We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Edgerton Hotel

Traveller (21)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (1)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
A Family run Hotel, featuring a beautiful period property with great hospitality and service.Offering free on-site car parking and free Wi-Fi, Edgerton Hotel is a 10-minute walk from Huddersfield town centre and 0.5 miles from the bus and railway stations. It's 1 mile away from Huddersfield University, only 1.3 miles from Galpharm Stadium and 1.1 miles away from Huddersfield Royal Infirmary. There's a bus stop right outside the Hotel with buses running regularly towards town centre. The beautiful Victorian Hotel is based on the A629 towards Halifax. It's approximately 5 mins away from Greenhead Park and 2 mins away from Kirklees college. about 2.5 miles (4 km) from junction 24 of the M62.Free private parking is available on site, with closed-circuit TV surveillance for additional security and our reception is open 24 hours a day so you can check in at your leisure.There are 30 spacious and comfortable rooms, all of which are en suite with POWER showers. Each room has a TV, a telephone, a fridge, tea/coffee making facilities Ironing boards, irons and hair dryers. Guests also have access to a microwave to warm up their food if required and there are plenty of local take aways, restaurants and pubs to eat out.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast Available
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Refrigerator in room
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
68Somewhat walkable
Grade: 68 out of 100
100Restaurantswithin 1 km
18Attractionswithin 1 km
143Reviews
67Photos
1Q+A
30Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 66
  • 44
  • 17
  • 5
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stayed here with my partner and 2 small children in a family room for 4. Staff were friendly and professional. Gentleman who checked us in (at 11.30pm!), had no qualms when we asked for a room upstairs instead of the one allocate to us - changed it in a matter on minutes and
Read more
Regrettably I hadn't read other reviews of this hotel before booking, or I would have been aware of the awful conditions on the sign in sheet you are presented with on arrival. In particular, "Any visitors taken into the guest room will be charged for at a rate of £25/person
Read more
Response from EdgertonGuestHouse, Manager at Edgerton Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Roger, thank you for your review, however I believe it is completely unfair. Your partner arrived during the day, before you did. She was checked in, and she signed the sign in sheet after reading it. She was asked whether the gentleman with her was the second guest, which she replied he wasn't. The receptionist showed her to the room, asked her if that would be fine for her, to which she said it would. If she, (or you, when you later arrived) found the room to be insufficient, we would have gladly changed it for you however there’s not much we can do if you choose not to inform us. The receptionist then reminded her about the no extra guests policy as the gentleman had followed them both down to the room. She explained she would need a little time to sort it out by speaking to yourself and the other friend. The receptionist, after offering the dining room which was empty and free to use, or an upgrade to a bigger, Quad room, left them in the room so she could ask the manager if there was any leeway on the charges. After later informing your partner that the Manager agreed to discount the fee, she left both parties in the room to decide at leisure what they’d like to do. Your partner then later came to reception to pay the fee. She ‘warn[ed]’ the receptionist that you were not happy. Twice. You later arrived, having a go at another member of staff who had just taken over the shift, demanding to see the manager expressing your discontent. The first receptionist arrived, to whom you behaved intimidatingly banging your hand repeatedly on the reception and shouting loud enough for guests in other rooms to hear you and accusing the receptionist of forcing your partner to pay (which was NOT correct). After she explained everything to you, you asked her: “you know we’re going to annihilate you for this, don’t you?” once the other member of staff had left reception to attend to another guest. You persisted arguing even though you asked to speak to the manager and the receptionist concluded you could resolve the matter with him as you weren’t happy to listen to her. We do not bow down to such threatening behavior at Edgerton Hotel. We do not pick and choose who to apply the policies to, we treat every single one of our guests equally. We run a business where guests pay to use the facilities we provide. Double means two. You booked a double, there were more than two people using the room. We do not understand why you feel this is unfair, it is very simple.
Read more
The rooms are nice .it's obviously an on going project ..so at the moment you can hear every thing out in the corridor as the doors don't meet the floor. The showers lovely . It's a listed building so be careful if disabled ..the lower ground floor rooms have curved ceilings so
Read more
Response from EdgertonGuestHouse, Manager at Edgerton Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Sue, thank you for your review. However I would like to address some of the issues you have raised. Firstly, upon check in you were made aware of the no guest policy to the bedroom. The receptionist did offer for you to use our dining room but you agreed to pay for the extra guests. When your partner was made aware of the extra charges he threatened to 'annihilate' us on tripadvisor, which was very unfortunate. When I spoke to your partner upon check out and explained to him that on occasions we have had guests taking up to seven extra people into the bedrooms therefore we have a standard policy where no other guests are allowed to enter the rooms without us being informed (for health and safety and for fire safety reasons) and also for an extra charge. We offered you a substantial discount but the receptionist felt very intimidated by your partners behaviour and by his tone of voice. We do state very clearly that extra guests will be charged for regardless of duration of stay and its not in small print. We run a business and cant let guests stay free of charge. The room you stayed in is a beautiful arch shaped room and you are correct to state it is listed. The room adds to the character of the building, however if you had requested for the room to be changed, we would have gladly done so.
Read more
The room was nice, clean with a modern bathroom. The location makes it walkable to the train station and centre of town. There was a little noise as mentioned by others but this was other customers so can't be helped. The check-in was great with everything explained well and up
Read more
Response from EdgertonGuestHouse, Manager at Edgerton Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Jessica. Thank you for your review and for all the positive feedback. We have recently made a number of changes to the breakfast service. We have a new plate warmer installed and we have invested in new and less industrial looking food warmers which provide adequate heat to keep the food warm. We can't cook food exactly to everyone's taste, however we do make provisions for a freshly cooked breakfast when requested. The buffet is there to cater for as many as fifty people when required and the reason why you possibly didn't see a member of staff when you first entered the dining room was was probably due to the fact we provide a breakfast in bed service throughout the week and the dining room staff were most likely delivering someones breakfast. We didn't charge you twice as the first transaction was a preauthorisation which was refunded when requested as you paid using a different card to the one you used to book the room. Overall we are happy you enjoyed your stay and we would definitely recommend you sample our breakfast in the future.
Read more
I booked this hotel and to my regret it was. I was awoken @ 7am to be hassled for a fee that I had previously arranged to cover. The man claiming to the manager in plain clothes pretending to be “room Service” accompanied by 2 more men proceed shouting loud enough to wake my 5
Read more
Response from EdgertonGuestHouse, Manager at Edgerton Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Sara. I am sorry to read your review. However, considering you initially sneaked in and that you and your daughter weren't even paying guests, we don't believe this review is fair. Your family had originally booked two rooms adequate for five people. On the first night they sneaked an extra two children into the rooms and upon asking for payment your family members became extremely aggressive and said they weren't prepared to pay. After half an hour worth of negotiating they agreed to pay but never actually did. Your bank card was declined and we asked for the extra guests to leave and your sister agreed that no more extra guests will be coming to the hotel again. Eventually £50 was paid for the the extra guests for one nights stay (although the extra guests had occupied the room all day Saturday too). Also on the same night you and your daughter sneaked into the building and upon finding out we demanded you either pay for the room or leave the premises. Upon hearing our demands you began yelling and hailing abuse at myself and my two colleagues. You were shouting so loud that guests from the ground floor and the first floor woke up. When we asked you to calm down you said "I'm gonna wake everyone up in this place." When we saw no other option, we had to call the police who told you that you can't stay in the hotel without paying. Your family had an extra night booked, which I was quite happy to cancel after deducting the relevant charges. The police told us that 'You were aware of what you were doing' and they had to call backup i.e. an extra officer to deal with your aggressive behavior. Overall we were happy to see you leave and we would never allow you to book with ourselves again. On the sign in sheet, it clearly states extra guests will be charged for and we are not sure how we could be clearer about that.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Photo provided by managementEdgerton Hotel
Photo provided by managementEdgerton Hotel
Family Room on our new wing
Photo provided by managementEdgerton Hotel
Family Room for 4
These are the photographs of room 2 that I stayed in. Damp, cold, smelt and NEVER going to stay
These are the photographs of room 2 that I stayed in. Damp, cold, smelt and NEVER going to stay
PreviousNext
1234568
No problem here for us when we stayed, maybe changed management
2 votes
Show all answers
"Very narrow staircase. No problem from noisy traffic etc even though room was front of the hotel."
"Avoid Room 23 - sandwiched between back door and kitchen so noisy!"
"Noisier at the front of the building due to the busy main road."
"We had room overlooking carpark which was quiet"
"Choose one in a different hotel!"
PreviousNext
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$65 - US$110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Edgerton Guest House
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireWest YorkshireHuddersfield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing