The Baroness Safari Lodge

The Baroness Safari Lodge

Uniondale / Wittedrift Road, Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve 6600 South Africa
Traveller (108)
Sunset
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#1 of 1 lodge in Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Our beautiful Plett Accommodation is a historic and charming colonial-style Safari Lodge that was built in early 1800 by Baron Joachim von Plettenberg, an early South African pioneer and conservationist, who used the original, smaller Lodge as his base to explore the then untamed African landscapes. Built from local stone, the Safari Lodge has lost little of its original 'out of Africa' feel and has spectacular views across rolling lawns where zebra and antelope roam freely, to the indigenous forests and majestic Tsitsikamma mountains in the distance.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Meeting rooms
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
88Reviews0Q+A17Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 45
  • 13
  • 13
  • 7
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
happytraveller372 wrote a review Sept 2015
George, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Was a bit skeptical after I read some of the bad comments from a while back, but still wanted to experience this Game Reserve for myself. The Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve is under new management and that you can definitely see.

We were greeted with the biggest smiles and felt very welcomed. We first went on a game drive, Evans; the game driver were soooo amazing and gave us very informative info about each animal ... and he patiently answered every question the kids had.

We all were a bit confused when we saw the cows, but realized that it was only the cow farm next to the reserve. The predators (2 lions, 2 cheetahs, and 3 wild dogs, crocodiles) are in enclosures, for obvious reasons, but big enough for them to still have their freedom.

The hunger and thirst hit us hard, after the game drive and we enjoyed a wonderful, affordable lunch and refreshments at the little restaurant at reception area. The kids played on the jungle gym and it was time to go to our rooms at the Baroness. Again were greeted with big smiles and great service. When it came dinner time, load shedding (synonymous to South Africans) kicked in and each kid immediately had a (kid friendly) lantern and the children ran around showing all the patrons their light... we enjoyed an amazing soup for starter and then tender lamp chops, salad, veggies and potatoes and they had a separate delicious meal for the vegetarians.

To top it off a great old fashion malva pudding for dessert. After that huge meal we all were stuffed. The kids fell immediate asleep in-front of the fire place in the room and the adults relaxed in front of the fire with a bottle of wine we bought from the bar.

The next morning we were greeted with a huge breakfast with so many choices...and could leave with satisfy tummies.

Thanx for the magnificent experience, service and friendliness, it was more than we expected.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wanda L wrote a review Jan 2014
Charlottesville, Virginia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Breathtaking setting, charming facility, and outstanding staff. We stayed two nights and enjoyed two game drives as part of the bed-breakfast-dinner package. The weather (early summer) was perfect and we thoroughly enjoyed the break from phones and TV. Our room (#1) was huge and very comfortable. The lodge and game reserve are convenient if you have your own vehicle, but could be problematic if you did not drive. We liked this lodge much better than some of the more "exclusive" places we have stayed. The Baroness lodge has personality!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gardengamer wrote a review Feb 2010
oxford
5.0 of 5 bubbles
On the flight home we talked about the best bits of our two week stay and the two nights here were very high on the list.

The service was excellent, the food great and the room was unbelievable.

First impressions do not give the full impact. It reveals itself to you slowly, but with expert service and a superb view, you can sit out with the just the noise of the bush, in the warmth of the wood fires, and feel as if you own the place.

It’s a relaxed place, wander through the kitchens to get a drink, and you really feel at home, and what a home. Our room was simply superb.

Breakfast was great, and what a view for breakfast. A superb place, I would recommend to anyone.

We had a three year old with us, who also loved the place, and the staff made her feel at home too. They let her on the game drive, and she loved that too. Don't be afraid to take children here.

Its not Kruger of course, but its a great induction to Safari for a young child.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2010
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David F wrote a review Feb 2011
Ireland
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this (December 2010) in light of the positive feedback here. The place is terrible. The reality is that the owners are taking advantage of tourists and, I suspect, the staff. A big problem was the absence of a manager on site at any point during our stay – we were there for two days – with whom to raise complaints. As you have to pay the bill in advance, there was little chance of getting a refund. We paid an outrageous R1650 per person per night. If you want some ‘luxury’, I recommend that you seek it elsewhere! An older German couple stayed the same two nights as us and felt the same about the place. So I know that we aren’t nuts! And reading the ‘positive’ reviews with the experience of having stayed there is frustrating. Things described as ‘eccentric’, ‘helplessly romantic, ‘home cooked’, and ‘doing their best’ are simply euphemisms for ‘awful’, ‘dilapidated’, ‘third rate’ and ‘untrained’. The place masquerades as holding a four-star grading from Tourism Grading Council of South Africa. I worry about the standards of that agency! The game drive in Plettenberg Game Reserve was pleasant enough; avoid staying in The Baroness Luxury Safari Lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2011
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PlettenbergbayGR, Marketing at The Baroness Safari Lodge
Responded 27 Sept 2011
Thank you for your review. At Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve we always strive for perfection. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay and we appreciate your criticism as it allows us to look at ways to improve our service and our standards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rupert S wrote a review Aug 2013
Singapore, Singapore
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms were gorgeous with beautiful sights, the staff were wonderful especially Melody and Winnie, the dinner was great, and yet why am I giving a bad review? It's because this place could have been so much better with proper management.

The room we were given was as cold as an ice box, and the manager even told us it was not designed for winter. Why then open the rooms when there's no proper heating available during winter?

Also, be careful of the hidden charges especially if you are going for game drives, etc. Each trip to and from The Baroness to the Plett Bay game reserve is charged 50 rand even though both are managed by the same people, and the distance is not far at all. I find this to be completely ridiculous as other game reserves provide free shuttles dorm the game drive reserve to the accommodation. I do not see why Plett Bay game reserve and Baroness which come under the same management should pretend to be strangers to each other and charge for these short trips. In addition the transport, instead of using land rovers like other game lodges, use small pick ups which were very dirty and untidy.

The whole place also lacks service. There were no phones and if you have to ask for something, you had to trod all the way to reception, which usually is as deserted as a ghost town. Your best bet is to barge into the kitchen where Melody is around to try to resolve your problems.

The dinner provided was excellent, but unfortunately the breakfast the next day was very disappointing. However views from the breakfast areas were stunning!

To the management- please listen to the bad reviews and make changes immediately. You have so much potential that it is sad to see it go to a complete waste!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2013Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicholas_Genade wrote a review Jul 2011
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The location on the Lodge is absolutely amazing, the setting is really second to non! But its the little things that makes this Loge average. When sitting in the Boma for two hours after asking for a blanket because it was freezing, or asking for a lock to lock-up your room and getting laughed at by the staff as if it was some kind of joke?

The game driver was really just a nice drive and getting out of the room, the guide was really really good - but there was not that much game...

The highlight of my trip was when I was checking out, the staff charged me an extra R200.00 for drinks I apparently took from the fridge in the Boma. When I said this is impossible and that I do not drink beer, they followed up with a "are your sure" ...... Once more there was never a manger around, just a little black board with phone numbers which quite frankly I would not have use, I would have gotten in my car and travel to an establishment who wanted guests.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2011
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PlettenbergbayGR, Public Relations Manager at The Baroness Safari Lodge
Responded 24 Nov 2011
Thank very much for your review and for your feedback. We are as disappointed as you are that you felt “the little things’ were lacking, as well as the lack of visible management. We, like you believe it is these things that ensure our guests return again and again. We will certainly take this feedback and use it improve our experience for future guests.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lodewyksmith wrote a review Jan 2016
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked 2 days end of December. When we arrived it was very hot that day no welcome arriving drinks... and then our accommodation was in the Zink house km away and temp 42 45 in the house. ...We were told there was Chicken...curry for the evening. Beautiful setting lots of game. But not the money worth.... We left and did not stay al all..... The owner offer us no option but to leave, he wanted 50% of our deposit. Booking by Lekker slap they sort it out for us. Long drive home to Cape Town. Will not recommend this lodge to any one... Smith Family Cape Town
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jez07 wrote a review Feb 2015
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
When you arrive the place has the feel of a large farm. The only 'wild' animal not in an enclosure are hippos, so you get a drive round to see buck, giraffe, hornless hippo and of course lots of cows. As there are no predators running free these animals act like they don't have a care in the world. You are then taken into separate cages to see Lion, Cheetah, Crocs and Wild Dogs. If you have never seen these animals before then fine but don't go expecting a real Safari experience. Also no coffee available before or after game drive.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aruschka wrote a review Jan 2015
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The Baroness is by no means a luxurious lodge. There is no management and it is clear that the place is run on a minimal Budget. However you pay top rate to stay!

I booked the dinner, bed & breakfast option. Dinner was an absolute DISGRACE of a single chicken breast with green beans and a heavy portion of rice. No starter, or table bread and to end the meal we were given milk tart from Woolworths!!!!!!!!

I insisted on speaking with management and was given the phone to speak to Cheryl. Who didn't really provide any answers and has yet to come back to me about my complaints.

An absolutely disappointing experience with a total lack of care to the guests needs.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Clive C wrote a review May 2014
Paarl, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Worst game reserve ever. false advertising. Bats in ceiling. no sleep. Wild animals enclosed in sections. more like a big zoo. Very substandard. Food poor. reception full of ants on arrival. Charging 5 star rates for 1 star experience. Left earlier to home.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
dcam45 wrote a tip May 2016
CT29 contributions27 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't book the double bedroom-en suite unless you check out the high-level loo and don't mind the climb!"
Read full review
Ali L wrote a tip May 2016
Johannesburg, South Africa4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All the rooms are unique and gorgeous!!!"
Read full review
Phoenix L wrote a tip Dec 2015
George, South Africa43 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Best room in my opinion is Room 8 and 12.. Set to one side and just majestic!"
Read full review
Lynette H wrote a tip Jul 2015
Davis, California2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"i think the rooms are all gorgeous from what i could tell."
Read full review
leneCapeTown wrote a tip Dec 2014
cape town8 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure staff know you are a couple if you are to avoid embarrassment if you are two women or two men."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve area.
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapePlettenberg Bay Game Reserve
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE BARONESS SAFARI LODGE - Reviews (Plettenberg Bay Game Reserve, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Baroness Safari Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at The Baroness Safari Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Baroness Safari Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Baroness Safari Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Baroness Safari Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Emily Moon, The Burnt Orange, and Bocca Dolce Vegan Restaurant And Coffee Roastery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Baroness Safari Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Baroness Safari Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Baroness Safari Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Timber Shed (12.4 km) and Van Plettenberg Beacon (12.4 km).