Track And Trail River Camp

Track And Trail River Camp

Kakumbi, South Luangwa National Park 2225XM Zambia
Tijdens safari
Traveller (438)
Honeymoon suite (bed) Room 7 -  Track and Trail River Camp
Room & Suite (54)
Diner
Dining (16)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 2 lodges in Kakumbi
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Track & Trail River Camp is a privately owned lodge located on a stunning spot on the banks of the Luangwa, just at the doorsteps of the South Luangwa National Park. We offer a small owner run safari lodge, specialized in photographic safaris and offer our guests all the comforts, while being located in wilderness. South Luangwa is known for exceptional up-close game viewing. Our Safari Camp is small and quaint with 9 Chalets in total; 6 cater for families as well as singles and couples and 7 rooms offer scenic river front with a direct view of the National Park. Benefit from our expertise and professionalism; our innovation and creativity; unparalleled location and setting (next to the main gate of the South Luangwa National Park); great service to guests. Track and Trail River Camp can be considered as the premier photographic lodge in The Luangwa Valley. Why?... because we have the knowledge and we can help our guests to improve their photography skills while on their safaris.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Free airport transportation
BBQ facilities
Mosquito net
Laundry service
Public wifi
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Airport transportation
Car hire
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Ironing service
Room features
Safe
Seating area
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch

Location

Kakumbi, South Luangwa National Park 2225XM Zambia
Getting there
Mfuwe Airport
282Reviews2Q+A55Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 225
  • 44
  • 7
  • 5
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kampala_Hoop wrote a review Oct 2013
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A bit of background first, I came here as a very budget backpacker firstly on a single trip to Zambia in 2007 and then again as part of a round the world tour in 2010 so I might have different expectations and needs than other travelers.

The first trip we made use of their camping ground which directly overlooks the Luangwa River and chose a shady tree for our two tents. This here would either be a five star experience for some or a one star for others, as the tents were almost constantly surrounded by Elephants all night which ate the leaves from the trees. This was a wildlife experience that money cannot buy in most lodges and to have 15-30 elephants trunking the tents, carefully pacing over the guideropes and dropping twigs on the tent fro their mouths was stunning/terrifying in equal measure. We also had hippos, giraffes and countless ungulates within touching distance.

When I returned in 2010 they have moved the camping area to the rear of the site and created elevated wooden platforms for the tents. This is slightly less adventurous and you lose the river view, but you are still visited by elephants daily and it takes little away and you also get power outlets so watching movies in the middle of the night surrounded by animals is pretty special.

For $6 a night, this has to be the bargain of the century.

The rest of the camp is lovely, well beyond what the cost of the camping should have offered. The pool gave great views of the hippo-filled river, with regular stand offs between lions, elephants, hippos and crocodiles, all within easy earshot and eyesight. The shower rooms are rustic but perfectly fine for a campsite in Africa, not to be complained about at all, there wasnt much in the way of hot water but it wasnt often needed or wanted.

The bar area looks back out on the river and the same comments as per the pool area can go for here, except you will have a beer in your hand. The food is probably among the best i have had in Africa, its world class. It wasnt the cheapest place to eat, but when you consider that the villas on the site are not budget accommodations, then its to be expected, and when i say it wasnt cheap, an amazing meal was about $7.

Game drives from the lodge were a highlight. You didnt really need them seeing as how much game you saw from the camp, but for $35 you got about 6 hours in South Luangwa National Park, which is just 20 minutes away across the river. The game here is stunning and there are so few other vehicles that you really get that feeling of a wilderness safari. South Luangwa isnt a flat plains park like the Mara, its more like clumpy woodland and dry riverbeds which isnt the most picturesque but the wildlife makes up for it and the fact that you can drive off road means you can get seriously close to the wildlife. We saw plenty of lions, elephants, leopards, hyenas, zebra and giraffe, pretty much everything we wanted to see there and all from a few feet and the guides (who may be shared between the lodges here, im not sure) were excellent and you were usually on your own in the car, certainly it was exclusive to track and trail clients.

The position of the camp means that you will need to request a pick up. The first time we went we were picked up from the airport, but as i was on more of a budget the second time, i took a taxi from Chipata, some 6 hours away, which finally broke down in Mfuwe, around half an hour's walk from the campsite so we made the decision to walk it and it is a VERY dangerous walk (we were told off twice when we repeated it to go to Mfuwe for some meat to cook on the included BBQs) as you pass a creek where elephants and hippos are often spooked and will charge across to get to the water. This is no fault of the camp, but if you are coming by minibus or your taxi breaks down in Mfuwe, you might want to have the mobile number of the camp to come and pick you up.

Service is great, Kirsten who runs the camp was very helpful, one night i was sick and she put me in one of the chalets for free and it really felt like a family by the end of it. Like I said, i've been back already and i think in total i must have stayed for about 12-14 nights overall.

On the whole, i think for a backpacker on a budget, this is the best option I have been to or seen for the African safari experience. If it's your first time to Africa or you only have room or money for one wildlife itinerary then this really is a great place to stay and the park is one of the best I have been to in over 8 African countries.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PreciousM474 wrote a review Apr 2013
Lusaka
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great place to visit. Very close to the game park and the lodge is very natural. Most of the chalets and tents have full river view. The elephants, buffalo and hippos came to the lodge though it was the emerald season - the hippos literally 'grazed' outside our room!!! Of course we had someone to keep us all safe at all times.
Amazing experience, and Track and Trail really sets the tone that allows you to get close to nature and appreciate the wildlife- saw the Big 5!
The staff were friendly and the other guests were nice too. Will go back again, hopefully soon. Great room rates and there are really nice chalets that great for us wildlife virgins!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alan B wrote a review Oct 2017
Birmingham, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have just returned from an amazing Photographic Safari at Track & Trial River Camp in the Mfuwe Sector of the South Luangwa National Park in Zambia. My wife and I have been on safari many times in South African but rate our first Safari trip to Zambia as absolutely outstanding in every respect. Great scenery, friendly and smiling people all eager to please and outstanding wild life sightings.

I chose Track and Trail because I wanted to have the opportunity of not only a Safari adventure in a remote area which is famous for the density of wildlife compared to many parts of Africa but also I wanted to learn more about wild life photography from Peter Geraerdts a well know professional wild life photographer in the South Luangwa NP. As a keen, but novice photographer I was somewhat apprehensive of whether Peter would have the patience of helping me learn new skills, but he was helpful, fun and truly the perfect host.
Peter guided us not only from his lodge at Track & Trial of 7 days but also accompanied and guided us at Zikomo camp in the Nsefu Sector of the park. Peter has 15 or so years of guiding and wild life photography in Zambia and has intimate knowledge of the the Bush and it animals.

Track & Trial River Camp is right on the banks of Luangwa River, on the Game Management Area just 5 mins from the main enterence to the National Park. Hippo, Elephant and various antelope often visit the camp by crossing the river and we saw wild dogs just outside the camp one night on returning from a game drive.

Track and Trail have 9 chalets as well as a camping site with luxury tents as well as space for those Self driving with their own tents.

We had a two story chalet (No 6) with great views if the river. It was clean, well maintained and decorated with a balcony where to could sit and catch the breeze drinking a cooling Mosi (the local Zambian Beer) after a hot morning game drive.
Meals and drinks are served at the main lodge with is again stylishly decorated.
Track and Trial have great chefs and the meals were always varied, tasty and well presented. Peter's charming partner ChiChi has a great influence of in the kitchen and over the menus.
An elevated swimming pool, raised to avoid the elephants who often pop into the camp to feed on the fruit from the near by tree, was a welcome relief in the afternoon from heat of the day in what was the dry season.

The wildlife in the park was plentiful and Peter and the spotter were very adept at homing in on the predators by picking up the distress calls of the baboons, birds or antelope. We had really excellent sightings of lion, leopard and wild dogs, say nothing of seeing an Aardvark for the very first time. Elephant, buffalo and hippo are plentiful.

Looking for a real Safari experience with knowledgable guides, comfortable accommodation and great food, look no further than Track and Trail River Camp. This is not one if those very posh lodges, which is in my opinion is far from a real taste of Africa, but a place to see and experience the bush and enjoy the real Safari experience.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dirk-Jan1969 wrote a review Jan 2016
Noordwijk, The Netherlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles
July 2015 was the second time I was at Track & Trail Rivercamp, and again I fell in love with this location!!
The safari lodge offers all the comforts that anyone could wish for. Great and cosy bungalows with view on the Luangwa river with elephants and hippo's passing by very close, nice bar with seats for having a drink while facing the river and the South Luangwa NP, a pool to cool down and relax, and a restaurant which offers great food. Compliments to the cook and Kirsten!!
The gamedrives into the Luangwa NP offers you a true wildlife experience, with many sightings of lions, elephants, hippo's, birds etc. etc. The national park, which is on less then 10 minutes driving distance from the lodge, is famous for it's leopard population, and we were the lucky ones to spot them every day, even hunting! Our photography group was lead by Peter; his knowledge of the wildlife and tracks in the park is great, bringing us to the best spots. The safari vehicle is specially adjusted for photographers, so giving you the comfort you need for photoshooting.
I want to thank Peter, Kirsten and the whole staff for their hospitality and making this a trip to remember forever. Hope to visit you again in the future!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Peter G, Owner at Track And Trail River Camp
Responded 08 Apr 2016
Thanks a lot for your feedback about our lodge. Kind regards Peter
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Numzani wrote a review Oct 2012
Mackay
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at this South Luangwa camp for 4 days, on the trip advisors reviews however I had been told by a couple of different sources that it was not special. We went really because it is advertised as a photographery biased camp. However I was disappointed that it was not at all !!!
Our game drive was one of the worst I had been on (I have actually worked as a Wildlife Film Maker) The guide was very nice & polite but they are given tracks & then drive aimlessly around these roads until the allotted 4 hrs is up. On the occasion that they did stop never was the vehicle moved for the best photos, however a bean bag was supplied & when I ask foe a 2nd for another guest they reluctantly went & got one but made it clear there will not be 3. On the night drive very little was seen, but a couple with us had not seen a Hippo out of water & when the flash light shone a upon one they never looked like stopping (even just briefly) as they wanted to be back at camp by 8pm. I am a businessman & I needed to send an urgent email, so I approach the office only to be told the internet was down, to come back the next day. So I went the next day to send the email when a (South African I Think ?) told me yes the internet was on but the guy was off sick & he was not wasting his time sorting it out, at me voicing the urgency if abruptly said go and wait at our camp & he would send a lady who may help me, well we waited 21/2 hours & no lady. So out of desperation we went next door to Crocodile Camp & explained that we were not staying there but needed internet urgently. His response was immediate "Come to my house & do it there that way & we will make sure everything is right." The food was Ok but everyday we tryed to order during the day, the cook was not in or they did not know how to make it, so yes we went back to Croc Camp for meals as well. It is not however all bad (You certaintly get better service if you a Dutch & don't camp) the ablutions were great really good, the camp ground was good. The pool was OK but lacked finishing touches. The overall design of the place was strange as the reception is at the entrance (but you pay everything at the Bar ? so I think it should be renamed Admin Building.) Then you come to a shocking mess which is a very badly positioned & a complete eyesore which is meant to be a workshop I suppose, then past the camp sight to the main area, where the restaurant & bar as well as the chalets are all positioned on the river which is nice. But the layout lacks atmosphere with the design, I am not sure if it is meant to be budget or upmarket & after being there I don't think they know either ?. Would I stay there again Yes if they had some staff changes. Unfortunately I think the owner was away when our visit occurred so I assume this is why some staff stick out the chest & become full of self importance. My advice is go to Croc Valley for atmosphere & better position.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kimsamsoon wrote a review Aug 2019
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Really enjoyed the camp with its comfortable, affordable lodges, delicious foods, and friendly staff. Vic took us on a terrific walking safari, and we saw some fantastic animals with Steven. It's really just stupid luck as to what animals you'll see on any given day because, after all, this isn't a zoo where animals appear on command. But you may be greeted by baboons, monkeys, and the occasion elephant or hippo in the restaurant area.The camp staff was thoughtful -- from Peter who stopped by each table to see how guests were doing to Mike who shared a witty sense of humor over our stay. Thank you all at Track and Trail Camp!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Peter G, Eigenaar at Track And Trail River Camp
Responded 24 Aug 2019
Thanks so much for your wonderful review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
trogon123 wrote a review Nov 2018
Edmonds, Washington
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I contacted Track and Trail due to their special focus on photography. Peter and Kirsten kindly set up a 3 week itinerary, only a portion of which was with them. Peter was our guide for the last 8 days of the trip, and showed impressive knowledge about the wildlife of the South Luangwa. The grounds of Track and Trail are impressive, with an elevated pool and sunken hide near wetland they have created. The rooms are quite nice; we had hippos and elephants outside our rooms at night. In addition to photography I am an avid birder, and Peter knew the birds of the area very well, including by voice. I would strongly recommend Track and Trail.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Peter G, Owner at Track And Trail River Camp
Responded 24 Nov 2018
Thanks s o much Jack for this wonderful review. It was great to guide you guys around and I just love birds so to have a keen birder in the car was a bonus for me as well. My compliments as well for your knowledge on the African birds, You are one of the few guests i have had in my vehicle who really knows quite a number of birds far away from home. All the best. Peter
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jaap S wrote a review May 2018
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The lodge has a superb location right on the Luangwa River bank, with great views from the chalet, restaurant and swimming pool, from where you could see and hear the hippos in the water, the birds flying and bushbuck walking nearby. The chalet has everything we needed and was nicely decorated. Daily laundry service was very comfortable. The food was excellent - a different 3-course lunch and dinner every day, tasty and well prepared. The staff were super friendly and welcoming. We were the only guests in the lodge and they did everything to make ourselves feel at home and comfortable. We even received a bottle of wine as a wedding present, even though we were not on our honeymoon, so kind! Our guide Vic was brilliant, he taught us so much about Zambian wildlife, his knowledge was excellent and impressive, and he was great company. We saw so much more game and stunning birds than we could ever have imagined: including 4 out of the big 5 - even a leopard killing an impala. We stayed here from 24-27 April, for 3 nights and 5 safaris.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Peter G, Owner at Track And Trail River Camp
Responded 07 Jun 2018
Thanks a lot Jaap with this great review about T&TRC!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
catb wrote a review Apr 2018
Sarasota, Florida
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose this because it suited our budget but I cant imagine getting better treatment with a larger wallet. The game drives were excellent and the guides were extremely knowledgeable. We took this trip with Kiboko Safaris out of Lilongwe and we cant fault how we were looked after for the duration of our stay with them. Highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Janavniekerk wrote a review May 2016
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Easily one of the more beautiful lodges in the region with all the amenities one could hope for.
Spectacular views from most rooms and really good food. Elephants traverse through camp so all round great location.

On the last minute we moved here from Tornicroft and the lodge is much better. I would not say it is a better experience though because the staff are really not well informed and to arrange the most basic things seem a challenge.

There is really just not the same level of professional service which would have made this a top lodge.

If you travel to many similar locations you will be disappointed with the service.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Peter G, Manager at Track And Trail River Camp
Responded 14 Jul 2016
Disappointed about what exactly? The reason why you were not happy at one stage was because you expected a private vehicle for your safari. So when you noticed that few other guests were sharing the same game viewer you pulled out last minute. A private safari needs to be booked in advance and comes at an extra fee, which you didn’t want to pay. We already offered your party a lower resident rate while we could have charged an international rate. The other point of you being unhappy about the management is when you requested a printed invoice late in the evening. Looking at the fact that printed invoices come from the office, which was closed in the evening, the bar man suggested to give the invoice to you early in the morning before checking out…which was unacceptable from your point of view. We were equally unhappy with you staying with us….especially after you told us the reason why you visited the Luangwa Valley. This party found it enjoyable to tell everybody in the lodge that they were in charge of the 'Hippo culling' project. This is a commercial project that implies slaughtering 4000 of Luangwa hippos in 4 years, that is about 25% of the entire population! For readers who don't understand culling...Wildlife authorities can decide to cull (reduce numbers) of a certain species of animal because there are too many and these animals could affect the ecosystem. Anyway South Luangwa is an ecosystem but there is absolutely no scientific evidence that in this case nature needs a helping hand in controlling the hippo concentration. This hunting party also had the audacity to offer our local staff fresh hippo meat from hippos that they were shooting that same day. If we would have known the motivation of this party upfront we probably would have been fully booked upon their request … simply because of the fact that hunters don’t fit in a photographic lodge. We are no tree huggers but we rather enjoy watching living animals instead of dead ones.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Peter G
South Luangwa National Park, Zambia51 contributions7 helpful votes
Dear madam, yes, we can tailor make a trip for you in Zambia. Please let me know which destinations/lodges should be included and for how many nights. Other questions: when you would like to travel and with how many people (kids) ? Kind regards Peter
klastema asked a question Nov 2014
Borgomanero63 contributions75 helpful votes
Le finestre dei lodge hanno vetri e zanzariere?
Answer from Peter G
South Luangwa National Park, Zambia51 contributions7 helpful votes
Hi there, No, the windows have mosquito gauze. If anything else please email us directly. Kind regards Peter
Friedrich v wrote a tip Oct 2023
Hoedspruit, South Africa37 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Every evening is a night drive, so have your gear set up for night photography with spotlights. Can get cold, so take something warm along."
Read full review
Petra wrote a tip Aug 2023
Almere, The Netherlands51 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy the view at the pool. Go for a walk at the lodge to discover the baboons, birds and bushbocks and maybe see a hippo or some elephants."
Read full review
Anne G wrote a tip Aug 2023
Somerset West, South Africa238 contributions48 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The chalets are excellent value for money and their position is absolutely stunning. "
Read full review
Alida W wrote a tip Aug 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"A very good stay with great safaris!"
Read full review
589zita wrote a tip Jul 2023
Stockholm, Sweden17 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you stay long enough to enjoy the beautiful lodge area with nice bar and restaurant, as well as endless wildlife and nature views"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kakumbi area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,409 - R 5,231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ZambiaSouth Luangwa National ParkKakumbi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TRACK AND TRAIL RIVER CAMP - Now R 2 397 (Was R̶ ̶3̶ ̶0̶3̶7̶) - UPDATED 2024 Lodge Reviews & Price Comparison (Kakumbi, Zambia) - Tripadvisor