The Hoxton, Poblenou

The Hoxton, Poblenou

Traveller (188)
Our Roomy View rooms are all about the light and the location. Their floor-to-ceiling corner windows let you peep Sagrada Familia or look out over Diagonal Avenue. Some of these rooms have bath tubs too, and all have walk-in showers, statement headboards and terracotta floors.
Room & Suite (67)
Dining (23)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#163 of 510 hotels in Barcelona
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Set in our favourite corner of Barcelona, The Hoxton, Poblenou gives you a real flavour of local life. We've got 240 rooms, a rooftop pool and taqueria, a bright and airy lobby, a sunny pizza terrace and slice shop, and a multi-functional basement space. Our 240 rooms suit all kinds of stays — settle into a Roomy, Roomy View, Biggy or Homey. Terracotta floors and faded florals make you feel right at home in the Med, whilst statement headboards, Roberts radios, and handcrafted artworks add that cosy Hoxton touch. Nobody leaves here hungry. Enjoy poolside tacos and margaritas up on the roof at Tope, or tuck into Detroit-style pizza at Four Corners, a terrace, all-day restaurant and slice shop.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Air purifier
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Radio
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 5 more

Location

Avinguda Diagonal 205, 08018 Barcelona Spain
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 95 out of 100
95
Barcelona-El Prat Airport
14.8 km
See all flights
Costa Brava Airport
73.7 km
See all flights
Glòries
4 minBarcelona Metro
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles564 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Hoxton, Poblenou hotel garners mixed feedback from guests. The property's vibrant and stylish atmosphere is widely celebrated, yet the scene may be too energetic for some. While the staff's service receives accolades for being attentive and friendly, others find it disorganized and unresponsive. Travelers appreciate the location near transit and attractions, despite being a bit away from the city center. Cleanliness is generally praised, but room maintenance sometimes falls short. Guests are dissatisfied with the extra costs for pool amenities and lack of soundproofing and storage in rooms.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Stylish
Rooms
Cramped
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Underwhelming

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
564Reviews1Q+A30Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 371
  • 84
  • 49
  • 36
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Prof Dominic wrote a review Aug 2022
Bath, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is so good. Brand new so everything is spick and span. For navigation purposes it is next to the cigar shaped skyscraper, the Mirador.Across the road is a Westfield Shopping Centre , anchored by a large Carrefour Supermarket . The metro station Glòries on Line 1 is 4 minutes walk away on the flat.Bedrooms are spacious and have excellent air con.,Bedding is crisp and so comfortable.My bathroom had a large shower with both rainhead and handheld outlets. Excellent power and temperature.The in room fridge is restocked daily with complimentary water and milk.Breakfast is very reasonable and priced according to what you choose so a coffee , just squeezed large fresh orange juice and 2 croissants cost €10.There is a rooftop area with staggering views and a small swimming pool.Ana who checked me in was incredibly helpful and is a real credit to the management. Staff across the board are charming and speak perfect English. A taxi from the train station cost a cheap €15. The availability of taxis must be the best in Europe.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: The hotel has a car park which takes vehicles up to 2m5 in height.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Camille A wrote a review Aug 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I am a regular customer at the Hoxton, Paris and this is my second stay at the Barcelona establishment. You know, this is the hotel where you feel at home, we smile at you when you pass through the lobby, we hand you a can of cold water at the reception as soon as you go on a mop etc, etc. Tons of love for the avocado toast with the sun-dried tomatoes for breakfast, the cocktails by the pool on the rooftop and the bedding that allows me to make up for 3 nights in 1 night (let's be clear). Thanks again ❤️ Hasta luego 🫶🏾
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Ally I wrote a review Oct 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Checks the boxes for me. Decor/vibe, location, cleanliness and food. Staff was wonderful. The bed was very comfortable! Four Corners was a restaurant/cafe/market - was very cool and the pizza was sooo good! It was a focaccia style crust that was light and airy but had crispy. I had a mushroom one and a pepperoni one at different times.

Bathroom was gorgeous. Muted nude color terrazzo sink with orderly rectangle beige tiles on the wall and light color wood trim with a teal/emerald tiling in the shower.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jess Read wrote a review Jul 2022
London, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I was really looking forward to staying at the Hoxton Poblenou having had a fantastic experience at the Hoxton in Rome earlier this year. Sadly, my experience in Barcelona was not up to the same high standards.

No complaints on the actual room, we booked a "Roomy" room and it was very nicely decorated, had good facilities and was quiet despite being near the lifts.

The hotel looks great but is really lacking in attention to detail, there were a few small things that made our overall experience feel frustrating rather than enjoyable. We were there for two days and weren't able to get a bed by the pool (they were fully booked for the entire duration of our stay, despite us going straight up to book once we'd checked in), we spotted there were a few empty beds on our last afternoon so asked if there was a waitlist in case of no-shows and were told there was but then weren't added to it - we were just ignored by the hostess for the remainder of the time we were there. I know the hotel was very busy at the time of our stay and the pool area is small, however seeing empty beds when you've been told there are none available is pretty frustrating!

During our stay we also asked for an iron to be sent up as there wasn't one provided in the room and, after waiting over an hour and placing a follow up call to reception, had to just give up and go out so we didn't miss our dinner reservation. We also ordered the light breakfast bag, again previously lovely at the Rome hotel, were disappointed to find just a cereal bar, a juice and some bruised fruit - not really worth the €8 we paid.

Our room was nice, bed comfortable, great shower etc but sadly these did not make up for the other niggles which really took the shine off our short stay. I probably wouldn't go back to this hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Munir Viñas, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hoxton, Poblenou
Responded 22 Jul 2022
Hello JessTours, We appreciate the time you have taken to share your feedback with us through TripAdvisor. We are sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations, especially being a loyal guest of The Hoxton brand. We understand how frustrated you must be with not being able to enjoy our pool facilities during your whole stay. Due to reduce the number of sunbeds we are working on a booking system. Unfortunately, during those days the hotel was almost fully booked. Nevertheless, we have followed up with the Tope team as we are in constant in improvement and looking for new procedures to make sure our guests enjoy their stay. We are sorry that you have wait so long for an iron, please believe me when I say that is not up to our standard. We take pride in giving all our guests a warm welcome and good service throughout the stay and this is truly uncharacteristic of the level of service we strive to provide. Feedbacks like your help us to improve our level of service everyday. We would love to have you back so if you decide to give us a second chance, feel free to drop us an email at dmpoblenou@thehox.com and we will personally take care of your booking. Best, Gemma
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nancheese wrote a review Jun 2022
Pasadena, California
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
WOW! What an amazing hotel! Location was super important for us as we love to take public transportation everywhere. The Hoxton is conveniently a block away from a metro station that allowed us to get everywhere. We got to enjoy delicious Cochinita Pibil Tacos & Micheladas from Tope in the rooftop- which has an amazing view of Sagrada Familia. The staff was super friendly & always very helpful. The entire hotel was clean which is very relieving during these Covid times. Great bites for breakfast & yummy drinks for dinner at Four Corners. The fridge is stocked with water daily which was very much appreciated since it was hot during our visit to Barcelona. Without hesitation, I would 10000/10 recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
556carolinewi wrote a review Jul 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Perfect location for us in between primavera festival and the gothic quarter. 20 min walk to the beach.
Great cocktails on the roof
Lovely dipping pool on the roof with views
Rooms and bathrooms beautifully decorated .
Huge, comfy beds
Great complimentary toiletries
Staff were super friendly and helpful
Free bikes to rent too
Good value for what you get
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MontrealDuke wrote a review Aug 2022
montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After spending a week for work at The Hoxton,i finished another week with my wife in Barcelona for her retirement also at The Hoxton.
From the greeting of the staff at front desk to the 5 star service from the wait staff at breakfast and the staff at the Four Corners for pizza for supper and the 5 star service from the wait staff at the rooftop pool and tapas/tacos bar this hotel is my favorite so far in Barcelona.
Close to the subway and the beach this hotel has it all.
The vibe of the hotel at night is a must for singles,couples and families.
Clean rooms with everyday room service,nothing is missed by the staff.Water,milk,coffee and tea is filled up everyday in your room.
Our favorite magic touch are the bikes available for the guests that you can use to bike to the beach or wherever you want.
The pool chairs and cabana beds are available with a reservation so you will always have a chair if you book in advance (3hr maximum chair reservation) so plan ahead.
After 2 weeks of The Hoxton 5 star service it's tough to go back home to the real life.
A big thank you to all the staff that made our trip a great experience.
Ciaoooo Barcelona and see you soon Hoxton.
Sophie and Marc (Etnia Barcelona)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Darren K wrote a review Sept 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a stunning hotel. Super comfy bed & pillows, room oozes quality, well designed and thoughtful interiors throughout, very reasonably priced F & B (arguably cheap actually in comparison to others) and free water for your room (plus free replacements). Friendly staff who make you feel welcome and valued, which is so often missing in other mainstream hotels. Good location adjacent to Westfield shopping area. You must checkout the indulgent pizza in Four Corners restaurant!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lescavesduroy wrote a review Apr 2024
Bogota, Colombia
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall, I did not have a good experience at this hotel, and I will try to be as fair and abstract as possible with this review. Firstly, if you are visiting Barcelona for tourism, the location is not optimal to get a vibe of the city. That being said, there is a stop for the tour buses just adjacent to the property. Also, reception or the door attendant does offer to call a taxi, and this worked well. Also, there are various ride sharing apps in Barcelona. Most important attractions, restaurants, etc are within 20 to 30 minutes. Although the beds and pillows are very comfortable, it was very uncomfortable trying to sleep in my room due to very poor air circulation, and the hotel was unable to provide a fan. Finally, at 430am after not being able to sleep, the front desk did change me to a different room which was better. After getting some sleep, I decided to do a city tour. Returned to my room at about 4 pm and the room was not cleaned. No maid service. Although there was a 90 dollar property credit through Amex, it does not apply to the bar or rooftop according to the receptionist upon check in, which was unusual. Although most employees seem to be nice people, this is not an upscale service hotel, and if you expect this you will be disappointed. Room service required several calls after morning coffee didn’t arrive after an hour. In summary, decent stay and very comfortable bed and bedding. Considering suboptimal location, if the hotel concentrated more on details and service, the property has potential
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Javier Tirado, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hoxton, Poblenou
Responded 05 May 2024
Hola lescavesduroy, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review your experience in TripAdvisor. Looking at some points described we could have done better avoiding unnecessary mistakes. We really appreciate your feedback, as it helps us identify areas for improvement and deliver a better experience for our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future and provide you with a more satisfactory stay. If you have any further concerns or feedback, please don't hesitate to reach out to us. Cheers,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jack wrote a review Jul 2023
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We came to stay for our minimoon. The hotel looks wonderful, but that is where I would say it ends. The rooms aren't sound proofed so when there Is an event on the roof, you are kept up by the bass. There are basic amenities missing like toilet brushes, body lotion, (toothpaste on asking). There is also no storage in the rooms, the side tables look great, but I could have done with a drawer. Also with the cable and chairs, scrap this and get a chest of drawers in. Also, cleaning unplug and curl up your charging cables - this is hugely frustrating!

We kept being told how the rooftop bar is one of the best in barcelona - perhaps if you are a punter but not as a guest. We were spoken to rudely by staff, there was a lack of communication around booking sunbeds, and the pool is more like an oversized bath. Similarly with the cabanas, these are a seat with a sheet over them, not a day bed.

This said, the location is good and you are about a 20 min walk away from everything.

In all honesty, don't stay here. The staff are mostly nice, but there were a few frustrsting moments. But maybe visit for a cocktail on the roof. The food is also okay on the roof too, but breakfast is pretty basic.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alejandra Otero, Atención al cliente/recepción at The Hoxton, Poblenou
Responded 03 Jul 2023
Hello Jack - thank you for getting in touch. We’re so sorry your stay didn’t all go to plan – we are sad to read that this things did not get delivered as this is definitely something we have available for our guests upon requests (lotion, toothbrush and other type of amenities). Our rooms are all about everything you need and nothing you don't in order to make it as comfortable and homey as possible. We have different room types and I believe the one that is more adapted to what you are looking for is the HOMEY or HOMEY UP rooms that have a full size closet with drawers and more space. I am sorry you had a bad experience with the team, this is definitely not what we stand for and would love to make it up to you. If you are keen to discuss this further do not hesitate to drop me a line to alejandra.otero@thehox.com Thanks Alejandra
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hrk1980 asked a question Apr 2023
Mansfield, United Kingdom681 contributions52 helpful votes
How far is this to the gothic quarter xxx
Answer from likabirdonawire
Stirlingshire, United Kingdom4 contributions7 helpful votes
Probably 20-25 min walk. There is an underground stop 3 min from The Hoxton which runs every 5 min and would take you there in 10-12 min.
YBspain wrote a tip Yesterday
Madrid, Spain37 contributions55 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Breakfast is not buffet rather a la carte: make sure you have plenty of time and patience: not enough staff and routine not streamlined."
Read full review
Kojo O wrote a tip Jun 2024
14 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a gym across from the hotel they offer a day pass at a discounted price for hotel guests. "
Read full review
KosK1111 wrote a tip Apr 2024
London, United Kingdom14 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Expect to pay to use the pool. "
Read full review
Renelle R wrote a tip Feb 2024
3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Improve customer service "
Read full review
Lauren P wrote a tip Jan 2024
4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pool extras"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Barcelona area.
PRICE RANGE
R 4,525 - R 6,968 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SpainCataloniaProvince of BarcelonaBarcelona
NUMBER OF ROOMS
240
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE HOXTON, POBLENOU - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Barcelona, Spain)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Hoxton, Poblenou
Which popular attractions are close to The Hoxton, Poblenou?
Nearby attractions include Samurai Experience Barcelona (0.5 km), Museu del Disseny de Barcelona (0.2 km), and Torre Agbar (0.06 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Hoxton, Poblenou?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Hoxton, Poblenou?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Hoxton, Poblenou?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Hoxton, Poblenou?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Hoxton, Poblenou?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tapa Tapa C.C Glories, L'olivera, and NANA Restaurant - Brasa.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Hoxton, Poblenou?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Hoxton, Poblenou?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Hoxton, Poblenou?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Hoxton, Poblenou offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Hoxton, Poblenou?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Arabic.
All Barcelona HotelsBarcelona Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BarcelonaHotels near The Hoxton, Poblenou
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire