our washing in plain view underwear and all we do our guests washing at no charge as a service; it is winter and the rainy season in Cape Town; the clothes line in front of the laundry at the moment have less sun, the washing gets done and removed between 08h00 and 17h00 why does this lady have a problem with underwear? 4. no hot water new Bosch with 2 year guarantee geyser was installed in December 2014 proof of purchase was sent to their booking agent; the over temperature sensor went faulty resulting in water going cold after a while 5. It is an exceptionally cold winter in Cape Town all the rooms do have electric blankets and spare bedding in the cupboards. We were in Paternoster and this lady complained that the room was cold; the kids went and bought 10 off 2 kilowatt heaters without our consent and put them in the rooms; with the heaters, the electric blankets and the kettles going the system was overdrawn and the breakers tripped. 6. we are known for our good food, would like to know what this lady normally have for breakfast. our breakfast consist of cereals yogurt hot or cold milk, juice tea or coffee plus hot breakfast bacon, eggs plus some meat (sausage or mince etc.) and toast 7. the TV? did not function and was not in some rooms the TV is the black flat screen thing in the rooms; they all function if the clients do not mess with the controls resetting them, all the customer had to do was to complain and we would re adjust them; the TV in room no 2 is in the cupboard surely if there is a remote on the bedside table there must be a TV somewhere in the room, all they had to do is ask, we are available till 23h00 at night
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FStroh wrote a review Feb 2014
Clarens, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked for 2 nights and we're surprised that my room was allocated to another guest after my first night. My personal belongings were taken from my room - where it was packed in my cupboard. Not packed in my suitcase and loosely handed to me. Our business party was spilt and I was then allocated to another guesthouse. This was done without my consent or the courtesy to inform me. I find this as absolutely poor etiquette.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2014Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
outlander101 wrote a review Jan 2017
Vereeniging, South Africa
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Management is poor and the owners, cats, dogs and parrot all share the overcrowded and poor ventilated premises. The rooms have an unpleasant smell (a mix of a strong detergent and old dog urine).

Walk carefully to avoid stepping in dog poo on your way to the breakfast area that consists of only one table. Sharing a breakfast table with strangers is not fun. Breakfast is only served at 7. Food choices are very limited and include sour milk on occasion. Arrangements made for early coffee and rusks did not come to fruition.

Maintenance is neglected with shower heads leaking from the roof, a loose toilet basis (sit very still). One ceiling fan not working the other out of balance. Internet WIFI works in certain areas only, The gas hot water system has low pressure and is almost impossible to set.

Parking is a major issue with the gates not working and people parking double parking.

The swimming pool is a green mess (the excuse was the water shortage)

There is a general saying if the owners and animals live on the premises, - BE CAUTIOUS.

This is 100% true of 3 Palms Guest House in Kuilsrivier.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Try to avoid if possible
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
swartskapie08 wrote a review Sept 2016
Johannesburg, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A uniquely wonderful place. The rooms are cozy, comfortably decorated, impeccably clean and very well appointed with high quality bed linens and towels. You feel as comfortable as you are in your own home. Mara & Althea`s breakfasts are delicious, the table pleasantly set and the service and conversation very special. The common areas are equally impressive and the property is very nice. Filled with wonderful details. We will definitely be staying here during our return visits to the area."
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
911hennie wrote a review Mar 2016
Limpopo Province, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at 3 Palms B&B for a few day in March,fantastic host Owners Ernest & Mara with their staff made our stay pleasant.
Rooms comfortable and very clean neat.
Ernest & Mara made our visit to Cape Town most pleasant,all transport arrange by them and the meals as anyone can wish or request for.
It is not always possible to find accommodation which is pet friendly and guest is welcome with their pets and no extra cost,laundry done with no effort and left in our rooms.
The B&B is close to all destinations during our visit conveniently.
Will recommend 3 Palms B&B for any stay over or visit to Capetown.
Special thanks to Althea host Ernest and Mara and the staff.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Room 9 or room 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
trevor312564 wrote a review Mar 2016
Bloemfontein, South Africa
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Toilets leak,Dogs bark all night and too many to count. Breakfast was awful - jam and mustard expired yonks ago & sausage raw.Mustard expired in 2004????
Just as many cats - crazy - Either you are a guest house or a private home
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mara K, Owner at 3 Palms Cape B&B
Responded 18 Mar 2016
Dear Trevor We always appreciate honest reviews as it helps us to give a better service, but will be grateful if you would make sure of your facts. You could only use the toilet in your en suite, singular. We do not use the guest's toilets and rely on the guests to inform us of problems in the rooms. Why did you not tell us of the problem with the toilet to enable us to do something about it? Please read our advert or website we are a pet friendly establishment, You claim to be a businessman but cant count to four; 3 + 1 visitor We live in a residential area and all the neighbours have dogs, our dogs do not bark at night because they sleep with us in the bedroom and so does the visitor's. The two cats live in the office, that is where their food and water is In 2004 the B & B did not exist The Mustard and jams are home made and get replenished when half full, we think the dates on the bottle tops must have confused you; because the bottles are used over and over, 2004? you only had to ask. The young lady that made your breakfast is a qualified chef; some people like their eggs hard and turned over, some like it soft Why did you not send it back and told the girl you like yours dry and well done; she was in the kitchen where you could see her. Hope the above helps
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Annegrace2014 wrote a review Jul 2015
Durban, South Africa
2.0 of 5 bubbles
It is difficult if not impossible to find pet Friendly accommodation In the Northern suburbs of Cape Town. When I came across 3 Palms offering pet-friendly accommodation I was so happy. The room was tidy and clean but small taking into account that we had 2 doggies with us. The upside was that the room had an enclosed garden nook leading straight our from the bedroom and the doggies could go out at night when needed. However as for the B&B itself we did not feel very safe and it was incredible noisy. An open socializing area outside the bedrooms with a big tv screen led to the fact that guests loitered around this area until very late at night with the tv on high volume. I had to get up at midnight asking that they would switched off and go to their rooms so we could have some quite.
Reception area not very clean. Free wifi was advertised but the code would not work
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Ground floor rooms near TV very noisy - ask for upstairs. if with pets ask for rooms with own...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
outlander101 wrote a tip Jan 2017
Vereeniging, South Africa2 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to avoid if possible"
Read full review
911hennie wrote a tip Mar 2016
Limpopo Province, South Africa2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 9 or room 3"
Read full review
Annegrace2014 wrote a tip Jul 2015
Durban, South Africa29 contributions10 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ground floor rooms near TV very noisy - ask for upstairs. if with pets ask for rooms with own garden area"
Read full review
Anthonie S wrote a tip Mar 2015
Kriel46 contributions9 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Its okay except for the hot water problem which seems to be in all the rooms"
Read full review
Michele P wrote a tip Feb 2012
Rome, Italy3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are good."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kuils River area.
LOCATION
South AfricaMpumalangaKuils River
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

3 PALMS CAPE B&B - Reviews (Kuils River, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about 3 Palms Cape B&B
Which popular attractions are close to 3 Palms Cape B&B?
Nearby attractions include Cool Runnings (7.0 km), Tyger Valley Centre (7.3 km), and Barnyard Theatre Willowbridge (7.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at 3 Palms Cape B&B?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, airport transportation, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at 3 Palms Cape B&B?
Top room amenities include blackout curtains, a desk, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at 3 Palms Cape B&B?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at 3 Palms Cape B&B?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to 3 Palms Cape B&B?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Hussar Grill Willowbridge, Jordan Restaurant, and Zibaldone.
Are there opportunities to exercise at 3 Palms Cape B&B?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Does 3 Palms Cape B&B have airport transportation?
Yes, 3 Palms Cape B&B offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is 3 Palms Cape B&B located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Kuils River.
Are any cleaning services offered at 3 Palms Cape B&B?
Yes, laundry service and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at 3 Palms Cape B&B?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.