Lord Milner Hotel

Lord Milner Hotel

Post Office (now a little shop)
Traveller (569)
Dining (58)
Is that a shadow of the ghost?
Room & Suite (16)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Matjiesfontein
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Lord Milner is a lovely Victorian Hotel, full of history and atmosphere, begging to be explored. Matjiesfontein, the town itself has wonderful gardens to leisurely lose yourself in, interesting museums abundant with all sorts, as well as the typical general store/gift shop, a small chapel, a coffee house full of homemade goodies, an old courthouse, a recently renovated church and The Laird’s Arms Bar. Most evenings, one can enjoy a ride on the old London bus and tour the grounds with our entertainer Johnny. Then experience sundowners in the Laird's Arms. Dinner is served from 7-9pm in our beautiful candlelit dining room. We’ve hosted some beautiful weddings and outrageous birthday parties in our transport museum or the old Courthouse. We are only 3 hours from Cape Town by road or take the train.. "The Train to Matjiesfontein".
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Bar / lounge
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Laundry service
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Ironing service
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
Afrikaans

Location

Logan Street, Matjiesfontein 6901 South Africa
1,101Review5Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 539
  • 400
  • 105
  • 37
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
vita713 wrote a review Sept 2020
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape, South Africa100 contributions95 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is really the epitome of a Grand Old Gentleman from another era. It sits comfortably in dignified fashion, squarely facing the railway station (where South Africa's famous Blue Train makes a stop). The architecture speaks of a bygone age, and the somewhat neglected garden at the back still speaks of grandeur. We had a very fun evening there, with Johnny taking us for a 5-minute bus tour of the village, and afterwards a sing-a-long in the little pub next door. Dinner was good and so was our upstairs bedroom. I'd recommend it for a trip down memory lane.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Werner Smit, General Manager at Lord Milner Hotel
Responded 13 Oct 2020
Thank you very much for your kind feedback on your stay with us. Our gardens we are working hard after the cold winter and lockdown to "shine" again. We look forward welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Werner Smit General Manager The Lord Milner Hotel Matjiesfontein
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SamOLeary wrote a review Oct 2020
Cape Town, South Africa27 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a great place to spend a night. Back in time. From the moment we parked the car we were met with friendly staff who could not do enough for us. The check in was efficient and cheerful and we were made very welcome. The bedroom was large with an enormous covered balcony looking across to the railway line and mountains beyond. Old World yes but with a modern bathroom, excellent shower, fast Wi Fi. Very comfortable bed with clean and crisp linen.
The "fastest tour in Africa" at 6pm with Johnny on an old London red bus was a laugh. It takes 10 minutes to tour the village, including commentary and bugle playing. "Slowly but surely, surely but slowly".
The tour of the hotel was equally interesting, including the story of the hotel ghost and the first SA v England cricket match in SA, just outside the hotel. 1896?
This was followed by a sing along in the bar before dinner....Johnny on piano (and in full voice) impersonating various blues artists. Hard to keep the foot from tapping along. The barman was very pleasant, informative about the area, the economy and living conditions.
Dinner was in the large high ceiling dining room. We had the Karoo lamb chops with vegetables......cooked to perfection, accompanied by a bottle of Boer and Brit red.
Full breakfast in the morning followed by a "hope to see you again soon" goodbye. You will.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Werner Smit, General Manager at Lord Milner Hotel
Responded 13 Dec 2020
Dear Sam, Lovely reading your feedback and sure looks like you had an awesome time with us in Matjies. Next time make sure you also do the self-guided tour of Matjies and we will provide you with the details at reception on the phone app and route. We really looking forward seeing you back! Kind regards, Werner Smit General Manager Matjiesfontein
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GingerB wrote a review Sept 2020
Cape Town Central, South Africa37 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved our one night stop over at The Lord Milner.
We did the Red Bus Tour with Johnny - lovely!
We loved the dinner at the restaurant- top quality!
On Sunday morning after checking out we did the self guided walking tour with the help of the Voice Map app - I wish more people would take advantage of this; we learned so so much!
We visited all the shops and museums in town.
We’ll definitely be back.

The only downside:
The smell of the water; but I underrepresented it’s due to the minerals in the water and nothing the hotel can do about it.
Just use bottled water when brushing your teeth then you’ll be fine.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Werner Smit, General Manager at Lord Milner Hotel
Responded 13 Oct 2020
Dear Bianca, Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback on your stay with us in Matjies. Glad to see that you enjoyed the whole experience and all about Matjies. Our water comes from a borehole and often can produce a bit of an egg-like smell. Totally harmless and called "kruid water" in Afrikaans. We do treat the water with some chlorine to reduce the smell best we can. We look forward seeing you back again! Kind regards, Werner Smit General Manager The Lord Milner Hotel Matjiesfontein
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marc0112 wrote a review Jan 2021
Johannesburg, South Africa14 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
On a trip through the Cape, a spur of the moment decision led us to the Lord Milner Hotel in Matjiesfontein for the night. What a wonderful experience. For anyone with a love of history, Matjiesfontein will fuel the imagination. A beautiful old hotel (immaculately kept), friendly staff, a huge swimming pool and a delicious dinner and breakfast. We did the complimentary 15 minute tour around Matjiesfontein with the tour guide Johnny, whose wild sense of humor kept everyone laughing.
An experience to remember.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Werner Smit, General Manager at Lord Milner Hotel
Responded 20 Jan 2021
Dear Marc, Thank you so much for your kind review and so glad you did stopover for a night with us in Matjies. Always great when guests like yourself had an overall enjoyable experience with us. We hope to see you again in the very near future! Kind regards, Werner Smit General Manager Matjiesfontein
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SouthAfricawithlove wrote a review Feb 2021
South Africa2,128 contributions240 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was the hotel we slept in on our way to our honeymoon 28 years ago and up to today it is still magic to visit the town. It is kept extremely neat and the car museum is worth a visit. The hotel is in a mint condition. Old and very historical with tons of history. They even let us have a look at our honeymoon suite of so many years ago. The bar of the hotel has an awesome old-time flair and Johnny has been with the hotel since before our honeymoon. He makes guests feel so at home and even played well known Afrikaans music on the piano. Another special treat was the warm fresh potato skins they served for us while drinking our whiskey at the hotel bar.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Werner Smit, General Manager at Lord Milner Hotel
Responded 15 Feb 2021
Thank you so much for your kind review on your stay with us after 28 years. So glad you came back and experience a step-back-in-time moment. We hope to see you back soon again. Kind regards, Werner Smit General Manager Matjiesfontein
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mludick wrote a review Jan 2020
Port Elizabeth, South Africa21 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Attended a wedding and stayed 2 nights. Arrived late the Friday evening and they helped us in such a friendly manner. Staff is passionate about their job in the small town and their joy is contagious. Johnny sings beautifully after showing you around the yellow room to spot a ghost... Ingrid at front desk is very helpful. Worth a stop over if you pass by!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MatjiesfonteinGM, General Manager at Lord Milner Hotel
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Thank you so much for your kind feedback and what an incredible wedding it was. Johnny was up his old way of entertaining our guests, so wonderful you got to meet him as well. Make sure you stop by again in the near future. Kind regards, Werner Smit General Manager The Lord Milner Hotel Matjiesfontein
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David K wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The warm water (in the motel) has such an awful smell it is impossible to shower in it.. Even if you let it run for a few minutes as they suggest.

In summer you could be ok with just using cold water, who knows?
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MatjiesfonteinGM, General Manager at Lord Milner Hotel
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Hi David, Thank you for sharing your shower experience with us. Because of the ongoing drought in the Karoo we often face the challenge of having more sediment in our ground water than normal and has been a struggle ever since the drought started. We are installing a new filter system in a few weeks' time to resolve this problem we find every now and then. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay and all other aspects of your visit to Matjies. Kind regards, Werner Smit General Manager The Lord Milner Hotel Matjiesfontein
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emilyknysna wrote a review Dec 2020
Ponte de Lima, Portugal57 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been coming to the Lord Milner for years. Always love the historical feel and the large rooms with huge balconies!
Staff also very helpful, and drinks at the bar very reasonable. We particularly enjoyed the evening singsong.
We were so looking forward to a nice dinner, but were sadly let down!
Soup was fine, but my main course of breaded hake was inedible. It reminded me of boarding school food which became a ghastly mush on my plate. Had to leave it.
My husbands lamb chops were tough and unappetising. The chips (40 rands extra) were covered in Aromat and therefore inedible. For a unique venue and at the prices charged the food is very poor.
Breakfast was fine however.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Werner Smit, General Manager at Lord Milner Hotel
Responded 13 Dec 2020
Thank you for your feedback to us and brining out some of the disappointments you had. We are excited to have 2 new highly experienced and qualified chefs with us who recently joined us and their mission is to ensure we keep our consistency in our food offering and ensuring we have guests enjoying great Karoo dining experiences. We look forward seeing you back for an improved dining experience! Kind regards, Werner Smit General Manager Matjiesfontein
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mblerk877399 wrote a review Oct 2020
Cape Town Central, South Africa1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was a great pleasure to enjoy the spaciousness of the rooms and to be surrounded by beautiful furniture and furnishings. Everything worked as it was supposed to do and one appreciated the high standard of management and maintenance. The quality of the food was very good and the service was excellent, friendly, kind and efficient. We look forward to our next visit.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Werner Smit, General Manager at Lord Milner Hotel
Responded 13 Oct 2020
Thank you very much for your kind feedback and wonderful to read that you had such a pleasant stay with us. We sure look forward to your next stay in the old Karoo town. Kind regards, Werner Smit General Manager The Lord Milner Hotel Matjiesfontein
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
keithreid2017 wrote a review Sept 2023
Cape Town, South Africa3 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I have often stayed over in the riverside room as i have very expensive photographic equipment that is used to photographic lodges. I originaly phoned to book in mid july to cofirm my booking - no reply. Phoned again and the same thing. Booked onlineonline and and emailed them on the 26 July for 12 Sept for a Riverside room as I wanted to be close to my vrhicle.When phoned for confirmayion they could not find it. Orininaly they did. Was sent confirmation of booking for Riverside room and paid. when I arrived they said they upgraded me to a room far from my vehicle. I would not have stayed over if I could not have the accommodation I requested. stayed at hundreds of accommodations and this ranks as one of the poorest booking services
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Werner Smit, General Manager at Lord Milner Hotel
Responded 20 Sept 2023
Dear Keithreid 2017, Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate you pointing out the experience you had with our bookings department. Our reservations team usually on top of things, so we see this as an isolated matter, which we have investigated with our new reservations team to insure it does not happen again. We have 24-hour security and remain incident free for more than 30 years on all vehicles parked on our premises. We do apologize if your complimentary room upgrade was not satisfying enough to make up for the miscommunication in making your booking at the time, but we will continue to improve where we can. Kind regards, Werner Smit General Manager Matjiesfontein Village
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard G asked a question Jun 2016
Hartford, UK40 contributions18 helpful votes
Is your restaurant open on Monday 5th June? If so what are the opening hours.
waltjan2015 asked a question Mar 2016
Hout Bay, South Africa1 contribution6 helpful votes
Hello, is there internet access in the hotel? Free Wifi for example?
Answer from MatjiesfonteinGM
South Africa3 contributions
Dear Guest Thank you for your question. We do have free WiFi and this is available on our terrace in front of the hotel and in our small lounge at our reception area. We have a couple of rooms in the main hotel that falls in range (some balcony rooms), however we do not have WIFI available in any of our other rooms, including cottages and motel rooms. I do hope this answers your question. If you need any additional information, feel free to let us know. Kind Regards Johan
waltjan2015 asked a question Mar 2016
Hout Bay, South Africa1 contribution6 helpful votes
Is there internet access? free Wifi?
Answer from MatjiesfonteinGM
South Africa3 contributions
Dear Guest Thank you for your question. We do have free WiFi and this is available on our terrace in front of the hotel and in our small lounge at our reception area. We have a couple of rooms in the main hotel that falls in range (some balcony rooms), however we do not have WIFI available in any of our other rooms, including cottages and motel rooms. I do hope this answers your question. If you need any additional information, feel free to let us know. Kind Regards Johan
rosemary038 asked a question Feb 2016
Cape town
Coffee shop
rosemary038 asked a question Feb 2016
Cape town
Coffee shop
Rapide1949 wrote a tip Jan 2024
Norwich, United Kingdom25 contributions21 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Only rooms in main hotel building have a/c."
Read full review
hanspeter schrei wrote a tip Nov 2023
Kerzers, Switzerland12 contributions18 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make a few pictures from outside, start your car and go!"
Read full review
Annemarie wrote a tip Oct 2023
South Africa102 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be sure to do the 6 pm bus tour of the village. It’s an experience in itself!"
Read full review
Carmelita wrote a tip Jun 2022
Cape Town, South Africa30 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"First Floor Room with your own balcony facing out onto the Main Street of Matjiesfontein."
Read full review
AshleighElizabeth17 wrote a tip Feb 2022
Pretoria, South Africa150 contributions34 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to get the historic rooms in the main hotel. Do the tour at 18:00 with Johnny. Don’t forget about the pool. Try the lamb!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Matjiesfontein area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,890 - R 1,963 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeMatjiesfontein
NUMBER OF ROOMS
54
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LORD MILNER HOTEL - Reviews & Price Comparison (Matjiesfontein, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Lord Milner Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at Lord Milner Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Lord Milner Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Lord Milner Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lord Milner Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Lord Milner Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Matjiesfontein.
Does Lord Milner Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.