We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Montemare

Traveller (208)
Room & Suite (97)
Dining (42)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Property amenities
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room service
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Minibar
Refrigerator in room
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
294Reviews
263Photos
11Q+A
37Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 157
  • 101
  • 19
  • 5
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
After a long research and a little afraid of not making the right decision, I can tell you with certainty that I've picked the best option ever. I was with my two daughters (10 & 24 years old) celebrating my birthday and I couldn't be happier with my choice. Gianluca, Donatella
Read more
This is a small family run hotel with approx 24 rooms. We had a terrific stay. The service was respectful and efficient. Rooms are pretty w gorgeous period furniture, clean and open w stunning tiled floors. We loved the restaurant and bar. Thanks to Anna for her always warm
Read more
+1
DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! I have traveled all over the world for most of my life. This is the WORST hotel I have ever stayed in. It is WAY OVERPRICED. First of all it is a 3 Star hotel- NOT a 4 star hotel. The beds are horrible and small. Though it was listed as a queen the bed in
Read more
Response from HotelMontemare, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Montemare
Responded 24 Sep 2018
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your stay at Hotel Montemare and your review, our staff is glad to take care of view to make you stay pleasant and unbelievable. Out rooms are brand new and renovated this year to offer to our customers all comforts possible. Our photos are clear and taken for this season 2018. They reflects the reality of our place. The price mentioned in your review is for a whole stay at our hotel and not for a single night. We are so sorry you did not appreciate our rooms even if our staff has been at your disposal to propose you different rooms, category and offering you a free upgrade in rooms far from bar and common areas. Kindest regards,
Read more
The hotel is fair 2/5. It's a medium walking distance to the main area. The room was unmemorable but that's neither good nor bad. My negative experience was with the AC-- it did not work during our entire stay. We could not escape the heat: bad quality sleep every night, no
Read more
Response from HotelMontemare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Montemare
Responded 11 Sep 2018
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your reservation at Hotel Montemare and for your review, We are so sorry that your experience, as you have mentioned, has not been so good. The room booked had n 2 A/C stations, one of them unfortunately the first day of your journey had a problem during the evening and it was not possible to fix it urgently. Meanwhile the other one worked properly and the room was not so high as you have described in your review because of one of the air conditioner worked efficiently. This was aslo stated by our staff that came in your room checking with you but your habits were to have a temperature of about 16/14 degrees, unacceptable in a really high summer season where temperature outside could reach about 30 degrees maximum. We apologied for the problem offering you a refund for a discounted rate for the night. Some problems could happens during an overcharge of our aircondition system. About the mention of the city tax I'd like to inform you that it is the city hall law in Positano that show us they way to collect the city tax and it is only by cash as all the other hotels in Positano do. Kindest regards, Hotel Montemare staff
Read more
+6
We had a 3 nights superb stay! Points of strength are the view and the staff! Staff are ALL very kind, professional, friendly, welcoming and always very helpful! All from the the front desk to the restaurants to the nice cute old lady in housekeeping. We were in room
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel Montemare
The Deluxe Double Room, Partial Sea View at the Hotel Montemare
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel Montemare
The Deluxe Double Room, Partial Sea View at the Hotel Montemare
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel Montemare
The Deluxe Double Room, Partial Sea View at the Hotel Montemare
Photo provided by managementHotel Montemare
Just the main part. Large bathroom and a couple of bunk beds not in photo.
PreviousNext
12345620
Hello. Many reviews mention a bird that is distressed and in a small cage. Do you take care of him now properly?
Hey there , yes even we noticed that the big bird was in the cage , the cage is actually not very small but since this bird is big this cage is really small for this bird . i was told that this birds age is close above 40 years , its really old . i am sure the hotel team takes care of it but why would any bird would want to live in a cage ??
-2 votes
What is the best way to get from Naples airport to the hotel, and visa versa?
Sorry. Just saw your message. We hired a car service that picked us up at the Naples train station (meeting our train coach to assist with luggage) and taking us to our hotel in Positano. Gave us the option of stopping at Pompeii which we accepted. Gentile Car Service. This site would not permit me to include the email so check the internet. Sorry about the delay.
0 votes
It might be a good idea, though it is quite a way, from memory, around 35 minutes or so in the car. I'd suggest agreeing to the fare before starting the trip. There is a Sita bus option, but they can be very crowded and if you are not sure where to get off it can be stressful. It is also very very much cheaper, so if on a budget I'd look into it.
0 votes
PreviousNext
123
"The room we stayed in wasn't nice at all so I can't recommend."
"Don't come during hot months"
"If you want a big room, unbelievable view and quiet, ask for the Annex."
"Ask for a quiet room. Many people coplained about the noise but ours was very quiet"
"deluxe with sea view has beautiful view"
PreviousNext
1234568
PRICE RANGE
US$340 - US$915 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
montemare hotel positano
LOCATION
ItalyCampaniaProvince of SalernoAmalfi CoastPositano
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing