We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fretheim Hotel

on Flam Waterfront, Mailbox 63, Flam 5743 Norway
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/12/13
Reserve now, pay at stay
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/12/12
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/12/14
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (805)
Room & Suite (513)
Dining (178)


#2 of 4 hotels in Flam
Fretheim Hotel boasts mountain and fjord views and is somewhere you can look, taste, listen and absorb magnificent nature. The hotel is immediately adjacent to the Nærøyfjord UNESCO World Heritage site. This fjord has been chosen as one of the world’s most beautiful destinations several times running! The hotel was built in Swiss chalet style at the end of the 19th century, and over the years has grown and developed in pace with the increase in tourists and travellers using the Bergensbana railway and, later, the famous Flåmsbana railway. The oldest part of the hotel has been carefully restored to reveal beautiful details, with open fires and antique furniture in the lounges, library, conference room and, not least, in all the historical guest rooms. Take yourself on a journey of discovery and enjoy the atmosphere of glory days past.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Electric vehicle charging station
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Canoeing offsite
Walking tours
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Historic Hotel
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Norwegian
1209Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 482
  • 455
  • 177
  • 58
  • 37
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Paal Espen J wrote a review Aug 2021
4 contributions1 helpful vote
After considering a tour of the west coast of Norway we aimed to stay at "De Historiske". However, after being late in booking hotels the only available accommodation was "Stabburet". Even though I was expecting somewhat a "rustique" facility this was like participating in the Norwegian reality show mirroring a 19th century farming experience called "Farmen". Even the smell was authentic. It was not possible to shower without flooding the whole bathroom. An interesting aspect with the booking itself was the information saying that there an available "jacuzzi" (badestamp). Even though we would never use it, it was interesting to see in what condition it was presented. (see pictures). After experiencing the logistical nightmare of checking out (dont mention spending 1 hour to find a parking place when checking) we agreed that this was not worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
1 Helpful vote
Response from Frode S, Other at Fretheim Hotel
Responded 16 Aug 2021
Takk for din tilbakemelding. Stabburet, som ligger et steinkast fra Fretheim Hotel, holder en klart enklere standard enn selve hotellet. Vi ser utfordringen mht helling på badegulvet. Badestampen er ute av drift og skal ikke benyttes. På sikt har vi planer om en oppgradering av bygget. Ønsker dere en fortsatt fin sommer og velkommen igjen ! mvh driftsdir.
Read more
Monja Helen M wrote a review Aug 2021
18 contributions
I am writing in english so that our fantastic waitor from Romania can read our experience we had at Fretheim hotel's restaurant. We wanted to stay at Fredheim hotel because it's historical and wanted to have a romantic couple of days with good food and activities. Our first day is done and we are just all big smiles! We met a lot of nice and welcoming people in the reception, came to a wonderful room (in the historical wing) and the restaurant..! Hats of to the people making the food!! It was sooo good! But good food and lovely wine, can be better or worse with the person serving the table. This was the better kind! All the waitors was working smoothly with each other, so nice and paid attention to our wants and needs and gave us a fantastic evening. But we want to give an extra feedback to our waitor, Christian. What an amazing man. He made our time at the restaurant! Knowledgeable, smiling, was attentiv, made us laugh and just enjoy the evening even more. Thank you so much! This place is so wonderful and if you are thinking about going to Flåm, just come. The place, the food, the people, the mountains and the fjord.. You will not regret it! 😊
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Frode S, Other at Fretheim Hotel
Responded 04 Aug 2021
Wonderful to read you comments on your stay with us ! We are very proud of the great staff in all our departments. The food and service are an integral part of any hotel visit and I am happy to hear that we gave our best to you. Will make sure that this review also find it's way to Cristian - who made your evening a night to remember. Welcome back to Flåm and Fretheim Hotel. Regards from Operations mngr.
Read more
Richard_SW11 wrote a review Nov 2020
Stavanger, Norway225 contributions150 helpful votes
This was our first visit to Flam and we stayed two nights. Circumstances were unusual because it was November but also under Covid19 restrictions. This is a large hotel but there were very few guests due to travel restrictions. Our stay got off to a great start at check-in when we were upgraded to a classic room. This had a large double bed and a view of the fjord. The bathroom had a Victorian style bathtub - quite unusual in Norway. We had dinner at the restaurant - service was very good. In fact all the staff we encountered were friendly, helpful and skilled at their roles. I have no hesitations in recommending the Fretheim hotel and hope to return in the summer.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Response from Frode S, Other at Fretheim Hotel
Responded 01 Jul 2021
Wonderful to hear ! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in this beautiful region of Norway. Hope to see you again.
Read more
Norodden wrote a review Sep 2020
Arendal, Norway164 contributions69 helpful votes
We stayed in one of the America rooms and had a great view of Flåm and the Aurlandsfjord. We can sum up our visit as follows: Pros - Beautiful lush gardens. - Super location with magnificent view of Flåm. - Free parking. - Fantastic breakfast and dinner with abundance of choices. - Attentive personnel provided excellent service. - Most of the food in the restaurant was locally provided. - Spacious lobby with ample seating. - Very comfortable beds. - Great wifi. Cons - Expensive. - Curtains in room were in poor condition. - Sounds penetrate walls fairly easily. - No shelf in shower for soap/shampoo.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
Response from Frode S, Other at Fretheim Hotel
Responded 08 Sep 2020
Great to read your detailed comments and review ! Would love to welcome you back to Flåm and Fretheim Hotel. Regards Op.manager.
Read more
pselgar wrote a review Aug 2020
Tananger, Norway10 contributions5 helpful votes
Room 246 in the America Wing, July 2020. We didn't start off too well when we found out the a la carte restaurant was closed and only buffet for breakfast and dinner was on offer, even though the English web pages said a la carte was available. Not good for someone who doesn't like buffets, especially in the time of COVID. Anyway, we headed off for our America Room with large balcony. It sounds nice, but its more like a motel room on an American highway, and the large balcony was anything but. If I sat myself down by the small table my partner would not be able to get past me. One single leather chair in the room and a pretty awful smelling bathroom with an old towel stuffed behind the toilet. Reception were quite helpful and offered to move us to another room, but our stay in Flåm was short anyway so we decided to stay put, even though the smell remained (despite promises of coming to see what could be done). Maybe it was the non-working sink plug that was allowing nasty smells to escape? On check-out we were offered a reimbursement of two drinks, and a 25% discount on the pre-paid room. We also had a small bottle of cider sent to our room earlier. That was all much appreciated and we left with positive feelings, except that.... nearly one month later, no 25% refund has been received and no one responds to my inquiries anymore. I was told 2 weeks back that it was paid and that there would be a 1-2 day delay in the system, so either someone else has got the money or it hasn't been reimbursed. We wait in hope for an answer or some money!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Sleep Quality
Response from Frode S, Other at Fretheim Hotel
Responded 09 Sep 2020
Thank you for your comments ! When situations arise (like with your room) we always try to find good solutions for our guests - like offer them to move to another room. I expect that by now you have been reimbursed 25 % on the room charge? If not, please get in touch with us. I do hope that we can accomodate you here in Flåm at another apportunity. Regards, Op.mngr.
Read more
US$180 - US$296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
fretheim hotel flåm
NorwayWestern NorwaySogn og FjordaneAurland MunicipalityFlam
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fretheim Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Fretheim Hotel?
Nearby attractions include FjordSafari (0.1 km), Naeroyfjord (0.4 km), and Flaamsbana Museet (0.07 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Fretheim Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Fretheim Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Fretheim Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fretheim Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Aegir BrewPub, Flam Marina and Appartement Cafe, and Flam Bakery.
Are pets allowed at Fretheim Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Fretheim Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Fretheim Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Norwegian.
Are there any historical sites close to Fretheim Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Otternes Bygdetun (2.5 km).
Does Fretheim Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Fretheim Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.