We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort

62-100 Kauna'oa Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9749
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
18 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/17
Reserve now, pay at stay
View Deal
Free cancellation until 21/08/17
Reserve now, pay at stay
View Deal
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (2532)
Room & Suite (616)
Pool & Beach (471)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 20/06/29 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort
Updated 20/06/29 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#3 of 6 hotels in Puako
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
Our newly renovated resort along the Kohala Coast at Hapuna Beach on the Big Island of Hawaii has officially deputed as The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort.
Read more
Room & Suite (616)616
Full view
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Paid public parking on-site
Pool / beach towels
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Poolside bar
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids pool
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
24-hour security
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Great View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
4 248Reviews166Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2 289
  • 1 267
  • 383
  • 183
  • 126
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
26geralda wrote a review 13 Feb
Forest Lake, Minnesota24 contributions5 helpful votes
First tip of the day. If you are lucky enough to get a ocean front upgrade, high floor, get on the south side of the north tower of north side of the south tower. We were in room 911 and the new residences just built there cause a partial obstruction of the beach. Everyone very friendly and staff, still pretty lean, was very good. Ate at the breakfast “buffet” every morning and Shirley was a wonderful waitress. Beach had chairs and umbrellas thru the hotel. It was quiet but see how getting that or around the pool could be challenging. Other minor complaint. Very twisting and turning to get to the pools or beach. Didn’t eat here except for breakfast so no comments on food. Got cocktails at the pool bar. They were good and nice sized but 4 adult and two kids smoothies with tax and tip will be a Ben Franklyn. Nice beach walk along a historic trail. Comes out at the Hilton. Swimming is very nice.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Mauna Kea Resort, Other at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort
Responded 1 week ago
We appreciate you recognizing the many team members who provided exceptional customer service to help deliver a great experience! Mahalo for your review! We're so glad that overall you enjoyed your time with us! We hope to welcome you back soon. Mahalo!
Read more
Alyssa D wrote a review 13 Feb
Anchorage, Alaska14 contributions4 helpful votes
I’d like to preface this with, I’ve only been checked in for 3 hours and this is what I’ve noticed so far. We checked in, where we booked a double Queen room with a partial ocean view, our only view is the back of the residence building. Okay no big deal there. Immediately went down to the beach to relax and eventually to watch the sunset. Instead, for 2 hours we got to enjoy the sounds of a worker on an ATV go back and forth picking up random furniture who eventually came by at 6:05 and said “as soon as the sunsets, I’ll be picking up my chairs”. Nothing quite says resort like being rushed out of a beach chair. As we were picking up our things from the chairs at sunset he was sure to whip the ATV around and wait right next to us as we packed up. Then we went to the pool, which doesn’t close until 8, except you can’t get towels because there’s not attendant and they don’t leave towels out to grab. Compounded with, every trash can around the pools were obscenely overflowing to the point there there was a circle of trash on the ground around it as well. The cherry on top is that not only do the beach towels have weird orange/tan stains on them, the towels in the rooms are stained as well. These all are little annoyances that together still do not ruin a stay, but for the price they’re charging and a resort fee, I expect to not have these issues.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4 Helpful votes
Response from Mauna Kea Resort, Other at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha and Mahalo for choosing The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort for your recent travels along the Kohala Coast. Commitment to service and guest satisfaction is a main focus and we'd like to sincerely apologize that your stay thus far has not met your expectations. We appreciate you sharing with your comments regarding the condition of the resort which will be shared with the hotel management team. If you are still here on property, please ask to speak to the Hotel General Manager so we can immediately assist you.
Read more
Dan B wrote a review 12 Feb
Camarillo, California28 contributions6 helpful votes
Our big family had a fantastic time at the Westin and can't wait to come back! The property is breathtaking and is on arguably the best beach on the island (#8 in the world in Dr Beach's 2019 rankings). It is high end without being pretentious or gaudy. Very family-friendly - we have 7 children ages >1 to 18 and everyone loved it. We never felt unwelcome (which isn't always the case for big families in high end hotels). The service was top-notch. We arrived quite late due to a delay with our plane. By the time we reached the resort all the restaurants were closed. When we checked in Lee Na asked if we were hungry. We replied we were and she told us that she'd get us some sandwiches. Within a couple minutes she was standing with a tray of sandwiches for us. Wow!! It was so nice to be able to get some food before we went to bed. It really made our evening. My 14 yr old finished his sandwich before we even made it to the room. I guess he was hungrier than I thought - haha! The rooms were fantastic - nice size with a huge double patio door that opens to the lanai. Amazing views of the ocean - we were able to whale-watch from our balconies. We had two rooms with 2 queens and the staff was kind enough to find us rooms next to each other. The bidet with heated water, warm fan, and heated seat was a nice luxury that I wish more hotels had. The beds were comfortable and falling asleep to the sound of the waves with the patio doors open was blissful. We had planned on driving around the island more, but the resort and beach were so inviting we ended up spending much more time there and loved it! Breakfast was a highlight - the staff were warm and caring in addition to being very attentive. We didn't eat at any of the other restaurants so we can't give reviews on those, but breakfast was outstanding - no one ordered anything that wasn't thoroughly enjoyed. I would highly recommend. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Response from Mauna Kea Resort, Other at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort
Responded 1 week ago
It is truly our pleasure to deliver an enjoyable stay during your recent visit with us. Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience enjoying everything the resort has to offer. We look forward to your return! Mahalo!
Read more
JJJayhawk89 wrote a review Jan 2021
Overland Park, Kansas9 contributions5 helpful votes
We enjoyed our 8 night stay here. The people in the restaurant during breakfast were great and so friendly giving us a positive start to each day. The service each morning was exceptional and the food was amazing. The grounds we very nice and well maintained. The beach was one of the best we’ve experienced. We also enjoyed the pools. Due to the pandemic, the hotel was not crowded at all. While sad for the economy, it made for a very relaxing stay. My only criticism is the stray cats that are roaming through the pool restaurant. It was creepy and kept us from really enjoying our meal there. Our room was spacious and very clean when we arrived. I felt the hotel had taken every precaution to address the virus risks and the other guests were very considerate with mask wearing and distancing. We will be back later this year for sure. Thank you for a nice break from the midwestern cold.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
3 Helpful votes
Response from Mauna Kea Resort, Other at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback, we're delighted that overall you enjoyed your time with us! Thank you for mentioning our Ikena Landing staff, we will be sure to share your feedback to continue to encourage them to provide excellent service. We look forward to your return!
Read more
Destination315324 wrote a review Jan 2021
2 contributions8 helpful votes
We stayed a week in a condo on the beach and a week at the Westin. I wish we would have stayed the entire trip at the condo at Mauna Lani. The grounds are beautiful! Most of the staff is very friendly at the Westin, with the exception of the bartenders at the pool bar. The bartenders didn't acknowledge us every time we went to get a drink. No niceties there. The rooms are very dated, small, and overpriced! We ordered room service the first night, $220, no alcohol. Our chicken and bacon Cesar salad was dry lettuce and a side of croutons, that is it. No chicken, bacon, or dressing. Our Mediterranean salad was dry lettuce, 3 strips of peppers, and sprinkled feta cheese. No dressing! The rest of the food was worse than an elementary school lunch. We ate at the main restaurant one night, $365, 1 alcohol drink. My salad was over $50 because I added 4 shrimp to it. The food was disgusting. We go to Hawaii on a regular basis and have never experienced food or service so terrible. Needless to say, we will never stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
7 Helpful votes
Response from Mauna Kea Resort, Other at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort
Responded 11 Jan 2021
Aloha and mahalo for your comments. We apologize that you felt the food was not up to par. We work hard each and every day to provide a delicious experience for all our guests and we're sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We will share this with our team to address these dishes in the future. Mahalo.
Read more
US$371 - US$762 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
prince hotel kamuela, prince hotel hapuna beach, hapuna beach prince hotel, prince hotel island of hawaii, hapuna prince hotel, hapuna beach hotel, island of hawaii prince hotel
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiKohala CoastPuako
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Hapuna Beach State Recreation Area (0.5 km), Mauna Kea Beach (1.0 km), and Kauna'oa Bay (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Manta Restaurant, Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel Beach Bar, and Copper Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Puukohola National Historic Park (4.8 km), Pu'ukohola Heiau (3.2 km), and Puako Petroglyph Archaeological Preserve (5.8 km).
Does The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.