We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Port Owen Drive, Velddrif 7365 South Africa
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Official Hotel
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (127)
Room & Suite (33)
Pool & Beach (11)

About

#1 of 9 in Velddrif
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Situated in Velddrif on the Cape West Coast, just 150km from Cape Town Airport, on the banks of the marina, Port Owen offers spacious, well-appointed studio, 1 and 2-bedroom apartments. On-site facilities include; WiFi, wellness spa, daily entertainment, adventure golf, heated pool, fishing, general store, bird watching, bicycle hire, daily entertainment, kids playground, board games, games room, braai area, open-air chess, canoeing, water skiing, barge cruise, marina, private jetty, business centre, laundry Most apartments have access to a jetty and guests can bring their own boats and water sport equipment. Don't forget your binoculars, as the area is a birding hotspot.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Public wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Self-serve laundry
Kids club
Show more
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
193Reviews2Q+A52Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 118
  • 58
  • 9
  • 2
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
shanal wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
The location is beautiful. The accommodations is filthy! The bedding dirty, carpets are stained and has a damp smell. mould on walls. couches are stained and dirty. stove sticky and plates of stove in awful condition. bathrooms looks nice. I could not sit on any of the couches as they looked in urgent need of cleaning. There is also a terrible smell that I cannot pinpoint. The place needs a decent clean and furniture needs steam clean. The cleaning staff needs to be replaced as they clearly take no pride in the upkeep of the place. Reception people are amazing. Welcome was warm. I only stayed one night and could not wait to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Etynne S wrote a review Jan 2022
Cape Town Central, South Africa36 contributions5 helpful votes
We spent 4 days at the resort. Finding Reception was a bit confusing although there is a big sign board indicating the direction from the car park but the entrance was not clearly marked so we found ourselves [and another couple with the same dilemma] walking along the path to the apartments until someone guide us to the actual reception area. That said, the welcome was warm and friendly which made us feel relaxed and reassured of a good stay. My only complaint would be the housekeeping needs to be overhauled.. The floors were clean to look at but when you walked on it, it felt and sounded like you had sticky residue underneath your shoes. We removed our shoes, unpacked our groceries and discovered that our feet were filthy underneath as a result of the residue on the tiled floors. Needless to say, I set about giving the floors a wash [on hand and knees] with warm water which solved the issue. The carpets in the main bedroom were grubby and had scorched/burn marks on the right side of the bedside table. The blinds in the kitchen had layers of dust that needs to be washed off. Putting all of that aside, the apartment was located in a beautiful part of the mariner. Peaceful, relaxing with lots of bird life too. Will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Units 1 - 7 are in a good position for optimising the view across the mariner with protection...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Bruce Mxabo, General Manager at Port Owen Marina
Responded 21 Jan 2022
Good morning Etynne, Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate and looking forward to welcome you back on to the Resort in the near future :)
Read more
PeterV1 wrote a review Jan 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa310 contributions150 helpful votes
There is good reason why the Port Owen Marina was built where it was. It is situated in a beautiful location and is secluded enough to be enjoyable. If you are in the area it is well worth a visit as there are lots to do. You can take a scenic walk or stop into one of the specialty eateries on the Marina, all of which are great fun to visit.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bruce Mxabo, General Manager at Port Owen Marina
Responded 05 Jan 2022
Good morning Peter Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate and looking forward to welcome you back on to the Resort in the near future :) Kind Regards
Read more
Emarie B wrote a review Dec 2021
Paarl, South Africa725 contributions258 helpful votes
Please note that Port Owen is a part of the small coastal town Velddrift on the West Coast of South Africa. Port Owen surrounds a built marina which creates a very special atmosphere with small walk ways and lights at night. There are many different accommodation options, from exchanging holiday points, renting apartments or renting houses. We have been visiting it for over 30 years, and it remains a special destination.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Room Tip: Try to rent accommodation which directly faces onto the marina, it is a truly special experience
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bruce Mxabo, General Manager at Port Owen Marina
Responded 22 Dec 2021
Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate :)
Read more
Roam454177 wrote a review Dec 2021
Cape Town Central, South Africa1 contribution
Everything mentioned in the video is absent. I had a 7 day stay that I had to cut short. The chalet on arrival had dust on tables. Sloppy making up of beds. Disinterested manager. No WiFi connection unless you go to Reception. Zero activities except 1 blue pedal boat that works. They know the red one doesn’t work properly yet it is on the quay. Water disconnected without due notice. I and my family had a horrible experience. They left on Tuesday and I on Thursday instead of Friday. Needless to say Netflix and You Tube were not working.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Bruce Mxabo, General Manager at Port Owen Marina
Responded 22 Dec 2021
Good morning Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate and looking forward to welcome you back on to the Resort in the near Future. Kind Regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$48 - US$92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
port owen marina hotel cape town central
LOCATION
South AfricaWestern CapeVelddrif
NUMBER OF ROOMS
41
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Port Owen Marina
Which popular attractions are close to Port Owen Marina?
Nearby attractions include SA Fisheries Museum (1.8 km) and Emmertjie Velddrif (1.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Port Owen Marina?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
What food & drink options are available at Port Owen Marina?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Port Owen Marina?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Port Owen Marina?
Conveniently located restaurants include Russells on the Port, Charlie's Brewhouse Restaurant, and Die Vishuis Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Port Owen Marina?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Does Port Owen Marina have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the marina view available here.