We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Croc Valley Camp

South Luangwa National Park, Kakumbi, South Luangwa National Park Zambia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (315)
Pool & Beach (23)
Dining (15)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 guest house in Kakumbi
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set on the banks of the Luangwa River overlooking the South Luangwa National Park nestled under shady Mahogany trees lies the picturesque Croc Valley Camp. “Your camp with personality” We offer a variety of varied accommodation to suit everyone’s pocket, from self contained chalets on platforms, luxury en-suite tents on the river bank , ten dollar per night backpacker/dorm rooms, Family House to the campsite with thatched lapa's, electrical points and water outlets all on lush green lawns. All tastefully segregated but still part of the overall experience.Our chalets are completely environmentally friendly and in order to experience the nomadic night wonders at eye level our chalets are raised on platforms providing a fantastic safe viewpoint from which to see the wildlife that wanders through the camp. Throughout your stay, our chef's can provide delicious meals and snacks from original recipes using fresh ingredients for your meticulously prepared meals and for those that wish to self-cater or camp, full kitchen facilities are provided. Our campsite is well catered for campers and overland trucks with parking areas, fire places, power points, hot showers and ablutions.Between safaris, in the midday heat, our hippo friendly swimming pool provides the perfect place to relax and cool off. Hammocks are also scattered around the camp over-seeing the river and the swimming pool. The bar is always open and serves ice cold drinks throughout the day, whether you prefer to relax by the pool, catch up through our FREE WiFi , in a hammock or catch up with the news on our satellite TV.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Internet
Pool
Pool with view
Bar / lounge
BBQ facilities
Outdoor fireplace
Laundry service
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View

Location

South Luangwa National Park, Kakumbi, South Luangwa National Park Zambia
Croc Valley Camp
Getting there
Mfuwe Airport
23.8 km
See all flights
360Reviews9Q+A50Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 198
  • 101
  • 34
  • 21
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Todd C. wrote a review Mar 2024
British Columbia, Canada1 contribution
+1
I highly recommend visiting the Croc Valley Resort. One of the best wilderness travel experiences I’ve encountered. The relaxed and rustic vibe matched perfectly with the safari wildness experience. Great people, great food, and great safari excursions. I went on two safari viewings in the National Park—a morning and a night drive. Multiple animals with a broad variety. Best value for your money in the region. I can’t wait to return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: While I had aircon in my tent, Zambia’s hot and humid season can be a challenge. Be aware...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Laura Lou wrote a review Dec 2023
Christchurch, New Zealand14 contributions10 helpful votes
Location is really cool on the river and also loved the pool. I had to leave a 1 star review due to poor management and resolution of an issue we had with our morning game drive. Our game drive started well seeing an elephant really close up, however the next few hours were spent stopping and and starting our way around the park as the truck continued to cut out, eventually us needing to push start it multiple times. I'm not sure why the guide continued driving as if the truck was going to fix itself??Eventually it completely stopped and we had 1hr-1.5hrs waiting for another car to bring fuel!!!! We had assumed it was something serious, not running out of fuel!! We had spent 50US each through our tour company to spend the morning stopping and starting and pushing the truck to start it. After we refuelled we made our way back to the campsite doing a couple of loops by the gate looking for leopards. Other than the elephant, the other wildlife we saw was also in our campsite. We immediately spoke with the staff at the campsite to inform them what had happened and over the afternoon they said they would need to speak to the manager and come back to us. We followed up several times during the day and got the same response with no resolution. We asked if we could have a discounted night drive at-least. Management didn't even bother to come back to us before going home for the night and was not present in the morning to discuss the issue. Of 14, only 3 people did the night drive (still full price) where as there would have been atleast 10 if management had at least talked with us. We were worried about wasting more money and the same problems happening. We couldn't use another provider without having to pay double for our accomodation*. We spoke to other guests at the park and they said they would have demanded a full refund. Really really disappointed in the service and experience as we were all really looking forward to South Luanga! Also, this made no business sense for them to behave like this as all we were asking for was a discount for the night drive, where we would have been spending another few hundred USD. Go figure. * if you use a different game drive provider, Croc valley will double your accomodation costs!! With this mentality they should take more responsibility when their game drive provider's service was not at all acceptable. NOTE: Happy to adjust this review if management respond to my partners emails and provides us with a partial refund or some sort of resolution.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ken M wrote a review Oct 2023
Tel Aviv, Israel14 contributions6 helpful votes
We came here since my son had been there recently as a backpacker and had a small shared room at a price you probably could not get elsewhere. Wanting a bit more I switched to one of the tent cabins with the full board option - which came out to even more than we paid for the much nicer place we ended staying at after one night at Croc Valley. The leaking AC, nominal water in the shower, holes in the mosquito nets, a guard who made himself at home on our porch, intolerable food if you are over 25, and a very bored Safari guide had us checking out the next day. The kicker was they claimed we had reserved for multiple days when we went to check out - despite when we checked he said we would work it out later as we had paid a deposit for a smaller room - which was much less than our bill for the tent. Despite there only being a few people at the whole place they insisted on us paying for the whole time we "committed" and threatened to call the police if we did not pay for the extra days (we paid, knowing nothing about the Zambian police, they got us - congrats to them) Our stay at Flatdogs was such a contrast, and in fact almost the same price for an infinitely better experience.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charl Beukes, Owner at Croc Valley Camp
Responded 22 Oct 2023
Dear Ken Thank you very much for your bed time story. I used to get very upset when people like you wrote bad things about my camp after spending 45 hard years here carving our Croc Valley from scratch trying to do the best, doing what I could and can under stressful and demanding time only to be shot down by an unfairly disgruntled guest. You booked here at Croc valley in a River turtle air conditioned Room at USD 25 per night one of the cheapest options we offer but being where you come from I can understand the choice. Oh yes a recommendation from your son to come here so he must have had a good time who also stayed the five days here when you went off to Flatdogs Then when you arrived you were not satisfied, it was not an on suite room. Get moved into another room with an on suite, still not HAPPY and decide to leave. You are wanting five star accommodations paying budget price of USD 25 per night We are proud of our 4/5 rating by trip advisor but you seem to have found everything wrong AND WHY IS THAT because we, following our cancellation policy kept the deposit. Being threatened by TRIP ADVISOR report.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nick W wrote a review Oct 2023
3 contributions
This is a nice budget to midrange camp & lodge with a swimming pool, decent food & a great view of the river but be careful with the game drive activity add-on as this was a huge disappointment and not rectified properly either. Our drive started off badly being 20 minutes late and progressively got worse as we actually ended up being 40 minutes late since the spotter (night drive) had been left behind in town so we had to back track. At the end of the evenings drive we broke down in the park & were so so fortunate that another vehicle was able to push start us. I wanted to discuss the experience with management but I feel like I was either ignored or they didn't want to front the matter which was very poor management/ownership. The place is fine BUT please be aware the game drives are not at a profesional level based on what we got
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charl Beukes, Owner at Croc Valley Camp
Responded 14 Oct 2023
Hi Nick - We would firstly like to thank you for your helpful comments and secondly apologize for the bad experience, you had on your game drive. I have investigated and have been informed by our General Manager that he had discussed this with you and you were given a USD 20 refund for this experience Unfortunately, in busy periods we occasionally have to hire outside guides and vehicles. Obviously, this guide was not up to our professional standards. We will not be paying him and will not hire him in the future. We have reviewed the issue with management and are putting new systems in place to ensure this does not happen in the future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and once again we are truly sorry. Charl Beukes Owner
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Joss M wrote a review Sept 2023
Derby, United Kingdom1 contribution
+1
I absolutely loved my stay at Croc Valley. The camp is stunning and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I would recommend anyone who visits the South Luangwa to stay here for a few nights. The game drives offered were amazing, saw leopard every day and lions very regularly.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Bernardo Araujo wrote a review Sept 2023
Curitiba, PR66 contributions78 helpful votes
Solid work by Herbert, Martin and the Bernards. The team is really amazing! Very satisfied with all the safaris I've done with Bernard, I feel like he really understood how to deliver what people were wishing to see (if that's even possible). When it comes to the ecotents a mosquito net inside would've been great.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charl Beukes, Owner at Croc Valley Camp
Responded 26 Sept 2023
Thank you, Bernard, Herbert and Bernard are both great assets to this company. The Eco tents are completely fitted with mosquito netting and insect repellant so to put another hanging net would really cramp the small space they are all ready to have. These are our Budget Eco-friendly accommodations designed for avid wildlife travelers who can not afford more on the more spacious accommodations we offer. I would like to thank you for your patronage.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
juliepearce2018 wrote a review Sept 2023
Wickford, United Kingdom10 contributions6 helpful votes
It’s a lovely setting but I found the decor tired and could do with new furnishings. Pool was very nice and the staff were so friendly and helpful. The accommodation was basic no toiletries apart from a small bar of soap so for anyone doing a long trip was not ideal. The room I had was in need of an update and used shared facilities which were ok but not I would have chose to do. Overall it was a lovely site and position but needs some talc
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Be prepared for basic facilities
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charl Beukes, Owner at Croc Valley Camp
Responded 20 Sept 2023
Good Day Julie thank you very much for your candid review, Appreciated. I would like to clarify that it seems you chose a Budget room rather than a River Front Tent or Self-Contained Chalet, our superior accommodations which has all of the amenities. If you pay USD 25 as opposed to USD 150 per night it seems to me your priority was your wallet rather than your comfort. Thanks
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
elektraGA wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We absolutely loved our 4 night stay at Croc Valley. It is a fantastic lodge because of its old world charm and total immersion in wildlife. We had a herd of elephants wander through camp twice, each day woke up to big baboons bouncing on our tent roof, watched spotted antelope grazing by the pool and enjoyed spotting hippo and crocs in the river from the deck. Food can take a while to arrive but with that view, who cares. Staff were friendly and helpful. We did self-drive for the safari which was brilliant. If you don't have a car, they advise you not to walk to the local town of Mfuwe because of all the animals but you can get a taxi. There are several great lunch spots in town, so it's fun to visit and get a wider selection of dishes if you're staying for a while.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
tamsinashton wrote a review Aug 2023
London, United Kingdom18 contributions9 helpful votes
This has to be one of our favourite camp sites ever! We were able to pitch our tent right by the river, with views of hippos & crocodiles, monkeys running around. We watched elephants crossing the river one morning, and some were walking around the campsite one evening. Great for birdwatching too. Facilities were great, nice toilets & showers, reasonably priced good food (inc vegetarian options), and a lovely pool. Camping & food at good prices, the safari trips also reasonable. The owner & staff all very lovely and helpful. Would highly recommend staying here!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
alessandralcolombo wrote a review Aug 2023
Milan, Italy30 contributions8 helpful votes
Camping with many solution with different price range. We chose the eco-tent and were satisfied. Everything was always clean. The restaurant is good and prices are reasonable. The view is great. I really recomend staying here.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kakumbi area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
croc valley camp hotel south luangwa national park
LOCATION
ZambiaSouth Luangwa National ParkKakumbi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CROC VALLEY CAMP - Guesthouse Reviews & Price Comparison (Kakumbi, Zambia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Croc Valley Camp
What are some of the property amenities at Croc Valley Camp?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Croc Valley Camp?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Croc Valley Camp?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Croc Valley Camp?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Croc Valley Camp have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.