We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Save
Share
South Baddesley Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 5ZB England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
FindHotel
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (674)
360
Panoramas (27)
Room & Suite (414)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 21/05/16 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Updated 21/05/16 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 7 hotels in Lymington
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is an idyllic retreat located on the stunning Solent Coast, only 15 minutes’ walk from the nearby town of Lymington. This New Forest hotel is a quick 5-minute walk from Lymington Pier train station and a short 30-minute journey from Southampton Airport. The Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is the ideal venue for a weekend break or a romantic wedding in the Hampshire countryside. Swim in the indoor or seasonal outdoor pool, as one of the few hotels in New Forest with a spa, why not book in for a spa treatment? Or simply relax in the spacious accommodation. Located on the edge of the New Forest National Park, you'll find Macdonald Elmers Court, a magnificent 23-acre country estate. Perfect lawns and landscaped gardens surround the Tudor style manor house offering beautiful views over the Solent. Many say that Elmers is where the forest meets the sea. The impressive manor house in the centre of the estate has been previously used as a spy training school and boasts the most beautiful lawns and gardens. The 19th-century manor house overlooks our Queen Mary lawn and the Lymington River. Admire the views over the nearby marina, soak up the sun on the swimming pool terraces, or play croquet or tennis in the shade of tall and stately trees. Nearby you'll find the gorgeous Georgian town of Lymington, which is also the port for the regular ferry service to the Isle of Wight. Further afield, you'll find the North Solent Nature Reserve, Beaulieu Estate, Paultons Family Theme Park and many maritime attractions such as Buckler's Hard. Choose from two excellent restaurants on-site; Our Solent Restaurant, where we serve delicious afternoon teas, as well as our superb, relaxed dining menu. For a sophisticated dining experience, visit The Waterford Restaurant, where you'll experience great British food amidst the most spectacular landscapes. Join us for a post-dinner nightcap at our beautiful wood-panelled Tudors lounge and bar within our main manor house, the perfect place to relax and unwind. Being one of the finest luxury hotels within Lymington, Elmer Court offers exquisite food and beautifully landscaped gardens that create the perfect oasis for a relaxing or romantic break away. Our outstanding, personal customer service will set your holiday apart. If you want to explore further afield, there's plenty to keep you entertained. Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel and Resort is the ideal base for an array of outdoor activities, from horse riding to paddle boarding or exploring New Forest National Park's best. We are close to Bournemouth and Southampton towns, less than 30 minutes from the M27. Our well-kept grounds are ideal for team building events. Our conference facilities can accommodate up to 120 delegates; our hotel provides a relaxing and comfortable retreat from the office's stresses and strains. We have a range of technologies along with uncompromised luxury. Not only do we have complimentary Wi-Fi, parking we are one of the only hotels in New Forest with an outdoor pool, and Thermal Spa. Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is indeed one of the best hotels in the New Forest - for every occasion from weddings to corporate events and VIP meetings. Our staff look forward to welcoming you during your upcoming visit.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Squash
Business Centre with Internet Access
Secured parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Tennis court
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Head massage
Massage
Solarium
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Bathrobes
Room service
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
2157Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 721
  • 635
  • 400
  • 227
  • 174
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jethroxUk wrote a review 19 Jul
UK62 contributions51 helpful votes
Was a bit worried about the stay after reading some reviews but we, as a family had a lovely weekend staying here. We found the staff friendly and helpful and the facilities were good. The hotel grounds are very nice as is the outdoor pool. In a great location to catch the ferry to IOW or the train into Lymington town or beyond. The only thing that could be improved were the breakfasts where I think things like the sausages etc could be a bit better quality but overall very good
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Watts, Owner at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Responded 5 days ago
Dear jethroxUk, Thank you for your constructive feedback. We were pleased that, overall, your stay was satisfactory. Sadly these sites can become a bit of a complaints forum so it is lovely to add some balance. As General Manager I value your feedback immensely and take on board your points. The necessary action will be taken to resolve the issues raised where ever possible. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Yours sincerely, Mark Watts Resort General Manager
Read more
Gareth T wrote a review 19 Jul
18 contributions
+1
First the positives: - The location is great - The staff are lovely and really go out of their way - The bed and pillows are super comfortable Now the negatives: - We paid 300 quid per night (discounted mind you!) for a room that Premier Inn wouldn't stick you in for 100. - The bath needed re-caulking, not a big job but lots of black mold under it - There were panels that had been replaced (poorly) under the sink - A loose wire dangled down next to the towel rail - The toilet didn't flush properly, you have to wait at least 30 mins before using it again - The kick panel on the bathroom door was rusty - The decor looks like it hasn't changed since the chalet was built, late 80's? Lots of chitzy gold and big ugly switches - There is no bottled water in the room at all - There is no fridge in the room - The fan provided was rickety and difficult to point in the right direction, of course there is no aircon so prepare to boil alive in the summer - You have a balcony but not even any plastic chairs to sit on - The breakfast has to be booked ahead of time (by 9 night before) and you really have no idea what you are getting (what is in the Vegan for instance?), the choices are very limited indeed for such a pricy high-end spa, boxed cereals, pastries which I doubt were made there scrambled eggs with salmon, porridge just with honey in it (no option to add fruit or anything). I could go on And all of this for 300 quid a night or possibly more if someone doesn't see the discount on their website. Wife and I have had the privilege of staying a fair few spa hotels and this was by far the worst for which she coined the phrase "its like the Butlins of spa hotels". Indeed it is...and if you want something emblematic the fountain in the back lawn full of algae and quite disgusting is one, it looks nothing like the picture here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Watts, Owner at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Responded 5 days ago
Dear 7garetht, Thank you for your constructive feedback. We were sorry to read that we were unable to meet your expectations on this occasion. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you encountered. As General Manager I value your feedback immensely and take on board your points. The necessary action will be taken to rectify the points raised where possible. We are planning extensive works from January to enhance the product here at Elmers and continue to strive to improve. We hope you will try us again in the future and we would look forward to welcoming you back. Yours sincerely, Mark Watts Resort General Manager
Read more
DoulaBeverley wrote a review 14 Jul
Grendon Underwood, United Kingdom164 contributions65 helpful votes
+1
Reading the reviews I was slightly worried what we’d let ourself in for. We booked for Two nights 9-11th July. We’ve stayed at several other McDonald Hotels. Having had to book the spa and pool at a previous hotel I was slightly cross that I was unable to book for here ahead of our trip. As soon as we checked in we went to the leisure desk to book the pool, expecting to be told it was already fully booked. We were pleasantly surprised when all our requests were met. On our first visit to the pool we were shown round by a lovely member of staff ( tennis coach) who could not have been more helpful. ( I’d know his name if name badges were worn). We then went to the restaurant for lunch. We were unable to eat outside as the steps were having maintenance done on them. ( couldn’t this have been done during lockdown). The lunch menu was limited to sandwiches but they came with crisps and salad and were very nice. Our room was an upstairs lodge room next to the pool. Spacious, clean and with a balcony. If would have been nice to have had a couple of chairs to sit on the balcony. There was also no bottled water or robes in the room . ( hence only scoring 4*). Breakfast was table service , orders taken the night before. No queue to be seated . Food was hot and choice was good. Dining room feels a bit dated and like a school dining room / conference room. The hotel grounds are beautiful to stroll around down to the sea and the hotel is situated walking distance from Lymington. ( a tidy walk) All the staff were very helpful . There was a new girl being trained on the front desk so a long queue built up at check in but at all other times it was empty. The hotel was very Covid compliant. I would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Watts, Owner at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear DoulaBeverley , Thank you for such positive feedback. We are pleased to read that you had a great stay at the Resort. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Yours sincerely, Mark Watts Resort General Manager
Read more
mark c wrote a review 13 Jul
London, United Kingdom15 contributions10 helpful votes
The worst and definitely the last visit. I booked a stay for my wife and daughter as they have both worked right through this difficult time, pre lockdown they had several stays but this time will be the last. I left 5 voicemails with the spa over 3 weeks no response at all. I spoke to reception twice who spoke to and emailed the spa manager asking them to call me. No response. I eventually got a call from one of the beauticians 36 hours before the stay, who was very pleasant and apologetic. On the day of the stay my wife and daughter arrived at approximately 15:00 to check in to be told the restaurant was fully booked as they had "a function" so they ended up eating in their room out of cardboard boxes. And the so called desert was so bad it got taken off the bill. I have contacted the hotel 3 times since the visit to discuss my issues with the general manager before leaving my review but alas, no communication. All in all I will not be booking again I'll take my business elsewhere. I should mention the reception, leasure and beauticians teams were very polite and tried to help.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Watts, Owner at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Mark, Thank you for your constructive feedback. We were sorry to read that we were unable to meet your expectations on this occasion. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you encountered. As General Manager I value your feedback immensely and take on board your points. I will investigate the issue regarding communication as I sadly was not informed you requested to contact me. If I had been made aware I would of course have spoken to you. We are extremely busy and my advise for all travelers in these times would be to book meals as part of your package to avoid disappointment. I apologies for the issues you encountered and we continue to develop and change in these challenging times. Yours sincerely, Mark Watts Resort General Manager
Read more
James Cochrane wrote a review 11 Jul
Denham, United Kingdom1 contribution
Pretty disappointing. We went for our anniversary and the room was spacious, but pretty tired… and the bathroom was a state. 8 broken tiles, shower screen seal was hanging off and just generally grotty throughout. I did mention this to the receptionist, and the manager was going to call me…. but alas, nothing was done. At £350 ish a night I would expect a bit better.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The Ferryman pub down the road was lovely for dinner
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Watts, Owner at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. If you would like to contact me directly on gm.elmerscourt@macdonald-hotels.co.uk I would be happy to discuss. Kind regards, Mark Watts General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$95 - US$233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
macdonald elmers court hotel lymington, macdonald elmers court hotel and resort, macdonald elmers court lymington, elmers court
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireNew ForestLymington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort?
Nearby attractions include The Solent Way Walk (0.1 km), Lymington Sea Water Baths (0.7 km), and Lymington Yacht Haven (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Elderflower Lymington, Cafe Tres Bon, and Lounges of Lymington.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Polish.