Lavender Hill Country Estate

Lavender Hill Country Estate

N5 Bethlehem- Kestell, Bethlehem 9701 South Africa
Traveller (28)
Crystal Joy
Room & Suite (13)
Dining Area
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 2 special inns in Bethlehem
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Take a walk through our landscaped gardens, enjoy one of the many benches scattered around our property or dine at our Jenka Restaurant, Lavender Hill Country Estate is a gem in the Eastern Free State. Situated just outside of the town of Bethlehem and a mere 32 km from Clarens on a picturesque family farm. Whether you are looking for a serene place to rest your weary body after a long day's work or a tranquil weekend retreat away from the bustling Clarens, Lavender Hill Country Estate 25 uniquely individually decorated chalets will provide you with your haven. The finishes are exquisite and to a very high standard, with each room carrying a distinctive name and a theme to match, you will definitely find the one to suit your mood.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Secured parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Outdoor furniture
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Zulu
221Reviews1Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 138
  • 66
  • 11
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ulla wrote a review Feb 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited Lavender Hill to attend a wedding. The views and the ambience is perfect. The standard suite with a view was affordable and gave us a good night's rest in a spacious room with beautiful decor and a stunning view.

The chapel and wedding reception area was perfect for a dream wedding, although the bar service can be improved by providing more than one bartender for a thirsty crowd of 100+ people. Also, the sound system echoed in the chapel and made it difficult to hear what was said.

Overall, great service and I will defintely recommend it to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wendym wrote a review Jan 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family of 6 had a most comfortable 2 night stay at Villa Petricci. Beds were fantastic and the aircon very welcome. The estate has a very pretty and well laid out garden with a lot of birdlife. Would be good to see more indigenous plantings, esp trees. There is a most stunning view from the end of the Chapel. Friendly and professional staff are available to assist. Breakfast at Jenka restaurant was delicious.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pietro B wrote a review Mar 2017
Cagliari, Italy
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was only a short stepover before resuming our car journey but we definetely enjoy this very warm guesthouse in the countryside of South Africa.
Rooms very well maintained and clean, large and comfortable, the lavander field was just in front of our room. Food for dinner was delicius, both my fillet and my wife's kingklip.
Hope to have a chance to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LavenderHillCE, Manager at Lavender Hill Country Estate
Responded 31 May 2017
Thank you Pietro for staying with us and for your wonderful feedback regarding your stay. We are so glad to hear that you loved your stay even though it was just a short one. Our Chef will be delighted to hear that your food was exceptional, as he works very hard to create a menu to suit all tastes. We hope we see you again soon. Kind Regards Lavender Hill Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matt wrote a review Apr 2015
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Lavender Hill Country estate for our wedding anniversary. Lavender Hill is ideally located to explore the surrounding areas and we mainly visited Clarens (an easy 30km drive through beautiful landscape) which is one of our favorite weekend destinations.

The accommodation is very comfortable and clean in the form of spacious chalets and there is even a small bar fridge to keep a couple of beers or cold drinks cold, but take note that the chalets are not self catering units.

The breakfast menu is very good and the on site restaurant is excellent and worthwhile visiting.

Lavender Hill staff were always courteous, friendly and professional.

We can highly recommend Lavender Hill for a short stay weekend or long weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nadim78 wrote a review Apr 2018
Johannesburg, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the hotel for a night during a road trip in the Free State. The site is also a wedding venue and has immaculate gardens and scenery. We found the staff helpful and friendly. The breakfast was one of the best we've had in the region. However, we felt the rooms, while nicely decorated, were not well maintained. Our first room was infested with ants and the second one had spiderwebs. However, the rooms are very spacious especially for a family with kids.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The suites are good
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John T wrote a review Apr 2017
Kimberley, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Awesome spacious rooms with all the amenities. Air con was not working properly and was not fixed despite many promises. Reception staff were obnoxious mostly and not willing to make effort to resolve problem. Dining is great except on weekends.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Avoid weekend stays as service standards and dining options drop
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Annakatrine wrote a review Feb 2017
Pretoria, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stopped here on our trip out of Lesotho on our way to Pretoria. I am sure it is great for wedding parties where all the guests can be located in their own cabins but close to each other. It was a bit quiet when we were there. Rooms are all decorated differently and quite nice though I am not a fan of fabric flowers in cutesie vases myself! I am sure other rooms were more "edgy". Dinner was good with a nice choice and good service. Breakfast was more chaotic with tables too close together meaning the self service forced people to press pass the back of your chair to get to food. Internet was terrible though.....
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Neil S wrote a review Jul 2016
Cape Town Central, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Pleasant stay in Bethlehem on way to Cape Town.

Rooms are very well appointed. Each room has an interesting theme and individually decorated. We stayed in little Venice - great. Everything one could ask for and more

Breakfast was excellent! Staff very friendly and helpful

Well recommend
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anisha G wrote a review May 2016
Durban, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I visited Lavender hill country estate and was due to spend 2 nights at the resort. Initially we liked the room and was treated nicely by the manageress, Sam. On our first night there we had realised that there was no hot water bearing in mind that the temperature was below 5 degrees celsius. We had then reported the incident to reception and they had advised that they would send someone to check it out. A few minutes later, a gentleman arrived at the door. We had explained the issue to him and his response was totally unhelpful. He treated us rudely by saying that it was beyond his control and that nothing could be done. He was extremely arrogant. Upon my husband requesting his name to lay an official complaint, he then said that he was the owner and u're welcome to lay a complaint with him in a very sarcastic manner. I believe that that was extremely by far the worst hospitality experience that I had encountered and would definitely not suggest this place to anyone wanting a good time with good customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LavenderHillCE, Manager at Lavender Hill Country Estate
Responded 10 Jun 2016
Dear AnishaG Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay. Your review is not entirely true, yes your geyser did fail however we did come to assist you as soon as the call came through, and contrary to what you say above, the geyser was fixed immediately and your water was hot within 30 minutes. Unfortunately geysers do fail and it is something we have absolutely no control over as they do not let us know when they are going to fail, we wish they would give us a warning! Yourself and your husband did not want to understand this and were extremely rude to both the the lady at Reception as well as the owner. We are sorry that you seem to think that we intended for your water to be cold, it is definitely not our intention for our guests to have a terrible stay. Regards, Lavender Hill
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julie G wrote a review Oct 2019
Johannesburg, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms are themed, very tastefully done, and spacious. The beds are Huge! You want for nothing, even wi-fi code is provided in the food. The staff are attentive and from reception to waiting staff, all extremely friendly and welcoming. The food is excellent and they keep a great wine cellar. I go there when on business in the area and it has been a wonderful find and great place to return to. Well done all, love my visits.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: All good and spacious
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LavenderHillCE, Manager at Lavender Hill Country Estate
Responded 11 Oct 2019
Dear Julie. Thank you so much for choosing us again as your place to stay while in town. We appreciate all the feedback you provide us with, so to ensure each day we strive to do better. It is always a pleasure to have you as our guest, we look forward to welcoming many more times in the future. Kind Regards, Lavender Hill
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Hester G
Marquard, South Africa58 contributions16 helpful votes
I definitely think you can!
Julie G wrote a tip Oct 2019
Johannesburg, South Africa175 contributions53 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All good and spacious"
Read full review
Nadim78 wrote a tip Apr 2018
Johannesburg, South Africa15 contributions22 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The suites are good"
Read full review
Aimée B wrote a tip Aug 2017
Johannesburg, South Africa31 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We had the romantic couple's room <3"
Read full review
John T wrote a tip Apr 2017
Kimberley, South Africa47 contributions17 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid weekend stays as service standards and dining options drop"
Read full review
Linky100 wrote a tip May 2016
Durban, South Africa14 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms excellent"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bethlehem area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,065 - R 2,120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaFree StateBethlehem
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LAVENDER HILL COUNTRY ESTATE - Specialty Inn Reviews & Price Comparison (Bethlehem, South Africa)

Frequently Asked Questions about Lavender Hill Country Estate
Which popular attractions are close to Lavender Hill Country Estate?
Nearby attractions include LIONSROCK Big Cat Sanctuary (3.4 km), Huskyromi Wolf Sanctuary (6.8 km), and Bethlehem Museum (4.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lavender Hill Country Estate?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Lavender Hill Country Estate?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Lavender Hill Country Estate?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Lavender Hill Country Estate?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lavender Hill Country Estate?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mugg & Bean, Cafe Al Fresco, and Ocean Basket Bethlehem.
Are any cleaning services offered at Lavender Hill Country Estate?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Lavender Hill Country Estate offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Lavender Hill Country Estate?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Zulu.
Is Lavender Hill Country Estate accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire