We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Traveller (69)
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (12)
Certificate of Excellence


Certificate of Excellence
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Electric vehicle charging station
Hot Tub
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
58Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 85
  • 63
  • 23
  • 4
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Nice hotel that seems to be in the middle of a upgrade and modernisation. The work so far is excellent. The upper dining area (sadly only used for breakfast) is stunning with far reaching views over the lake and mountains. The evening meal was served on the ground floor in a
Read more
BEWARE of this hotel if you are a single traveller. I stayed here in the summer and I was given a very small single room for which I had to pay a £100 single supplement. I was even refused tea/coffee making facility when I asked. Thomson's, when I made my complaint said I was
Read more
Response from DirezioneRiviera, Proprietario at Hotel Riviera
Responded 03 Nov 2017
Dear Madam, I'm sorry you don't like your room. You have booked through the travel agency Thomson and the price is decided from Thomson. The single room is without tea/coffee making facility, this is only in the twin Superior room. Kind regards
Read more
Myself and my fiancé stayed here for one week in the beautiful Lake Garda. Our first time here and we were blown away by the views and vibe of Riva del garda town... We stayed in a superior room and the balcony was huge! Lovely facilities, you can tell they have just renovated
Read more
Response from Michela B, Proprietario at Hotel Riviera
Responded 23 Oct 2017
Dear guest, We begin our answer to your review with the mail you wrote us before your arrival in hotel. In this mail you asked something more for you stay in return for a fantastic review on Tripadvisor: "Dear sir/madam, We’re really looking forward to our stay at Hotel Riviera commencing next Saturday, as it will be both our first visit to your hotel and to Italy. I’m writing to ask if you can help us make it an extraordinary 7 days. When traveling for work or pleasure, I almost never ask for upgrades. However, this is an entirely different trip: it’s a special vacation with my fiancé. We will be celebrating my birthday whilst we are away and to have a glass of bubbles or anything else you could offer would certainly make it a more incredible stay. In return I can assure you that I would write a fantastic review of our stay on Tripadvisor, actively promote your hotel to my friends and colleagues traveling to Lake Garda and if a work or personal engagement brings me back to Riva, I will happily stay with you again. Please may you also advise me on the most accurate weather forecast website and any particular excursions to plan? I sincerely appreciate your help in making this a truly special 7 days for us. Thank you and see you soon Kind regards, Natasha H." This is not honest: anyway we brought to you in the room a bottle of Prosecco the evening before your birthday (this was on the day of your check out), as we usually do for all guests of Thomson. There was no thanks word from you, but it wasn’t any surprise because you and your fiancé never said hallo during the week. What about the food, you didn’t like it, it may be; but using the word disgusting and writing “we dreaded eating here” is particularly offensive, the score of 140 Thomson “Accomodation Quality & Service Results” is 89/100 for the food and 91/100 overall. The word “disgusting” is very offensive not only for us, but also for all those guests from many different countries who spent their holidays in our hotel and appreciated our food and dinner On the menu it is written “ possible use of deep-frozen ingredients”: it doesn’t mean that all the food is frozen and that we use the microwave to warm up it. It means that some ingredients can be frozen because it is not possible to find them fresh, for example in summer and autumn you can’t find fresh green peas, so you use the frozen one. The Hotel Du Lac et Du Parc, you mention in your review, is a beautiful hotel, maybe the most beautiful hotel in Riva del Garda; the price is different, the service is different, all is different from our hotel. But it is absolutely improper from you, that in the review on Hotel Riviera you write about another hotel and recommend it for a stay in Riva. Best regards
Read more
We have recently returned from a wonderful weeks (3rd week in September) stay at the Riviera, in fact this was our 4th year in a row at the hotel.We had a lovely superior room on the 2nd floor with a large balcony with table and chairs and an absolutely beautiful lake view The
Read more
The family run Riviera hotel is run by incredibly welcoming and helpful staff, the owner even assisted my wife and I in sorting an issue with the handbreak of our rental car. The hotel is well located about a 10 minute walk to the centre of Riva Del Garda and five minutes to the
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
view from the castle
Balcony view
Views in all directions
What is the tourist tax at this hotel in august this yr
The city tax is 1,00 Euro per person per day. Best regards
1 vote
Does the Hotel Riviera supply pool towels? We travel in August. Thanks
Do the rooms have tea making facilities and a fridge
Our new superior rooms have tea making facilities and a fridge. Best regards
0 votes
Show all answers
Have you got your own website, if so could you give it to me please?
"higher the room better the view. front of hotel on main road"
"Gorgeous rooms at the front with a spectacular lake view, however back of the hotel rooms more standard but spotless."
"We would love to stay in one of the front rooms the next time as you have that beautiful view of the lake"
"Make sure you ask for a double room!"
"Rooms at the front have lovely lake views but are on the road, rooms at the back are quieter."
US$92 - US$206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
riviera hotel riva del garda
ItalyTrentino-Alto AdigeProvince of TrentoRiva Del Garda
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing