We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Silver Fish Lodge

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (33)
Dining (8)
Room & Suite (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 1 lodge in Maxixe
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Fishing and spearfishing lodge, also accommodation, located just outside maxixe, inhambane province. We are located 17km from the town of maxixe. Also have a restuarant and bar. Fishing charters are available from the lodge.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Airport transportation

Location

Beach Road, Maxixe Mozambique
Silver Fish Lodge
Getting there
Inhambane Airport
20.1 km
See all flights
15Reviews0Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 10
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Resort00788954238 wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
We recently had the unfortunate experience of staying here. Unfortunately it was far from the idyllic retreat we had hoped for. Located amidst the aftermath of both COVID-19 and Cyclone Freddy, this accommodation, left much to be desired. It was evident that the management had not taken adequate measures to restore the place, making the entire atmosphere dismal. Moreover, the lingering effects of COVID-19 seemed to have taken a toll on the overall cleanliness and upkeep of the facilities. There was a stark lack of sanitation measures, and the rooms were far from the standard of cleanliness one would expect. While I had heard that the fishing experiences in the area were commendable, the accommodation itself overshadowed any potential enjoyment. In conclusion, I strongly advise against booking accommodation at this place. The combined impact of COVID-19 and Cyclone Freddy has left the property in shambles, making it an unsuitable and, frankly, an unpleasant choice for any traveler. While the fishing experiences may be appealing, the overall condition of the accommodation is enough reason to look elsewhere for a more enjoyable and comfortable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Des wrote a review Jan 2019
Dublin, Ireland3 contributions
Two of us flew over from a damp cold Ireland and arrived in Paradise. The location is something that has to be experienced. Excellent accommodation situated on white sandy beaches surrounded by coconut trees and all a step away from the on site Bar Etienne is a super super host. At all times he went out of his way to make sure we had a fantastic fishing trip. His knowledge as a skipper and his fishing skills are obvious. Outside the fishing we spent many hours in the company of Etienne and Howie relaxing and chatting in the beautiful beach side Bar. Good times and good company. Great guys.All reviews mention the food and Chef Alex. Again, this is something that has to be experienced...Amazing. I brought a Go Pro and got some wonderful footage. We will never forget this trip...the experience....the lifestyle and new friends. Would go back at the drop of a hat. Thank you Etienne for a wonderful experience.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Q6738EKseanb wrote a review Jun 2018
Ballito, South Africa12 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Highly recommend. Etienne our host was fantastic. From the time we landed it was an experience I will never forget. A must is visiting a couple of local pubs and restaurants. The food at lodge was great and fishing awesome. A great getaway look forward to next trip. Good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Nikki S wrote a review May 2018
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Great food...Awesome hospitality.... Great place to go fishing.... Have visited twice and on both occasions had a spectacular time.. Etienne was a fantastic host and very knowledgeable about his surrounding.. Alex they chef spoiled us with amazing meals everyday... Not a single disappointing moment spent at Silver ... Keep up the good work Team....
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Room #1 is right on the beach and has the best view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
roxyzino wrote a review Jan 2018
Johannesburg, South Africa4 contributions
The location of this lodge is picturesque, it is right on the shore line, the chalets are lovely and for what you pay, it is really value for money. There are definitely some highlights worth mentioning, the chef, Alex is a local with such a talent, the food he made was delicious and his execution of the dishes showed some real talent and skill, really amazing! Leonardo, the young man who ran up and down tirelessly to cater to our every need, friendly and enthusiastic, such a treat. Herbie, the Manager that gave 100% all the time to try and make sure we got what we needed no matter how hard it was to get it. Etienne, fishing is clearly your passion and the trip we had on the boat was really great. There are some very important things you need to know before booking to stay here. Under no circumstances will your hatch make it to the resort, the beach sand makes it impossible to move without four wheel drive. That being said, you will get a tow into the lodge but note, this lodge is a good 20 min drive from the town so if you want anything at all, milk, a chocolate, a snack, you need to think about whether you want to be stranded in one spot your entire holiday or just spare yourself by bringing a 4x4. The lodge is an "eco-friendly" lodge, you will have hot water for about 30 minutes a day and electricity for about 1 hour so bring power banks and whatever you need. Leave your hairdryer at home and anything that will suck up too much power. This lodge was hit by a cyclone in about Jan 2017, there are holes in some of the roofs that need repairing, the rain came through our roof and wet all our clothes, our drone, and basically everything. Although every effort was taken to make our stay more pleasant by Heribie, it was a real bummer. Lastly, when I said shoreline, I meant peninsula so the water is not clear enough to snorkel, you will need to take a trip on the boat or an hour’s drive to tofu to get some really clear water to snorkel in. If you are a bunch of guys booking this place for a fishing trip of a lifetime, you are gonna have a great time!! Ladies, this might not be your ideal situation, we adapted pretty well. Hope this helps :)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Silverfishlodge, Owner at Silver Fish Lodge
Responded 14 Feb 2018
ladies are wellcome, but this is mozambique........, and not the ritz.....we have put in new batteries for our eco lodge, and the power lasts longer, but still no hairdryers...... we continue to improve our facilities. thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Hussain I wrote a review Sept 2017
1 contribution
Very disappointed.... hi had to travel 20km on bad gravel... owner told me it was self catering... whilst having shower water was cut off... no petrol for generator... he then asked us to charge our phones because by 11 he needs to put power of... supper was bad.... fish was sticky.... i had booked in at 5 and had to leave at 7.30.... sad...
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Silverfishlodge, Owner at Silver Fish Lodge
Responded 14 Feb 2018
you didnt eat here,you ate in the town of maxixe, because you arrived a day late, without notification, and I sent my chef home. I prewarned you. you arrived from zambia, with late notification- I accommodated you at my inconvenience.Your group left for maputo the next morning early, by your own choice, due to the distance. I offered you a discount for the inconvienence of the generator that ran until 11pm- much longer than normal, which you accepted, only to burn me with this review. Do me a favour and dont come back, you are the one who is difficult. As for the road- what must I do? should I take the role of government and tar it???? Obviously, in the business, I cant please everyone.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Aaron S wrote a review Jul 2017
11 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
My wife and I recently flew from the US to Inhambane Moz and spent 7 days fishing with Etienne at Silverfish Lodge. Let me first start by saying that it's not as hectic as it might sound to fly from the States to South Africa and then fly to Mozambique. You just need to plan your flights out to ensure that you have enough time to clear customs in RSA and have enough time to get your Visa for entry in Maputo Mozambique (all Inhambane flights will go through Maputo first). Everything in each airport is easily marked for international travelers and almost everyone speaks English. I really want to stress the point that is very simple to line up this trip from an international perspective... so don't let the distance, visa requirements and fear of the unknown keep you from enjoying a fishing trip of a lifetime. It was my second trip to Inhambane for fishing and my third trip total to Moz and, as always, I was not disappointed. The first trip down for fishing (sept 2015) my brother and I boated and released back to back 125 pound sailfish. As well as another sailfish and a dozen or so tuna in two days fishing. Needless to say I was hooked on the fishing in the Indian Ocean. This time down I knew we were a bit early for the sailfish and marlin but there were other species I wanted to target, specifically a big Barracuda and big Wahoo. Captain Etienne and crew came through with flying colors!!! We boated a 55 pound Barracuda and multiple wahoo over the 40 pound mark and a 40 pound Couta (Kingfish) as well as Tuna, more Kingfish and Snook (Queen Mackerel). We fished for 4 days and had hookups and boated fish every day. I have fished all over the world with many different charter captains and hands down Etienne is one of the best in the industry. He is extremely entertaining and engaging (which is necessary on the days the fish don't want to cooperate) and makes you feel like part of the team. I think he was actually as excited as I was each and every fish we boated. High fives and hand shakes were a common occurrence on the boat. His knowledge of the ocean and fish movement was impeccable and always seemed to put us on fish even when the bite was off or slow. My wife joined us each and every day for fishing and although she doesn't fish, she loved being on the boat and seeing all the amazing ocean life. Every day we had front row seats to dolphins playing around the boat and dozens and dozens of humpback whales breaching and splashing with their family units. If you have never had the pleasure of fishing the Indian Ocean or watching the sunrise or sunset from your private ocean paradise in Mozambique; I strongly recommend it. And compared to other vacations and fishing trips around the world, it is surprisingly affordable!!!! Bring some beers and some tunes and have a fishing trip of a lifetime. We are already planning a return trip for Marlin next fall.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Silverfishlodge, Owner at Silver Fish Lodge
Responded 02 Jul 2017
Thanks for the kind words, Aaron. I'm just like that with fishing- I really enjoy it, and when I can put someone on a PB- i'm as excited as they are. Come back soon! Etienne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Palm Beach Chalets wrote a review Dec 2015
Palm Beach, South Africa78 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
From the moment we arrived at Inhambane Airport and were met by our host and owner Etienne Vercueil, we were in paradise. From the long though awesome trip to the lodge, to my pièce de résistance and that was catching my 30kg saillie on my birthday. The ambience and the food was superb, a true little piece of paradise under the African skies. We were there for 9 nights, 7 of them fishing every day, never a dull moment was had, we saw so many saillies, each day was special. Our bungalow, was ideal, right on the waters edge and perfect for sundowners and glorious early morning coffee. This is a true fishing lodge. I don't think I have ever partied so much as I did in celebration on my birthday. Pieto the chef worked up the most mouth watering meals for us, each day was a surprise, especially the stuffed crab a speciality from Maxixe, and Ill never forget Honeyballs, skipper you know what I mean. Thank you so much from both John and myself for a holiday we will never forget, hope to be back sometime in the New Year. Keep those saillies jumping and flying just like "Danca". Obrigada to everyone and well done Silverfish Lodge. It was a dream.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: the bungalow called "Marlin", right on the waters edge
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Silverfishlodge, Owner at Silver Fish Lodge
Responded 15 Feb 2018
Thank you Mandy. Was an absolute pleasure meeting with you and John. Come again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lucacio wrote a review Feb 2014
canada20 contributions4 helpful votes
Lucas and I spent 3 nights here. We were met by Etienne at the Inhambane airport and transported by water taxi and drive to the lodge. The food was good every day prepared by Raul. We went on a local boat across to the other side. Also went fishing the next day but unfortunately did catch anything. We saw lots of dolphins. Etienne made us feel welcome. On our way back to the airport he also took us to the local and craft market. Would definitely recommend this lodge especially if you want to do fishing.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2014
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Take the cottage closest to the ocean
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
cyril v wrote a review Jan 2014
secunda1 contribution1 helpful vote
Had a great time at Silverfish lodge. Etienne and his staff were amazing. We were made to feel welcome immediately and the food was definitely a highlight. Fishing was great, got good fish every day. If you looking for a place with good people, great food and awesome fishing Silverfish lodge is the place to go.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2013
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Maxixe area.
LOCATION
MozambiqueInhambane ProvinceMaxixe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SILVER FISH LODGE - Reviews (Maxixe, Mozambique) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Silver Fish Lodge
Does Silver Fish Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Silver Fish Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.