We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

ibis Caen Porte d’Angleterre Hotel

Save
Share
Bd du Grand Parc, 14200 Herouville-Saint-Clair France
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$83
View deal
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (44)
Room & Suite (33)
Dining (5)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 21/07/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from ibis Caen Porte d’Angleterre Hotel
Updated 21/07/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 5 hotels in Herouville-Saint-Clair
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located 15 km from the airport, the Ibis Caen Hérouville Savary hotel has 91 rooms with Wifi Internet access, including 3 adapted for disabled persons. You can also book 2 meeting rooms, available within the hotel's grounds. Free parking, a terrace, a bar and a snack service 24/24 are at your disposal. Close to Caen, you are 3 km from the marina and the Vaugeux district, famous for its restaurants. The celebrated Caen memorial is 5 km away.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Bulgarian and 1 more
534Reviews2Q+A15Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 54
  • 210
  • 157
  • 82
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
BassFisher1234 wrote a review Oct 2019
Saint-Mars-sur-la-Futaie, France230 contributions61 helpful votes
Stopped here on way to early brittany ferries crossing. Ate in the resaurant total bill for 2 of us in restaurant was 48 euros so not bad for value. Food of good quality and produced promptly no issues.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Stéphane H, Manager at ibis Caen Porte d’Angleterre Hotel
Responded 06 Nov 2019
Dear, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely,
Read more
Travel13Love wrote a review Oct 2019
Las Vegas, Nevada52 contributions59 helpful votes
We stayed one night at this hotel as part of a tour in a coach. With that said, we had dinner set up ahead of time, as the nearest restaurant is who knows how far. The meal was weak & tasteLess, but that seems to be the norm when you’re traveling in a group. The chicken was dry & tasteless. The other food options were just as bad. No kettle in our room, we don’t know why. The room was endured for one night, but the showered completely soaked the bath floor. We spent half of the morning soaking up the water as they build the showers with a partial wall. The shower was powerful, thus causing the water to splash all over.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Stéphane H, Manager at ibis Caen Porte d’Angleterre Hotel
Responded 06 Nov 2019
Dear. I am sorry that you were disappointed not to eat at the hotel but we have an agreement with Leger Tour because we are anable to serve serve a large group "A la carte" without having choices before but the information is not relayed to the guide in order to eat elsewhere before. Please contact LEGER Tour for further information. Regards
Read more
Suzanne wrote a review Oct 2019
2 contributions
The hotel was OK.. More 2*than 3.. Rooms small but bed comfortable and water hot. However if your part of a tour don't think your going to get fed.. The hotel refused to serve any food or bad food to anyone on the tour.. No reasons given just total refusal even when not busy !!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Stéphane H, Manager at ibis Caen Porte d’Angleterre Hotel
Responded 06 Nov 2019
Dear. I am sorry that you were disappointed not to eat at the hotel but we have an agreement with Leger Tour because we are anable to serve serve a large group "A la carte" without having choices before but the information is not relayed to the guide in order to eat elsewhere before. Please contact LEGER Tour for further information. Regards
Read more
SotonRanger wrote a review Oct 2019
Southampton, United Kingdom37 contributions28 helpful votes
Another holiday another Ibis. We ended up staying here for a couple of nights as part of coach trip on the way back from a Battlefield trip. Upon arrival we were allotted a room but there was a problem with the toilet where the water kept on running even though no one had flushed. Worryingly the reception desk seemed to know of the issue before mentioning it to them. To their credit they allocated us a new room straight way, but if they were aware of issue why were we put in there in the first place? The new room was pleasant enough, basic, but clean and comfortable. It was hot evening and as there was no air conditioning I had to open the window only to be greeted by a loud and constant thud of a bass line. Someone obviously enjoying their night better than me. Breakfast was ok, but I was disappointed that the egg, bacon and sausage mentioned in some other reviews were nowhere to be seen. The biggest issue however was the hotel could not cater for our coach party for dinner. We had to be bussed into Caen city centre some miles away for something to eat. This was made worse by coming back to the hotel to find independent guest eating meals. It was not always easy to get the staffs attention as they appeared to be very busy. When you did get hold of them they were helpful and friendly. Having stayed in Ibis hotels many times before I know what to expect, this hotel I do not find representative of the brand.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Stéphane H, Manager at ibis Caen Porte d’Angleterre Hotel
Responded 06 Nov 2019
Dear. Thank you for your comments that help us to improve our service. Our hotel has never had air conditioning since 40 years and never propose bacon and sausage for breakfast. We mention that nowhere. I am sorry that you were disappointed not to eat at the hotel but we have an agreement with Leger Tour because we are anable to serve serve a large group "A la carte" without having choices before but the information is not relayed to the guide in order to eat elsewhere before. Please contact LEGER Tour for further information. Regards
Read more
DiggoryLondon wrote a review Sep 2019
London301 contributions171 helpful votes
Stayed at this hotel for three nights as part of a Leger coach tour. I paid an extra supplement for a single room as part of a group that totalled some 40 people. During our stay a second coach party arrived, no thought had been given by the hotel as to staggering meal times in truth the hotel staff appeared to be totally overwhelmed in the evenings and at breakfast. We were not permitted an evening meal - not even the offer of a light meal service. We therefore had to arrange for taxis into Caen to dine. The number of rooms booked must have indicated to the hotel the amount of guests present who would seek to utilise their services. There are no other amenities close by. The worst experience was arriving after a long day out at 8pm to be told there was no restaurant service followed the next morning by a completey log-jammed breakfast room with an early coach departure time for the ferry crossing. If anyone with medical requirements requires regular meals this is not the hotel to visit. The hotel was clean, pratical and functional. The staff were very pleasant but appeared to be totally under resourced. I booked three alarm calls at reception and only received one this was probably due to all the other customer demands being made of the late staff shift. The management at either local or senior level need to look at providing sufficient resources to meet customer demand. In summary the customer experience here was not good. I would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Stéphane H, Manager at ibis Caen Porte d’Angleterre Hotel
Responded 11 Oct 2019
Dear. We are very sorry that you were advised by LEGER TOUR that you could not eat here. It's foreseen in our contract because we haven't got the hability to take the group into acount. I see that you were satisfied by the hospitality so we did our job and were are proud for that. LEGER knows the agreement for meals but not advise their clients. You can be sure that this is a problem for us. We have bad comments such as yours but we are not responsible. Regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$77 - US$120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FranceNormandyBasse-NormandieCalvadosHerouville-Saint-Clair
NUMBER OF ROOMS
82
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about ibis Caen Porte d’Angleterre Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to ibis Caen Porte d’Angleterre Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Circuit Historique Guillaume le Conquerant (0.7 km) and Café des Images (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at ibis Caen Porte d’Angleterre Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at ibis Caen Porte d’Angleterre Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at ibis Caen Porte d’Angleterre Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at ibis Caen Porte d’Angleterre Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to ibis Caen Porte d’Angleterre Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include OZen Cafe, Bollywood Restaurant Indien, and Pizzeria Cesano.
Are pets allowed at ibis Caen Porte d’Angleterre Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at ibis Caen Porte d’Angleterre Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Italian, Russian, and Bulgarian.
Are there any historical sites close to ibis Caen Porte d’Angleterre Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Pegasus Memorial (7.0 km), Pegasus Bridge (6.8 km), and Hillman Site (7.8 km).
Is ibis Caen Porte d’Angleterre Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.