We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EQ England
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Book Direct and Save 10%
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
View all 18 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (756)
Room & Suite (246)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 21/07/28 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Updated 21/07/28 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#7 of 41 hotels in Eastbourne
Travellers' Choice
England's only five-star seaside hotel, The Grand in Eastbourne is one of the UK's most magnificent hotels. Variously described as a 'White Palace' and 'Wedding Cake', the majestic landmark property occupies a prime spot on the town's seafront with panoramic views along the coast and towards the cliffs at Beachy Head.Facilities include 152 beautiful bedrooms, many with stunning sea views. 2 Award winning Restaurants. Indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, fully equipped Gymnasium and 8 beauty rooms.
Read more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct and Save 10%


Full view
89Good for walkers
Grade: 89 out of 100
0Restaurantswithin 0 km
0Attractionswithin 0 km
King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EQ England
Getting there
Heathrow Airport94 kmSee all flights
Lydd Intl Airport50 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
3826Reviews45Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2 320
  • 866
  • 383
  • 170
  • 88
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Zach H wrote a review Yesterday
Brighton, United Kingdom6 contributions8 helpful votes
My partner and I visited for lunch on Saturday 18th September. We had drinks in the lounge bar followed by lunch in the Mirabelle. We come to the hotel either to stay or to eat and have a drink reasonably regularly. It has been a restful, civilised tonic for us during what has also been a hugely stressful time for everyone over the last 18 months or so. As usual, last Saturday was a pleasure - Harry and his unflappable team in the bar continue to do their utmost to look after their customers during what must have been the most trying of circumstances - (anyone who has kept up with the news in even the most cursory of ways must know the difficulties all levels of this sector have been having). Lunch in the Mirabelle was also a relaxed pleasure and our thanks to all of the helpful and knowledgeable there too - both seen and unseen. I wish a few more people on here had the attitude of Jake below. Most people have had a hell of a year and the staff at this hotel (in common with all others in this sector) deserve high praise for making efforts to keep service at their pre covid standards, but they are only human. Of course things go wrong - I was in a very high end establishment in London last week where this happened and had a quiet word with the manager who put things right on the spot. I always think it is better to give people the chance to put things right on the day rather than venting spleen (often spuriously) after the event, on this and other review sites. Be kind. Staff serving you have probably been through the mill in the last year too!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Jake wrote a review Yesterday
Huntingdon, United Kingdom1 contribution
We had a lovely week at the Grand at the beginning of September with family. Breakfast was excellent though the service was a bit slow (lack of staff in the industry a contributing factor so we simply relaxed and enjoyed ourselves). The restaurant manager was a star. Here every day, every service. He was off on the Thursday of our departure and by Wednesday dinner, he looked in need of a well earned rest. We were on a DBB rate, which had a £42pp dinner allowance. This is ample. The menu is asterisked with dishes you can have if you fancy three courses but as I generally only have two, there’s not much you can’t have (two courses) for £42. The fillet steak was superb, as was the lobster. You are offered a time slot for breakfast as the venue is still covid aware. Some people on here seem to have an issue with this. They’ve obviously been living under a rock for the past year and a half. Or simply like to moan. And a tip for the reviewer who was whining about the charge for the latte - this costs considerably more to make both in ingredients and labour. If you really, truly understood five star hotels, you’d know that these things are ALWAYS charged for. The room was clean, bright and fresh. Though the housekeeping needs to be a bit sharper in replacing the coffees and teas. One tea bag for two is a bit tight. Also, an in room fridge would be a huge plus. It’s almost an expectation of a five star hotel. There is a lot to like about this hotel. Not least it being nice to walk into a hotel that invokes an era of romanticism as opposed to the soulless corporate bed factories that are so prevalent today. There are some minor niggles that have stoped me giving five stars, because for five star prices, you expect five star service and on occasions, this was lacking. Mainly due to not enough staff as the staff that were there were superb.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
davidandmel wrote a review 18 Sep
Birmingham, United Kingdom1275 contributions472 helpful votes
Firstly they trumpet about being a 5 star - well I have stayed in lots of places in the world and 5 star this ain't. It does have some plus points - a beautiful building in a prime location, an excellent guy on the front door who sorts out parking etc and is informal and really helpful, grand public rooms and an excellent breakfast. However, the downs outweigh the ups. Our room had an inland view which was actually a flat roof and ventilation shafts, the shower head was clogged so water sprayed in various directions and the whole room was tired and dated. The bar staff are sweet and friendly but the service is all over the place - they tried to charge £150 for 4 drinks - none of which were ours and got terribly confused sorting it out. I accept they stated on the web booking that breakfast had to be prebooked due to Covid, but it was buried in the small print....... when I emailed them about a week before arrival they gave me a choice of 7.30 or after 10 - neither option was great but we took the later slot. You could have breakfast in your room but we really had no intention of doing that - we hadn't paid all that money to not have it in the lovely dining room. We had a latte the 2nd day and were advised there was a supplement for this and on checkout discovered it was nearly £5 each plus service charge! Hang on - you are bringing the normal tea and coffee but charging extra to bring a different type - just bizarre. We complained on check out and the young guy was polite enough but you could just tell he didn't give a monkeys. It is clear to us that they are trading on their history and catering to a predominately elderly, wealthy clientele who have been visiting for years but they are not doing anywhere near enough to attract another type of guest. We will definitely not return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Response from Jonathan Webley, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Responded yesterday
Thank you for posting a review. Pleased you found our location good along with helpful Concierge and also appreciated our beautiful hotel. Our rooms come in all shapes, sizes and rates, with different views and had the shower head been reported, the team would have been more than happy to rectify. Apologies that you had some issues in the bar, this shouldn't have happened. We appreciate all your comments, of which will be shared with the teams to use constructively.
Read more
Mike G wrote a review 17 Sep
Eastbourne, United Kingdom27 contributions5 helpful votes
My wife gifted us a one night stay, with sea view, evening meal, & breakfast. We were joined by 3 family members for the dinner in the less formal but smart Garden Room. Two of us were vegetarians with no liking for mushrooms; this wasn't a problem as the mushrooms were replaced by the desired cheese for their delicious gnocchi. Three of us enjoyed perfectly cooked steaks. We were also presented with a dainty cup of soup as a complimentary starter, very tasty & a nice touch. Our morning swim in the heated outdoor pool set us up for a good hearty breakfast. Throughout our short stay staff were upbeat, courteous, helpful, & attentive without being overbearing - even presenting me with a birthday card. This splendidly-located hotel is mature in years & a reminder of perhaps more gentile times; as a result it probably is due for a significant financial investment to restore the physical fabric however these are tough times for a business & it didn't detract from.our stay. So we'll done to the staff & their immediate management for creating a good experience.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If arriving late parking is an issue.
See more room tips
Response from Jonathan Webley, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Responded yesterday
Thank you for a wonderful 5* review. We are absolutely thrilled you had an enjoyable celebration at The Grand, finding the staff courteous and attentive, they do go the extra mile in providing exceptional service. We have an ongoing programme of refurbishment, thank you for all your comments. We look forward to the next time. Best wishes for your birthday.
Read more
TravellerUK79 wrote a review 16 Sep
London, United Kingdom102 contributions27 helpful votes
It’s a nice enough hotel - lovely pool (which was empty when I went!) and jacuzzi. The breakfast is good and the staff always friendly. However, the hotel as a whole is dated in its decor (most guests are elderly to be fair though). It’s not classic - it’s tired. The cleanliness around the communal areas could be better (lots of dead flies in the staircase, pretty gross!). The rooms were a let down as they don’t have fridges - unusual for a 5-star hotel - and my double bed was REALLY uncomfortable (it sagged in the middle where they had put 2 single beds together ). I would summarise by saying you could have a perfectly decent stay but there is definitely better out there
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking limited Double beds are 2 singles linked together so May sag in the middle Great spa
See more room tips
Response from Jonathan Webley, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for posting a review. Pleased you enjoyed breakfast and good service from the staff. The Grand is a traditional style hotel with an ongoing programme of refurbishment. Fridges are available on request, the staff would have been more than happy to supply one for you. All your feedback is appreciated.
Read more
United KingdomEnglandEast SussexEastbourne
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
Which popular attractions are close to The Grand Hotel Eastbourne?
Nearby attractions include Devonshire Park Theatre (0.3 km), Towner Art Gallery (0.2 km), and Eastbourne Lifeboat Museum (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Grand Hotel Eastbourne?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Green Almond, Rosetto, and Godfrey's Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is The Grand Hotel Eastbourne located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Eastbourne.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Grand Hotel Eastbourne?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Grand Hotel Eastbourne offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Grand Hotel Eastbourne?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Redoubt Fortress & The Pavilion (2.3 km) and East Dean War Memorial (5.4 km).