Diplomat Hotel
Traveller (193)
Panorama at the c-hotels Diplomat
360
Panoramas (6)
Diplomat Hotel
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#77 of 422 hotels in Florence
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Created for your dreams and relax. We are here in Florence to provide for emotions. Our hotel is a mixture of discretion and classical minimalism. We are ready to welcome you in the heart of Florence for a very special Renaissance experience. You will always find here a particularly elegant setting, the best location to match your needs for a business or a leisure trip.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour check-in
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Telephone
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more

Location

Via Luigi Alamanni 9, 50123, Florence Italy
Name/address in local language
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles686 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Diplomat Hotel wins accolades for its comfortably appointed and pristine rooms, although a few guests mention they could use more space. Its prime location makes it a hit for city explorers and those seeking easy access to transport. The hotel's attention to detail, from the chic decor to the thoughtful welcome gifts, creates a luxurious atmosphere that guests appreciate. The service at the Diplomat Hotel is frequently praised, with staff members earning recognition for their friendliness and helpfulness. Overall, many travelers consider the hotel an excellent value for its offerings.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Welcoming
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Helpful
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
686Reviews29Q+A46Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 467
  • 163
  • 27
  • 7
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Robin M wrote a review Apr 2023
Smyrna, Georgia
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I've stayed in many different places around the Florence area, as my son has moved to Florence to further his studies, but this is BY FAR the best!! Location, quality of accomodation and food, style, it's all fabulous!! Can't wait to stay here again!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Compagnia Alberghiera, Direttore generale at Diplomat Hotel
Responded 20 Apr 2023
Dear Robin M. Thank you for writing such a nice review of your experience here at C-hotels.Diplomat. We are thrilled to read that you were pleased with the fantastic location of the hotel.Thank you for highlighting the amazing service delivered by our lovely and friendly team. We are looking forward to your return visit. Kind Regards. M. Burgio Resident Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kok Hoong Fong wrote a review Jan 2020
Singapore, Singapore
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The location is perfect. Get out of the train station (not the exit with McDonald's but the other opposite end) and cross a road and then you are at the doorstep of the hotel. I chose this hotel for its convenience and never regretted it.

My room is a little small. The big single bed is comfortable. A little irk is there is no supply of water heater or coffee maker. Not sure if it is because I did not ask for them.

As it was a low season, there was an offer for buffet breakfast and the spread of food has good variety and quality.

Above all, I love how the whole hotel lobby smells so calm. It is like walking into a spa. They use acqua dell'elba home fragrance diffuser.

If you are like me, a Chinese, just adjacent to the hotel are two Chinese eateries to satisfy your urges for rice and noodles.

There is also a nearby laundromat called Lavanderia Speed Queen which is a decent place to do your laundry.

Also the train station has a supermarkets, small entries and near an underground mall, so getting some grocery shopping done is not a problem at all.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Choose a higher floor? I was at the second floor and when I open the window, it sometimes have...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GuestRelatManager, Direttore at Diplomat Hotel
Responded 04 Jan 2020
Dear fongkokhoong, first of all we would like to thank you for having written this kind feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and you appreciated the comfortability of our rooms and the variety of our breakfast. Furthermore, we confirm that we provide kettle, coffee and tea on request. Hoping to meeting you again in our hotel, we send you our best regards. M. Burgio
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
delgadot1 wrote a review Jan 2020
Miami, Florida
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We really loved our stay! The hotel is decorated beautifully and very modern. We were given a very handy pamphlet that gave us great recommendations by locals on where to eat/drink in the city. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. Free bottled water in the room and the breakfast is delicious! Well connected to public transportation and everything is within walking distance (nothing more than 20 minutes). The only downside is that the room is a bit small, but we didn’t mind it because it was spacious enough for us to walk around the room, even with our bags.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GuestRelatManager, Direttore at Diplomat Hotel
Responded 15 Jan 2020
Dear delgadot1, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we always appreciate hearing back from our guests. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found the facilities and customer service to your liking. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards. M. Burgio
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christophe wrote a review Jul 2022
Nice, France
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We have made a reservation for 3 nights through booking.com for a double room on 24/04 for 01/07, 2 months in advance.
Unfortunately we did not realize we booked for one person only by mistake instead of 2. When checking-in we were told about the mistake. We thought that only city taxes of 4.9€ per day would be added but the hotel took the opportunity to ask for an additional fee of 30€ per day !

The hotel does not have any extra services like breakfast, pool or spa included in this rate that would justify such an enormous additional fee.

Moreover we were told this was normal to pay €30 more per day due to more extensive cleaning for 2 persons instead of one. When checking online we can see that the real difference without city taxes is of only 5€ if we book next Monday. No this is not a true statement.

Conclusion: instead of charging us 3x5€ = 15€ more we have paid 90€ more.
This is not a professional management at all, and especially for guests staying 3 nights!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Compagnia Alberghiera, Direttore generale at Diplomat Hotel
Responded 12 Jul 2022
Dear Guest, we are surprised and astonished that in 2022 there are still people who are outraged at having to pay for extra services, whether in a hotel or any other business. It is absolutely normal that if the reservation is made for one person it has its own price, but if two persons arrive it has another (double linen, double water consumption, greater cleaning etc ..). We challenge you to book any other hotel or private apartment and check if the same room has different prices based on the number of people who have to stay! We only asked 30 euros more ... does this really seem like a high price for a 4-star hotel? In any case we are able to decide the rate we prefere! The tourist tax of 4.90 euros per person, is a municipal tax that we pay to the Municipality of Florence, we do not decide it and it is not our earnings. The real shame is being so uninformed when traveling and even thinking about writing a review like yours. Best regards Lapo Bonciani - Customers relations manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
teenyweenycarol... v wrote a review Nov 2021
Riccione, Italy
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I usually only review experiences that are either very positive (to ensure that everyone can enjoy what I have tried, the good and the good) or very negative (to avoid other unpleasant inconveniences).
This is the worst service I have ever received in a hotel (I visit several hotels for work).
2 check-ins (one at 2pm and one at 6pm) without requiring documents.
At 6pm, immediately after paying for the entire stay in advance, we were assigned a double room instead of a triple room (as per booking). Waiting time to make the third bed: 1 hour and a half.
Arriving in the room, the 3rd bed was made (with little grace) and the towel kit for the 3rd guest was missing (and via another round in reception).
When asked to speak to the resident manager we were told he wasn't there but that we could do it the following day.
The next day, the new receptionist told us that on Sundays no one handles the "customer care".

An advice?
Choose a different structure, pay at the end of your stay and find out if customer care responds 7/7 (including Sundays), or rather ... if they respond in general, because 3 days have passed and they have not even deigned to reply to the e -mail we wrote for a complaint.
Let's see if they respond in the next few days ...
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Compagnia Alberghiera, Direttore generale at Diplomat Hotel
Responded 20 Nov 2021
This review refers to the same one made for the same reason by the same customer to which we have already replied on this site and directly. .
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mayank_Grover wrote a review Jan 2020
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hotel is centrally located at Via Luigi Alamanni and is extremely close to Firenze Santa Maria Novella Station. The bedrooms are comfortable, clean, airy and spacious. The Buffet Breakfast at the restaurant is nice. The main shopping street is Piazza Della Rupubblica and is 12 to 14 minutes drive in Taxi. There is a 99 Cent Store near the hotel where one can buy daily need stuff and conad supermarket is 5 Minutes walk.The staff is helpful, polite and courteous. Overall a comfortable stay at the Hotel with the family.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms seemed nice and comfortable.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GuestRelatManager, Direttore at Diplomat Hotel
Responded 15 Jan 2020
Dear Mayank_Grover, Thank you for your kind review and rating. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at C-Hotels Diplomat. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards. M. Burgio
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cme1234 wrote a review Jul 2022
Singapore, Singapore
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The location is just opposite the Florence main train station. It is suitable for people who stay for a very short number of days. It is however a very long walk to the city center. There are also not many dining places nearby. If you are staying for a few days, you should definitely consider staying in the city center.

I stayed for 3 nights. On the first night, I was assigned a room which require me to walk down a steep ramp. The ramp is definitely steep and there is nothing to hold onto. Please see the photo I have uploaded. I almost had a fall when the weight of my heavy luggage dragged me down. Luckily I managed to let go of my luggage and that prevented a fall. I informed the staff that I’d have difficulty lugging my luggage up the steep ramp when checking out and I also will have issues climbing up the ramp before getting to the elevator. I requested for a change but she rejected my request and said that the hotel was fully booked. She could only change it the following day. What I bemused that I saw guests checking in at different times after my request for a change. I thought that I was told the hotel was fully booked. I was given another room which was much smaller and not the type I had booked. I knew it would be futile to feedback because I’d definitely get the same ‘the hotel is fully booked’ response.

As other guests had previously feedback, the wifi was extremely unstable and I did not use the wifi. So be prepared for this.

The room facing the road is noisy, you must get those facing the back if you are a light sleeper.

If you are prepared to put up with virtually non-existence wifi, noise and potentially safety hazard, then this hotel can be considered.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the road. There is noise trains, trams, cars and even drunkards. Avoid those...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Compagnia Alberghiera, Direttore generale at Diplomat Hotel
Responded 12 Jul 2022
Dear customer, we are sorry that you have given our hotel a completely negative rating and we will take all your recommendations into consideration. However, having received no particular request indicating your mobility problems, we assigned hyou a nice room, large and quiet even if there was a downward ramp to reach it, but no it seems so dangerous. The hotel was fully booked and it would not have been useful to give you another room in the same wing of the hotel. The following day we changed your room, but in the area without a ramp the rooms are a bit smaller even if they offer the same services. Regarding the wifi, we have made careful checks and everything seems to work perfectly, obviously it depends on the use you want to make of the internet, as it is still a public and free service. Best regards Lapo Bonciani - Customers relations manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
w l wrote a review Mar 2020
Hong Kong, China
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is opposite to the Firenze SM Novella station and is close proximity to many attractions of Florence. Room is very comfortable and neat. Next to the bar, it has a quiet sitting area that is good for chatting with friends. Hotel Diplomat is ideal for couples and business travelling. The lady staff , Benedetta always served with a bright smile and was always prompt to respond to my requests. This was what I impressed the most.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Francesco Vitone, Altro at Diplomat Hotel
Responded 26 Mar 2020
Dear 203wl, Thank you for your wonderful comments. I have passed on your feedback to Benedetta. who is delighted and would like to thank you as well. It is feedback like this one that keeps us motivated. Once again, thank you very much. Best Regards. M. Burgio Resident Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BruceDNelson wrote a review Oct 2022
Cedar Hills, Utah
4.0 of 5 bubbles
When we made plans to visit Florence we needed a place that was close to the train station and nearby shops, restaurants and key locations such as the St. Mary of Fiori Basilica. The hotel was all of that for us. It is across the street from the train station, only a 7 minute walk to the Basilica and the staff were very accommodating.

When we first arrived we were greeted by a friendly desk clerk who spoke perfect English and quickly got us the key for our room and explained all of the arrangements for checking out and breakfast the next morning. The room was very clean and comfortable and though we were close to the train station and the bus station and street traffic, it was quiet so that our sleep was undisturbed.

The next morning we were allowed to store our luggage for the day after we checked out which allowed us to enjoy much of the beautiful city unencumbered. When we returned late that afternoon we picked up our luggage and walked 5 minutes to our train to Rome which was very convenient. Overall it was a wonderful stay that exceeded our expectations.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lesley wrote a review Aug 2022
Miami, Florida
1.0 of 5 bubbles
How can I start? The stay at this hotel was a total nightmare, from checkin until checkout and in between. First of all, the room was not given to me until 40 minutes after checkin time with the excuse that the room is so big, it takes time to clean. In addition, I clearly specified I had 2 other friends coming and to be aware. When one of them arrived, she was given the room to another guests’ room where she showered, prepared coffee, made herself comfortable as I was not in the room and there was no WIFI for her to communicate with me and tell me she had arrived. My friend was basically in someone else’s room and who knows if the guests would have showed up. Nothing was done regarding this at all. In addition, water was needed and they said it cost a lot here, you should go to Carrefour. Lastly, as we had booked a room for 3 people, one of the beds was a sofa bed, which was slanted. We had all come from a super long flight from another continent and all we wanted was to rest, but of course, my back was in pain, the real bed was okay. Nonetheless, this hotel was a total nightmare. Management did not handle things, did not resolve anything, instead just said sorry. It is sad because their rating should be below what it is until they get inspected.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alexander D wrote a tip Jun 2024
Cardiff, United Kingdom176 contributions128 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pay the extra for a room with a view!"
Read full review
ArunKJay wrote a tip Jan 2024
India177 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Right next to station, stone throw away."
Read full review
Giddy wrote a tip Dec 2023
Singapore245 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t worry about the mess and homeless crowds found around other main stations, this area in Florence is ok"
Read full review
natalie a wrote a tip Sept 2023
4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for odd # room"
Read full review
subhasishbose wrote a tip Aug 2023
New Delhi, India55 contributions43 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"MAIN FLORANCE RAILWAYS STATION, TRAM AND BUS SERVICE AT YOUR DOOR STEP"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Florence area.
PRICE RANGE
R 2,849 - R 4,438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
diplomat hotel florence
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of FlorenceFlorenceFlorence Historic Center / Santa Maria Novella
NUMBER OF ROOMS
85
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DIPLOMAT HOTEL | UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Florence, Italy) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Diplomat Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Diplomat Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Michelangelo Florentine Leather (0.5 km), Chiesa di San Salvatore in Ognissanti (0.4 km), and Officina Profumo-Farmaceutica di Santa Maria Novella (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Diplomat Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Diplomat Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Diplomat Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Diplomat Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Diplomat Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ristorante Taj Palace, Trattoria Il Giardino, and Crown of India - Indian Restaurant in Florence.
Are any cleaning services offered at Diplomat Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Diplomat Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Diplomat Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Duomo - Cattedrale di Santa Maria del Fiore (0.9 km), Florence American Cemetery (8.0 km), and Basilica of Santa Croce (1.5 km).
Is Diplomat Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Florence HotelsFlorence Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in FlorenceHotels near Diplomat Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire