Grey Goose Game Lodge

Grey Goose Game Lodge

Superior Suite
Traveller (31)
Room & Suite (14)
Dirty water from the river
Dining (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 hostel in Newcastle
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Whether you are on a business trip, on holiday, or just want to escape the buzz of everyday life, Grey Goose Game Lodge is the place to be. Enjoy the comfort, tranquility and breath-taking scenery that we have to offer.Whatever the weather, Grey Goose caters for your every need. Enjoy the crisp freshness of your air-conditioned, en-suite room on those hot summer days or for those chilly nights, enjoy a cup of hot chocolate in our cozy lounge.Wake up to the tranquil sounds of nature, and enjoy a scrumptious breakfast served in our very own “Gooseberries” restaurant (all included in the accommodation rates), or sit outside and enjoy the fresh morning air whilst overlooking the dam and beautiful amphitheatre in the distance. Come and experience our little piece of Africa, relax and let our friendly staff spoil you.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Fishing
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
43Reviews1Q+A8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 18
  • 12
  • 5
  • 3
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
KV1234 wrote a review Sept 2022
London, United Kingdom2,804 contributions433 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were looking for 1 night's accommodation half way between northern Drakensburg (Witsiehoek) and southern Kruger (Nkomazi) and came across the Grey Goose Game Lodge.

What caught our attention was the modern Superior Suite rooms and the opportunity to do a walking safari. We arrived around 12 noon and were given the map of the walking safari which we planned to do if our room wasn't ready.

The reception staff were very nice and efficient and Flip gave us a good overview of the safari walk.

We headed off with map in hand and directly opposite the car park there were a collection of Grey Geese so that was a good start (and obviously a mandatory viewing given the name of the lodge) but we didn't see any other animals for about 20 minutes after that. Then after going over a ridge, we saw a large collection of buffalo, zebra and blesbok. The path skirted around the outside of where they were gathered and we assume the animials keep away from the path as a general rule. There were large parts of the walk where the wildlife was absent and then you'd come across another cluster of animals.

We saw more groups of springbok and blesbok and then the highlight... those 2 crazy lady ostriches. They were in the northwest area and as soon as the ostriches saw us they rushed away to the east. But at this point the path went east so 5 minutes later we were upon the ostriches so they then rushed across to the west. But guess where the path then winded to, yup, the west and again we were upon the ostriches. As the path zig-zagged the ostriches were always trying to rush away but only to the next point on the path. It was quite funny and by the 6th time we came across them they were too tired to rush away so we got the good photos. You'd think the ostriches would have worked out the route of the path by now but maybe rushing around is more important!

After the walk we got the keys to the Superior Suite. There were building works going on around the Suite as they appear to be renovating all of the rooms. The room we were allocated was nicely decorated with a great bed and a nice bathroom. The bath had red petals all over it which was a touch over the top but a nice gesture regardless. We did run the bath but the water came out with dirt in it. We expect this is a temporary issue as the workers were working directly outside.

A couple of improvements would help... the addition of a chair beside the sofa with a small coffee table. Also some form of heater in the bathroom as it was very cold on 31 August.

The biggest let down was the restaurant. It really does need redecoration and looks more like an afterthought. Very uninviting and really cold. The food at dinner was basic but nice. The breakfast was also lacklustre. Very few options and the worst we had in 3 weeks in South Africa.

We enjoyed our stay and especially the 2 crazy lady ostriches!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NightshadeJHB wrote a review Jan 2021
Johannesburg86 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely, clean place. Breakfast is great, room serviced daily. Food portions generous. Staff friendly and helpful.
Nice piece of nature, enjoyed watching the bunnies at dusk. Other wildlife as well. Nice hiking trials.. I enjoyed my time there.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ThetravellerKzn wrote a review Aug 2018
KZN10 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a pleasure it is to stay at a Lodge where you are treated like you are special. From the first minute we arrived, everyone was smiling and the service was out of this world. We will definitely make this our permanent stop when in Newcastle. To the management, thank you for an excellent stay
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Seaside48068258769 wrote a review Jun 2023
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were at the restaurant on Sunday afternoon of the 25th June. I was not impressed and the waitress who served us was made aware. We were on table 84 outside next to the jumping pillow.
While waiting for food we were offered water without any request. We drank the water with kids but the taste was off. We then realised there was brown debris inside the water. Raised the complaint with the waitress and she said the water was from the river and collected from the tap apparently that’s the norm. Like why were we given water from the river without our consent. There’s lots of cholera cases in South Africa and people are dying. The thought of coming here from Johannesburg to drink water from the river is very unsettling . I am not happy and we are still hoping we don’t get sick with kids from the river water. No sort of remorse from them even after personal complain or email sent.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Whatever happens don’t drink the water🙁
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tanja Parkinson, General Manager at Grey Goose Game Lodge
Responded 04 Jul 2023
Hi @Seaside48068258769 , as per our previous email correspondence regarding this incident, please review the below. Thank you kindly for your constructive feedback. We do sincerely apologize for the disappointment that you have experienced with us. We have taken note of your concerns and will ensure that we do not have a repeat of such an event in future. We can guarantee that our water is definitely not polluted or unsafe for consumption as we make use of a borehole which is frequently tested for consumption. The water also runs through filters before it reaches our kitchen and other taps at the Lodge. The debris would most likely have been due mineral and sediment build up in the pipes, which is often the case with boreholes. While we can give peace of mind that our water is perfectly safe for consumption, we do sincerely apologize that it was not up to our usual high standards. It seems that our waitress had unfortunately misinformed you as we do not make use of river water, especially not for consumption. Our sincerest apologies once more and we do hope that you will revisit our Lodge in the near future in order for us to correct this. Thank you kindly! Kind regards, Marketing Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Meg v wrote a review Nov 2018
Johannesburg, South Africa39 contributions9 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
From the outside and based on other reviews, Grey Goose sounds like a luxury place to stay on a budget. There’s plenty of entertainment options available at the lodge. They have a lot of potential but lack finesse.

I woke up covered in bed bug bites and the room was a bit stuffy when we arrived. And speaking of arrival, we waited about 45minutes to be greeted by someone. The reception was closed and the website does not provide you the space to say at what time you’re planning on arriving. And, to top it off, no one was answering the phone or cellphone number provided. Also, the guy who greeted us wasn’t very friendly. They also got our names on the booking wrong but only after saying we had not made a booking 😐

Breakfast was very greasy but they have a decent variety of food choices. I wouldn’t stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nellie d wrote a review May 2018
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
well presented, comfortable rooms, delicious breakfast, beautiful gardens with added pleasure of ample space for walking, running or just breathing. I enjoyed the wild life and it is close to everything in Newcastle without being surrounded by city noise. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend it... it is the place to be!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tanya R, Manager at Grey Goose Game Lodge
Responded 28 Jun 2018
Thank you very much for your review Nellie, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Justin L wrote a review May 2017
Durban, South Africa33 contributions38 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Rooms are well appointed and equipped. Staff are friendly as are the owners. The layout of the lodge ensures rooms are quiet and comfortable. The restaurant offers sufficient choice for a short stay. The owners have also paved pathways which are popular with guests who wish to exercise.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ZWNNKO wrote a review Jan 2016
Cape Town, South Africa1 contribution1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The atmosphere alone at Grey Goose farm is amazing. Quiet, open green fields and fresh country breeze. The food there has not disappointed, from breakfast to lunch and the bar late at night. Food is well prepared, fresh and the service to match. Staff members are welcoming and communicate well with customers. I recommend Grey Goose Restaurant to anyone who wants to try something different but of quality. You will be hooked, I am.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Excellent food, prefer Grey Goose over our usual mediocre restaurants.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Medrep1 wrote a review Aug 2015
Durban, South Africa7 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The reason for my title is a simple one .... No accessible WIFI in the rooms. I do not want to have to sit in a public lounge in order to work. I want the privacy and comfort of a private space in which to work.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don't use if on a business trip.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
EDercksenPhotography wrote a review Dec 2014
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I've been a guest at Grey Goose since 2003, and every visit was splendid. Service was fantastic, food was delicious, overall cleanliness superb. Will recommend this establishment to everyone. Absolutely love the game roaming amongst the lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Seaside48068258769 wrote a tip Jun 2023
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Whatever happens don’t drink the water🙁"
Read full review
fouche20152016 wrote a tip May 2017
Benoni, South Africa23 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are good, i have stayed in various ones"
Read full review
Q6693KVdm wrote a tip May 2017
Newcastle, South Africa11 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bookings essential. The friendly staff will assist."
Read full review
Anton_Fanton wrote a tip Feb 2016
Somerset West, South Africa5 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get a room in another establishment."
Read full review
ZWNNKO wrote a tip Jan 2016
Cape Town, South Africa1 contribution1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Excellent food, prefer Grey Goose over our usual mediocre restaurants."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Newcastle area.
PRICE RANGE
R 762 - R 979 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalNewcastle
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GREY GOOSE GAME LODGE | UPDATED 2023 Hostel Reviews & Price Comparison (Newcastle, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Grey Goose Game Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Grey Goose Game Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Fort Amiel (3.1 km), Simply You (4.1 km), and Victorian Theatres (4.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Grey Goose Game Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Grey Goose Game Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Grey Goose Game Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Grey Goose Game Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grey Goose Game Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pint and Pigout Restaurant, Tramonto Restaurant, and Mid City Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grey Goose Game Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Grey Goose Game Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Grey Goose Game Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Is Grey Goose Game Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Newcastle HotelsNewcastle Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NewcastleHotels near Grey Goose Game Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire