Swiss Chocolate by Fassbind

Swiss Chocolate by Fassbind

Traveller (50)
Room & Suite (18)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#114 of 143 hotels in Zurich
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
a delicious hotel The new Swiss Chocolate by Fassbind in Zurich was built in 2021, it replaced the Hôtel du Théâtre. The architecture and decoration of the hotels was inspired by the fabulous story of the Swiss Chocolate industry. Starting in the cacao farms down to the Chocolate bar without forgetting the founders of this industry. The greedies will be delighted at our Chocolate fountain by the front desk. The Swiss Chocolate Hotel by Fassbind lies in the heart of Zurich, only 4 minutes walking from the main railway station, at the entance of the old town (Niederdorf). The hotel is directly accessible from the airport with the tram number 10. 56 bright and quite rooms 3 panoramic rooms with view on the picturesque Polybahn 1 Skyline room with view on the roofs of the old town and the stars All rooms have an independant air-conditioning Free Wi-Fi Covered Parking from Monday to Saturday night in front of the Hotel (with cost) In-room phone LCD-TV with over 120 international TV channels Pets welcome Fitness free of charge in our by Fassbind Hotels. Either Hotel Swiss Night (1 km walk from the hotel Swiss Chocolate) or Hotel Züri by Fassbind (2,6km jogging along the Limmat river and over the “Viadukt” car free bridge) Reception open 24/7
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Zähringerstrasse 46, Zurich 8001 Switzerland
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Zurich Airport
Altenrhein Airport
77.9 km
See all flights
Zurich Central Station
6 min
63Reviews2Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 19
  • 17
  • 12
  • 5
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
toto1234 wrote a review Sept 2022
Madison, Wisconsin
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This property has great potential. The location is great in Zurich Altstadt with many restaurants, shopping, attractions and public transport within easy walking distance. With that said, the name is enticing and one would think there would be little chocolates given out at check in….no there is a chocolate fountain in the lobby area or chocolate bars on display in a case for purchase. To me this seems like a health nightmare regardless of COVID for contagious diseases. Also, the rate I paid for a single tiny room with a tiny twin-sized bed was astronomical. I needed a room last minute, so I understood I would have to take what I could get and pay more but 410 CHF was nuts for what I got. This was reiterated to me by two different staff at the front desk! This rate did not even include breakfast! I had an issue with a light in my room’s shower, so breakfast was provided for me. The breakfast was actually quite decent, hard-boiled eggs, an assortment of cheeses and meats, musli, yogurt, juice, coffee, tea, fruit, etc, but again I feel like this was a very expensive breakfast based on the room rate. I will say that a definite plus was that there was air conditioning in my room! Though the weather was overcast, it was still warm and with the room being so small having air movement was helpful. I could consider staying here again but would NEVER pay this much for so little.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: If visiting longer than a day and plan to site see, purchase a Zurich Day pass or multi-day pass....
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ihr By Fassbind Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Swiss Chocolate by Fassbind
Responded 13 Oct 2022
Dear Madison, thank you very much for your Feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay overall. If you compare the room sizes in the city center, we provide the average size. Most of the time, we are one of the cheapest Hotels in the same category and same area. Of course we understand that compared to other europe cities Zurich is very expensive. If you compare our prepaid breakfast at 18 CHF you will not find the same arround our Hotel. Hopefully you have the chance to book earlier next time and we are able to exceed your expectations. Looking forward to your next visit. yours Swiss Chocolate by Fassbind Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JessMcC7 wrote a review May 2023
New Zealand
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Swiss Chocolate by Fassbind had an excellent location, the rooms were small but all I needed as a solo traveller and were kept very clean. The chocolate decor made for a nice touch. Upon arrival they give you some small branded chocolates which was a nice however there was no chocolate fountain on site which I had seen advertised in many of their branded photos. I didn’t opt for the breakfast however it was served in the lobby daily and looked to be a selection of meats, cheeses, boiled eggs, basic cereals and bread - nothing fancy and for the the price I’m glad I didn’t opt in for this. Overall I would definitely stay here again purely for the convenience of the location and the cleanliness of the rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: If you are a solo traveller the single room is perfect! If you are a couple opt for the next room...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ihr By Fassbind Team, Gästeservice/Empfang at Swiss Chocolate by Fassbind
Responded 04 Sept 2023
Thank you very much for your Feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and looking forward welcoming you back again. Yours Swiss Chocolate Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Explore Embrace wrote a review Jul 2023
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was clean, and the staff were very nice. We especially appreciated that they let us check in an hour early after a long flight from the U.S. The location is also fantastic for walking to great restaurants and night life in Old Town. However, the room was sooooooo small and warm. There was a sign in the lobby that said local ordinance prohibited them from allowing the air conditioning to cool more than 2 degrees lower than the outside temperature. I think it would be OK for a single traveler, but my partner hated it.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room if you are traveling with someone. There's not even room for a chair in the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ihr By Fassbind Team, Gästeservice/Empfang at Swiss Chocolate by Fassbind
Responded 04 Sept 2023
Dear Guest thank you very much for you rFeedback. We are sorry that you have not been satisfied 100%. you can believe us, that we like to meet your expectations, but sometimes we are not able to do so. We would be happy welcoming you to any other date. Yours Swiss Chocolate by Fassbind Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leslie D wrote a review May 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We were disappointed with this hotel. Our room was so small that we could not easily find a space for our two modestly-sized suitcases. This was a requirement for a three-star hotel, or so I thought. Bed was a double. I don’t think they could have fit a queen. Room was too warm. Air conditioner did not seem to work. Housekeeping was careless. They did not collect our dirty coffee cups, and did not replenish toilet paper or tissues. In addition, on two separate occasions they left large items (vacuum cleaner and garbage bag) right next to our door. I tripped over the garbage bag when I left our room. The breakfast area in the lobby was very cramped, as it was also the reception area. People with suitcases bumped into people getting breakfast. There were no lounge chairs in the lobby: something I thought a hotel with a three-star rating must have. Breakfast was the same every day: no hot items despite charging 18 Swiss Francs per person!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ihr By Fassbind Team, Gästeservice/Empfang at Swiss Chocolate by Fassbind
Responded 18 Aug 2022
Dear Leslie, on our Websites we publish the exact size of the rooms. You can do as well a virtual tour through the Hotel. You have the possibility to choose different room types. We do not have a problem with A/C. Maybe the staff could help you next time to get it operated. We would be very happy welcoming you back again and stay with best regards yours Swiss Chocolate by Fassbind Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anniina H wrote a review Feb 2024
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The reason I booked the hotel was the location but ended up having a terrible experience.

Our bathroom shower and sink were broken and could not be used which was a big issue for us. (But apparently not to the hotel) if the room was properly cleaned before our arrival they would have known about this issue, and still gave us the room. There were no other triple rooms left so according to the staff the only solution was to change hotel to a hotel that was not located in the center and a lot cheaper (without getting a refund of course) We ended up canceling our second night in this hotel but could not get our money back. Extremely disappointed in our stay and the customer service and will definitely boycott this hotel chain from now on.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ihr By Fassbind Team, Gästeservice/Empfang at Swiss Chocolate by Fassbind
Responded 26 Mar 2024
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your Feedback. We checked the room properly and the sink was licking a bit. We only used 1 minute to fix it. The shower was working properly and there was no problem. We offered several options, but you did not want to use any of them. We are sorry that we where not able to satisfy you and would be very happy if you would give us a second chance. Looking forward maybe to your next visit. yours Swiss Chocolate by Fassbind Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travelerdiver wrote a review Jun 2024
midwest
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 3 nights in June and I absolutely loved it. My room was on the top floor facing the cathedral and I was able to keep my windows open the whole time. I had a view of the sunset behind the cathedral and really enjoyed the bells and the area in general. At night it was very quiet, kept windows open and there was no noise around the hotel. I checked in around 5 and had no issues, the woman at the counter was very polite. I didn’t do the breakfast so can’t comment on that but the room was perfect for me. Upon checkout they immediately sent my invoice as requested. This was a terrific little refuge to slow down to each night and I would stay again for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: I’m not sure what the other rooms are like, but mine was on the top floor facing west and was...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NAD2707 wrote a review Sept 2022
Chicago, Illinois
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Carlos at the front desk was very welcoming and took the time to pull out a map and provide me with directions for a great walking tour around the city (as it was my first visit). Wonderful customer service and the other staff I encountered during my stay were also very friendly and helpful.

The hotel location is fantastic - about a 5 min walk just down the street and over the water from the main train station. It was perfectly situated for shopping, restaurants and transportation.

The room I booked was a single - I got a good rate and it had all of the essentials that I was looking for - clean, comfortable and quiet. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ihr By Fassbind Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Swiss Chocolate by Fassbind
Responded 13 Oct 2022
Dear NAD2707, thank you very much for this GREAT 5 POINTS REVIEW. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and share your Feedback with our staff. If your travel brings you back to Zurich again, we are happy welcoming you again. Yours Swiss Chocolate by Fassbind Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa Lebron-Tatian wrote a review Jul 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I love this hotel for so many reasons but I’m going to start with Carlos. He is so pleasant and helpful. He did everything he can to accommodate all of our needs especially when my 8 year old son got sick. He helped me a lot and I’m so thankful! Now about the hotel, the location is absolutely fantastic. You are a 10-15 min walk from old town Zurich. You’re a 10-15 min walk from the main train station where all tours start if you’re taking any. The hotel breakfast has good variety so everyone will find something they like. The rooms are nice and clean. Overall I would stay here again. Oh an another name I should add is Sam, he was very friendly as well!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Stay here longer than you are planning
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ihr By Fassbind Team, Gästeservice/Empfang at Swiss Chocolate by Fassbind
Responded 18 Aug 2022
Dear Lisalebron, thank you very much for your great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The comments about the staff we will share internally. If your next travel brings you back to Zurich we are happy welcoming you again. yours Swiss Chocolate by Fassbind Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Josella C wrote a review Apr 2024
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location is good -- it is within walking distance from Zurich HB (400m/ 0.25 mi).   Zurich HB is a main train station, which connects to the Zurich airport, and many other locations.

It is also right next to the Central tram and bus stops.

It also appears to be part of Old Town, and is walking distance from Niederdorf, various restaurants and bars and shops. It is also within enjoyable walking distance from Limmatquai. We only stayed in Zurich for two days (to fly out of Switzerland), so we weren't able to explore other areas near the hotel.

Our room was small, but was comfortable. The bathroom, though, was very small, especially the shower stall. I am Asian, and smaller in stature, but even I found the shower stall small.

There are no slippers provided in the room, you need to ask the reception for a pair. We only asked for one pair (because my sister brought her own slippers). I am not sure if they give more than one pair per room.

There are free chocolate bars you can get at the reception (take within reason of course).

We didn't get breakfast at the hotel anymore, but there are so many restaurants nearby, so there is no wanting for food.

The price is already on the inexpensive end (by Zurich standards), so that is a plus.

The staff were helpful when we ask for information. But I noticed (for this hotel, and for Switzerland in general) that people are much friendlier if you have done basic research already, and just confirm with them your information, or if you ask for nuanced/specific details that cannot be answered by a simple Google research.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: There are no slippers provided in the room, you need to ask for a pair at the reception.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ihr By Fassbind Team, Gästeservice/Empfang at Swiss Chocolate by Fassbind
Responded 18 Apr 2024
Dear guest, thank you very much for your Feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. If you come back to Zurich, we would be happy if you stay with us again. Yours Swiss Chocolate by Fassbind Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MLB wrote a review Aug 2022
Lausanne, Switzerland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I came with my Asian friend for two nights during a weekend in August.
The location was just amazing. The chocolate fountain at the entrance was a "must" stop each time we came in or out.
The Housekeeping Lady who helped us with the red sign (for the door), the Lausannoise front desk Mademoiselle and Mister Carlos were extremely friendly and helpful.

Can't wait to come back to this hotel next time I will go to Zürich and hopefully meet the same staff.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ihr By Fassbind Team, Gästeservice/Empfang at Swiss Chocolate by Fassbind
Responded 14 Sept 2022
Dear ml-bc-ch thank you very much for your great Feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to your next visit. yours Swiss Chocolate by Fassbind Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travelerdiver wrote a tip Jun 2024
midwest86 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I’m not sure what the other rooms are like, but mine was on the top floor facing west and was very quiet. No AC needed while I was there."
Read full review
Being Foodie wrote a tip Apr 2024
Dubai, United Arab Emirates722 contributions109 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Easy access to all trains and trams"
Read full review
Andrew K wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t arrive here until 3 pm!!!!!"
Read full review
Josella C wrote a tip Apr 2024
20 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are no slippers provided in the room, you need to ask for a pair at the reception."
Read full review
John M wrote a tip Sept 2023
Kentfield, California4 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid whenever the weather warm!!! Unavailable A/C !!!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Zurich area.
PRICE RANGE
R 3,825 - R 5,675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SwitzerlandCanton of ZurichZurich
NUMBER OF ROOMS
56
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SWISS CHOCOLATE BY FASSBIND - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Zurich, Switzerland)

All Zurich HotelsZurich Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ZurichHotels near Swiss Chocolate by Fassbind
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire