We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Excelsior Palace Hotel

Visit hotel website
Visit hotel website
Traveller (1379)
Room & Suite (633)
Pool & Beach (167)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Property amenities
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Spa
Airport Transportation
Babysitting
Banquet Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Minibar
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Offers & Announcements:Package Deal

Location

Full view
87Good for walkers
Grade: 87 out of 100
146Restaurantswithin 1 km
38Attractionswithin 1 km
1 717Reviews
1 975Photos
30Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1 043
  • 482
  • 121
  • 46
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Traveling often to Rapallo for business I have stayed many times at Excelsior. The location of the hotel is perfect, the marina view from the rooms is amazing. Elegant and clean rooms and professional service. The food is also very very good. I will characterize my stay as
Read more
Previous reviews are much too generous in their judgement of this hotel. It is not a true 5 star place, it possibly was about 30 years ago but now is a bit sad & tired. Small & classic style superior bedroom, nice classical furnishings and a comfortable bed with crisp white
Read more
Response from ExcelsiorRapallo, General Manager at Excelsior Palace Hotel
Responded 22 Nov 2018
Greetings from Rapallo, Before replying to the issues included in your review, please let us first of all say that when a Guest is not satisfied, the best thing to do is to talk immediately with the Hotel's Staff Members and Management. This is of course meant in order for them to provide assistance and propose a solution during the stay since our main goal is to have happy Clients. Unfortunately, this was not done in your case with the only exception of the complaint about the Chinese group, actually you did not mention anything particular with our Receptionist upon check-out. Here are our replies as follows: - Room: we are glad you liked the superior room received as a complimentary upgrade, while we are sorry you experienced problems in finding the TV English channels (BBC, CNN and CBNC). Unfortunately, here we are not allowed to attach any files otherwise we would be happy to attach the full list of TV channels covering all the main foreign languages, they are 29 totally. Furthermore, close to the TV set use instructions are available and if further assistance is required our Staff is always available for assistance. - Breakfast: what you write is just unbelievable to us also considering the amount of very positive comments about our breakfast contained in so many reviews. Concerning the variety of the products offered at our Breakfast, please find the list as follows: Beverage Water: still, sparkling; Juice: grapefruit, orange; Prosecco; Milk: Soya milk, Whole milk, Skimmed milk; Porridge; Fresh orange juice, Fresh extracted juice Food Bread: Milk bread, Whole bread, White bread, Cereal bread, Sliced bread Focaccia Cereal: four types, Fruit muesli, Melba Toast, Nutella, Honey, Jam: six types, Dietetic jam: four types; Butter, Fruit yogurt: 3 types, Whole milk yogurt, Light yogurt, Maple syrup, blinis, Chocolate bread, Raisin rolls Brioches: Empty brioches, apricot jam, cream; Homemade “Strosciata” biscuits; Homemade plumcake: two types and cakes: four types; Fresh fruit: pineapple, melon, fig, strawberry, watermelon; Fruit in syrup: pear, peach, plum; Cherry tomato: cooked, uncooked, Oil dip; Fresh mixed fruit dish; Sausages; Bacon; Scrambled eggs, Cheese: four types, Ricotta cheese, Buffalo milk mozzarella, Ham , Parma ham, Cold cuts three types, Extra-virgin olive oil, Mayonnaise, Ketchup, Mustard, Pepper, Tabasco sauce Balsamic vinegar, Eggs: five types on the list on request without any extra charge. - Chinese Guests: we are really sorry for their behaviour and do apologize on their behalf. - Yachting Bar: it is not true that no attention was paid to your needs: you refused the bottle of Barolo, we offered our list for you to select another Barolo or a different type of bottle and then you chose to order two glasses of Chianti. The price of Euro 125.00 for the opened Barolo bottle was not charged ... we hope you do not mind if we consider this as an attention to Clients' needs. Furthermore, as shown by the picture you posted, you ordered a 2009 bottle. As any wine expert knows, in such a case the bottle has to be opened in advance to decant it (experts say that the procedures even needs one hour per year), so the bottle of Barolo should have been ordered some time before drinking it. Regards, Aldo Werdin General Manager
Read more
This hotel is superb, the rooms, the service and the staff were all excellent. The views from the balconies of the marina and the bay are amazing, I would definitely stay here again. All this was after the area was damaged by storms.
Read more
We splurged on one of the expensive sea facing balcony rooms for a week in September (booked with the usually reliable Citalia). The good points: the room, though rather small, was tastefully decorated, the breakfasts were excellent and the bed super-comfy. The bad: we were
Read more
Response from ExcelsiorRapallo, General Manager at Excelsior Palace Hotel
Responded 08 Nov 2018
Dear Guest, We are sorry for what you call "bad points". As you mention, you booked through an Operator whose website shows, among other things, images of the entire hotel as well as a video which enables potential Clients to have an idea of the property as a whole. On the other hand, we are happy you did appreciate such good points as the tastefully decorated room, excellent breakfasts and very comfortable bed. Regards, Aldo Werdin General Manager
Read more
I loved this hotel, but not the location. It has all of the features that you would want in a 5 star hotel, but it is up a steep hill and it takes 15 min. to get to town. The climb back up is too challenging. I would prefer to stay in a hotel where you can go out and have a
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorExcelsior Palace Hotel
The Relax Suite at the Excelsior Palace Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorExcelsior Palace Hotel
The Presidential Suite at the Excelsior Palace Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorExcelsior Palace Hotel
The Junior Suite at the Excelsior Palace Hotel
Great views from all public rooms.
PreviousNext
123456127
Not if you are a hotel guest.
1 vote
Show all answers
Greetings from Rapallo, If you are planning not to rent a car, quite a wide choice of public transportation is available (trains, buses, ferry boats according to season), depending on the places you wish to visit. Otherwise our Concierge is at your disposal to arrange any kind of transfer/excursion you may require. Concerning the boat rental, please be so kind as to contact us using the email address for our Reservations you can find in the contact section of our website (unfortunately here it is not possible to write email addresses or websites) and we will be more than delighted to assist you. With best wishes, Excelsior Palace Hotel, Rapallo
0 votes
Show all answers
Dear Madam, Due to its size our heated indoor pool is not for lap swimming, we are sorry. Thank you for your interest and kind regards, Excelsior Palace Hotel, Rapallo
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi, The walking distance from Rapallo to Portofino is 7.2 Km and it takes between 2 and 3 hours depending on the stops one may have. Best regards, Excelsior Palace Hotel, Rapallo
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123456
"High floor"
"Don't pay extra for a balcony as they are too noisy to be worth the cost"
"Get a room with a balcony and sea view if you can afford it."
"Ask for a sea view room with balcony. They are breathtakingly beautiful."
"Ask for a room with a balcony. We booked a superior room and some have balconies"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$112 - US$481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel excelsior palace
LOCATION
ItalyLiguriaItalian RivieraRapallo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
119
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing