We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Garden Court Blackrock Newcastle

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Garden Court Blackrock Newcastle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 129: English reviews
Howick, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Comfortable and enjoyable as expected. I always stay at Garden Court, Durban, Cape Town and now Newcastle. Well done. Food was great, room lovely as expected and ideal for the specific occasion. And next to the casino was a bonus.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank akeshr2017
GCBlackrock, Manager at Garden Court Blackrock Newcastle, responded to this review

Always a pleasure having you here. Take care and see you soon! Warm regards Leean Murugan General Manager

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The level of professionalism from security gate to reception until you leave the place is exceptional. The hotel has a majority of African staff and contrary to other views, their standard of service compares well to other Garden Court hotels in Umhlanga and Durban.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sbaningi
GCBlackrock, Manager at Garden Court Blackrock Newcastle, responded to this review

Good day and thank you for this wonderful feedback. I will definitely share this with the team. Visit again soon! Warm regards Leean Murugan General Manager

Jhb
Reviewed 1 week ago

good stay, enjoyed it and would return. Quicker service at dinner at the pool would have been better........breakfast was great otherwise. All good and clean and friendly......please heat the pool for the kids.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasheer B
GCBlackrock, Manager at Garden Court Blackrock Newcastle, responded to this review

Good day and thank you for taking the time to write about our property. We are so glad you had a fun time here. Thank you for your suggestions. We will definitely look at this in future. Take care and warm regards Leean Murugan General Manager

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

From the moment I have I arrived, the staff at the Newcastle Blackrock was very friendly and entertaining. The food was excellent and the room was neat and tidy. Later that evening supper at the Mid City Grill was fantastic and I really enjoyed my meal. Improvement: Need more item such as Hair shampoo, bath soaps, body lotion

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank C6483HXjadem
GCBlackrock, Manager at Garden Court Blackrock Newcastle, responded to this review

Good day and thank you for taking the time to write about our property. We are so glad you had a great stay with us. Thank you for the suggestions as well. We do have shampoo and a bath soap in the room. The shampoo and shower gel is in one. Body lotion is available upon request as well as...

Boksburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Wow, I cannot commend Leean the Manager at this hotel enough. My husband had to travel to Newcastle for the day and due to a machine breakdown ended up having to stay overnight. He was out on a mine and due to the breakdown was filthy dirty, tired and fed up. I called Leean, and she rushed off to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SureTravel24-7
GCBlackrock, Manager at Garden Court Blackrock Newcastle, responded to this review

It was my pleasure. Glad everything worked out in the end. Take care and warm regards Leean Murugan General Manager

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall the Blackrock is not a bad venue, however reception received was very cold and unfriendly, staff not well trained. Dining room experience at the hotel was below average as during our dinner we had about 4 waiters. Had to go to the counter to get the bill to pay. No service manager seen at all, no follow up done...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gstmorris
GCBlackrock, Manager at Garden Court Blackrock Newcastle, responded to this review

Good day and thank you for taking the time to write about our property. Please accept our apology once again for this. I believe that my food and beverage manager contacted you with regards to this unfortunate experience. Rest assured, measures will be put into place to assist in improving our customer service. Take care and warm regards Leean Murugan...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The front desk staff members are very professional and too kind. Their kindness made me to wonder if we still have people so kind in SA because they made me feel like I am outside of SA. On my arrival, at the parking the porter on duty come to help with my luggage, take me to check inn and then...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nkatekom2017
GCBlackrock, Manager at Garden Court Blackrock Newcastle, responded to this review

Good day and thank you for this most wonderful feedback. It is truly refreshing to see that the team made your stay a memorable one. We trust that you will make Garden Court Blackrock your "home away from home" whenever visiting Newcastle. Take care and warm regards Leean Murugan General Manager

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great hotel; neat rooms with functional layout.Close to all major amenities. Beats anything else within the area. Staff - friendly, attentive and efficient - great credit to GM Leean! Safe parking; kerbs are too high !!

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank HarriANarismulu
GCBlackrock, Manager at Garden Court Blackrock Newcastle, responded to this review

Good day and thank you for taking the time to write about our property. Thank you for this wonderful feedback. It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to welcoming you back to our "home" soon! Warm regards Leean Murugan General Manager

Ladysmith, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you could upgrade the hotel voucher that will be awesome other than that I enjoyed my stay at BlackRock, breakfast was good and my room was clean every time I come back from work, and I really love shower so please put me in the room that has shower everytime I request to stay at your hotel

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nonhlepinkym
GCBlackrock, Manager at Garden Court Blackrock Newcastle, responded to this review

Good day and thank you for taking the time to write about our property. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please request for a room with the shower on arrival and we will gladly assist. We have just recently upgraded our WIFI offering from 1 Gig to 2 Gigs. This is available to all Rewards card...

Vryheid
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed the privacy and quiet. We are farmers and battle to sleep in cities due to the light and noise but here it was quiet and dark. The staff were super friendly and breakfast was delicious. The room was clean and well equipped.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank I4589AYpauld
GCBlackrock, Manager at Garden Court Blackrock Newcastle, responded to this review

Good day and thank you for taking the time to write about our property and for this wonderful feedback. We are so glad you have a memorable stay with us. Hope you will visit again soon. Take care and warm regards Leean Murugan General Manager

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
1.1 km away
Haggards Hilldrop
Haggards Hilldrop
#1 of 25 in Newcastle
132 reviews
6.3 km away
iLawu Guest Lodge
iLawu Guest Lodge
#4 of 25 in Newcastle
9 reviews
7.0 km away
Avalon Guest Manor
Avalon Guest Manor
#3 of 25 in Newcastle
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Aberdeen House
Aberdeen House
#2 of 25 in Newcastle
19 reviews
6.5 km away
Blessings Guesthouse
Blessings Guesthouse
#20 of 25 in Newcastle
1 reviews
2.5 km away
No photo provided
Patterson B&B
#11 of 25 in Newcastle
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Garden Court Blackrock Newcastle, previously known as Blackrock Hotel, is surrounded by the historic Battlefields, and is perfectly situated halfway between Johannesburg and Durban. This hotel is an ideal stopover location for a night of good rest, pampering, entertainment and gaming. Offering a wellness centre for rejuvenating spa and massage treatments, this hotel also boasts an action-packed casino, and excellent dining venues. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Garden Court Blackrock Newcastle

Address: 100 Allen Street, Newcastle 2940, South Africa (Formerly Blackrock Casino Hotel)
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Newcastle
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Blackrock Newcastle 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Garden Court Blackrock Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Blackrock Newcastle Hotel Newcastle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Garden Court Blackrock Newcastle staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Garden Court Blackrock Newcastle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose an upper room with a balcony overlooking the pool for the best scenic view.”
 of 5 bubbles johntU7146OL, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“Take a room on the top floor as those on the floor below hear EVERYTHING!”
 of 5 bubbles Jinjoroo, 9 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Choose a room on the top floor furthest away from the car park.”
 of 5 bubbles 212eugenev, 25 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Choose one at the back; an even-numbered one. You will love the flat, green view!”
 of 5 bubbles Cosy11_11, 13 Mar 2015 | Read review
“no tip only seen one room, o make it pool facing, nice and near reception”
 of 5 bubbles ashleyd827, 28 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5