Sandos Griego

Sandos Griego

Traveller (1722)
Restaurante Mediterráneo
Dining (269)
Pisicina
Pool & Beach (168)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#13 of 72 hotels in Torremolinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Sandos Griego está en el centro de Torremolinos, a 800 metros de la playa de El Bajondillo y a tres minutos del Centro de Congresos. Es un hotel ideal para parejas y familias. Las habitaciones disponen de aire acondicionado y calefacción, baño privado con secador, balcón, TV vía satélite, caja fuerte (con cargo) y Wifi gratis. Las instalaciones disponen de un restaurante buffet con cocina en vivo e internacional, y de otro restaurante buffet tematizado, snack bar; así como un bar piscina, una cafetería, un bar salón, y piano bar abierto por la noche. El hotel también cuenta con una sala de juegos, una sala de TV, una biblioteca con libros internacionales, gimnasio, sala de reuniones, y solárium con piscina exterior y tumbonas.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Darts
Entertainment staff
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German

Location

Avenida De Sorolla V, 7, 29620 Torremolinos Spain
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 90 out of 100
90
Malaga Airport
3,988Reviews905Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,042
  • 814
  • 637
  • 253
  • 246
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Colin L wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Date of stay 28th Feb to 13th March. We have been coming to the Griego for over 20 years now and can only reiterate what we have said before that it improves with each visit. This year the pool area has had a complete makeover which includes new showers and ramps for the disabled. Our room was cleaned to a very high standard and towels which were of good quality changed when requested. The restaurant and bar staff of which there are too many to name individually we’re always very friendly and obliging, nothing was too much trouble. The food in both restaurants was once again to a very high standard and plenty of choice for even the fussiest of eaters. We particularly enjoyed the new themed nights which included Mexican and Indian food. A reviewer on here commented that a person staying at the hotel looked like a cross between Gandalf and Steptoe and was a place for dossers. We would like to inform the reviewer that we know the person they are referring to and this gentleman is a very kind and intelligent man. We have also met over the years many returning guests like ourselves and I can reassure the reviewer none of us are dossers so we find the reviewers remarks very offensive. We will be returning in October when hopefully everything will be getting back to normal, in the meantime a big thankyou to Carl and the rest of the staff for a memorable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marconfort_Griego, Guest Relations Manager at Sandos Griego
Responded 24 Mar 2020
Thank you colinl369 for taking a few minutes to write a review of your recent holiday with us at our Marconfort Griego Hotel. It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you back to your second home... 20 years, bet you have seen some changes ! As you state in your review, we aim each year to re-open the hotel, better than we close the hotel the previous year and we are thrilled that you liked the improvements around our swimming pool area. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and our restaurant and the introduction of our two new themed nights.. .glad you enjoyed them. Thank you also for your support regarding the 'unfortunate' review of a previous reviewer attaining to one of our guests who frequently visits our Hotel during the winter months. It will be an absolute pleasure to see you in October and you can rest assured that all our staff will once again welcome you with open arms... Thank you !
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dave e wrote a review Mar 2020
Doncaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for one week all inclusive with TUI the hotel is situated about a 15 minute walk downhill from the beach through a busy shopping area , my wife loved it. We walked back up to the hotel once( never again) but only 6 euro in a taxi , found out about free bus on last day. Rooms very nice with en suite , TV AC and a nice balcony our was on the 9th floor and caught the early morning sun until 1130. Staff very helpful and polite, rooms cleaned regularly. The restaurant has a good variety of foods well cooked with plenty of choice every day , always hot and plenty of it. 4 bars spread around the hotel, never had to queue for long as always two staff on, good beer and V good cider , plenty of spirits to choose from. All in all a very nice place to be , we will be going back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marconfort_Griego, Guest Relations Manager at Sandos Griego
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Thank you evoNo1 for your kind words regarding your recent holiday with us. It gives us great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your recent holiday with us and that you will be paying us a return visit in the near future. All our staff work incredibly hard to ensure that all our guests have a great holiday and we thank you enormously for your comments regarding our staff and the services which we provide as part of our All Inclusive service. We look forward to your return.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
shannonbazil wrote a review Mar 2020
Stanley, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have just got back from this hotel after 3 days all inclusive and really can’t complain at all for what we paid for our stay it’s great value for money! The location of the hotel is really good it was only a 10 minute drive from the airport. There were lots of bars/restaurants and shops nearby, it was only a 5 minute walk into the town. The beach was about a 15/20 min walk which we found easy however if you didn’t want to walk I believe a taxi was no more than €5.

The staff were all friendly throughout our stay especially the lovely bar staff. The hotel was clean throughout and the rooms were a good size and also clean. The beds were comfortable and the shower was powerful. The only negative was the walls were very thin and you could hear everything including people snoring in the room next door, however this is not really something that can be changed and didn’t bother us much as it was only a short stay and we were hardly in the room.

The outside/pool area was good, sadly the pool is in the shade from the afternoon onwards but this was no problem as we just sat on the grassy area and had the sunshine all day. The hotel was not overly busy when we visited which was hugely beneficial to us as I don’t think I would enjoy the pool area if it was as it is quite small in comparison to the hotel and I may have not been able to get a bed in the sun. There is a grassed rooftop area with sun beds as well which was lovely and had great views.

The all inclusive drinks in the hotel were good, the draught beer was Amstel then there was the usual local spirits and you could also get cocktails. The food was good as well, there was plenty to choose from and it was buffet style. There were 2 restaurants and quite a few bars in the hotel. All inclusive was until midnight which was very good. The entertainment was ok, there were a few games in the day and singers etc in the evening (sadly one of our evenings there was no entertainment as they said it was not busy enough which was disappointing). The hotel has a nightclub type bar which was fun and it was open until 2am.

I would choose to visit at this time of year again as I don’t think it would be as enjoyable when it’s full/really busy. I really enjoyed my stay here and I would certainly visit again. Although I have stayed in much better hotels I think for what you pay it is fantastic value also I only had a short stay there and for that it was perfect which is why it gets an excellent rating from me.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marconfort_Griego, Guest Relations Manager at Sandos Griego
Responded 18 Mar 2020
Dear shannonbazil, that you enormously for your very detailed review of your short break with us here in Torremolinos at our Marconfort Griego Hotel. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your holiday with us and thank you very much for your kind comments regarding our staff and the variety and selection of foods which we offer. Our All Inclusive service has been praised on many occasions for the variety of drinks which we offer, as you rightly say, Amstel beer and local spirits, but we also include a selection of branded spirits within our All Inclusive service. Being a city centre hotel, our pool is indeed small for the size of the Hotel, however it is the largest of all the city centre hotels here in Torremolinos. During the summer months, we also operate our free bus service to the beach and we have our Griego Beach Bar, where guests can make use of their All Inclusive whilst actually spending the day at the beach. Once again, thank you for your comments and we look very much forward to welcoming you again to our Hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
scarborough11 wrote a review Feb 2020
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
after reading a glossy leaflet in the room ref "gastric flu" thought it would only apply to external premises as this is a 4 star hotel, no it applies here. 4 persons all with "wobbly tums" several days after return can't be a coincidence. The hotel has comfortable beds, rooms are clean as are all public areas, the entertainers have to be seen to be believed, especially Pinoccio the children's entertainer who all the children in the hotel seemed to avoid, he was very fond of randomly walking round forcibly hitting people on the head with his hat, one day someone will retailiate. Magician and singers usual Spanish average. Food, sometimes ok mostly poor in quality, big scramble later in the evening but able to find a table due to helpful staff. Read several times that the pool does not get the sun but there is a very sunny roof terrace on 8th floor. Hotel is looking old, could do with a total refurb as the constant 24 hour noise of the lifts is extremely disturbing, bathrooms are "shabby". Toiletries consist of a free toothbrush, razor and a soap dispenser on the wall with poor quality soap. Glad we went to see friends, visit Torremolinos at least 3 times a year, will be avoiding the hotel
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NataliaEstevez, GEX at Sandos Griego
Responded 14 Feb 2020
Dear yummymummy50, we are terribly sorry to read that we did not fulfil your expectations during your stay with us and would like to take this opportunity express our concern. We would like to highlight that we take guests comments very seriously in order to continually improve our service and guest satisfaction. The leaflet regarding health and safety in the rooms is as per security reasons. We have never had any gastric flu around the hotel. Our food is one of the most valued points as for its quality and variety. Our hotel closes every year for several months and we always use this period to refurb there where needed. We will bring on board all your comments. Best regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Samantha T wrote a review Aug 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I dont usually write reviews but the fact this hotel is rated '4'star is misleading. Ive stayed in many 4 and 5 star hotels and this is not even close, its cheap and cheerful, do not expect the facilities and benefits of a 4 star, dont get me wrong it was 'livable' for a week because we were only eating breakfast and occasionally lunch (I struggled to find food to eat in the restaurant, not a fantastic choice) however I do think the menu is limited due to covid. The rooms are very basic no fridge and no bin other than a one in the bathroom that I wouldnt touch as it looked like it hadn't been cleaned for about a year, the cleanliness in general wasn't great and my children were expected to sleep on sofa beds that weren't clean there is plenty of space in the family room for beds so I didnt understand why there was scruffy sofa beds. When we arrived there were no sheets for them which was annoying as we didn't arrive until 10pm. The reception staff were nice and did sort it straight away. The bathroom requires updating and in general the room was tired and grubby considering we are in a pandemic I at least expected the rooms and facilities to be spotless. The pool was filthy one day too not sure if the pool cleaner was off that day but we wouldn't go in there was an actual tab end in the pool and lots of bits leaves etc which gathered on the sides, on the other hand the lifeguard was constantly spraying the sunbeds when not in use with what I suspect was antibacterial spray which was good to see. We weren't all inclusive which im now glad about but the drinks were very expensive for the quality, 2 euro for a fizzy orange (not branded) and a 'cocktail' in a plastic cup was 7 euro, more than we paid in some of the beautiful restaurants we visited whilst there and it tasted awful. The location is good just a short walk from the main strip which has some beautiful bars shops and restaurants we pretty much spent most of our time outside the hotel. All in all we had a fantastic holiday as we made the best of it, I would revisit torremilinos but I would not revisit this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carl Richardson, Guest Services / Front Office at Sandos Griego
Responded 25 Aug 2020
Dear samt000001, thank you for taking a few minutes of your time to leave our Marconfort Griego Hotel a review after your recent visit. We are indeed very sorry that our Marconfort Griego Hotel did not live up to your expectations. Unfortunately, due to the current restrictions placed on us due to the COVID-19 situation, it is possible that you did not appreciate our Hotel as other guests have in previous years and . Unfortunately, the rooms in our Hotel are not equipped with fridges, this is not a requirement of a 4 star hotel and we do not advertise that we have this facility. Family rooms are equipped with either fold-down beds or sofa beds which allow for more space in the room when the bed is not in use. We apologise for any anomalies regarding the cleanliness of our pool area one of the days and we will of course follow this up with our Maintenance Department. Once again, we thank you for your review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Florin B wrote a review Aug 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My impresion after 3 nights out of 10.

Grumpy personnel. Acting like you are a nuisance. Not all of them but it really puts you off.

Food being reused is normal for all inclusive but the little breads in paper bags to be reused until they get mold is not ok. Told and showed to one attendant and nothing happened. She left those breads on the table to be eaten.

You can't use the pool until 10 in the morning because they do really take their time to clean the pool and set up/ clean the furniture.

For the all inclusive you can't drink a coffee before 8.30 because everything is closed.

The room where we are is OKish. Furniture looks new. TV set small, bad positioned and with no way of adjustment. Air con is slow, noisy and setup to 23C.

The 1st bus to the beach is at 10.00 which in my opinion is a bit late. A free bar by the beach for the all inclusive but again...grumpy personnel. Also you cannot use the facilities at the Marconfort hotel by the beach even if it's the same chain.

Food is plenty, quite varied and for all the tastes. Lot of fruits, 4 beer varieties, wines, carbonated beverages (Pepsi).

Overall... bit disappointed is an understatement.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carl Richardson, Guest Services / Front Office at Sandos Griego
Responded 18 Aug 2021
Thank you floinb264 for talking a few minutes of your time to leave a review on Trip Advisor of your recent holiday with us at our Marconfort Griego Hotel. We are indeed very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations with regards to certain aspects of your holiday. Our staff are a fundamental part of a persons holiday and we praise ourselves very highly on the professionalism and friendliness of all our staff, this is commented on frequently by our guests and we do not know where we failed in your instance. Our individual bread portions are delivered on a daily basis by our external bakery. These are individually wrapped in special cellophane wrappers allowing them to be baked in the oven before serving to our guests. Once the bread has been removed from the bread basket it is never re-used or re-heated. Once you made our waiter aware of this anomaly the bread portion was immediately removed, the rest of the bread in the basket was inspected and our Maitre established that this was an isolated case, perhaps caused by the cellophane packaging not being closed properly. In addition we have to add that our Assistant Manager tried to make contact with you and sent a small box of chocolates and his visiting card to your room, however, we never received contact from yourselves during the remainder of your stay with us. The hours of our swimming pool are from 10:00am to 8:00pm and as you state we thoroughly clean the pool and the sunbeds, even more so during the times that we live. The first service to operate in our Hotel is breakfast service from 8:30am to 11:00am where coffee, tea, chocolate and fruit juices are included. Our Bar Piscina opens at 10:00am through to midnight for All Inclusive service throughout the day. In addition an early breakfast service is available from 6:00am (continental breakfast, tea, coffee, hams cheese, toast etc) and can be ordered at Reception the day beforehand. Having looked at our Maintenance logs for the period concerned I can find no report made by yourselves with regards to the coolness of indeed noise of the air conditioning in your bedroom. Our Marconfort Griego Hotel provides a free bus service to the beach which starts at 10:00am. Guests wishing to go to the beach earlier can always walk, take the local bus, located just down the sloap from the Hotel, or indeed a taxi and can then use the return bus to our Hotel as they wish. In addition, All Inclusive guests also have use of our Griego Beach Bar on the main promenade. Guests from our Marconfort Griego Hotel can not go inside, nor use the facilities of our Marconfort Costa Del Sol Hotel and vice versa. Our Marconfort Griego Hotel is a 4 Star City Centre Hotel and our Marconfort Costa Del Sol Hotel is a 4 Star Beach Hotel. Thank you for you kind words regarding the quality and variety of foods which we offer in our two restaurants and the drinks which we offer as part of our All Inclusive service. Once again, we sincerely apologise for not living up to your expectations on this occasion.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roy wrote a review May 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived at the hotel around 2am, and were greeted by a pleasant member of staff who checked us in quickly and gave us the basics of how the hotel operated. Exactly what you'd expect for a quick and easy check in.
The rooms are basic and a little dated, that being said, the beds are comfortable and there are a decent amount of toiletries supplied. A few small drawbacks with the rooms; there is no fridge in the room, the balcony is 1 large glass screen so when you're on the 8th floor, it can be a little unnerving, and also to hire the safe is a €20 deposit and then a further €2.50 per day - I understand the deposit, but for an AI stay, charging for a safe seems like robbery in itself.
The breakfast is your standard AI offering. Nothing to write home about, but nice enough to get you through the week. Evening meals offered a good variety and the food was replenished regularly to ensure everything stayed hot/warm.
In my opinion, one major thing that lets this hotel down is the pool area. There is not enough room to cater for the hotel at capacity, and also not enough sunbeds. On top of that, most sunbeds have towels on them by 9am, with very few people actually using them. So if you want a sunbed (especially in a decent area) you'll have to get up early and join the trend of 'reserving' them at 8am.
The pool bar can get busy during the day, but the staff serving are always moving quickly and happy to help. I didn't take part in the daytime "entertainment" but could see there were activities going on throughout the day. A notice board in the foyer details what's on and when.
Included in the AI (or for €20 a day) you can visit the hotels beach bar. This is a brilliant option if you want to go down to the beach but still enjoy the perks of being on an AI vacation. There is a return bus service put on throughout the day, or a 40 minute stroll through the town. The beach bar offers similar drinks and a variety of "snack" food like burgers, fries, kebabs etc. You can also rent a sunbed on the beach for €6 per bed per day.
The evening entertainment was ok. A children's offering each night followed by something for the adults. Pepe's bar was a nice place to spend the evening, however it is advised that from midnight it becomes strictly "adults only" this was not observed at all, and children were present the entire evening. Why put a rule in place if it is going to be blatantly ignored?
The cafeteria was good for unwinding in the afternoon if you wanted somewhere a little more chilled to relax rather than in the busy pool bar seating area.
One major plus point with this hotel was the staff. You could tell just how hard the team worked, and this came through on the level of service provided.

To conclude, it was fine for a short stay, but have definitely stayed in better hotels in the similar price bracket.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Natalia Estévez, Atención al cliente/recepción at Sandos Griego
Responded 25 May 2022
Dear RoyTheBoy4, first of all, thank you for sharing your impressions regarding your experience at our Marconfort Griego Hotel. Overall we are pleased to read you had a pleasant stay although we regret you feel like you would not return to us. On one hand, we appreciate your positive words regarding our cafeteria, food services and staff. On the other hand, we apologise for not being able to meet your expectations concerning some services of our all inclusive like the safe or pool sunbeds. Our Marconfort Griego Hotel has 420 rooms and unfortunately is not a quiet hotel and pool area can be overcrowded at peak times. That is why we offer our free bus service to the beach and snack bar. We would like to highlight that we take guest complaints very seriously in order to continually improve our service and we will address all the issues you have mentioned to the departments involved to keep working hard as we always do to offer the best service to our guests. Kind regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Phyllrab wrote a review Feb 2020
Scotland
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in February for a 7 night stay and our first room was on the 5th floor on a corridor with 6 rooms in the corridor. Unfortunately there was a swimming group aged 15/16 year olds from the UK in four of these rooms with banging, chapping doors at 6.45 am one morning and 7.30am the next morning and the last night of their stay the same noise at 11.20 pm and had to contact the reception on the phone.Really noisy with no adult supervision with them in their rooms or next to their rooms and I complained to the reception with their response was to dial 9 on the phone in our room and ask for security to visit. We eventually had to move to another part of the hotel after complaining to TUI representative as the staff at the reception just didn’t want to get involved in the complaint. I suggested for them to speak to the adults with the party who were in a different part of the hotel but that fell on deaf ears. We have lodged an official complaint with TUI and still awaiting a response on this complaint but instead of dealing with the complaint the reception staff passed it on to contact security which I done on 3 occasions but the noise still continued. The restaurant isn’t big enough for the amount of persons staying in the hotel as it can be really busy, overcrowded and really noisy when dining. Really disappointed in the lack of involvement from the reception staff with the attitude to contact security and will be interesting to see the reaction from the manager on this matter. Unfortunately we will not be returning to this hotel based on this incident as the hotel seems to be welcoming school groups as when one group left more arrived. The staff in the bar next to the reception was the only plus point of our stay as they were really polite and nothing was a bother to them.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Rooms above the restaurant facing on to the pool
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marconfort_Griego, Guest Relations Manager at Sandos Griego
Responded 28 Feb 2020
Dear Phyllrab, We thank you for taking a few minutes to write a review of you recent stay with us here in Torremolinos at our Marconfort Griego Hotel. We are indeed very sorry that you were disturbed by some members of the warm winter swimming groups that we have staying with us at this time of year during half term. We always endeavour to place the groups together and with their respective Trainers to minimise the disturbance caused to other guests. Reception should have reported any incidents to the Trainers and is they did not take corrective action, our management would have taken steps. We apologise that this was not the case and we will investigate this with our Reception Manager and his team. Our main restaurant can accommodate 430 people per sitting and there are two sittings, however, at peak times it can indeed get very busy. On the other hand our restaurant La Gioconda, during evening meal service, operates a reservation system and offers a more relaxed environment. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our bar staff who work in our Café Griego, they do indeed work very hard and will certainly pass on your kind comments to them. Once again, please accept our most sincere apologies for the problems caused by some of our warm winter swimmers and should you change your mind and decide to visit us again, we will do our upmost to make your stay with us a comfortable as possible.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MrsTC1985 wrote a review Aug 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My first holiday abroad with my partner and he even proposed to me at this hotel which was amazing. I have visited a lot of hotels with the family and I don’t agree that this should be rated 4 star. I am quite easy going when it comes to accommodation and food but I am disappointed with this hotel compared to the reviews it has.

The positives - friendly staff who work all day long and into the night and are very pleasant. The drinks and cocktails were lovely and refreshing and always available. The location is amazing and literally within the town centre in a couple of minutes. Rooms clean and cleaned daily… comfy beds…very clean hotel. Entertainment was good and on nightly.

Negatives - honestly I will eat anything and I am not fussy in the slightest however I struggled with the food as there was not much choice, most was Spanish cuisine such as squid… and next to that was Brussels sprouts mixed with mushrooms. The restaurant was like a cattle market - honestly not enough tables, plates or food for the whole hotel of guests. The staff worked so hard just not enough topping things up or even having time to set tables. The food was so bad that on an all inclusive break we ate out most nights and honestly I am not fussy when it comes to food at all…
The hotel is over run with rude Spanish people and I know this has been said in many of the reviews I read prior to coming here. Rude and cutting in queues, partying til 4am on balconies and just rude. That’s all I can say about that.
Lastly….. sun beds. We read that this was a race against time on a morn but this was unreal. We had to queue from 815 as they don’t release them until 9… so a line of people like cattle stand and wait until the rope is dropped and then it is literally the most saddest, embarrassing sight…people running and pushing each other and arguing all for the best bed in the best location. To watch was sad, as I felt it was the worst version of people and was brutal some mornings. After day 3, we went to the beach and paid for beds where it was peaceful and there wasn’t brutalities and fights for beds. Too many people and not enough beds… and such a small pool for a large hotel. Who wants to go on holiday and literally have to fight to Sun bathe… all wrong and they need to think of a better system.

Lastly … the lifeguards were not only responsible for safety in the pool but glass collecting, putting Sun beds away, sweeping up and collecting chairs for the nightly entertainment. They need more staff.

Despite this hotel being special as we became engaged, we would not return. Just not what we expected and spent most of the holiday in the town centre. All this hotel needs is better food, more selection and more staff to keep it running smoothly at peak times.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Get Sun beds on back wall or you will be in the shade for most of the day…. Go half board and not...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Natalia Estévez, Atención al cliente/recepción at Sandos Griego
Responded 24 Aug 2022
Dear MrsTC1985, first of all, thank you for taking your time in sharing your experience at our hotel as we listen carfeully to all our guests. We are indeed very sorry that your visit to our Marconfort Griego Hotel did not live up to your expectations as the features described do not definitely go in line with the quality and brand standards of our company and we apologise for any inconveniences. On one hand, we appreciate your positive comments regarding location, rooms, cleanliness, drinks, entertainment and specially your words regarding our staff. On the other hand, we understand the frustrations that can occur during our peak season and we apologise for any inconveniences at restaurant or swimming pool. Our Marconfort Griego Hotel is indeed a very busy hotel, with it’s 420 rooms we can have an average occupancy of 750 – 800 guests on this period of the year. Unfortunately, we do not have a sunbed for each and every one of our guests and we try our hardest to control this situation. It is very unfortunate that some selfish people reserve their spot but our pool attendant does leave a note on sunbeds that are not being used for over more than 30 minutes. Regarding our food services, most of the feedbacks we receive, are always related to the excellent quality and variety of the foods which we offer in our two restaurants as well as for our breakfasts and we are really suprised with your comments. We would like to highlight that we take guest complaints very seriously in order to continually improve our service and we will address all the issues you have mentioned to the departments involved to keep working hard as we always do to offer the best service to our guests. Kind regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Barry S wrote a review Feb 2020
Doncaster, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The first comment would be the lifts. Having booked in we found a large queue at the lift, one was out of action and it took ages to get to the seventh floor. This was a problem throughout the week as people were leaving and arriving every day.
The room was very adequate, with a pool view. No kettle unfortunately. Bathroom was clean, plenty of towels. The room was kept clean, with towel changes every day.
The restaurant did get a little crowded, there are two sitting times but everyone turned up at opening time. The noise level got higher and higher as the Spanish guests used the restaurant - they all speak so loudly!!! Be prepared to use your elbows, the little Spanish woman don’t take prisoners when it comes to getting their food ! The food was of good quality, it would be very difficult not to find something you like.
The hotel is in the town, about a 15 minute coach journey.
Less than a 10 minute walk into the town. We walked down to the beech via loads of steps, walked back up the first day then found the lift, which cost 50c each way, well worth it.
Having hit the beech the best walk is by turning right and heading towards Benalmedena, which took about an hour. Loads of restaurants on the way for coffee or Bacardi and coke.
We took the train from Torrelolinos to Fuengirola, cost 9€20c return for two, and found the huge market on Tuesday, worth a visit. The next trip by train was into Malaga, again a cheap ride. We used the red tour bus to see the town, it was €22 each which was very expensive for what you got. The commentary was as useful as a chocolate fire guard - don’t waste your money.
All in all we found the Marconfort Griego to be a very good hotel, well done to the bar staff who work very hard.
We would go there again, but would not like to chance in high season.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from NataliaEstevez, GEX at Sandos Griego
Responded 14 Feb 2020
Dear G2100FRbarrys, thank you very much for choosing Marconfort Griego and for taking the time to review our hotel. We are really sorry that certain aspects throughout your stay were not in line with your expectations. Our hotel accomplishes all the standards of a 4 star and all our facilities and services can be found on the brochures and website. At peak times, restaurant or lifts can seem overcrowded and we apologise for any inconvenieces. Please take note, you can find kettle facilities at our reception desk, where they will provide you with one as well as for other facilities you may inquire for. On the other hand, we are glad you found our hotel all in all good and that you would return. Best regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gecm81 asked a question May 2024
Scotland, United Kingdom3 contributions6 helpful votes
What’s the nightime entertainment like in the hotel
Answer from Nikki M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom78 contributions53 helpful votes
Not amazing but to be fair the drag show that we stayed in for was funny even through at first thought wasn’t goi got be last year one act was alright . It’s typical hotel entertainment nothing special .
rob9458 asked a question May 2024
Rhondda Cynon Taf, United Kingdom22 contributions15 helpful votes
Hi can.you tell me how far is it from the Coach drop off point to the hotel please and is it a steep hill or steps Thanks
Answer from Amandalou67
Bournemouth, United Kingdom5 contributions
We're here at the moment. Got taxi outside airport, took about 12 mins to get there & 18 euros. Not sure about your coach but seen a few pull up outside. Few shallow steps into reception or slope with handrail. Enjoy your trip, we're very happy here 😊
David B asked a question May 2024
Oldham, United Kingdom26 contributions8 helpful votes
Are pool towels available?
Answer from Amandalou67
Bournemouth, United Kingdom5 contributions
No
Mandy L asked a question May 2024
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Is there a dress code in the restaurant?
Answer from babyhk
Stockport, United Kingdom181 contributions159 helpful votes
No - so many wear shorts but I feel out of respect obviously not too short . It is very relaxed . Some dressed up for the evening meal but most men weren't in long trousers .
juni0r8 asked a question Apr 2024
Radstock, United Kingdom1 contribution
Hi, Could you tell me what beers are included in the all inclusive package? Andy
Answer from Steven R
Washington, United Kingdom121 contributions37 helpful votes
Hi. I dont generally drink the beer but the two on tap (Amstell and Radlers) are. Sorry cant help on the bottled beers.
719lks wrote a tip Yesterday
Doncaster, United Kingdom6 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Kettle and making facilities in room"
Read full review
Natalie S wrote a tip 17 Jun
14 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book some of the trips such as Gibraltar and caminito del rey, we had great days out there."
Read full review
howzitjc wrote a tip 03 Jun
Bournemouth, United Kingdom20 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You are able to dine in the La Gioconda restaurant once per 7 night stay. The steak in particular was exceptional. Book at reception."
Read full review
Natalie W wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Was sick so be careful didn't go in pool but pool got closed on 27 th may 2024 for up to an hour !!! "
Read full review
Cathpennybaggins124 wrote a tip May 2024
York, United Kingdom59 contributions12 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t go all inclusive, this town is so lovely, it is more for eating out and is reasonably priced too."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Torremolinos area.
PRICE RANGE
R 1,941 - R 3,559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
griego mar torremolinos, hotel griego mar torremolinos
LOCATION
SpainAndaluciaProvince of MalagaCosta del SolTorremolinos
NUMBER OF ROOMS
414
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SANDOS GRIEGO - Now R 1 866 (Was R̶ ̶2̶ ̶5̶0̶6̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Torremolinos, Spain) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sandos Griego
Which popular attractions are close to Sandos Griego ?
Nearby attractions include Calle San Miguel (0.5 km), Garfield's Bar Torremolinos (0.4 km), and New Tina's Bar (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sandos Griego ?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Sandos Griego ?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Sandos Griego ?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bar Chill, Restaurante La Experiencia, and Zabor Fetén.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sandos Griego ?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Sandos Griego located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Torremolinos.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sandos Griego ?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Sandos Griego ?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Plaza de Toros de Torremolinos (1.0 km), Torre Vigia Bermeja (7.8 km), and Villa Romana De Los Molinillos (7.8 km).
Is Sandos Griego accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Torremolinos HotelsTorremolinos Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in TorremolinosHotels near Sandos Griego
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire