We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel Continental

Traveller (316)
360
Panoramas (18)
Room & Suite (140)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Grand Hotel Continental si trova nel centro di Tirrenia, direttamente sul mare. Dispone di 2 grandi piscine esterne ( di cui una olimpionica) ristorante, american bar, garage, palestra. Dall’hotel si accede direttamente allo stabilimento "Bagno Mary", riservata ai nostri clienti, per poter godere della spiaggia. Dispone di 6 sale meetings, moderne e funzionali illuminate con luce naturale, che ospitano da 20 a 300 persone. L' Hotel si trova a 20 minuti dall' aeroporto internazionale di Pisa e da 15km dalla Torre Pendente.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Room service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Airport transportation
Banquet Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle Bus Service
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Family
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
74Somewhat walkable
Grade: 74 out of 100
51Restaurantswithin 1 km
5Attractionswithin 1 km
626Reviews
573Photos
20Q+A
56Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 136
  • 245
  • 158
  • 51
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Hotel was in a location near to the sea and lots of bars and restaurants. Cannot fault the bar/restaurant staff in particular Mario who made the best cocktails ever! Reception staff a different matter rude and unhelpful. Being told to get a bus was not helpful.They really let
Read more
Response from GHC_La_Direzione, Direttore at Grand Hotel Continental
Responded 20 Jul 2018
Dear Sir we thank you for your review and your comments to Mr. Mario and his drinks. We are happy that you appreciated them. Regarding the attitude of the reception, we are quite surprised, because it is very helpful and kind. We would like to get more information about the matter, by a private mail to our General Manager, if you wish. All comments of our guests are very important for us to improve the level of the service. We hope to welcome you again at Gran Hotel Continental. The management
Read more
This is a nice middle sized hotel, much better inside than out, don't be put off by it's 1970's concrete construction. Lovely 50m pool and private beach. We thought our June stay was much quieter than previous visit in September a few years ago, some days we had the garden area
Read more
Response from GHC_La_Direzione, Direttore at Grand Hotel Continental
Responded 05 Jul 2018
Dear Sir we thank you very much for your kind review and for your second visit in our Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your holiday with our of vacation services. We thank you for your compliments to the staff, to the room cleaners and to the new breakfast terrace, ideal place to start well the morning. We hope to welcome you again in our Grand Hotel Continental, as our welcome guests. The management
Read more
Picked this hotel based on the pool area which is large and well appointed. Room was nice. Bathroom a bit dated. Weather wasn’t super when we visited so only walked on the beach rather than taking sun loungers. Didn’t eat here so can’t comment but we visited the bar on
Read more
Response from GHC_La_Direzione, Direttore at Grand Hotel Continental
Responded 01 Jul 2018
Dear guest we received your review and we thank you very much for your positive comments. We are glad that you appreciated the pool and the drinks at the Hotelbar. We hope to welcome you again at Grand Hotel Continental. The Management
Read more
Firstly, I am very surprised at some of the negative reviews of this hotel and clearly by people who have no idea of Italian culture or style. Yes the hotel potentially is a bit dated in the common areas but the rooms are bright, large and spacious, many with huge balconies
Read more
Response from GHC_La_Direzione, Direttore at Grand Hotel Continental
Responded 01 Jul 2018
Dear Guest We thank you for your spontaneous and honest review, which mentions the strengths of our structure. We are happy to read your positive comments about the rooms, the cleaning, the quality of breakfast and the services included in the rate of the room. It will be a pleasure for us to have you as a guest again at the Grand Hotel Continental. The Management
Read more
This place is an absolute dump on the coast of Italy. Rude customer service and smoke smelling rooms will greet you upon arrival. World's most uncomfortable beds that feel like wood or marble. Dirty pillows that you have to wash yourself and you'll get ripped off after seeing
Read more
Response from GHC_La_Direzione, Direttore at Grand Hotel Continental
Responded 05 Jul 2018
Dear Mr. Pirbhoy we expected your review that did not wait. We're sorry you were disappointed with the overnight stay at the Grand Hotel Continental. As already answered on other social channels to your comments, we believe that your anger was generated by the application of the conditions of your "Non-Refundable Rate" booking and consequently you have exchanged our rigor with rudeness. We are not a perfect company, as few perfect companies exist, but we comply with all current hygiene standards by providing clean rooms and its equipment. We do not share your judgment on our customer service, our team works every day for the satisfaction of the customers, in case of problems it undertakes to find solutions to let continue the holiday smoothly, we regret, that it did not happen with you. Finally, we add that for the services offered Grand Hotel Continental is in fact a vacation hotel: 175 spacious rooms, Olympic swimming pool with children's pool, gym, private beach, garage, kids club, restaurant, pool bar with snacks and buffet lunches , american bar overlooking the garden, location a few steps from the sea. The Management
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementGrand Hotel Continental
Guest room
Photo provided by managementGrand Hotel Continental
Guest room
Photo provided by managementGrand Hotel Continental
Meeting room
Photo provided by managementGrand Hotel Continental
Meeting room
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorGrand Hotel Continental
The Standard Room at the Grand Hotel Continental
PreviousNext
12345628
I would get a taxi to the train station / bus station which is likely to be around 10 Euro. You need to buy a bus ticket before getting on the bus. We bought one from the shop inside the train station but almost every corner shop sells them. The bus takes about 40 minutes but goes directly outside the hotel.
0 votes
As far as I am aware the pool was open all year . We were there in May and as the weather was a bit cool we often had the pool to our selves. Hotel and staff were first class ( not the ritz ) but worth what we paid . So much so we are booked again to go in May.
0 votes
Show all answers
Is the evening meal buffet style or waiter service thank you
Waiter service in the hotel. I did not eat there but I heard people say if was good.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi is the evening meal or is it waiter service, also does the hotel supply pool towels Thank you#
PreviousNext
1234
"Rooms on north side afford views of sea and mountains up the coast; rooms on south side also face sea"
"try for a sea view on the upper floors"
"The rooms are dark, dull and dingy and there are no facilities for tea and coffee making."
"Hotel rooms overlooking the beach are very noisy"
"maybe ask for extra soft pillows"
PreviousNext
12345612
PRICE RANGE
US$88 - US$211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grand hotel tirreniagrand hotel continental tirrenia
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of PisaPisaTirrenia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
176
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing