We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1 Pilmore Mews, Hurworth-on-Tees, Darlington DL2 2DU England
E-mail hotel
6 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$311
View deal
Expedia.comUS$327
Hotels.comUS$316
TravelocityUS$327
PricelineUS$327
eDreamsUS$311
HurbUS$372
View all 11 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1596)
360
Panoramas (13)
Room & Suite (510)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 20/09/23 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Rockliffe Hall
Updated 20/09/23 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Rockliffe Hall is the only five red star hotel in the North of England. Set on a magnificent 18th century estate on the banks of the River Tees, Rockliffe Hall is a destination in itself. Rockliffe Hall's world-class spa and golf course, well-equipped meeting rooms, three restaurants and sublime service ensure it is the perfect place to escape and relax, to do business, and to create memories that will linger on.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Children's playground
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Golf course
Patio
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Butler service
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
3575Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2 782
  • 446
  • 213
  • 78
  • 56
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
LucyKate wrote a review 07 Aug
England, United Kingdom11 contributions4 helpful votes
Pros. Upon arrival the receptionist who checked us in and showed us to our room was extremely professional, polite and friendly. The suite was bigger than expected and very clean. Molton Brown toiletries were replenished during the evening turn-down service. The receptionist did tell us the mini-fridge was included in the price of our stay and would be replenished for us but when we opened the fridge, there was only a bottle of still and fizzy water available - we found this detail to be quite misleading. Cons. The spa was extremely underwhelming. The main pool was busy with families and children which left us with a couple of small saunas and an ice room. When we enquired what the outside building was, we were told this was where the the infinity pool was which would cost us an extra £50 (on top of what we had already paid to use the spa) to access. We found this extremely cheeky and unprofessional. When we asked at the spa bar for a glass of champagne, as we were celebrating, we were told only smoothies could be served and only alcohol was served by the (not very inclusive) infinity pool. We thought this was awful service. We were told the only way to get a drink that wasn’t a smoothie, was to walk through the hotel (in our wet dressing gowns) and access a pop-up champagne bar. We did this but we were served a less than half full glass of champagne which was luke-warm for £12 a glass. We ate at the Orangery restaurant and were given the option of a 5course meal for £90 or a 3course meal for £70. Although each dish was very tasty and presented beautifully, we were still hungry by the end of the 3courses. My partner’s starter consisted of literally 3 baby carrots on a plate with some drops of sauce. We’d heard lots of great things about this hotel and spa and it was by no means cheap to stay here but we left feeling underwhelmed and hungry.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Adams, Other at Rockliffe Hall
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Scenic22839635149 Thank you for your review and delighted that our receptionists was excellent and professional as I would expect, and you also found your bedroom to be very clean. We don't advertise a mini bar, and the fridge is in the bedroom so we can offer chilled water and bottled fresh skimmed and soya milk to all our guests. Apologies for any confusion that may have been caused. As you booked through booking.com some of the information has clearly not been passed on to you by this third party. Everything is very clear and laid out in your confirmation. If guest book direct we always call them in advance, what we call a pre arrival call, to go through the booking to make sure everything is correct. We cant do this if you book through a third party as we don't have your details, because of GDPR As it was the school holidays, and there will have been more children at the resort, but we do only allow children in the Spa for 90 minutes in the morning and 90 minutes in the afternoon as to minimise any impact on other guests. We have had to ban alcohol in the Spa pool, due to loud and abusive guests, where as the Spa garden is fully supervised and an exclusive area where the team can be around to watch all guests and the amount of alcohol they consume. There are also Health & Safety implications with serving alcohol around water and it is much safer for everyone. To add to this, the vast, so I think you may have missed some facilities inside and out. Thank you also for the other negative notes pointed out to us, and I have already spoken wit the team so we can continue to improve. Fell free to contact me, and next time we can get you booked in directly with us Thank you once again for your feedback Kind Regards Jason Adams MANAGING DIRECTOR
Read more
Peter Jeremy H wrote a review 04 Aug
1 contribution
A great stay up north for us soft southerners and what a wonderful location. Great staff, facilities, eateries and spa and would thoroughly recommend. Good choice of restaurants. Will revisit in the near future..
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: We were in a room opening onto and facing the gardens and golf course which was fabulous.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Adams, Other at Rockliffe Hall
Responded 1 week ago
Dear peterjeremyh Thank you for your kind words, and delighted of course you had a wonderful experience across the whole resort, the team will be very pleased to read this We very much look forward to welcoming you again very soon Kind Regards Jason Adams MANAGING DIRECTOR
Read more
Jamsimsafc wrote a review 01 Aug
Durham, United Kingdom570 contributions578 helpful votes
Really enjoyed our stay over the weekend. The hotel is set in wonderful gardens which unlike in similar properties you feel that you can use and we made good use of the walks (walking/jogging maps available with differing lengths). The golf course and football training ground are in view but don't get in the way and provide some entertainment to watch from various parts of the hotel. The room was really good, large, very comfortable and all amenities you'd expect - done in a traditional decor. Only gripe would be we didn't spot the aircon and the room was boiling during the night (totally our fault for not looking but didn't realise it was an issue until too late) - given the staff walk you to the room, i'd suggest they point out a few key features such as air con, security vault, mini bar as is usually the case in hotels where they take you to the room. Staff were good throughout the hotel but you could tell some of the F&B staff were either new or in training as some of the service was sloppy in both restaurants - fine but the prices in their clubhouse were very high for what you got and the service meant it felt like i was in a pub rather than somewhere that warranted a £25 fish cake! Food was nice enough but i feel like they were taking the mick with their pricing to line it up with their dinner, bed and breakfast rates. My advice would be to not pay the extra and go to one of the pubs in the nearby village which are within easy walking distance. The spa was nice, and compared to some of their nearby competitors (Seaham Hall, Ramside, Rudding Park) i felt they got the numbers perfect - enough people for there to be an atmosphere but not too many so that whenever we wanted to sit on a lounger or go in a particular room we could and that's the sign of a good spa. There was a good range of rooms to try and the staff were really good. Nice choice of smoothies as well and keeping alcohol out of the main spa area was also a good touch having seen the negatives of allowing it elsewhere. Spa garden was nice and probably worth the extra £25 for the 90 mins you got, a nice separate area with only 12 people in when we were there - you could go where you wanted and again, a really good touch was a staff member there removing towels when people tried to reserve seats - another good sign in my opinion to allow everyone to enjoy all aspects when they wanted. The small pool and sauna area and seats were nice but its probably the exclusive element of it which makes it worthwhile for me. Worth it for a special occasion but not something you absolutely need to do as there's plenty to occupy you in the main spa area which everyone gets access to. Overall a really nice stay and we will definitely be back. Whilst i had a couple of grumbles (when you charge such a high room rate, i feel you need to offer a service level that matches it) they certainly wouldn't put me off. I'd highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Adams, Other at Rockliffe Hall
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Jamsimsafc Thank you for your review and delighted over all you had excellent experience, saying that I also note your less positive points which I have raised with the team so we can continually improve what we do and how do it. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon Kind Regards Jason Adams MANAGING DIRECTOR
Read more
Maureen Norman wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
We have just returned home after spending 2 days at Rockliffe Hall celebrating our our 50th wedding anniversary. From walking through the door to leaving this morning nothing was too much trouble for the staff . Rooms were big very nice everything we needed in there . Orangerie and Club House food was excellent Spa , pool , and beauty treatments we're to best. Our special anniversary couldn't have been any better .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Adams, Other at Rockliffe Hall
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Mollielouie1TS Thank you for your wonderful review and delighted that you had such a wonderful time across the whole resort. The team will be very proud that yet again they delivered on all levels and it is a delight to read, and that all the hard work and training has paid off. Thank you once again, and we very much look forward to seeing you again very soon Kind Regards Jason Adams MANAGING DIRECTOR
Read more
Arthur B wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
satisfaction. during our visit everything was first class. the staff were extremely polite and friendly, the spa facilities were great and the meal at the golf club was very enjoyable in the evening along with wonderful staff adding to the occasion. our room was also of a very good standard and spacious.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: ground floor in old hall has outside patio with a view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Adams, Other at Rockliffe Hall
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Q3340GFarthurb Thank you for such a wonderful review and kind words regarding the team, the clubhouse, the Spa and the resort in general. We are delighted you had an enjoyable experience and we exceeded all of your expectations We very much look forward to welcoming you back again very soon Kind Regards Jason Adams MANAGING DIRECTOR
Read more
Andy M wrote a review Jul 2022
4 contributions
Wonderful meal at the Clubhouse with special thanks to Becca and Helen for a superbly decorated dessert plate, Thank you to all clubhouse staff as every time I attended the clubhouse the service by all is top notch
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Adams, Other at Rockliffe Hall
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Andrew M Thank you for your kind words about your experience in the Clubhouse and the team members Helen and Becca. They will delighted to read your comments and very much look forward to continuing to look after you. We look forward to seeing you again very soon Kind Regards Jason Adams MANAGING DIRECTOR
Read more
Annmarie J wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
My husband and friend came for a golf day he’s asked me to pop this on. Can I say thank you to Helen for sorting the day out and Becky for the amazing welcome table and to every member of staff that looked after us. I have played golf for over 25 years but never played at Rockcliffe and I must say what a fantastic course I will be back if not become a member
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Adams, Other at Rockliffe Hall
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Annmarie J Thank you for putting on record your husbands experience of the Golf Course and hospitality in the Clubhouse. Thank you also for your kind words about Becca and Helen, who consistently get wonderfully positive comments from our guest and members, and they will be delighted to continue to get such feedback We very much look forward to welcoming not just your husband but yourself too, hopefully as members in the very near future Thank you once again Kind Regards Jason Adams MANAGING DIRECTOR
Read more
Beverley B wrote a review Jul 2022
Billingham, United Kingdom39 contributions7 helpful votes
Firstly the staff were excellent, couldn’t do enough for us. Even offered to take photos. The afternoon tea menu was really good with the offer to change any of the sandwiches if we didn’t like any on the menu. We were offered a large choice of teas and coffees and could have tried every tea on the menu - I’ve never known that offered anywhere else. I had tea and then finished with a latte. The cakes were petite but beautiful. Overall excellent experience, would thoroughly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Adams, Other at Rockliffe Hall
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Beverley B Thank you for your kind words regarding your afternoon tea experience in the Orangery. We try to offer a five star experience in tea offering, and the cakes and pastries are all made by our wonderful brigade of pastry chefs and of course delighted you and your guests enjoyed your afternoon We look forward to seeing you again very soon Kind Regards Jason Adams MANAGING DIRECTOR
Read more
Honest & fair reviewer wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
As a few people have mentioned below, the sales trip you get taken on after a spa treatment is so pressuring and uncomfortable! By the manager comments below he seems to disagree, but it seems I’m the 3rd person in recent reviews, to feel the trip to the relaxation room is a big miss and now you get ushered down to the spa shop and I personally felt pressured into buying an item and when I said I liked the smell of a candle she said ‘oh shall I take it to reception for you’. It’s a shame the manager can’t see this as pressuring but I’m sure if he went though the same script I did with a therapist he would. The therapist had me in the shop well over 10 minutes as my husband patiently waited outside, but I’m too polite to say I’m not interested! The room was ok but definitely in need of an upgrade. I understand there are going to be renovations but you surely can’t keep charging extortionate prices for a 5 star hotel when the facilities such as the rooms are not up to standard. Definitely a disappointing visit compared to my last few. But I would say the pressure to buy something after my very expensive treatment took the shine off of the trip. Nu Sana simply isn’t my cup of tea, but a meal in the clubhouse was very much enjoyed.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Adams, Other at Rockliffe Hall
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear StephenaG3901UT Firstly, Thank you for your review, and I am very pleased you enjoyed your meal in the Clubhouse, but also sorry you felt pressured into buying something in our Spa after your treatment. As you will have already read the offer to recommend products that have been used in your treatments is perfectly normal, BUT I have arranged a meeting with our Spa Manager and Therapists to understand better the guests journey. What you say you encountered is not what should be happening and this has already been discussed with the Spa Manager. Thank you for raising your points and hopefully going forward "the guest journey" should be seamless and not pressured in anyway I do hope we will see you again in the future. Thank you for the constructive points you have raised Kind Regards Jason Adams MANAGING DIRECTOR
Read more
Disappointed customer wrote a review Jul 2022
Pickering, United Kingdom8 contributions3 helpful votes
Rockliffe Hall you never disappoint, My daughter and I are have been coming here for the past few years and this establishment takes some beating. The Staff you are impeccable , I never look at name badges , I just want to Say the staff in the Orangery Restaurant are first class , beautiful food, I think the manager working when we attended was called Dave he was excellent in all areas . The Clubhouse warm and welcoming , excellent service from the staff . Lovely spa area , I really don’t blame you not serving Prosecco by the pool anymore , Lovely treatments, i think it was better when after a treatment you went into a relaxation room , this time I felt as though I was marched straight to the spar shop , Comments say there is no hard sale but I personally thought that’s what it felt like , I felt guilty for not buying something and actually saw the lady who did my treatment roll her eyes , that’s fair enough , I love beautiful Rockliffe and will always return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Adams, Other at Rockliffe Hall
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear 43jillk Thank you so much for your wonderful 5 star review. We are delighted that you continue to join and it gets better every time. I will of course let the team know in the Spa and Clubhouse especially, and really pleased you are positive about our no alcohol policy in the main pool area, this has definitely stopped bad behaviour and abuse to the team We very much look forward to seeing you again very soon Kind Regards Jason Adams MANAGING DIRECTOR
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$304 - US$433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rockliffe hall hotel hurworth-on-tees
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCounty DurhamDarlingtonHurworth-on-Tees
NUMBER OF ROOMS
77
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Rockliffe Hall
What are some of the property amenities at Rockliffe Hall?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Rockliffe Hall?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Rockliffe Hall?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Rockliffe Hall?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rockliffe Hall?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Orangery, The Clubhouse Kitchen & Bar, and The Comet Hotel.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Rockliffe Hall?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Rockliffe Hall?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Rockliffe Hall offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Rockliffe Hall?
Many travellers enjoy visiting David Mach's Train Sculpture, Darlington (5.3 km), Durham Town Hall (5.0 km), and Tees Cottage Pumping Station (5.8 km).
Does Rockliffe Hall have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.