We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
286 Bridge Road, Lower Swanwick, Southampton SO31 7EB England
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Trip.com
US$72
View deal
Hotels.com
Priceline
FindHotelUS$74
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (78)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (14)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Navigator Inn sits in a prime position opposite Swanwick Marina on the scenic River Hamble just outside Southampton.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Patio
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Desk
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Polish, Thai
408Reviews2Q+A80Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 140
  • 110
  • 65
  • 49
  • 44
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mandy wrote a review 18 Jun
Staffordshire, United Kingdom33 contributions3 helpful votes
A convenient, lovely small hotel and steakhouse that welcomes dogs, in its dog friendly accommodation. Close to the marina, it is an ideal place to explore the Hamble. Breakfast is good with a large selection of dishes. If you do take a dog, you have to eat outside. However, there are tables that are undercover. Some nice little touches include a Dyson air cooler in your room, a small table and chairs outside the room, plus a wireless phone charger.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: If parking your car in the carpark, don’t forget to register your car at the bar
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Katherine C wrote a review 01 Jun
6 contributions
We visited the restaurant during our stay last night. The service was outstanding, our waitress Natalie was attentive and personable. The food was fabulous value for money and absolutely was delicious. Our steaks were cooked perfectly.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Paula H wrote a review May 2022
Brixworth, United Kingdom18 contributions27 helpful votes
I have just recently returned from a few days stay at the above hotel, and I just wanted to say that the service and care I received from Simon, Deputy Manager was exemplary. I took my partner & daughter for a short break to visit family and Simon and the staff did not disappoint me. Every staff member with whom we came in contact was attentive and kind. There were a few problems when we arrived and were checked in by the Manager, but by the next morning Simon rectified all this and restored my faith in the hotel. We have stayed here many times and will definitely be returning. We had a wonderful time and I have already recommended this hotel to all of my colleagues, friends and family. Thank you again for such outstanding service.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: The road outside this hotel can be busy in peak hours but the marina opposite is a lovely place...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Shobna Singh, General Manager at Harper's Steakhouse
Responded 4 weeks ago
Paulah574, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations! We're looking forward to your next visit with us!
Read more
Bryan G wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Hadn’t eaten at Harpers before and decided to try it for our anniversary. Entering the car reg on their machine for parking wasn’t the easiest but could just be my sausage fingers!! Excellent service throughout by Beth, nice atmosphere but best of all was the delicious food. Fillet steak cooked to perfection and an amazing whole rack of ribs (which was too much for my wife). Thanks to Harpers for an anniversary meal to remember. Bryan & Denise
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob Goodier, Owner at Harper's Steakhouse
Responded 16 May 2022
Dear Guest Thank you for score 5/5. We hope to seeing you again. Kind regards Harper's Team
Read more
Erniee1996 wrote a review May 2022
Portsmouth, United Kingdom66 contributions32 helpful votes
The lady that served us couldn't be more helpful. A family of 6 with a toddler whom had egg and milk allergies. This restaurant couldn't have been more helpful with trying to accommodate these and keep him safe. It's hard to get this kind of service! We will be returning. The food was amazing and the care was exceptional. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Shobna Singh, General Manager at Harper's Steakhouse
Responded 13 May 2022
Erniee1996, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations! We hope to see you soon!
Read more
Gary M wrote a review May 2022
Southampton, United Kingdom3 contributions
Visited Harper's to night 6/4/2022 had a lovely meal excellent service , food was great , no complaints we were all very happy. Our waitress Abbie was very efficient and very welcoming nothing was too much trouble . Lovely environment well positioned table for our party . Can highly recommend . Thank you Gary Mayley
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob Goodier, Owner at Harper's Steakhouse
Responded 09 May 2022
Gary M, we're so glad that we were able to go above and beyond your expectations! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!
Read more
Dom Jones wrote a review Apr 2022
Southampton, United Kingdom60 contributions16 helpful votes
Booked online and put in comments that we wanted to sit on the terrace as we had a dog. Arrived and headed in to let them know we were here and were told they didn’t serve food outside and didn’t allow dogs inside…no one had told us this despite writing it on the booking form and reviews on here say dogs are allowed outside. When questioned we were told it gets too busy to serve outside and too cold! We booked for 1730 as had a young child and the restaurant was empty at the time. We came with blankets ready to sit outside and they have terrace heaters but the person checking us in really didn’t seem to care and wasn’t willing to find a compromise. So this left 6 people, 1 toddler and a dog to find somewhere to eat on a Sunday evening with no booking. Not an easy task. So disappointed as wanted to try here since it opened as a steak house.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob Goodier, Owner at Harper's Steakhouse
Responded 05 May 2022
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your meal at Harper's. I am sorry to hear that you didn't have good experience. Our terrace is open for our guests to dine outside if they wish. If you would like to contact on us directly 01489 532 546 we could discuss the issue further. Kindest Regards Harper's Team
Read more
Noah wrote a review Apr 2022
United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
Our family has been to both the navigator and the newly branded Harpers, ive got to say its dropped off massively. What a jester show it has become, old mannagent out and new in. The service was unbelievably slow the two times we have visited since their rebranding. Even after ~ an hour wait our food was mediocre at the price you pay. Mannagent of this restaurant/ steakhouse / hotel, they can even decide what they want to be, has made many poor decisions that turned a decent pub / casual restaurant its a flaming pile of “dont bother”. The young staff are genuinely nice and (i guess) enjoy what they are doing, but as it says in the title you get better service + better food a short walk up the hill from this plqce at Miller & Carter.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Shobna Singh, General Manager at Harper's Steakhouse
Responded 20 Apr 2022
Dear Guest Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with the new changes in our restaurant. We are no longer the Navigator as we have changed into Steakhouse which is our new brand. We will however pass your comments to our management at the support centre as a feedback about the changes. Kind Regards Harper's Team
Read more
Andy G wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
We met up with work colleagues as one was leaving, for a pint today at 5pm. I checked online first to see if dogs were allowed and it said "we are dog friendly". When entering I was told to take my dog out as dogs weren't allowed. I told the lady serving that I did check first, but didn't believe me. She then asked to see on my phone so I showed her. After checking twice, she still said that they are not allowed. Embarrassingly I removed the dog from the premises.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Shobna Singh, General Manager at Harper's Steakhouse
Responded 11 Apr 2022
Hello Andy Unfortunately as i said to you upon arrival what you showed me was an old TripAdvisor review and photo of a dog when it was the navigator, i apologies you had misleading information but this was old information. we are now a premium restaurant, not a pub and do not allow dogs inside, many of your colleagues also knew we were not dog friendly so apologies. regards harpers team
Read more
alandean10 wrote a review Apr 2022
Tamworth, United Kingdom17 contributions2 helpful votes
First visit and received good hot meal with excellent service by Natalie, will be visiting again soon. Would highly recommend this restaurant, the evening menu appears very tempting and plan to book soon.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Rob Goodier, Owner at Harper's Steakhouse
Responded 08 Apr 2022
Dear Alan Thank you for your score 4/5 We hope to seeing you back for dinner! Kind Regards Harper's Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$55 - US$112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the spinnaker hotel swanwick
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Spinnaker
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireSouthamptonLower Swanwick
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Harper's Steakhouse
Which popular attractions are close to Harper's Steakhouse?
Nearby attractions include The Brickworks Museum (0.7 km), Swanwick Lakes (1.1 km), and The Navigator (0.00 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Harper's Steakhouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Harper's Steakhouse?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at Harper's Steakhouse?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Harper's Steakhouse?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Harper's Steakhouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include Alexanda's Restaurant & Bespoke Deli, Harper's Steakhouse (The Navigator), and Bistro 8.
Is Harper's Steakhouse located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Lower Swanwick.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Harper's Steakhouse?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Thai, and Polish.
Are there any historical sites close to Harper's Steakhouse?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tudor House and Garden (7.6 km), Bargate (7.6 km), and Holy Rood Church (7.5 km).
Does Harper's Steakhouse have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.