We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis

R301 Wemmershoek Road, Suider Paarl, Paarl 7646 South Africa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (59)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 hotels in Suider Paarl
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis is a luxury establishment situated on Pearl Valley which forms part of the award-winning Val de Vie Estate, internationally recognised for its polo facilities and other world-class amenities. Set in the picturesque Paarl-Franschhoek Valley, Pearl Valley at Val de Vie is an approximate 45 minute drive from both Cape Town and Cape Town International Airport, and is a short drive away from many of South Africa’s most renowned wine estates and restaurants. The hotel is therefore ideally located for business and leisure – an environment where guests can truly “Live, Play, Relax”.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Tennis court
Babysitting
Secured parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Wine / champagne
Waterslide
Kids pool
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
24-hour security
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Zulu
82Reviews0Q+A10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 63
  • 11
  • 3
  • 1
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Michelle d wrote a review Feb 2024
Johannesburg, South Africa2 contributions
All the great service and treatment we enjoyed from the Pearl Valley hotel and its wonderful staff was marred by the shocking manner in which the security staff operates the access and egress gates to the Estate. Our room was far from perfect, with a wet carpet and rising damp - but this was not an issue as the hotel staff were quick to attend to the issue with good grace. We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights for a beautiful celebratory weekend with close friends. Our stay was ruined by at least 7 unpleasant encounters we had with Thornburn Security staff who appeared to be antagonising my husband and I and our family members at the access and egress gates. Our lasting impression of this hotel is that of an extremely hostile, inefficient system which left us as paying Pearl Valley Hotel guests feeling vulnerable at the gate and victims of inefficient, antagonising, security personnel who appeared to be enjoying depriving us access or taking undue time to permit us access to the hotel premises. This ill treatment occurred on each and every interaction with them. When complaining about the security staff to various members of the hotel team - I was informed that there are “many complaints” about the security at the gates - “but nothing gets done”. Our family will never stay at the Pearl Valley Hotel again after the unpleasant experience dealing with Thornburn Security. Life is stressful enough without having to be antagonised on one’s holiday by irritating, inefficient security personnel who defeat the object of a welcoming and secure hospitality experience and environment.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Do not book at Pearl Valley Hotel until such time as the security issue is resolved at the gate.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis, General Manager at Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Michelle d Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review. Utterly disappointing read. I am glad to hear that you and your family & friends enjoyed great service from my team. My sincerest apologies for the patch of wet carpet, due to a leak from the bath, which none of us were aware of. This unfortunate incident happened whilst the hotel was 100% occupied, hence we could not move you to another room, but glad my team could effectively dry the carpet with our industrial strength blowers. The bath was subsequently repaired. Reading your summary of how you are perceiving Pearl Valley Hotel, upsets me immensely, as the hotel is a service provider on the estate, just like Thornburn Security. "Our lasting impression of this hotel is that of an extremely hostile, inefficient system which left us as paying Pearl Valley Hotel guests feeling vulnerable at the gate and victims of inefficient, antagonising, security personnel." I have immediately made contact with the Estate Security Manager, and he is currently investigating your claims. No matter what the outcome of the investigation, I would like to guarantee you of my dedicated involvement into this matter as we are suffering the consequences of the wrong doings of other 3rd party suppliers. Your perception of the estate and the hotel are tainted, and I need to find a solution to the core issue. I hope you find it in your heart one day to return and experience the best of the greater estate and Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis. Travel safely. Kind regards Mynhardt de Jongh General Manager Pearl Valley Hotel
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bolton wrote a review Dec 2023
Pretoria, South Africa176 contributions45 helpful votes
The Mantis Hotel Group has consitently exceeded my expectations - this particular has simply reminded me why this group will always enjoy priority when searching for a hotel - General Manager: Mynhardt de Jongh clearly leafs from the front - the service is 5* + - the views are outstanding the facilities exceptionally clean and varied to accommodate most preferences - staff is always available to assist - a must visit for atleast 3 nights - will return.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis, General Manager at Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis
Responded 26 Dec 2023
Dear Mr Denver B We are truly delighted to have received your fantastic feedback with a 5-star rating. We are blessed to be able to work for the Mantis Group on such an award-winning estate with a team that knows the importance of BEST GUEST SERVICE. I will most definitely share your feedback with my team as it will re-enforce their drive to perfection. Thank you for your support over the years. I wish you a safe journey. I wish you and your wife another blessed year of marriage and hope to be able to provide you with a venue to celebrate your next anniversary. To the New Year! Best wishes for 2024. Mynhardt de Jongh General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nelus Rossouw wrote a review Dec 2023
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa91 contributions58 helpful votes
One of the largest and nicest rooms (207) I have stayed in for some time. Clean, modern and everything you need. Great complimentary coffee. World class estate with so many facilities you can use. Backs Restaurant: Small but very affordable menu. Friendly staff. Valley Restaurant: You can eat about the same breakfast for almost half the price at “Backs” Negatives: Golf: This must be the in the top 5 most expensive courses in South Africa to play as a affiliated member. Not really catering for South Africans. As a very avid golfer, I am not willing to pay that fee. Even the discounted rate if you stay in the hotel is exorbitant. 2/10 Access to the estate is shockingly slow and ineffective, especially for hotel staying/returning guests. Every day the same procedure to gain access. Code only valid for 1-day. R40 for still water in a normal plastic bottle! Price: 6/10 Staff:9/10 Location: 9/10 Facilities: 9/10 Overall: 8/10 As the estate is so large, a map of the location of all the facilities would be great.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis, General Manager at Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis
Responded 18 Dec 2023
Dear NelusR I am delighted to have received such detailed feedback from you as guest feedback is imperative for business owners to understand where we are doing well and where there is room for improvement. I will share your great feedback on the hotel and its facilities with my team in order for them to continue to stay positive, motivated and keep exceeding all the guest's expectations. Complimentary water (both still and sparkling) in recycled glass bottles are available in your rooms in the fridges. Food and Beverage Facilities: The same goes for the business owners of the golf course and the outsourced food and beverage outlets. Glad that your experiences at both restaurants were positive and that the quality of the meals met your expectations. I will share your concern of the difference between meals at Pearl Valley Restaurant and Back's restaurant with the owners. Golf: We pride ourselves with top service, top facilities and a golf course currently ranked 3rd in the country. Every day we remind ourselves that we have to provide exceptional services and facilities to stay on par with one of our goals of being the top public accessible course in the country. We offer a bucket list experience and when you drive down the Jack Nicklaus Boulevard after days/ weeks/ months of anticipation, you are met with a team that is willing to do even better that what you expected. Access: Security is the prime USP of Pearl Valley Golf Residential Estate and that of the Greater Val de Vie Estate. Access control will remain a priority to ensure all residents, guests, staff and suppliers are safe at all times. Longer staying guests are able to have their biometrics temporarily registered, bar meeting strict terms and conditions. Apologies for the inconvenience it has caused, but it is for your own safety. I would rather apologies for inconvenience than having to explain an incident. We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back in the near future Merry Christmas and we hope you will have a memorable experience with your friends and family during these festive times. Kind regards Mynhardt de Jongh General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Andile M wrote a review Dec 2023
Durban, South Africa18 contributions
Had fun with my best friends we felf home away from home the atmosphere was exceptional the staff was very welcoming the service was excellent we slept like babies the view was good and mostly well prepared meals
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis, General Manager at Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis
Responded 04 Dec 2023
Dear 563andilem We are truly delighted to have received such a beautiful and well written review. I will share your feedback with my team, and I am 100% sure that this will continue to re-energize them to continue to strive for perfection. We all hope that you will be able to return soon. Travel safely Kind regards Mynhardt de Jongh General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Elma H wrote a review Nov 2023
2 contributions
Beautiful hotel on a golf course. Part of a tour of South Africa, so we did not choose it. Stayed two nights, wished it could have been more. Beautiful accommodation. Lovely grounds. A la cart meal the first night was excellent. Buffet meal and breakfast was good. Staff very pleasant. Highly recommend this hotel, especially if you are a golfer. Round of golf with equipment etc. very competitive compared to GB .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis, General Manager at Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis
Responded 26 Nov 2023
Dear Elma H We are delighted to hear that you have had a memorable experience at Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis. I will share your positive feedback with regards to your meals with both restaurants. Thank you for telling all potential guests to the hotel or future golfers about our competitive pricing structures. We are grateful that we could provide you with beautiful accommodation, friendly staff, well looked after facilities and grounds. Hopefully you will be able to return and make Pearl Valley Hotel your base to continue exploring the winelands. Keep travelling safely and we wish to welcome you very soon. Kind regards Mynhardt de Jongh General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Martin W wrote a review Nov 2023
Wokingham, United Kingdom69 contributions72 helpful votes
A beautifully presented hotel with it’s own golf course. Stayed 2 nights in very large ground floor room. Very high quality furnishings and finish and luggage delivered by golf buggy. The staff do tend to drive at high speed around the paths so be aware of this when walk to and from the main hotel area. Food for such a large hotel was a little disappointing but as the rugby World Cup was going on at the same time the staff were a little busy. Would go back again just for the quality of the hotel but there as no doubt others in the area which may be a little smaller and more intimate it just depends what you are looking for in a hotel
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis, General Manager at Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis
Responded 18 Nov 2023
Dear 639martinw We are delighted that you chose Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis as your accommodation destination. We are thankful that you have enjoyed your stay at the restaurant and enjoyed some of the facilities. I will share your feedback with regards to your Food and Beverage experience with the owners of the two outsourced restaurants of the estate. I have also shared your feedback with regards to the staff driving the golf carts at speed and I will continue to monitor the situation. We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back when you are in the winelands region again. Please travel safely, enjoy your South African trip. Kind regards Mynhardt de Jongh General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Siona O wrote a review Nov 2023
London, United Kingdom19 contributions6 helpful votes
This place over promises and woefully under delivers. It makes sense that considering it’s based around a GOLF COURSE, it’s absurd that hotel guests are not allowed on even the driving range (as we were brushed aside with ‘club championships week so try going somewhere else) is pathetic, and their was no prior warning of this. Room was not ready on time. Suggest management visits Fancourt to see how things are done. Otherwise all it is a hyped up overpriced generic hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis, General Manager at Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis
Responded 07 Nov 2023
Dear Mrs O'Connell Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Thank you for your support in the Val de Vie triathlon. Although a disappointing read, I must highlight the fact that when we fail the expectations of our guests, for whatever reason, we as a team work hard to rectify the situation and always prevail in amicably resolving any concerns. We work on two pillars: Ownership and responsibility, thus I would like to clarify and fill in the missing information to ensure our potential future guests receives the information required to make a calculated decision if they wish to support us in the future. Pearl Valley Hotel is one of the businesses and service providers on the greater estate, meaning that Pearl Valley Hotel and Management does not have any authority in how the estate run their main business, namely golf. As a service provider our valued guests receives benefits e.g. better rates and packages when they book and stay at the hotel, but access to the range, preferential access to tee times etc is not in our hands. Your request on the 27th of October to check in between 14h00 and 15h00 was answered as this is our normal check in times. On the 4th of November you asked for a 12 o 'Clock check in, which was again answered, but unfortunately declined as we were full the previous night and we could not guarantee your early check in request, thus we did not want to promise and disappoint you on arrival. This communication went out to all the attendees of the Triathlon. Travel safely Kind regards Mynhardt de Jongh General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kimmysa wrote a review Sept 2023
Somerset West, South Africa707 contributions67 helpful votes
We spent an amazing weekend at this fabulous hotel! It is beautiful, wish we could have spent more time. The rooms are clean and spacious, with a lovely outside patio area. The restaurant serves a delicious breakfast! Service was excellent. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis, General Manager at Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis
Responded 30 Sept 2023
Dear Kimmysa I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Pearl Valley Hotel and that we could have been part of a memorable stay. Thank you for your detailed feedback so that other potential guests can see what we have on offer We all hope for your soonest and extended return Travel safely Kind regards Mynhardt de Jongh General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Truthful Reviews wrote a review May 2023
London, United Kingdom7452 contributions927 helpful votes
Two adults and a baby. My wife was in the shower, luckily I was near the door when a man with a duvet entered. He didn’t knock and when i confronted him he said - oh - I Must be in the wrong room. I warned him to leave immediately and said I was reporting the issue which I did to the front of house manager. The front of house manager (after getting through to him) was not sympathetic at all. He apologised but that was it. After breakfast we tried to enter our room but the door wouldn’t open - my wife went back to the breakfast room to ask for help and I waited with my baby and a cleaner let us in without asking who we were. We asked for additional key cards that worked but they never turned up. So we couldn’t go for a walk around the estate after breakfast. We stayed in our room until checkout and left. No apology at the desk on leaving. You pay for breakfast in advance 180 zar and it’s really not worth it as any additional items including an egg is charged. Avocado and toast with a coffee x 2 360 zar. It’s just a restriction to eating as you are put off by being told you are restricted and told on checking in which sets the tone to the whole stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If you value your families safety in South Africa. Then avoid this establishment.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis, General Manager at Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis
Responded 11 May 2023
Dear JH72 Thank you for taking the time to write a review and providing valuable feedback with regards to your stay at Pearl Valley Hotel. My sincerest apologies for what occurred during your stay. We have a very strict access control policy to the estate and similar to guests rooms. The staff members in question will be dealt with, as they are fully trained, re-trained and have enough operational experience to understand the importance of access control and customer service. It does not matter, even if the guest that asks for access to a room, due to a key not working or any other reason, is known to any of the staff, to not ask for credentials. We offer two a la carte menus at both restaurants. One menu being the inclusive hotel menu and the other a menu with many more options at different pricing. The larger a la carte menu is charged on consumption depending on your choices made as the menu items may exceed the value of your breakfast included in your reservation. The option to make a reservation on a room only basis is available, allowing you to choose anything on the menus depending on your budget. I hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back so that you can experience Pearl Valley at it's finest. Kind regards Mynhardt de Jongh General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
704gertjant wrote a review Mar 2023
Opoeteren, Belgium23 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
We stayed here for (unfortunately) 1 night after finishing the cape epic! Very safe, Very nice suite, good breakfast! Also the backs restaurant is a recommending worth , very kind waiter! Very relaxing with the golf course at the back of our suite! For sure we will come back! The staff is also very helpfull and friendly, even the security at the gate is always smiling
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Just sit and relax
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Mynhardt de Jongh, General Manager at Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis
Responded 05 Apr 2023
Dear 704gertjant Well done on completing the Cape Epic! We are delighted to hear that my amazing team looked after you and that your experienced the best of guest service from my team and that of Back's Restaurant. Please be in contact so that we can assist with a longer stay Keep travelling and do so safely Kind regards Mynhardt de Jongh General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Suider Paarl area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,057 - R 3,287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapePaarlSuider Paarl
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PEARL VALLEY HOTEL BY MANTIS - Now R 1 595 (Was R̶ ̶4̶ ̶6̶1̶3̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Suider Paarl, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis
Which popular attractions are close to Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis?
Nearby attractions include Franschhoek Motor Museum (6.7 km), Boschendal (7.3 km), and Afrikaans Language Monument (6.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis?
Conveniently located restaurants include Noop Restaurant, Lust Bistro & Bakery, and Faber.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, Zulu, and Xhosa.
Are there any historical sites close to Pearl Valley Hotel by Mantis?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Boschendal (7.3 km).