We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
JR87 Boekenhoutkloof, Rust de Winter Road D48 Dinokeng Game Reserve, Hammanskraal 0400 South Africa
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Priceline
FindHotel
Agoda.com
Etrip
View all 9 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (275)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (19)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Updated 20/06/23 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 20/06/23 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 29 Specialty lodging in Hammanskraal
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
This 63 bed, 4 star rated, non-self catering Lodge is situated in the north-western section of the 18,500 ha free roaming big 5 Dinokeng Game Reserve and is accessible by tarred main road, 40 minutes from Tshwane/Pretoria and 1.5 hr from Johannesburg/O.R.Tambo Airport in the province of Gauteng, South Africa. The lodge boasts 25 tastefully furnished air-conditioned thatched chalets/rooms including a honeymoon suite, with private bathrooms comprising of bath and/or shower, room safes, coffee/tea stations, DSTV TV programmes and internet access. A state-of-the art conference centre, boardrooms, sparkling swimming pool, Tshukudu outdoor bar, a romantic chapel for weddings and Kingfisher a la carte Restaurant situated next to the small lake in main lodge overlooking the plains of the Game Reserve completes the offerings at the main camp. Kingfisher is well-known for its superb cuisine and is open to inhouse and day visitors 7 days a week. Mongena specializes in quality guided game drives, bushwalks and sunset cruises for inhouse guests as well as day visitors longing for an African safari experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Public wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Family
Languages Spoken
Afrikaans
284Reviews6Q+A44Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 168
  • 85
  • 14
  • 7
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
greenpanther30 wrote a review Jul 2022
Camberley, United Kingdom1132 contributions249 helpful votes
+1
I didn't stay the night, but was a day visitor. It was fabulous. We had Derrick running our tours. We did a walking tour and also a game drive. Both run by Derrick who was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and kept us feeling safe at all times. We managed to see loads on the game drives. The only major thing missing were elephants. However we saw lions mating which was very special. We ate in the restaurant which had a huge variety of options and all at reasonable prices. The lodge had resident Zebra, Nyalas and monkeys. They have a feeding time and the staff let me feed them. It's not like feeding the ducks at home! I would highly recommend this place for its ease of access to Johannesburg and the wonderful staff here. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Attempt to get an early or late game drive. Chill in the middle of the day!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Tamsyn H wrote a review Feb 2022
White River, South Africa1 contribution
So so disappointed. Having booked the River Cruise months ago for a special pre-wedding celebration, it was unfortunately cancelled due to the rain. This is of course understandable but I was super disappointed that Mary (to whom I spoke) could not suggest any alternative activities and made no effort help whatsoever. When, eventually, I suggested that we use the funds already paid at the restaurant, Mongena agreed but wanted to charge an additional R1000 transfer to collect from a neighbouring lodge. When cancelling an activity like this due to the weather, the Mongena team should have done everything possible to accommodate our group some other way, knowing that it was for a special event. Instead, Mary was rude and unsympathetic to what had happened. I'm gutted about by how poorly this was handled.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marina Toerien , Marketing at Mongena Game Lodge
Responded 15 Feb 2022
Dear Neighbouring lodge guest It is understandable that you were dissappointed not being able to execute the cruise that you were looking forward to for such a long time. Fact is that Dinokeng Game Reserve was in a state of emergency on this specific weekend with road closures, people getting evacuated from low lying grounds due to serious instant flooding from seasonal rain. We had to evacuate 2 camps in a matter of few hours with all our staff involved in these rescue and recovery actions. All activities were cancelled as a result of this unforeseen weather situation, thus us not being able to offer you any other alternatives. We believe Mary handled the situation professionally to the best of her ability under the pressure she was in as she had numerous emergency calls to deal with. I do hope, that in hindsight, you have a better understanding of the seriousness of the situation we all had to deal with at the time.
Read more
Isobel wrote a review Jan 2022
Savannah, Georgia4 contributions2 helpful votes
I can’t say enough about our time at Mongena. From the minute we arrived and our original room had a leak and we were given a better room. The game drives were excellent with our game range Macs, who was very dedicated to making sure we saw everything we could and went out of his way to explain how the birds reacted to how the game behaved. His knowledge for someone so young was remarkable and we loved his enthusiasm. The staff at the lodge always very polite, the food very good, chalets perfect and having zebras, nyalas and springboks roaming the grounds so cool. I live in the USA so this was perfect for me and why I love Africa having grown up in Zimbabwe. I would highly recommend Mongena for its proximity to Pretoria (48 minutes from my sister’s house), reasonable cost and the peaceful atmosphere, well-run facility and the fact that we saw four out of the big five. That was a bonus for me!! Thank you Macs and everyone else at Mongena.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marina Toerien , Marketing at Mongena Game Lodge
Responded 15 Feb 2022
Dear USA visitor Thank you for chosing Mongena as your big 5 safari destination 48 mins from Pretoria. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the wildlife, our staff's professionalism and our hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Warm regards
Read more
Rosie D wrote a review Dec 2021
Pretoria, South Africa19 contributions10 helpful votes
Their best asset are definitively their team of rangers, super professional and friendly. Some more knowledgeable than others, but all of them good. We understand it is not their fault if animals do not show up, especially if someone hires a private viewing for noon, in the midst of the day's heat, when most animals are taking shelter from it. The small size of the lodge is also a plus for us, but an individual guest might feel left behind if one happens to be there at the same time as a group. We spent 2 nights, from Dec 28 to 30, with the lodge fully booked, and are looking forward to returning, hopefully during less busy times. We had booked room 19, but we were given room 16 instead. Not a big deal, except for the fact that room 16 faces the parking area. The rooms are not luxurious, but comfortable. It would be great if conditioner could be added to the trio of shampoo/body wash/lotion. Similarly, the system of getting small pieces of paper with codes to use the wi-fi, which is only available in and around the lobby area, is a little painful and outdated. I do not believe that just opening the wi-fi up to guests would be a problem, but I might be wrong. An ice-making machine near the lobby or the breakfast restaurant area would also be an asset. Similarly, updating and upgrading outside lighting with solar lamps could give the lodge a cozier feeling and a reputation for caring about the environment. With so much sun, the potential for everything solar is so big that it is a pity to see it is not utilized. The breakfast buffet was excellent, particularly the pastries and fresh fruit. Lunch and dinner at the Kingfisher were hit and miss. One day, the creme brulee tasted like milk custard, but the next day the hazelnut mousse was superb. Same with other dishes: meats were generally good, but the risotto not so much. As mentioned before, game rides were outstanding. We saw cheeta, buffalo, elephants, rhino, besides a wide array of antelopes from nyala and springbok in the lodge area, to impala, kudu, ehlan, waterbok and wildebeast around the reserve. The boat ride, I regret to say, was underwhelming. Our guide was not as experienced as our game ranger, and we learned little about the dam and its inhabitants. A more experienced guide might have made all the difference in this case. The plate of snacks provided during the boat ride was also sort of small and inefficient, as passengers had to pass it around (even worse given covid). Why not just carry the same individual bags of chips and/or peanuts used for the game rides? In general, we had a most enjoyable three days to close the year, for which we thank all Mongena staff and management, but we believe a few easy changes could make a stay at Mongena even more outstanding.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marina Toerien , Marketing at Mongena Game Lodge
Responded 05 Jan 2022
Dear valued guest Thank you for taking the time and effort to review your experience with us! We have taken note of all the issues mentioned and will follow up on the ideas and suggestions you proposed to better your stay next time! Thank you for your support! Warm regards
Read more
JPS wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
No or very little maintenance are done, the rooms are dirty and old, the food preparation take so long and then you receive it cold in any event, 3rd time visiting but not impressed, deteriorating drastically, the only highlight was the game drives, great game rangers with superb knowledge in their field.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Not worth the money spent, 4 star graded, but no star service.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marina Toerien , Marketing at Mongena Game Lodge
Responded 05 Jan 2022
Dear guest Sorry to hear that we could not meet your expectations in terms of facilities and speediness of food service. We are looking into the matter to improve our offerings to you. Our refurbishing programme has been interrupted due to the implications of Covid and the resulting challenges it has on our business.
Read more
Bontle22 wrote a review Oct 2021
Pretoria, South Africa8 contributions2 helpful votes
We bought our mother for an appreciation lunch, the place was so beautiful, clean and soothing. We appreciate the service we have received from the waiter Joseph, very pleasant man, not forgetting the food was sooo delicious, wow!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marina Toerien , Marketing at Mongena Game Lodge
Responded 13 Oct 2021
Dear lunch guest! Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback of your great experience for your mothers special lunch celebration. We do have indeed very special staff and your feedback is always appreciated and motivating for us! Hope to see you back soon! Regards Marina Toerien
Read more
Rika B wrote a review Aug 2021
Pretoria, South Africa159 contributions18 helpful votes
We stayed in the barn house @ Mongena and as expected everything was top class. Max the ranger was friendly and eager to assist. The barn house was great for a quiet weekend in the bush with no one around but the animals. It’s was great. The house was fully equipped and very spacious. We enjoyed the view of the animals from our living room and bedroom. We will definitely return in the neer future. Mongena never disappoints . Well done to all the staff!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: As the barn house is on its own in the bush - not enclosed and open for wild animals I would not...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marina Toerien , Marketing at Mongena Game Lodge
Responded 13 Oct 2021
Dear Self-catering guest! We are thrilled to learn that you appreciated the quietness and vastness of the location of this unfenced, self-catering house 6km from main lodge in the unspoilt African bush! It is indeed a hidden gem for all nature loving enthusiasts! We are proud of our staff! Looking forward to welcoming you back soon! Regards Marina Toerien
Read more
Annemarie345 wrote a review Aug 2021
Pretoria, South Africa81 contributions21 helpful votes
+1
What a wonderful game lodge very near Pretoria. The warm and friendly staff impressed us the most. Njabulo and Mary at the front desk welcomed us. Rooms are perfect , comfy beds and everything we needed. We had number 21 with a view of the bush and nice and private. Frequent visitors were Baby Zebra and Mom , a springbok team , Nyalas and lots of birds. The young enthusiastic guides Jesse , Matt , Max , Kyle, Sheldon and Chad took us out on game drives , bush walks and boat cruises. We loved the knowledge and skill these guys have. The sightings of cheetahs , lions and buffaloes were very special. We especially loved a Verreaux eagle own and its fledgling. We are keen birders and photographers and the guides soon picked on that and focused on it. Lovely lodge and we will be back soon!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Take your own fresh water if you want to make coffee/tea in your room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marina Toerien , Marketing at Mongena Game Lodge
Responded 13 Oct 2021
Dear guest Thank you for chosing Mongena a stone's throw from Pretoria. We are delighted that you enjoyed the wildlife experience and hope to see you back soon. Warm regards Marina Toerien
Read more
vanes430 wrote a review Jun 2021
Pretoria, South Africa1 contribution
Staff are very friendly and welcoming. The lodge restaurant overlooking a small dam is beautiful. Watching the day animals make their way through the lodge to graze daily makes it a great place to relax.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marina Toerien , Marketing at Mongena Game Lodge
Responded 29 Jun 2021
Dear Kingfisher guest Thank you for your feedback about your recent experience at our Kingfisher Restaurant. We are thrilled to learn that you were able to relax whilst watching the animals grazing and enjoying our good food and service with a view over the small dam. Warm regards
Read more
Tsakani wrote a review Jun 2021
6 contributions
+1
Mongena’s King Fischer Restaurant Redeemed itself with exceptional service and great food. We had our dinner at the restaurant and everything from their chicken livers starters to the beef fillet we had was cooked to perfection. Loved it
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: The Lodge should look into the entrance fee that visitors pay just to enter the main gate of the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marina Toerien , Marketing at Mongena Game Lodge
Responded 08 Jun 2021
Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your feelings with us after your recent dinner experience at Kingfisher Restaurant. The items that you enjoyed are part of our best selling menu items and we are looking forward to another visit for you to sample the rest! Your support is much appreciated! Warm regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$249 - US$433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengHammanskraal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mongena Game Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Mongena Game Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Dinokeng Game Reserve (7.6 km) and Carousel Casino & Entertainment World (7.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mongena Game Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Mongena Game Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Mongena Game Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mongena Game Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Mongena Game Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Mongena Game Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Mongena Game Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Is Mongena Game Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.