Croc Valley Camp

Croc Valley Camp

South Luangwa National Park, Kakumbi, South Luangwa National Park Zambia
Traveller (315)
Pool & Beach (23)
Bar area
Dining (15)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 guest house in Kakumbi
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Set on the banks of the Luangwa River overlooking the South Luangwa National Park nestled under shady Mahogany trees lies the picturesque Croc Valley Camp. “Your camp with personality” We offer a variety of varied accommodation to suit everyone’s pocket, from self contained chalets on platforms, luxury en-suite tents on the river bank , ten dollar per night backpacker/dorm rooms, Family House to the campsite with thatched lapa's, electrical points and water outlets all on lush green lawns. All tastefully segregated but still part of the overall experience.Our chalets are completely environmentally friendly and in order to experience the nomadic night wonders at eye level our chalets are raised on platforms providing a fantastic safe viewpoint from which to see the wildlife that wanders through the camp. Throughout your stay, our chef's can provide delicious meals and snacks from original recipes using fresh ingredients for your meticulously prepared meals and for those that wish to self-cater or camp, full kitchen facilities are provided. Our campsite is well catered for campers and overland trucks with parking areas, fire places, power points, hot showers and ablutions.Between safaris, in the midday heat, our hippo friendly swimming pool provides the perfect place to relax and cool off. Hammocks are also scattered around the camp over-seeing the river and the swimming pool. The bar is always open and serves ice cold drinks throughout the day, whether you prefer to relax by the pool, catch up through our FREE WiFi , in a hammock or catch up with the news on our satellite TV.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Internet
Pool
Pool with view
Bar / lounge
BBQ facilities
Outdoor fireplace
Laundry service
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Room features
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming

Location

South Luangwa National Park, Kakumbi, South Luangwa National Park Zambia
Getting there
Mfuwe Airport
23.8 km
See all flights
360Reviews9Q+A50Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 198
  • 101
  • 34
  • 21
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Bjorn D wrote a review Jul 2023
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a more than pleasant stay at croc valley, on the camping (and 1 night in an eco-tent). Our camping spot was on the river bank, meaning we could hear the hippo’s talking to each other during the night, topped of by a family of elephants crossing the river by sunrise.
The ablution blocks and facilities are not new, but clean and the staff is doing reservations. Seen the fact that there is no diy store on the corner is this something which will take some time, but I’m confident that the crew will do an excellent job.
Staff was beyond expectation, they took care of our tyre problem (not repairable), we just needed to drop our rim off.
To conclude : very nice stay, wonderful night drive, a few km from the entry of the park, affordable.
Just look out for the cheeky monkeys, the staff t🥲does his best to chase them away, but some of the baboons are fast and furious 😂
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nick W wrote a review Oct 2023
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a nice budget to midrange camp & lodge with a swimming pool, decent food & a great view of the river but be careful with the game drive activity add-on as this was a huge disappointment and not rectified properly either. Our drive started off badly being 20 minutes late and progressively got worse as we actually ended up being 40 minutes late since the spotter (night drive) had been left behind in town so we had to back track. At the end of the evenings drive we broke down in the park & were so so fortunate that another vehicle was able to push start us. I wanted to discuss the experience with management but I feel like I was either ignored or they didn't want to front the matter which was very poor management/ownership. The place is fine BUT please be aware the game drives are not at a profesional level based on what we got
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charl Beukes, Owner at Croc Valley Camp
Responded 14 Oct 2023
Hi Nick - We would firstly like to thank you for your helpful comments and secondly apologize for the bad experience, you had on your game drive. I have investigated and have been informed by our General Manager that he had discussed this with you and you were given a USD 20 refund for this experience Unfortunately, in busy periods we occasionally have to hire outside guides and vehicles. Obviously, this guide was not up to our professional standards. We will not be paying him and will not hire him in the future. We have reviewed the issue with management and are putting new systems in place to ensure this does not happen in the future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and once again we are truly sorry. Charl Beukes Owner
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
danmedway wrote a review Jul 2022
Southampton, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a great place, next to the river and park entrance. It was easy to see hippos and crocodiles during the day from the bar, and I had elephants, hippos and a hyena outside my chalet during the night.
The staff here are the best, especially the guide Simon, who helped me to see so much wildlife (6 leopards in 5 game drives!).
I definitely recommend staying here if you visit South Luangwa.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Catriona wrote a review Jun 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I visited Croc Valley with two friend and it was the highlight of our 6 months of travelling. The service throughout our whole time there was amazing and each member of staff went above and beyond what was needed. All of our game drives were excellent and we were lucky enough to see 4 of the big 5, big shout out to Bernard for making this happen! Each meal was delicious and we were never left hungry, Philimon was an excellent waiter the whole time. Finally a big shout out to Herbert who helped us organise the next stage of our travels when we were stuck with where to go.
I will be going back, even if just to hear the hippos eating next to your tent at night!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nick M wrote a review Feb 2023
London, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A lovely camp on the edge of south luangwa national park. We spent 3 nights camping at Croc valley, and had front row seats to the river, with great views of the park. The camping is easy and comfortable and they offer a seating area and firewood. The restaurant and bar area is great for chilling out and catching a glimpse of the hippos ducking and diving in the river. The owner and staff are great and super helpful and can help with tours and tips in the area. Would recommend if passing through.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joss M wrote a review Sept 2023
Derby, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I absolutely loved my stay at Croc Valley. The camp is stunning and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I would recommend anyone who visits the South Luangwa to stay here for a few nights.

The game drives offered were amazing, saw leopard every day and lions very regularly.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caroline S wrote a review Mar 2023
London
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We did not enjoy our stay at the campsite. We had booked 2 campsites online and prepaid everything. Upon checkin, the hotel staff could not find our booking anywhere, we had to show them the confirmation of the reservation. Each campsite came with a small area to pitch a tent, a barbecue / area for a fire and a covered table. We were shown a tiny area, without any of these. The receptionist insisted that this was a standard campsite area. We asked to see the manager who shouted at us and refuses to acknowledge that the site we were given was really not great.
The pool was quite filthy, the washrooms were ok
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jonathan N wrote a review Nov 2022
London, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Right at the river bank of Luangwa and next to the park entrance, Croc valley is an ideal place for you to stay. My wife and I just visited Croc Valley, what an amazing place to stay. Friendly and helpful staff, always with a welcoming smile. And Herbert Mkanda makes sure you are enjoying your stay. With knowledgeable guides, game drives were the highlights of our stay. We managed to see the big four of the big five and loads of wild animals. I would recommend Croc Valley for your next safari holiday in South Luangwa national park, Zambia. As for myself am visiting again next year. Thanks Croc Valley and see you next year.

Sandhia and Jonathan, UK
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charl Beukes, Owner at Croc Valley Camp
Responded 18 Nov 2022
Sandhia and Jonathan we thank you very much for the kind review and hope to see you back again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Narayananpr wrote a review Jun 2023
Phoenix, Arizona
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a peaceful stay at the eco tents at the Croc valley camp. The camp was located right at the entrance of the South Luangwa National park and animals can roam free since there is no artificial boundary made. However, the boys at the facility walk with you to the tent at night to ensure you are safe, every single time and I really liked that .
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bernardo Araujo wrote a review Sept 2023
Curitiba, PR
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Solid work by Herbert, Martin and the Bernards. The team is really amazing! Very satisfied with all the safaris I've done with Bernard, I feel like he really understood how to deliver what people were wishing to see (if that's even possible). When it comes to the ecotents a mosquito net inside would've been great.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Charl Beukes, Owner at Croc Valley Camp
Responded 26 Sept 2023
Thank you, Bernard, Herbert and Bernard are both great assets to this company. The Eco tents are completely fitted with mosquito netting and insect repellant so to put another hanging net would really cramp the small space they are all ready to have. These are our Budget Eco-friendly accommodations designed for avid wildlife travelers who can not afford more on the more spacious accommodations we offer. I would like to thank you for your patronage.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from CrocValley
Mfuwe11 contributions4 helpful votes
Hi we do have a Restaurant Ala Carte Menu at the bar and a Full Board Option available
Answer from nadjapilz
Mfuwe, Zambia11 contributions
Dear Cynthia, did you try +260 2162 46074 or +260 9771 75172?
John T asked a question Nov 2017
Newport Beach, California15 contributions23 helpful votes
How do you get from the Mfuwe airport to Croc Valley Camp and what is the cost?
Answer from GeorgeKratsas
London, United Kingdom7 contributions
Croc Valley Camp will send a driver, if I remember correctly the cost was in the vicinity of $20
Answer from CrocValley
Mfuwe11 contributions4 helpful votes
There are two options to get to us. By plane from Lusaka or by Jonda Bus.
Sam E asked a question May 2017
Avignonet Lauragais, France43 contributions5 helpful votes
Hi, is the 'comfort tent' private or shared accommodation?
Answer from herby85
Lusaka, Zambia4 contributions2 helpful votes
hello, i don't understand by comfort tents but turtle tents are not on suite while river front tents are on suite. hope this helps and please do let us know if there is anything more you would like to know. thanks, Herbert.
Todd C. wrote a tip Mar 2024
British Columbia, Canada7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"While I had aircon in my tent, Zambia’s hot and humid season can be a challenge. Be aware that there are wild animals about in the camp."
Read full review
juliepearce2018 wrote a tip Sept 2023
Wickford, United Kingdom17 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be prepared for basic facilities"
Read full review
Red-110 wrote a tip Sept 2021
Lusaka, Zambia147 contributions59 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Buy firewood from traders on bicyles directly, otherwise prices are very high both from the camp and from traders in town."
Read full review
DanielYenshaw wrote a tip Apr 2021
El Paso, Texas52 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"River Front Tents"
Read full review
BwanaSpots wrote a tip Oct 2019
Crowborough, United Kingdom131 contributions74 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"River view essential"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kakumbi area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
croc valley camp hotel south luangwa national park
LOCATION
ZambiaSouth Luangwa National ParkKakumbi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CROC VALLEY CAMP - Guesthouse Reviews (Kakumbi, Zambia)