MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam Amstel

MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam Amstel

This one is a KILLER !   I can’t even discrib this one with out getting hungry again :)   The Charcoal BBQ Grilled RIBS with a Really good BBQ Sauce…   Meat Lovers will appreciate this Big Boy for sure ;)  Hungry for more? Try the Side Dishes..
Traveller (108)
Room & Suite (30)
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
Videos (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#120 of 411 hotels in Amsterdam
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
MEININGER Amsterdam Amstel The new MEININGER Hotel in Amsterdam is part of the highest residential tower in Amsterdam and can be found directly opposite the Amstel train station. With attention to detail and design who reflects the movement of the water, the new MEININGER Amsterdam Amstel opened its doors in March 2018. Located directly at Amstel station, the historic center is just a few minutes away by train. The new building will comprise 186 rooms in the modern MEININGER standard. Our rooms are professionally cleaned and disinfected before every arrival. Please note: With our initiative "Mindful by nature" your room is only being cleaned upon request during your stay. If you wish to have your room cleaned, simply let us know at reception. Shared rooms are being cleaned daily.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Game room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Vending machine
Billiards
Shared kitchen
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Desk
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Dutch, Italian and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book direct & save up to 20%

Location

Julianaplein 6, 1097 DN Amsterdam The Netherlands
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 67 out of 100
67
Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
11.7 km
See all flights
Rotterdam Airport
Amsterdam Amstel
2 minAmsterdam Metro
1 Attraction
within 0.5 kilometers
446Reviews35Q+A19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 172
  • 155
  • 53
  • 27
  • 39
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Roberto M wrote a review Oct 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Super cool staff! The place looks comfortable and clean, staff is kind and funny. We've felt welcomed from the start of our staying and throughout the days and nights...... Lovely atmosphere also for working
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Madonna Stock, Guest Services / Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
Responded 28 Nov 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at MEININGER and we hope to welcome you again soon in Amsterdam! All the best and kind regards, Your MEININGER team Amsterdam Amstel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emma wrote a review Feb 2020
Adelaide, Australia95 contributions53 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My friends and I (three of us, in our twenties) stayed here for two nights when we stayed in Amsterdam. We loved this place! I booked in advance through Booking.com, and had no issues whatsoever. Checking in and paying on arrival was easy, and they could split the payment between me and my friends. Checking out just involved us dropping our key cards back at the desk.

The location of this place is great. It’s right next to Amstel station, which makes getting the metro into Amsterdam Central super easy. It probably takes about 15 minutes on the train, and there’s a train every ten minutes or so. The hotel was quiet overnight too, which was great.

We booked a triple room, and we got a room with two single beds and a set of bunk beds. This place would be ideal for large groups. The room was clean and tidy, with a good sized bathroom, plenty of power points, and space for our suitcases. The beds were comfortable and the room was just what we needed. There was also a large lock box underneath the bunk beds that we could put our valuables in and lock with one of our own padlocks from our suitcases.

The hotel also had lots of amenities, like free wifi and a bar downstairs, as well as a kitchen to cook your own food, and washing and drying facilities. I think it cost me £7 to put a whole load of washing on and dry it while at the hotel. They also had a large dining area, and arcade games, along with a photo booth, which we felt was pretty cool. The atmosphere of this place was great, and if we go back, we’ll definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MEININGERhotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
Responded 09 Feb 2020
Dear Emma, Our staff here is very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience immensely. That is exactly what we hope to offer to each and every guest - a memorable experience in which you are enjoying your stay fully and are looked after by our terrific staff. We are delighted that your stay was such a positive one and that our location was ideal for your needs. The convenience of the nearby station with access to trains, busses, trams and the metro cannot be beaten for our guests and we glad to hear that it enhanced your stay. Thanks for being a one-of-a-kind guest and for sharing such a nice review. Hope to see you again, All the best! Your Staff Meiniger Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nora T wrote a review Jun 2022
8 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great for solo travelers! In suite bathroom is CLUTCH compared to other hostel facilities and the location can’t be beat (if you are fine with using the public transportation options). The amstel station is literally one minute away so I felt safe coming back after dark since my walk was short & easy.

Staff was also friendly and helpful and even printed a concert ticket that I couldn’t print before I got to Europe bc it wasn’t available - so I felt like they went above & beyond!!

Only complaint is that the washer and dryer took FOREVER and some of my clothes got dyed pink but I don’t know that the facilities would be better at a different hostel. Maybe don’t use them tho idk.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Checking in right at 3 was super crowded but mostly bc there was a school trip so maybe that’s...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Abuchanan89 wrote a review Oct 2020
York, United Kingdom5 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Your location

MEININGER Hotel
Julianaplein 6, 1097 DN Amsterdam, Netherlands
Hotel
Angus Buchanan
71 points
19 minutes ago
Unfortunately, I have to leave a poor review after my experience with dealing with this hotel chain. We had booked a 4 night stay in a room of 6 from Thursday 12th November 2020 until Monday 16th November 2020. We have previously stayed at the hotel in October 2019 and were familiar with the chain in general, after staying at the City West hotel in January 2019 and the East Side Gallery hotel in Berlin earlier this month (October 2020). We booked this hotel due to the accessible room facilities. One of our party uses a wheelchair. Therefore, it is not possible for us to stay in one of the hotels nearer to the city centre as they often have narrow stairs and are without a lift facility. This limits our choice in terms of hotels. We are travelling from the UK and as of Tuesday 13th October 2020, the Dutch government required that any arrivals from the UK were required to self isolate for 10 days, even when in receipt of a negative coronavirus test. We had made the booking some time ago when no travel restrictions were in place. We contacted the airline who were happy to make provisions for us to rearrange our flights and made the process very simple and easy. However, when contacting the hotel to attempt to rearrange the hotel to a later date next year, we were initially informed that this could be done for a 50 Euro admin fee. Yet the hotel then changed their position and stated that they would not rearrange the booking despite the fact that we had already rearranged our flights. We have contacted the hotel on multiple occasions to say that we were not looking to cancel our booking but to simply rearrange the dates to a later date when coronavirus restrictions for UK travellers were relaxed. However, it could not be explained why the possibility of changing the dates had been withdrawn and we were directed to contact the intermediary with whom we made the booking through (Hotels.com), even though we explained that had (as anticipated) stated we needed to deal with the hotel directly. In light of the global pandemic and issues with travel restrictions, we are extremely disappointed with the conduct of the hotel. Having been a previous guest of the hotel, we are very surprised by the lack of co-operation and understanding that travel restrictions can disrupt a stay at short notice. This is particularly surprising given that our request was not to cancel the booking or request a refund in anyway, but to simply push back our stay to a later date, of course paying an additional fee for a higher rate and the admin fee. Furthermore, given that we require accessible facilities for a member of our party, it is disappointing that having found a hotel that we knew had said facilities. Unfortunately, now we have to search for an alternate hotel when returning to Amsterdam in the future which can accommodate us. As the options in the centre are limited this may be further in distance from the centre and there is no guarantee that it will be suitable.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Monique S wrote a review Nov 2021
Travelling45 contributions37 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The beds are very narrow, the mattresses not comfortable and too many beds crammed into the room. The room sizes are small; I was in a 4-bed dorm - if there had been 4 people in the room, it would have been terrible.

The guest kitchen was abominable, the fridges completed unsuited to having so many people using them. They were crammed full and complete chaos. I put one carton of milk in there and was unable to find it the next day without unloading other peoples' stuff before finally finding it shoved all the way in the back. The day after, it was gone altogether. And yes, my name and room number were clearly marked on it.

The space in the kitchen was also completely inadequate for more than 3 people to actually cook or prepare anything. How many people does the hostel hold? 6 floors, about 20 rooms per floor? The staff kitchen, on the other hand was massive with lots of working space. And seemingly only used to prepare the breakfast. For the sake of the guests, perhaps it would be an idea to switch the kitchens around.

As for staff, they were efficient but friendliness was severely lacking. I definitely got the feeling that the guests were an inconvenience for them. The only person who smiled and said hello was the maintenance man.

The location is great, not in the centre of Amsterdam but right next to the Amstel train and metro station, so getting out and about is no problem whatsoever.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wim V wrote a review Jul 2020
Antwerp, Belgium14 contributions9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Made a reservation via Booking.com 2 days in advance. Received a confirmation, even an answer to my question about parking. The next morning I received an email that 'unfortunately the hotel is closed, we can offer you a stay at our other hotel in Amsterdam for the same price'. This other hotel is further from the city center and not attractive at all.
This practice is a scam! When I contacted them, they only offered to cancel the reservation, no compensation for the 'unfortunate mistake'... The hotel is still bookable via Booking.com today.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MEININGER Hotels, Marketing at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
Responded 27 Jul 2020
Dear Guest, we are sorry to hear this from you. Due to the current situation and the challenges the travel industry is facing because of corona / covid-19 the MEININGER Management Team had a lot of meetings over the last moths in order to find solutions for our guests, clients and our business in general. It is out of question that the health of our guests and employees has the highest priority and we also have to secure the business of the wider industry. As you know the current situation is neither caused by us nor under our control and we were forced to take some extraordinary measures. For a hotel to cancel and turn down our customers is the worse thing that can happen, but in your case we were able to keep your reservation in our other hotel, that is the same distance from Amsterdam Central as the Meininger in Amstel Station. Both our hotels in Amsterdam are very close to the train station. We hope you can understand how much struggle was also on our part to face this extraordinary challenge. Kind regards, your Meininger Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
julierowland15 wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom5 contributions28 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Do not book any Meninger Hotels the customer service is absolutely diabolical. We do not even travel until May. We booked Meninger Amstel in error when we should have booked Meninger Amsterdam West. Both are available to book on the same Meninger Website with a drop down box with both of the above hotels on it. We realised after confirmation what we had done and immediately called the hotel to swap to the hotel. But was told it wasnt possible because they are different companies even though they are on the same website and all we can do is cancel without a refund and book again at the correct hotel. Throughout my emails I have now asked three times for a managers email and have been ignored on all occasions. Its a complete disaster very unhelpful service completely not interested basically its tough! We strongly advise against booking this hotel! We are now dreading having to stay there. What should have been a celebratory trip has already has already become a nightmare 4 months prior!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MEININGERhotels, Front Office Team at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
Responded 01 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Our main objective is to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our MEININGER hotels. I'm really sorry to hear that we failing it even before your stay. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Customer Services and the Management Team. Please be assured that your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. We hope to still welcome you back to MEININGER Amsterdam in the future as we would love to get another chance to impress you with our services. We want to let you know that we remain at your disposal for further assistance. Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
REvo wrote a review Feb 2020
22 contributions60 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The location is good and the staff are friendly and the hotel is nice during the week but on Friday nights, the hotel can get noticeably noisier with younger tourists. Also the air conditioning is hard to use but breakfast has is really great. Overall a good experience.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Online Marketing, Marketing at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
Responded 22 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for providing us a well detailed review of your experience and for highlighting the areas that made your stay enjoyable. Your compliments are really encouraging us to keep delivering genuine hospitality both in products and services to our guests. While we are proud to offer several tours and nightlife activities for our 18-35 demographic, we do also like to accommodate all younger and older travelers who may be visiting the city for the first time. It is important to our mission that we reach as wide an audience as possible, but that does not excuse their loud behavior at the expense of your enjoyment. We hope to see you again with us in the future. All the best Your Meininger Hotel Staff
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Umut GÜNERİ wrote a review Jan 2023
Istanbul, Türkiye1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I came to hotel around 11 pm. with my family (30.01.2023).

When I entered the hotel, the lady at the reception greeted me coldly. I asked if I had a reservation, if the hotel had parking. She said very coldly that she couldn't look at my reservation without my passport. I pointed to my car outside and watched in amazement that my passport and my family were in the car, it shouldn't be too hard to look up a name.

Then my family entered the hotel and I parked my car and joined them. The Spanish-speaking male and female could not calculate the amount we would pay. They said 170 Euros for 2 days room fee + city tax + breakfast for 3 adults and 1 child 253 Euros, then when I showed the information on my reservation they said 264 Euros. They did not give me the details of 264 Euros.

We were shocked tonight especially by the attitude of the Spanish speaking lady and we are not at all happy with our stay here. This employee should be given training on human relations and I would like you to give me detailed information about the amount I paid.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Be sure to find out the details of the amount you will pay.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Madonna Stock, Guest Services / Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
Responded 24 Feb 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Our main objective is to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our MEININGER hotels. I'm really sorry to hear that we failed to provide this during your visit. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Customer Services and the Management Team. Please be assured that your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. We hope to still welcome you back to MEININGER Amsterdam in the future as we would love to get another chance to impress you with our services. Kind Regards, Your Meininger team Amsterdam Amstel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alina B wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my friend have stayed here for the 3 nights in shared 4bed dorm, and every day there was a problem. First day, after they checked-in other two girls, all our keys stopped working. They said, even though we were checked-in to this room, however, according to the system, we should live on the other floor (such a mess). Guys from the reception desk were lost and behaving as it’s a pretty common thing here. They promised to fix it and they did.. for a while (the next day our roommate’s card keys stopped working again). The last night of our stay we were coming back to the room, and i found a girl laying on my bed, and all my stuff was moved to another person’s bed (probably by housekeeping). So basically they checked-in 5th person in 4bed dormitory room :). Girl from the reception desk was really lost. Again. They moved our “new roommate” to another room, and, after requesting to change the whole bed sheets and towels, because obviously it was used, it took a little while before girl from the reception understood what we wanted from her. Should I mention that our card keys weren’t working again? Breakfast was ok though.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Madonna Stock, Guest Services / Front Office at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
Responded 04 Oct 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Our main objective is to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our MEININGER hotels. I'm really sorry to hear that we failed to provide this during your visit. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Customer Services and the Management Team. Please be assured that your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. We hope to still welcome you back to MEININGER Amsterdam in the future as we would love to get another chance to impress you with our services. All the best and kind regards, Your MEININGER team Amsterdam Amstel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from KateAnnT
Surrey, United Kingdom200 contributions99 helpful votes
Yes
LP170188 asked a question Jan 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom22 contributions28 helpful votes
I am arriving as part of a large group, I believe we have one of the big rooms. Is there a bathroom in every room?
Answer from Clare C
Manchester, United Kingdom53 contributions40 helpful votes
Yes there is. Makes it much easier when travelling in a groups
vickyh92 asked a question Sept 2019
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Hi, do you provide an iron?
Answer from shaupt2918
Ann Arbor, Michigan5 contributions
Some hotels will provide an iron if you ask at the reception desk. This hotel is somewhat like a hostel in that they have a shared kitchen area on the main floor. They might have access to an iron.
Steph L wrote a tip May 2024
Wellington, New Zealand51 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Carparks are in the building nextdoor but the entrance is very narrow "
Read full review
S C wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t choose this place"
Read full review
katharina f wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"there are no spices or salt in the kitchen if u want to cook"
Read full review
Trail38587095992 wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"great use of the main station :)"
Read full review
Andre N wrote a tip May 2024
Canada345 contributions103 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"There was no fridge, not much food options nearby."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Amsterdam area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,230 - R 3,744 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamAmsterdam East / Frankendael / Watergraafsmeer
NUMBER OF ROOMS
185
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MEININGER HOTEL AMSTERDAM AMSTEL - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (The Netherlands) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
Which popular attractions are close to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam Amstel?
Nearby attractions include Rembrandt Tower (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam Amstel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam Amstel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam Amstel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam Amstel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam Amstel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Lobby Fizeaustraat, Riva, and Dauphine.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam Amstel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam Amstel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Concertgebouw (3.0 km), Portuguese Synagogue (2.6 km), and Museum Het Rembrandthuis (2.9 km).
Is MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam Amstel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Amsterdam HotelsAmsterdam Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AmsterdamHotels near MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire