Six Senses Laamu
Walkway to Beach Villas
Traveller (8688)
Room & Suite (1058)
Six Senses Laamu
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#1 of 1 resort in Olhuveli Island
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Dolphins spin all along the shores of Six Senses Laamu, located in the pristine Laamu Atoll. From Male’ Airport, it is just a sixty five minute direct Seaplane flight along the beautiful Maldivian coastline. Offering 94 villas, both overwater and on the beach, and an abundance of dining options, water sports, spa and other great activities. Service is second to none with your butler overseeing every need from arrival to departure.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Children's playground
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Bicycles available
Canoeing
Diving
Snorkelling
Windsurfing
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Complimentary toiletries
Bathrobes
Additional bathroom
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Arabic and 8 more

Location

15090
4,252Reviews214Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 4,043
  • 156
  • 44
  • 9
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
David M wrote a review Jan 2020
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is an incredible hotel, with incredibly helpful and polite staff. The resort is impeccably kept and there are plenty of amazing activities (which of course come at a very high cost - but that’s the Maldives). The food is excellent as well. Everything about this hotel is top notch and we will be returning.

We have rates this 5 stars as we really did have such an amazing time. However, a few bits of feedback which are more aimed to the management of six senses (rather than the incredible staff) - charging over 6 dollars for drinking water is extortionate. Everyone staying here is paying a lot of money to be there already and this is a step too far, drinking water should be free. This isn’t branded Fiji or Evian water which costs a lot of money to import, it’s distilled water that’s put in reusable glass bottles. This is great for the environment and a very good thing to do.... but guests should not be charged ridiculous prices to drink water.

One night at leaf we opted to go for the wine “experience” where you get a glass of wine with each course of food. Half way through we realised that the wine you are getting is actually just the house wine by the glass options on the menu but just charged at a higher price than it would have been by simply getting the same wine by the glass off the menu. We raised this and the bill was changed to the amount it would have been by ordering by the glass rather than the “experience” cost. This is really, really bad and just should happen. It’s ripping customers off and we were just lucky we actually checked.

The other negative comment I have is the special event dinners on the beach are very, very expensive as an add on when you are half board and the food at the restaurants is actually much better and better value.

All in all an amazing trip, but a few management / corporate gripes. Don’t be put off by these comments as it is an amazing experience and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Hopefully these comments (particularly the wine situation, as this is just not on at all) are taken on board and some changes are made.

David and Amy.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GM_Six_Senses_Laamu, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu
Responded 30 Jan 2020
Dear davidmI2893DV, Greetings from beautiful Six Senses Laamu! Thank you for such a glowing review you have just shared with us and all the TripAdvisor readers. Our greatest desire is to make our guests experience a memorable one and truly leave a mark in their hearts. It is a great joy to hear that you had an unforgettable honeymoon celebration and a perfect getaway in our little paradise. The team has taken your comments re wine experience and special dinners on board and shall be reviewing their focus on these important areas. Thank you for pointing this out so we may improve upon it. Also, I would like to share with you few information about our drinking water. Six Senses has created our own Six Senses Drinking Water. Our company believes this water reduce our own environmental impact through minimizing bottled water waste created through packaging and transportation and also 50 percent of the water sales go directly to projects that bring clean, healthy and drinkable water to our local communities. Our Six Senses Drinking Water is offered with our compliments within your villa. Please know that very much value your comments. Again, thank you so much for your time and feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back for more surreal experiences! Best regards, Marteyne
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jasmine wrote a review Oct 2020
Columbus, Ohio1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at Six Senses Laamu was absolutely incredible. Starting at our arrival to the Male airport, a gentleman from Six Senses was there to welcome us. They kindly seated us in a lounge where we waited for our plane ride to Kahdhoo Island airport followed by a speed boat ride to the Six Senses Resort located on Ohuveli Island in the Laamu Atoll.

When we arrived to the island, the GM and the GEMs (guest experience managers) were there to greet us. Our GEM was Aslah, he was very nice and attentive. He kept us well-informed of all the activities happening on the island and made us reservations for anything we wanted to do. All the other staff we met at the resort were amazing as well! Everybody was extremely kind, friendly and fun to chat with. Every single person went above and beyond in ensuring our stay was nothing less than perfect.

The attention to detail by every staff member was also superb. The main form of transportation around the island is by bike and all rooms come with 2 bikes. With each bike comes a personalized wooden plate with your initials on it. I found this to be a cute gesture and just one example of the attention to detail at Six Senses Laamu. I have a gluten allergy and the chefs were extremely accommodating and remembered my allergy since day 1. Whenever I ordered food, I didn’t even have to mention that I was gluten free before the waiter would repeat it back to me and explain it would be made gluten free and brought me my own plate of bread to the table. They reassured me each of my meals were free of gluten upon delivery and were always very kind about it.

There is a surplus of activities offered on the island. We did the wine cellar dinner with Dinesh, the sommelier on the island, and it was one of our favorite nights. The food and drinks were exceptional but it was Dinesh’s company that truly made our night. He is extremely knowledgeable and become a good friend of ours throughout the trip. We also did the Maldivian cooking class with Chef Mode for lunch one afternoon and had the same wonderful experience. After the class, Chef Mode provided us with a copy of all the recipes so we can recreate them back home. Lastly, we did the “back of the house” sustainability tour as well. Our tour guide was fantastic and the sustainability measures taken by the staff at Six Senses Laamu are awesome. The island aims to be plastic free by 2022, there are herb, micro herb and vegetable gardens on the island that are used in the meals made everyday and they are even executing different underwater conservation initiatives.

I could truly go on and on about how amazing our stay was. If you’re considering booking a trip to Six Senses Laamu, I couldn’t recommend it more!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marteyne van Well, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu
Responded 25 Oct 2020
Dear Jhwhite720, Thank you very much for your amazing review and the team and I hope this note finds you keeping well and having arrived safe and sound back home. We appreciate that the ongoing pandemic continues to result in travel being different and we are so thankful and thrilled that you choose to entrust us with your holiday. It means the world to us to know that you rate the experience 10 out of 10 and highly recommend the resort to everyone. No Six Senses Laamu experience would be complete without the care and attention of your dedicated GEM and Aslah is indeed an absolute superstar who is always there to offer guidance, assist with reservations, and be your jack of all trades whenever needed. It is wonderful to see him recognized by so many of our guests and I will be sure to pass on your comments to him. As I often share, I am blessed to have the best team in Maldives and I am so proud of our team of passionate, caring and committed hosts. They are driven by an extraordinary passion and wish to ensure you have a most out of the ordinary experience. The culinary portion of any stay is paramount to its success and I sincerely thank you for recognizing our Culinary and F&B Service teams who works tirelessly to create unique and personalizd experiences for each and every guest and do so with care and attention to preferences and dietary requirements. The team is thrilled with your compliment and they will use this as inspiration to continue their hard work and efforts. We are proud of our sustainability initiates and love shared our Earth Lab, heart of house areas, community outreach iniatives and marine conservation efforts with our guests and I am delighted you were able to join the tour available daily to all our guests. Jhwhite720, thank you again for having taken the time to share your wonderful review. The team and I are tremendously grateful and we sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our little island paradise next year. Be it here or at one of our wonderful sister properties around the globe, please do not hesitate to reach out if ever we can assist in any way. Sending you our sunny regards and we hope you will continue to stay well. Marteyne
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marta y Pablo wrote a review Jan 2021
Madrid, Spain4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 6 days of our express honeymoon in Six Senses Laamu, and our experience was just amazing! Although Six Senses can seem to be a bit far apart, having to take a domestic flight the place is just incredible, away from everything, and it is definitely worth it!

Transfer: The reservations team (an in particular Shaania Ahmed to whom we are super thankful for having organised everything for us in record time!) took care of booking the local flight and arranged all the transfers. Everything was super easy and smooth we had a member of the hotel crew welcome us in Male Int Airport, take us to the local flights terminal and arranged for us to stay in the VIP room. We highly recommend booking directly with the hotel.

Room: We stayed in on of the water villas in Jetty A with views to the sunset. Everything was impeccable and we loved the fact that we could have breakfast delivered to our villa every day. We scheduled the delivery and everyday after our morning dive/snorkel/surf session we would find our full breakfast set on our private deck over water. We would also like to say a special thank you to Daniel, our GEM, who made our experience very memorable arranging all our dinners and making the best recommendations. The Lobster dinner on the beach has been one of the best meals ever and we still remember the lobster bisquet, please share the recipe if you remember Dani!

Restaurants: We were on half board and dined at the Chill Bar, Leaf and Zen. The set menus were very good and varied, although sometimes too much...!

Activities: We are very active people and although the Maldives are known for being a great place to just relax and do nothing while enjoying the views and beautiful reefs, we could not just sit around! So we took our Openwater PADI course which we think its the best decision we have ever made and enjoyed some amazing surfing sessions, apart from snorkelling around our water villa, taking some paddle surfs and kayaking.. We highly recommend taking the PADI if you have the chance in such a place and having such great professionals as diving instructors as Daniele and Steven.
As for the surfing, we took some really amazing waves, although it was not the best season, at the point break created in front of Jetty C. Umar, Justin and Said were great teachers and buddies. We rent Firewire 5'10 and 6'8 boards which were perfect for those waves. It is also recommended to use socks because of the reef.

We will definitely come back to Six Senses Laamu if we come back to the Maldives and will always rely on Six Senses for any of our destinations!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marteyne van Well, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu
Responded 25 Jan 2021
Dear Marta y Pablo, Greetings from the sunny shores of Six Senses Laamu! Thank you very much for your detailed feedback. We truly appreciate your time and effort in sharing your thoughts and the very positive comment regarding your experience at our resort. We always strive to give our best with all our guests in hopes of not only meeting but also exceeding guests’ expectations. We aim to ensure that our service standards, food offerings and resort experiences will provide the most memorable and out of ordinary experiences for our guests. Know that your review serves as a great encouragement for the entire team and I thank you for it. Your excellent and very detailed review of your honeymoon celebration at our little paradise will definitely give our readers a very clear insight of what our resort has to offer and we sincerely thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful experience to the whole world. Again, on behalf of the entire team – a very sincere thank you! We hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you back to Maldives. Sincerely, May Lontoc Personal Assistant to General Manager For Marteyne van Well
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Letstakeaholiday wrote a review Feb 2021
2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here in April 2019 with our then 9 month old daughter and it was our first trip to the Maldives. It was easily the best holiday we have ever had (and will likely ever have!) I'm not sure anyone could visit this place and not feel the same. The island is beautiful and the perfect size for getting around easily without feeling too small, and lots of vegetation which many resorts seem to lack. It is a true 5 star experience from the food, to the service, and the standard of the rooms (we stayed in a laamu water villa). We were really pleased with the facilities they offered for an infant (bottle steriliser, high chair in room, complimentary food made to order and they would make pretty much whatever you asked for) which made our stay really easy. The resort is so well maintained and retains it barefoot luxury feel; nothing felt tired or worn out and the main overwater restaurant area which housed the lobby, library, bars and restaurants was such a unique setting. One of the best things about this space was being able to sit and have a drink on the overwater nets and snorkel out to the reef from your seat - amazing. We always have very high standards when it comes to food while on holiday and we were not disappointed. Breakfast was a great selection of everything you could want done to a very high standard with quality ingredients, and it was really nice to try the local Maldivian breakfast specials. You could also enjoy a glass of bubbles which was a nice touch. We were half board and didn't eat lunch very often as it wasn't necessary but one night my husband did the fishing trip and the fish he caught was cooked for us for lunch the next day and it was lovely. Dinner for us was always early as our baby couldn't stay up late, and the only thing I would note is that the main restaurant sometimes wasn't ready to open at 7pm and we were therefore in a bit of a rush to finish dinner and get back to the room. This probably wouldn't be an issue for most people though. The food was always of such a high standard and we enjoyed every meal we had there. The snorkeling trip was amazing with sharks, turtles, rays and hundred of fish easily spotted across the 2 different sites we were taken to. We are planning to return to the Maldives this month and unfortunately Six Senses will be out of our budget for this trip, so we are already preparing ourselves to be a little underwhelmed by the next resort we choose - we shouldn't have set ourselves such a high standard in the first place! Looking forward to returning to this beautiful island at some point in the near future.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Laamu water villas have the uninterrupted sea views
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marteyne van Well, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu
Responded 18 Feb 2021
Dear Letstakeaholiday, Greetings from sunny Maldives! Thank you so much for sharing this glowing review and for recommending us so highly to travellers looking to spend a perfect and most fantastic paradise getaway. It is indeed a sweet flattery that the memories of your stay in Six Senses Laamu are still vivid in your mind even after a year has passed. We are beyond happy that you had such a wonderful time with us. From the magnificence of the surrounding, the relaxed ambience in a peaceful natural island scenery up to culinary offerings and all other little details you have mentioned that made your first holiday in the Maldives so memorable. It would be my pleasure to pass along your inspiring feedback to the team. It is feedback such as yours that motivates us to continue our quest to provide an out of ordinary experience for all our guests in each and every stay. Again, from all of us here at Six Senses Laamu, a big thank you and should your travels take you back to Maldives, our jetties are always wide-open to welcome you back! Sincerely, May Lontoc PA to General Manager On behalf of Marteyne van Well
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joaquin F wrote a review Jun 2021
7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been 7 days at Six Senses Lammu, it was an incredible experience that we never could imagine. it is the best resort to come in those moments because it is a safe place, you don’t have to wear mask (just in closed rooms) , they control your temperature every day and all the team is vaccinated. So I feel very safe at six senses.
The resort is sustainable resort who look after the reef very well and they have 10 marine biologist to take of all the sea life. Snorkeling is amazing here. You have a stunning views from your room, food is delicious and they have deference dining options throughout the day ( my favorite was the Mediterranean soak) , fantastic service, unforgettable experiences doing water sports, the Spa is lovey and incredible ambiance.

Abdulla ( our Guest experience maker) was so kind, he make everything easier for us and make sure we had an amazing honeymoon. Thank you for all your hospitality and providing us the best experience at laamu we total enjoyed everything .

To finish, I loved the great philosophy of bare foot luxury.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marteyne van Well, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu
Responded 18 Jun 2021
Dear Joaquin F, Greetings from sunny Six Senses Laamu, many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us and our TripAdvisor audience – we very much appreciate it! We are incredibly fortunate of our location where we are in our own little bubble on island, with mostly open air facilities, allowing our guests to enjoy a mask-free experience. This, combined with our team being fully vaccinated, means our guests can enjoy a safe and comfortable stay with us. Our Marine team do a wonderful job as custodians of our surrounding reefs, and enabling guests to explore and educate themselves on the vast underwater world that we are lucky enough to have on our door step – we are glad you were able to enjoy this. The Mediterranean Souk night we put on in Longitude is a favorite of many guests and hosts enjoy putting on this special evening for the guests – we can’t get enough of the scallop, truffle and spinach risotto! Abdulla was delighted to ensure your honeymoon was everything you expected and more Joaquin F, and he is grateful for your appreciation. We do hope you can reach out to us in the future, should we be lucky enough to welcome you back to the island! Please stay well and, on behalf of all of us, sending you our warm regards, Marteyne
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lawrence Fagan wrote a review Feb 2021
Zurich, Switzerland4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Six Senses Laamu exceeded our expectations in every way imaginable. The ambiance on the island is truly amazing and after having spent a few days there, we already felt as though we were at home. To start off, the service was impeccable and extremely welcoming. From the restaurants to your personal GEM, every single staff member did their best to accommodate all of our needs. The sincerity and passion of every member on the staff team made us feel very welcome. We would like to send our greatest praises to Mina, one of the resort’s managers. We stayed in the ocean water villa and in the ocean pool water villa. We loved the layout and design of both of the rooms, which included many amazing features such as the outdoor shower and the glass panels on the floor in certain sections of the room, which enabled you to observe the marine life below you. We were really pleased with the food and beverages offered as there was a great variety ranging from Japanese to Mediterranean to more western cuisine. Everything was done with finesse and was presented beautifully. We really recommend the Japanese restaurant, which features chef tasting menus. What separates Six Senses Laamu from every other resort we’ve visited is its variety of activities it offers. We loved the diving, surfing and snorkeling they offered. They have a great team of marine biologists on site, with which we had very interesting talks and even had the pleasure of accompanying during multiple snorkeling adventures. As the resort is located far south from Male, the reefs and marine life are virtually untouched and undisturbed and therefore, the diving was top notch. However, if you are not in to diving, you can enjoy their truly stunning house reef while snorkeling or swimming, which is located right on site. To summarize, Six Senses Laamu is the best resort we’ve ever visited in the Maldives and we highly recommend it to both families and couples.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ocean water villas are best if looking to snorkel right off your room Jetty A and B are most...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marteyne van Well, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu
Responded 22 Feb 2021
Dear Lawrence Fagan, Greetings from the sunny shores of Six Senses Laamu! We wish to extend our heartfelt thanks for choosing Six Senses Laamu for your stay and for the time taken to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I am so happy to read that you have spent beautiful moments at our resort and that the facilities and services were up to your expectations. We are enthusiastic regarding your praise of the experience and are especially glad you so enjoyed the beauty of our unique atoll. We at Six Senses Laamu are truly humbled by your wonderful words about your experience with our hosts. Since the beginning, it is always our utmost priority and commitment to provide all our guests with service the best way we know how. Warm hospitality and personalized service is spelled as Six Senses Laamu indeed. We take inspiration from your compliments as we continue to keep getting better and better and amaze our valued guests like you during your stay. The team also appreciates your feedback on activities on offer and we are so glad you enjoyed your swimming, snorkeling and diving experience. We could not be more pleased that your time in the ocean was so wonderful. The chefs are glad to know you enjoyed our various restaurants throughout your stay. Whether dining in our Japanese restaurant, our Mediterranean destination, or any of our other venues, we are grateful that you had such a great time. Again, thank you kindly for the review and the team can't wait to welcome you back in your "beautiful home away from home"! Sincerely, May Lontoc PA to General Manager On behalf of Marteyne van Well
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amy M wrote a review Dec 2020
Tucson, Arizona90 contributions74 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I just spent 34 days at Six Sense Laamu. A stunningly beautiful resort, beautiful buildings and grounds where we were treated to amazing food and diving. It is also the safest I've felt since this whole pandemic began . Every person visiting Laamu must have a negative Covid test to be able to visit. While you are there, your temperature is taken everyday to ensure you stay healthy . Staff health is imperative as well. If a staff person leaves the island for any reason, they remain in quarantine per health guidelines until they are cleared. Strict guidelines have been established for staff when they are off duty as well. There are hand washing stations throughout the island. Dining and activities are outdoors and in open air. The only time you need wear a mask is if you enter an enclosed room such as the gift shop.
We stayed in an overwater villa. The view was amazing, the bed extremely comfortable, and the room was very well attended . There is outdoor seating at your villa as well, so even after a month, we still felt that we had plenty of room.
Each guest is assigned a "GEM" (Guest Experience Manager) a special staff person who ensures that all your needs are met, your dinner reservations are made, and your spa appointments are scheduled. Our GEM was Arif. He is a delightful young man and took wonderful care of us. All the staff make every effort to anticipate your needs, learn your names, and provide you with outstanding service.
Our favorite places to dine for a relaxing lunch or dinner was Chill Bar overlooking the water (actually everything overlooks the water). For dinner Zen restaurant where you can enjoy locally sourced and sustainable fish , and Asian Street Market dining. Don't forget to enjoy the free ice cream and chocolate treats made by hand right there on the island.
As divers and underwater photographers, we were impressed by the care our gear received by the boat crew and the Dive shop. Every morning all our gear awaited us on the boat. When our camera was ready to go, someone carried to on board for us. The diving was very good. Lots of Mantas, Eagle Rays, sharks, turtles to be seen.
All in all we had a wonderful time and look forward to returning.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: An ocean villa is lovely.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marteyne van Well, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu
Responded 11 Jan 2021
Dear Amy W, Warm greetings from all of us here at Six Senses Laamu and we do hope that this message finds you safe and sounds back home. It was a wonderful experience having your husband and yourself here with us for 34 days and the team and I thank you for your trust in us! Thank you so much for having given us a perfect score and for having taken the time to share your experience. It is always a pleasure to see positive feedback from our valued guests. It is also an honor to hear that you felt completely safe in the island and left the pandemic-worries behind during a month-long holiday. The team and I strongly believe that any exceptional experience begins with peace of mind and we glad that you found it here with us. Indeed, the team assures our guests that we strictly adhere to extensive safety protocols and that well-being of our guests and hosts is our utmost priority. Before we re-opened our doors, strict health and hygiene guidelines were in place. We have fully trained our hosts in maintaining standards according to new health & safety regulations as well. Being the new normal, we have implemented further measures to make the guest experience better, safer and more comfortable. And we sincerely thank you for recognizing and appreciating all our efforts such as the guest and hosts daily temperature check, larger cleaning-disinfection routines, plenty wash stations, advance reservation in all outlets, frequent hygiene testing and the regular rapid test to name a few. It is always a joy and a source of inspiration for us when valued-guests so graciously commend our hosts. Know that your compliments to Arif, your GEM, Zen team, Chill Bar team and most especially the Dive Center team who helped make your stay more special have been duly recognized and the team members have been celebrated. Thank you once again Amy W and the team and I are looking forward to your return! Until then, please stay well and please stay safe. With warm regards, Marteyne
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cristin K wrote a review Sept 2021
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It is hard to sum up the level of magic we experienced at Six Senses. The stunning aqua ocean views, colorful sunsets, thoughtful and calming design elements, amazing surf, relaxing spa and impeccable service. Our GEM Ainura made sure that every detail was taken into consideration to make our stay extremely special, for me the yogi and foodie, and my husband the surfer. She recommended one of the most exciting culinary experiences with the Sommelier, Kareem, who entertained us for the night with his knowledge and passion for food and wine. We loved seeing our favorite waiter, Hassan, for our dinner at Leaf and poolside lunch at Sip Sip every day. Aimon kept our room a spotless sanctuary each day, bringing our favorite pillows and refreshing everything we needed without us ever having to ask. The Tropic Surf team here is amazing and we are grateful for some bucket list surf experiences. 5 stars are not enough to give the level of service at this resort.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marteyne van Well, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu
Responded 13 Sept 2021
Dear 223cristink, Warm greetings from Six Senses Laamu, thank you for beautiful review. It is so touching to read that your honeymoon with us was magical. I could not agree more that the nature you’ll find when coming to Six Senses Laamu seems out of this world – the play of colors at any time is just breath taking. Our villas offer privacy, coziness, and comfort. They are crafted from natural materials true to the Six Senses’ philosophy of being in harmony with the environment and I agree all this is calming and relaxing and helps to get reconnected with us and the loved ones around us. At the core of a magical Six Senses stay is the care and attention of our hosts, who strive to provide genuine and personalized service encounters at every turn, Ainura, Hassan and Aimon are surely with their attention and dedication to detail some of our superstars. Janice and her team in the SPA are in tune and are great support to get back in balance – either through meditation or with a relaxing treatment. Karim our head sommelier is with his experience one of our most senior team members and with his passion for his profession so addictive. Our partner in surfing, Tropic surf is doing a great job and their team does understand the waters around Laamu as its best and is always on the hunt for the perfect curls. 223cristink once again, thank you very much for your great feedback and that you feel that our little paradise provided a bucket list surf experience. We would be delighted to welcome you in not too far future back to our shores. Meanwhile stay well and safe, warm regards Marteyne
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AntTravller wrote a review Apr 2020
Cape Town Central, South Africa5 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was the second visit to the beautiful Six Senses Laamu and we absolutely loved our stay. Before we arrived at Laamu, our speedboat hosts encouraged us to take off our shoes and to only walk barefoot on the island during our entire stay - magical! This certainly kick-started the holiday! It was fabulous to have the same GEM welcoming us on arrival and who took good care of us during our stay. Heads up to her and the Head of Travel in assisting us with our return International flights - something that was totally unexpected and hugely appreciated. The complimentary snorkeling with the marine biologists at 11am daily was great and loved the turtle dive too. Food all round was very good at the different restaurants. Try a pizza at lunch time while enjoying drinks at the Sip Sip pool bar. The quality of food at ZEN was excellent. Our Water Villa was lovely, clean and perfect. We loved the crashing sea over the coral reef from Jetty C, bike rides around the island was so special, staff extremely polite, room service was quick and efficient. The snorkeling directly from the area near the breakfast area was such a treat! All in all we had a great time. Thanks to the Team again for taking such good care of us and we look forward to returning.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GraemeFreeman, Manager at Six Senses Laamu
Responded 14 Apr 2020
Dear AntTraveller, It was truly a delight to be able to welcome you back again to Six Senses Laamu. We are naturally thrilled that you chose Six Senses once more on your return to the Maldives and the team and I are touched by your kind compliments. I would like to thank you for highlighting your fabulous experience - the warm service of our hosts, resort facilities, food offering and even recounting your overall experience. We are thrilled that you were able to explore and enjoy the many vibrant areas of our house reef with our team from MUI and reefs surrounding the resort where one can explore our rich underwater marine life. All hosts alike are always ready to provide the best service as we could and to ensure that your stay is something for the books! We look forward to welcoming you on your future holidays! With best regards, Graeme Freeman Resident Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lakshmi Cianciulli wrote a review Oct 2020
Ojai, California1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beyond our wildest imagination, Six Senses Laamu offered us a peek into what is possible. Our, stay, nearly two months long, was made of consecutive moments of awe and wonder. Starting with the obvious beauty of the Maldives, we were astounded by the purity of the pristine turquoise blue ocean and the intensity of color from the massive sunrises and sunsets. Dolphins leapt and spun, and we could see turtles swimming in the clear, clean water. We were thrilled to find that the perfect white sand beaches came without a single plastic bottle. We soon learned that they produce their own water there, and bottle it in reusable glass bottles. This fact alone gave us so much hope. In fact, the complete Six Senses commitment to environmental awareness and sustainability, and this resorts practice of it, blew us away, everyday. It also lent itself to the general sense that the entire ecosystem was thriving. A literal breath of fresh air.
Along side this, activities were alive and well on the water and off, as the resort's incredible GM, Marteyne, announced the second we arrived, “Everything is Open!”. My husband and I took full advantage of this, as we embarked on an adventure of fitness, rediscovering our vitality and health. We connected deeply with our trainers and teachers as they helped us achieve our goals. The spa offered excellent healing body work that supported our transformation. We formed a personal relationship with brilliant head chef, Stephan, who, along with his team, created, fresh, local, exotic meals to fit our unique dietary needs. On top of actually helping us to lose weight, every bite was exquisite and will always be remembered.
We enjoyed two different Villas during our stay. Both were amazing. The last, however, at the end of dock “C”, seemed more like a dream scape then reality. Huge windows opened to the roaring sea and enormous skies surrounded us. Here, with its zero edge pool, we were suspended between the wilds of nature and the total comfort of luxury.
Our stay culminated in a private dinner on a sand bank, in the middle of the ocean, under the stars, twinkling with lanterns, and magical Maldivian song. It was impossibly romantic. This, epic evening, and everything else during our stay, was arranged by Ravah, our GEM, who listened and made sure we wanted for nothing. We have never felt so cared for or in such good hands. From the second we took our shoes of on the boat ride over at the beginning of the trip, to our moving send off by the wonderful,impeccable staff, who felt more like family at the end, we knew we had found our new home away from home. We left healthy, happy, and already thinking of our next trip back. Deepest Gratitude.

Sent from my iPad
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marteyne van Well, General Manager at Six Senses Laamu
Responded 08 Nov 2020
Dear Lakshmi3, A warm hello from Six Senses Laamu and I hope that this message finds you both doing very well and celebrating! It was such a tremendous pressure having you both here with us and I hope you know that you both are terribly missed by all of us! Having been here for a few days short of two months, you are now part of our team and we will eagerly await the day that we can welcome you both back and hopefully meet the rest of the family here at your home away from home in the Maldives. Both of you touched our hearts and we are so pleased to have had the opportunity to get to know you both and share such special moments together. We love it how you both engaged with team and shared the passion for not only the beauty of this country but equally as important the beauty of its people. It also touches us deeply to see how involved and interested you were in the sustainability and marine conservation efforts. We are passionate about our environment and passionate about the need to protect it and it means the world to us to see how guests value our ethos and suggestions and ideas for guests help us grow and enhance our efforts even further; thank you so much for your encouragement and you inspired us to try even harder and aim further! The pandemic has brought its own set of challenges and hurdles to travel and to have earned your trust and confidence means the world to us. We aim to offer a safe, comfortable, memorable, diverse and enriching environment and the team has an extra step in their walk today knowing we were able to deliver this for you. The personal relationships you felt you have created are entirely mutual and be it the girls in the Spa, Ahmed in fitness, Chef Stefan and his culinary team or Ravah, your GEM and I, all of us so appreciate the time we all spent together. It is great to know that your Laamu Water Villa with Pool on Jetty C was a dream come true and we will be certain to try assign that villa again when you return! The team looks forward to ensuring more surprises and wonderful experiences when you next return and I will personally make certain the sandbank is once again part of that! Lakshmi3, thank you again for having taken the time to write such a heartfelt and complimentary review. We miss you both tremendously and sincerely hope that you are continuing to navigate yourselves safe and sound through these unusual times. We cannot wait to welcome you back! Until then, sending you our very warmest regards, With much gratitude to both of you. Marteyne
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Olhuveli Island area.
PRICE RANGE
R 22,171 - R 71,932 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
six senses laamu hotel olhuveli island, 6 senses laamu
LOCATION
MaldivesLaamu AtollOlhuveli Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
94
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SIX SENSES LAAMU - Resort Reviews & Price Comparison (Olhuveli Island, Maldives)

Frequently Asked Questions about Six Senses Laamu
What are some of the property amenities at Six Senses Laamu?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Six Senses Laamu?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Six Senses Laamu?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Six Senses Laamu?
Conveniently located restaurants include Leaf by Six Senses, Chill Bar by Six Senses, and Longtitude.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Six Senses Laamu?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Six Senses Laamu have airport transportation?
Yes, Six Senses Laamu offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Six Senses Laamu located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.09 km away from the centre of Olhuveli Island.
Are any cleaning services offered at Six Senses Laamu?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Six Senses Laamu?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Russian, Chinese, Hindi, and Japanese.
Does Six Senses Laamu have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Six Senses Laamu accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
RestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire