We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Paco Real, Obidos 2510-999 Portugal
3 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$298
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/08/19
Booking.com
US$287
View deal
Destinia.com
US$224
View deal
PestanaUS$298
Hotels.comUS$298
getaroom.comUS$304
View all 17 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (733)
360
Panoramas (6)
Room & Suite (208)

About

#2 of 45 Specialty lodging in Obidos
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The Pousada do Castelo de Óbidos is located in Vila de Óbidos and is one of the 7 wonders of Portugal. This Pousada is of enormous historical importance and includes medieval features from the 9th century. The castle was given as a wedding present by King D. Dinis to Queen Santa Isabel during their wedding that took place on site. This castle is one of the most impressive and romantic sites you can visit. It includes common areas such as the restaurant and Castelo bar. Don't forget the impressive esplanade together with the reception. At the Pousada de Óbidos you can choose to stay in the castle and have an authentic medieval experience or stay in the Casa do Castelo (located right next to the castle), where you will have an experience closer to that of living in town.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Horseback riding
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Room service
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Safe
Telephone
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Portuguese
882Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 508
  • 209
  • 93
  • 47
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
734gerardog wrote a review Jul 2022
San Antonio, Texas6 contributions
Great views of the town, did not have any issues during my 2 day stay. I did not stay in the castle tower rooms (there's rooms in the actual tower). Fast check-in and out, good breakfast and service. Pricey but worth it for the experience. Had family room for 4 (2 separate rooms which connected). Walk wasn't as bad as I expected, as long as you don't have very heavy luggage or any physical impairments you should be fine. (steep walk and some steps, cobblestone streets). I saw few elderly ppl who managed just fine.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Corneliu Popa, General Manager at Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr. 734gerardog, We were delighted to hear that your recent stay at Pousada Castelo Óbidos was delightful and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Our team would like to thank you for your very kind feedback. Many thanks for choosing Pousada Castelo Óbidos for your holiday. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel. Kind regards, The Team at Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Read more
bethpindc wrote a review Jun 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia737 contributions414 helpful votes
I loved the town of Obidos and am glad I stayed here at the base of the castle. I didn't stay in a castle room and was in the more modern section. The room was quiet and the bed was ok. This is a good one-night stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Corneliu Popa, General Manager at Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Responded 30 Jun 2022
Dear Mrs. Beth P, On behalf of our entire team at Pousada Castelo Óbidos, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs. It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pousada Castelo Óbidos. Best regards, The Team at Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Read more
Den wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
A small group (4) of us had the please of staying at Pousada Castelo Óbidos on our way from Porto to Alvor in the Algarve. Service was excellent and everyone made sure we had everything we needed. Rooms were very comfortable and breakfast was in their restaurant which was a lovely location. Selection of food and quality was great. Tomas was very helpful during check-in and check-out. The lady who checked us into the hotel was also very helpful and made a reservation at a great restaurant for us.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Corneliu Popa, General Manager at Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Responded 17 Jun 2022
Dear M. Denqr, Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Pousada Castelo Óbidos. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the experience and our team's dedicated, attentive, and professional service. Your comments make us proud and serve as an incentive for continuously improving our service and striving for excellence. It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you as our Guest. We would like to thank you for staying at Pousada Castelo Óbidos, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best regards, The Team at Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Read more
jtodd4 wrote a review Jun 2022
Winston Salem, North Carolina19 contributions8 helpful votes
We very much looked forward to our 25th anniversary at the Pousada. Let me start by saying that it is a stunningly beautiful property and the staff upon check in was fabulous showing us to our room and even carrying our luggage up the stairs to our premium tower room. We booked the most expensive room in the property at 450 Euros/night and thought that very fair for the experience we expected...in the tower of a Medieval castle. The room was dated and quite spartan which didn't bother us that badly at first. Upon returning from dinner however, we found that the air conditioner had shut off and had not cooled the room down. Someone from the front desk came up and got it to start working but after about 10 minutes, it turned off again and the room was very hot. In addition, we could hear every step and every voice from the room next door (the tower was divided into two rooms). Not the fault of the guests as they were just going about their evening as we were but in addition to the hot room, it made it unbearable. At 1230am, we called the front desk again and requested another room. Fortunately, there was one room available in another part of the hotel that we were moved to. It was a very nice room and the a/c worked so we settled in after 1am to get some rest. But, the adventure continued. When my wife got out of the shower the next morning, we discovered that the shower didn't drain and the entire bathroom floor was flooded. We used every towel in the room to soak up the water but there still remained a mess and I was unable to shower that morning for fear of the same mess and not having any more dry towels. So, off we go to check out since we were only there one night and were offered a whopping 10% discount off the 450 Euro tower room, which we didn't even sleep in, four our trouble. Breakfast was fantastic, the grounds were lovely, and except for the hostess checking us out, the staff was very accommodating. We really wanted to love this place and feel that it was very capable of doing so, but it fell well short of the mark. Perhaps experiencing the authentic privations of Medieval castle life is part of the experience but it was not as advertised and I expect far more from a brand like Pestana. I absolutely will not advise people to not stay here, but this was our experience.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Avoid the tower rooms.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Corneliu Popa, General Manager at Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Responded 17 Jun 2022
Dear M. jtodd4, We would like to thank you for giving us your honest opinion on your stay. Unfortunately, we did not satisfy your expectations. We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have taken note of all the issues mentioned so that improvements can be made in the short-term. We appreciate that you chose Pousada Castelo Óbidos for your stay. We hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our high service standards and regain your trust during your next visit. Kind regards, The Team at Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Read more
Alex V wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Óbidos is a great medieval town with ramparts around it, and the castle is attached to the ramparts. Our castle double room was not very big but comfortable (and rather dark, but that's expected from a castle), and the bathroom was a good size. Breakfast in the restaurant was varied and stylish - we got up rather early on the Sunday to make sure we could sit next to one of the beautiful windows with a view. Exploring the common areas, especially going up one of the castle towers, was definitely a plus. Staff was helpful and polite.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Yuliya Kathrein wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
We had a fantastic stay in a pousada that is adjacent to a castle. This stay allows the guests to visit the inside of the castle and to dine in. Dinner was fantastic and is a must if you stay at the pousada. Views are sweeping and you are treated like royalty. Food and wine was fabulous as well. We had half board package. Highly recommend it!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jorge Quaresma, General Manager at Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Responded 23 May 2022
Dear Mr./Mrs. YKcitizen, On behalf of the entire team at Pousada Castelo Óbidos, we would like to thank you for your kind feedback. It is delightful for us to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that we could help you create beautiful memories. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our Pousada. Warm regards, Jorge Quaresma - Unit Manager
Read more
KimBocaRaton_Florida wrote a review May 2022
Boca Raton, Florida121 contributions73 helpful votes
The rooms really are in a castle -- that is, a centuries old castle that was partially destroyed, then reimagined and rebuilt to house a hotel. But many of the rooms involve approaching up flights of outdoor stone stairs, then sometimes more stairs inside. Some rooms are even in the castle towers. So staying there is something of an adventure. You definitely want to pare down your luggage and get their nice staff to assist you carrying up! Furnishings include antiques and nice old paintings and textiles. The dining room is lovely; breakfast is beautifully laid out and sumptuous. Views from the rooms and the lawn near reception and the various terraces are gorgeous. Rooms and bathrooms are not large by US standards, but the whole idea is that you're in a castle, so just go with it! This is not for the really elderly or infirm, but for those with decent knees, it's a treat.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Room 201 overlooked interior courtyard, another tower & surrounding countryside. terrace.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jorge Quaresma, General Manager at Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Responded 07 May 2022
Dear Mr./Mrs. KimBocaRaton_Florida, On behalf of our entire team at Pousada Castelo Óbidos, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs. It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pousada Castelo Óbidos. Best regards, Jorge Quaresma - Unit Manager
Read more
davidmatthes wrote a review May 2022
Houston, Texas271 contributions127 helpful votes
Enjoyable experience in this castle, now a pousada. Very medieval castle-like inside and out. Rooms on small side but for 1 or 2 nights OK. Lots of stairs and climbing to get around to the castle and within the castle; no elevators. Excellent service. We'd recommend. Good location at highest point in Obidos.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jorge Quaresma, General Manager at Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Responded 03 May 2022
Dear Mr. David, On behalf of the entire team at Pousada Castelo Óbidos, we would like to thank you for your kind feedback. It is delightful for us to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that we could help you create beautiful memories. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our Pousada! Warm regards, Jorge Quaresma - Unit Manager
Read more
Glenn K wrote a review Apr 2022
Winston Salem, North Carolina286 contributions91 helpful votes
+1
Having a hotel room in a castle is like a destination within itself. The walled city of Obedos was very interesting with lots of food vendors, restaurants, and merchants all within an easy walk from the castle. If you are daring, you can even walk along the city wLls for great views. The buffet breakfast was excellent. There is on-site parking. The hotel staff are excellent, friendly, and speak English. This is a must-see destination if you are in central Portugal.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: You may find getting to your room a little challenging. There are no elevators and there is a...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jorge Quaresma, General Manager at Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Responded 22 Apr 2022
Dear Mr. Glenn K, On behalf of the entire team at Pousada Castelo Óbidos, we would like to thank you for your kind feedback. It is delightful for us to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that we could help you create beautiful memories. We look forward to hosting you again soon at our hotel! Warm regards, Jorge Quaresma - Unit Manager
Read more
Victor Alb I wrote a review Apr 2022
Las Rozas, Spain29 contributions6 helpful votes
54 steps to the open air, to go to breakfast. Several days in the rain. Multiple steps carrying luggage. You have to find a solution. I do not recommend the hotel for people over 50 years old if they carry more than a small backpack. So many stairs makes it difficult to enjoy the few services of the hotel, whatever you do, say and go down stone stairs in the open air. There is no internal communication, there is no one to carry your luggage, there is a lack of personnel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jorge Quaresma, General Manager at Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Responded 19 Apr 2022
Dear Mr./Mrs. Unevag, We would like to thank you for giving us your honest opinion on your stay. Unfortunately, we did not satisfy your expectations. We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have taken note of all the issues mentioned so that improvements can be made in the short-term. We appreciate that you chose Pousada Castelo Óbidos for your stay. We hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our high service standards and regain your trust during your next visit. Kind regards, Jorge Quaresma - Unit Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$167 - US$306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PortugalCentral PortugalLeiria DistrictObidos
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pousada Castelo Óbidos
Which popular attractions are close to Pousada Castelo Óbidos?
Nearby attractions include Obidos Village (0.2 km), Castelo de Óbidos (0.3 km), and Porta da Senhora da Piedade (Porta da Vila) (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Pousada Castelo Óbidos?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Pousada Castelo Óbidos?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Pousada Castelo Óbidos?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Pousada Castelo Óbidos?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pousada Castelo Óbidos?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pontinha, Real Casa Do Petisco, and A Nova Casa de Ramiro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pousada Castelo Óbidos?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Pousada Castelo Óbidos located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Obidos.
Does Pousada Castelo Óbidos offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Pousada Castelo Óbidos?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Pousada Castelo Óbidos?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Capela De São Martinho (0.3 km).